13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

PROTON SAVVY LYN club V2 - AMT manual added!, -best little car in the market-

Junyen
post Jul 13 2009, 10:04 PM

QUOTE(awh85 @ Jul 13 2009, 08:26 PM)
hey guys. if i plan to buy a used savvy amt, what problems should i look out for and is there any specific batch having any specific problem?

what year car would be better to buy? looking for something +/- (preferably -) RM25000.
Basically it's the AMT itself... check if he service the amt gear oil in time... and check his knowledge about the car... like put to N and pull handbrake for stops... amt pump overheating... jerking problem... etc etc...
Junyen
post Jul 14 2009, 02:09 PM

QUOTE(RedSox2004 @ Jul 14 2009, 10:29 AM)
never safe to buy a second hand AMT... sweat.gif
Yup... But saying that wouldn't be fair to current AMT users tho... icon_rolleyes.gif
Good AMT users should deserve a better secondhand value...
Junyen
post Jul 14 2009, 07:23 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 14 2009, 03:30 PM)
Like everyone else here already mentioned, the biggest and possibly only major problem with AMT Savvy is the AMT itself.

Other common problems? Power windows? Yeah still there...but not so bad. My Manual Savvy is nearly 2 years old this coming October. So far, no major issue...but it's quite low mileage..only 21K so far.

Some common Savvy problems, which i have encountered are:
Car jerking in low gear - Sensor or throttle body problem. (Mine has sensor replace once or twice).
Stupid seat belt problem (can't pull it after you wear it...sometimes like that, front seats),
Power window - switch replaced once.
Rear right door - cannot close nicely. A lot of savvy has this problem.
Petrol cover - cannot open!!! **&%$ This is really stupid, when your car runs out of fuel and you can't pump petrol! I use a 20 cents coin to flip it open....so always have a 20 cent coin ready somewhere! But it was fixed since the last service @15,000 km and still working fine now.
Rear lights on constantly - this is not common problem...somehow the switch underneath got loosed, no big deal. Just plug it back. (But  i can't manage to plug the thing underneath the steering wheel and have to send it to a nearby workshop who charge me RM5 for it...LOL.)
I have the same problem to rear right door, petrol cover, rear lights... rear lights is on the 1st day i got my car... petrol cover twice already, send to sc, they open it and spray wd40, must try 20 cents next time... right rear door can only open from outside...

@awh
AMT problems are actually the system which heats up easily, when it's hot, the system prevents u from engaging gear, to protect the robotic arm... usually cause by putting in D and foot on brakes for stops, or didn't turn on the air cond... the damage is actually inside, u can't see it... so, buying it from a good owner which takes care of the amt is important... if not later u will have to spend 20k for replacing the system 5 or 10 years later... But AMT Savvy is a fun car to drive, u get 2 in 1...
Junyen
post Jul 14 2009, 10:16 PM

haha.. spending 20k of course is not fun... for me, i rather chg the engine and gearbox to some turbo turbo things... but what i mean is u get AT and MT in a car~ how fun is that...lol!
Junyen
post Jul 15 2009, 01:24 AM

why leh?
Junyen
post Jul 15 2009, 01:52 PM

should be tdc sensor...
Junyen
post Jul 16 2009, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 16 2009, 12:24 PM)
Just to update you guys, sent my car for 20k service this morning...the cost:

Around RM450.

I asked them to rotate my wheels and do aligment, which cost an additional RM5x. Also using Petronas Synthium oil.

I'll will have the breakdown later.
how do u know u will hv a breakdown later?

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jul 16 2009, 12:50 PM)
i thought i am the only one with this trick. hehe
more people try it out pls. if really tried and tested can make it to the front page liao :-)
okok... this is cool... i'll try it out!
Junyen
post Jul 16 2009, 04:15 PM

hahaha... okok... now i get ur meaning! LOL
Junyen
post Jul 16 2009, 09:21 PM

but if we service outside... our warranty will void? i heard some saying minor service can do outside.. major only go back to proton...
Junyen
post Jul 18 2009, 01:50 AM

Is it u accidentally turn the heater on in a hot day, then ac very cold... crack?
anyway tht's scary tho...
Junyen
post Jul 21 2009, 12:38 PM

no no~~ not air heater, it's the rear window heater...
Junyen
post Jul 23 2009, 12:08 AM

Hey guys, wana ask 10k service need to do wat? normal oil chg, oil filter, sealing ring? any other things?
Junyen
post Jul 23 2009, 01:35 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 23 2009, 09:41 AM)
Just the basic stuff. There shouldn't be much else. Should cost RM1xx only i believe.

Added on July 23, 2009, 9:42 am
May i ask?

Which SC? Use Mach 5 or Synthium 800? Got change spark plugs?

Added on July 23, 2009, 9:45 am
That is correct, actually don't need to change. What do you mean by 'dirty tooth'??
Ok.. tq.. thinking to delay my 10k service to mb 13k

Which area are u living? CoE have both mach 5 and syntium 800..
Junyen
post Jul 24 2009, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 23 2009, 01:56 PM)
When was the last time you change oil? If you changed at 1K, then you should go at 10k.

If you use Mach 5, then better change every 5k, if Synthium, then change every 10k.

But according to manual, it should be 10k or 6 months, whiever earlier....average, i got about every 6 months, but service follow the mileage.

Since you're at 10K, i think u still have one last free service voucher right?
I serviced by 6000km because at 1000km service they used mach5. Then now i'm using syn 800, so I don't think so I'll go back by 10k or 11k cuz it is too short since i'm using semi synthetic oil.. so I'm thinking to go back by 13k, then next will be 20k... and I still have 3 free service voucher... because 1k is free service, 5k they didn't charge me any labour fee, 10k will still be free service ( written in the service booklet)... so I can use it for 20k major service, 30k and 40k major service...wonder if I can keep the voucher for 60k major service?
Junyen
post Jul 27 2009, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(datuk_batery @ Jul 27 2009, 04:48 PM)
i change my rear window from proton only rm40
u sure? not rear view mirror?
Junyen
post Jul 28 2009, 04:36 PM

How about hard to start? Today, I cranked almost 10 times to start the car...
Junyen
post Jul 28 2009, 05:26 PM

I'm sure it's not battery, my car is still young...

how to clean tdc sensor? I saw the savoc steps are quite complicated...
Junyen
post Jul 28 2009, 05:33 PM

QUOTE(death_nite @ Jul 28 2009, 05:31 PM)
haih. still young. still got warranty aite? just go and claim warranty la. what so hard abt it? sweat.gif
Emm... What should I tell them? like hard start and jerking and let them figure it out? Or... just say there's something wrong with the tdc sensor?
Junyen
post Jul 29 2009, 12:49 AM

QUOTE(death_nite @ Jul 28 2009, 11:12 PM)
just tell them ur probs. good sc should know which part to fix. smile.gif  tongue.gif

maybe u can tell them both. tell ur probs and infrom them maybe tdc sensor need to be clean. btw, proton didnt refer tdc sensor as a tdc sensor. cant rmmbr what they call for tdc sensor. forgot ler. left my receipt in my car. haha. lazy to go out. tongue.gif
Oh... thx for that.... Is CoE kesas considered a good sc?
Junyen
post Jul 29 2009, 01:09 PM

QUOTE(Yzarc @ Jul 29 2009, 01:54 AM)
Proton refers the tdc sensor as magnetic speed sensor if not mistaken.
Oh Thanks.. I'll ask abt it later... Cannot stand it... today i faced the problem again... rclxub.gif

13 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0394sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:48 AM