GeForce 177.39 PhysX-enabled driver now available

low98944
post Jun 27 2008, 01:29 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:03 PM)
It's not tak puas.. Just saying that it's supposed to be CPU test but kena taken over by GPU already tongue.gif And CPU test is meant to test the CPU. Anyhow it's good thing that this is happening brows.gif PC without processor next time? All we need is GPU mobo and RAM.
I don't think it is cheating. Said for example, I am running SLi now, if I willing to let one of the cards to run PhysX and another to run rendering, or I purchase another cheap GC to run PhysX, in that case they can't said nVidia is cheating on 3DMark Vantage cause this is what my GCs will do in the real game that support PhysX. nVidia enable GC to use PhysX is just providing another cheaper way for gamers to play their game instead of purchase an expensive PhysX card.

PC without CPU is next challenge to GC manufacturers. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Jun 27 2008, 01:33 PM
Radeon
post Jun 27 2008, 02:14 PM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:03 PM)
It's not tak puas.. Just saying that it's supposed to be CPU test but kena taken over by GPU already tongue.gif And CPU test is meant to test the CPU. Anyhow it's good thing that this is happening brows.gif PC without processor next time? All we need is GPU mobo and RAM.
wah,
this kind of things how are you going to justify "suppose"
it is because of innovation and challange that we get better and better performance system,
i don't see 3D mark got any stand to say anything as the IT industry does not solely belong to them.

glock88
post Jun 27 2008, 02:16 PM

317 posts

er.. can some1 direct me what to do to enable physx.... like what to do and where to get what? kinda blur ad.
k!nex
post Jun 27 2008, 02:22 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jun 27 2008, 08:27 AM)
Mine 3DMark Vantage score:

..........................177.35+PhysX........175.19

Total score................P11731..............P9920

GPU score...................9710................9695

CPU score...................31250..............10662
smtg strange here,both of us using the same Q6600, frequency also shud be the same.mobo and ram different le.but his GC is a 9800GX2. compare CPU score using PhysX, i get 29.5k like dat,his one 31.2k.means even if u hv a much more powerful GC,it doesn't affect much CPU score using PhysX?

This post has been edited by k!nex: Jun 27 2008, 02:22 PM
low98944
post Jun 27 2008, 02:53 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 27 2008, 02:22 PM)
smtg strange here,both of us using the same Q6600, frequency also shud be the same.mobo and ram different le.but his GC is a 9800GX2. compare CPU score using PhysX, i get 29.5k like dat,his one 31.2k.means even if u hv a much more powerful GC,it doesn't affect much CPU score using PhysX?
Here is my score with Forceware 177.35+PhysX driver 8.06.12

Here is my score with Forceware 177.35+PhysX driver 8.06.12+ OC from 3.01GHz to 3.5GHz

Added on June 27, 2008, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(glock88 @ Jun 27 2008, 02:16 PM)
er.. can some1 direct me what to do to enable physx.... like what to do and where to get what? kinda blur ad.
You can get the drivers in this post (at post #3 if your GC is other than GeForce 200 series)as stated below:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/728083

This post has been edited by low98944: Jun 27 2008, 03:06 PM
LaiN87
post Jun 27 2008, 03:21 PM

Nom nom nom...
1,321 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jun 27 2008, 01:29 PM)
I don't think it is cheating. Said for example, I am running SLi now, if I willing to let one of the cards to run PhysX and another to run rendering, or I purchase another cheap GC to run PhysX, in that case they can't said nVidia is cheating on 3DMark Vantage cause this is what my GCs will do in the real game that support PhysX.  nVidia enable GC to use PhysX is just providing another cheaper way for gamers to play their game instead of purchase an expensive PhysX card.

PC without CPU is next challenge to GC manufacturers.  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(Radeon @ Jun 27 2008, 02:14 PM)
wah,
this kind of things how are you going to justify "suppose"
it is because of innovation and challange that we get better and better performance system,
i don't see 3D mark got any stand to say anything as the IT industry does not solely belong to them.
Doods... You guys are not getting the point... 3Dmark tests the CPU because!!! and only because CPU plays a important role in gaming. It could be a bottleneck if you are not having a powerful enough CPU. That's why it is included inside the benchmark. So, better proc will give you higher 3Dmark score. BUT! The CPU score is now masked by PhysX giving false reading of the CPU score and thus giving false score altogether.

Do you get better fps now with the new PhysX driver? Not that much right? Because not many games support it too for now. That's one way of showing that the scores are tempered with and it's not exactly a breakthrough if comparison with the score.

True.. I'm not fighting will you guys about the PhysX is good thing. We're talking a different topic altogether. I love to use PhysX with my 9600GSO as well for the games that supports it. For now it doesn't take over the CPU role but just games that support PhysX so that kinda sucks.

And I'm just saying that the score is now tempered with and not considered legit. Thus, Futuremark needs to come out with a new set of tests to counter this.

1. 3Dmark Vantage is being compromised because of CPU score
2. PhysX being runned by GC and no need of using an extra overpriced card

It's 2 different things. I anti no 1. But I and pro with no 2.

Now at Radeon, 3Dmark doesn't own the IT industry yes.. But the benchmark is one of the most reputable synthetic test that there is around for now. =/ So 3Dmark is here to stay for a while. It's just that people are going around boasting about that 20k-30k increase in CPU score that annoys me as though their computer have some turbo boost upgrade.
glock88
post Jun 27 2008, 04:36 PM

317 posts

lol. i tried installing the Physx but dunno y keep saying that a fatal error occured. Then the installation is aborted prematurely. lol dunno what to do. tried so many times ad and even tried dl from other places as well
low98944
post Jun 27 2008, 07:17 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(glock88 @ Jun 27 2008, 04:36 PM)
lol. i tried installing the Physx but dunno y keep saying that a fatal error occured. Then the installation is aborted prematurely. lol dunno what to do. tried so many times ad and even tried dl from other places as well
PhysX 8.06.12 is currently only for GeForce 200 series and those GC using G92. For other GC, need to wait a while. nVidia said they will enable PhysX for all GeForce 8 & 9 in this coming July.

Added on June 27, 2008, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 27 2008, 02:22 PM)
I am also wondering whether it is using one GPU to compute or both GPU? If GPU affect the PhysX significantly, I may purchase an additional GeForce 8800GT to run PhysX. cool.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Jun 27 2008, 07:24 PM
adliew
post Jun 27 2008, 07:31 PM

354 posts

177.41 WHQL is out smile.gif

Vista64

Vista32

XP32

XP64

On a side note, ppl that crying foul over PhysX on nvidia - PhysX runs on ATI 3870

tongue.gif
hafiez
post Jun 27 2008, 07:32 PM

2,980 posts

does this driver support 8800GT GC?
low98944
post Jun 27 2008, 07:34 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jun 27 2008, 07:32 PM)
does this driver support 8800GT GC?
That Forceware not even support for PhysX. The reason I heard was 177.41 develop even before 177.39. rclxub.gif
k!nex
post Jun 27 2008, 07:52 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

now i OC to 3.2Ghz(356X9)
CPU score rise to 30669.
when its 3.0Ghz (334X9)
CPU score is at 29571.

simple hypothesis for my rig,every 200 Mhz increase in proc will produce roughly 1.1k CPU score in 3Dmark vantage.

8800GT of coz can use 177.35.its not bad at all drool.gif
TSpikacu
post Jun 27 2008, 09:22 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

so far PhysX-enabled ForceWare still not "officially" launch yet (?)

Suk
post Jun 28 2008, 01:02 AM

2,330 posts

does my G80 8800gts works ?
i downloaded the latest drive.. seem like nth happen

reign226
post Jun 28 2008, 09:54 AM

804 posts

Correct me if I'm wrong in this. You can't get rid of the processors...the polygons are all still generated by the processor, then fed to the GC where it will texture, shade, etc etc. But the building blocks, the polys, still need to be 'manufactured' by your proc.

What this does is offload as much stuff as possible to free up the CPU to concentrate on making more polys, rather than trying to do a few different things at once. I'm not entirely sure how much physics calculations currently perform. Could be 40% of total CPU, could be 5%. Maybe the game devs will know. What this means is more realistic physics in the future, but right now, I think physics is not a huge part of the total processor usage, and as such performance gains in the real world is minimal.

As with everything else, this will just get better with age. But as it stands, it'll probably take a while before this technology shows significant improvements in speed and complexity.
kmarc
post Aug 7 2008, 06:49 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

Great news for Geforce owners.

On August 12th NVIDIA will be opening up GeForce-based PhysX support to all GeForce 8, 9, and GTX 200 series users. Today we’re going to take a quick look at what’s in store for gamers later this month!

Full review of Geforce Physx capabilities here : http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/nvidia...nce/default.asp
post Aug 7 2008, 06:58 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

wohoo... physx folding ? laugh.gif

Added on August 7, 2008, 7:01 pmuser posted image

I lold

Added on August 7, 2008, 7:08 pmneed physx supprt game just can increase performance right ? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by 168257061: Aug 7 2008, 07:08 PM
Mavrix
post Aug 7 2008, 07:12 PM

1,118 posts

Guys..
Ive just dwnload physx enabled driver for xp ver 177.35 (try to get 177.39 but seems cannot get it) and physx driver ver 8.07
So, how to install it? Need to uninstall the older driver?
I'm running Sli now...
Amal
post Aug 7 2008, 10:22 PM

1,672 posts

wait until august 12... tongue.gif
then get the latest driver.. smile.gif
safone
post Aug 7 2008, 10:24 PM

5 STAR only..huhu
976 posts

OIC..must get it then if support my 8 series..

This post has been edited by safone: Aug 8 2008, 06:54 PM

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:19 AM