33 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

THE DD-WRT V2 ( V24 SP2 Firmware Released ), Support For All DD-WRT Compatible Router

TSMX510
post May 18 2009, 03:11 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

QUOTE(bazet @ May 18 2009, 09:11 AM)
anyone tried ChilliSpot in DDWRT for local server ?

Currently I have 2 Linksys 54GL flashed to Coova AP / Open WRT because i need the Chillispot server and authenticate on external radius server.

http://prepaid.mamakspot.my
- wifi prepaid controller for Linksys WRT54GL,PFsense,Monowall
Nicely done, currently i just used my pfsense to control the users using the captive portal local user manager :-) . Version 1.2.3 RC1 now available! can control user download and upload speed for the users. I feel so kejam using bandwith metered package for WiFi users,i just prefered to set the days example 1 day 7 days or 30 days for their access . Using the 1.2.3 RC1 you can set max download and upload for the users. So it will be equal to all users that connected to the network.

Anyway your interface are great can be sell to enterprise users who wish to sell hotspot system :-) .

bazet
post May 18 2009, 03:25 PM

469 posts

thanks MX510

I'm using ChilliSpot / Coova AP because they support some special radius attribute like WISPr-Max-Up ( to limit upload/download speed in kbps ) so that I can limit each user upload and download speed.

For Pfsense Captive Portal box, I'm yet to test whether they support the attribute or not...

I like DD-WRT ......well I need another linksys 54gl just to test the Hotspot feature
TSMX510
post May 19 2009, 08:13 AM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(bazet @ May 18 2009, 03:25 PM)
thanks MX510

I'm using ChilliSpot / Coova AP because they support some special radius attribute like WISPr-Max-Up ( to limit upload/download speed in kbps ) so that I can limit each user upload and download speed.

For Pfsense Captive Portal box, I'm yet to test whether they support the attribute or not...

I like DD-WRT ......well I need another linksys 54gl just to test the Hotspot feature
Yeah you can try to enchance your signal with a powerful AP :-) like Senao EOC-2610. It can also supported DD-WRT but required paid activation, so far i sold many of them to end users and company who wish to do hotspot or bridging. Hehehe 600mW transmit power for directional and also have SMA connector if u wish to use it with Omni antenna.

You can custome the pfsense captive portal since they are open source :-)
zanasa
post May 23 2009, 09:40 AM

26 posts

In ddwrt forum i found this

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043

does it include linksys gl 1.1 also?
TSMX510
post May 23 2009, 10:10 AM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(zanasa @ May 23 2009, 09:40 AM)
In ddwrt forum i found this

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043

does it include  linksys gl 1.1 also?
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/dd-wrt/hardware.html

Use this link to check the latest firmware for the router :-)

SUSLNB
post May 26 2009, 01:48 AM

QUOTE(MX510 @ May 19 2009, 08:13 AM)
Yeah you can try to enchance your signal with a powerful AP :-) like Senao EOC-2610.
Hehehe 600mW transmit power for directional and also have SMA connector if u wish to use it with Omni antenna.
600mW thats so illegally overpowering and exceeds MCMC maximum EIRP power,
and you'll only cause interference to other devices. Do you know what you doing in the first place?

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 6 2009, 05:02 PM)
I will post the Sirim type approval number here and you can STFU after that smile.gif.
As I said, I have called SIRIM and they said it has not been type approved for operation in Malaysia,
and they've requested me to send informations of anyone using the boxes here.

But again you swear to hell that you got the type approval number? doh.gif

TSMX510
post May 26 2009, 10:34 AM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(LNB @ May 26 2009, 01:48 AM)
600mW thats so illegally overpowering and exceeds MCMC maximum EIRP power,
and you'll only cause interference to other devices. Do you know what you doing in the first place?
As I said, I have called SIRIM and they said it has not been type approved for operation in Malaysia,
and they've requested me to send informations of anyone using the boxes here.

But again you swear to hell that you got the type approval number?  doh.gif
Yeah you can get the number from Sirim and made a self inquiry to MCMC :-) i don't think so i will entertain and reply to a fakap user like you smile.gif . Pls do not post here and everywhere in thread try to offend users with ur multiple lowyat ID and offending me. So the best way STFU .
SUSLNB
post May 26 2009, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(MX510 @ May 26 2009, 10:34 AM)
Yeah you can get the number from Sirim and made a self inquiry to MCMC :-) i don't think so i will entertain and reply to a fakap user like you smile.gif
Well MX510 we are not talking about about me. I am not senior to anybody.
But I never believed all the claims you make about your boxes being type approved to be used in Malaysia.
And being a self proclaimed super experienced installer, you would have known thats it's so illegal to even run the boxes at 200mW whats more
at 600mW that you have been sheepishly recommending to everyone!!!

You would have easily blown the maximum allowed e.i.r.p transmit power for WiFi devices in Malaysia and cause unjustified interference to other
low powered wifi devices. It's because of crooks like you, that the whole 2.4ghz WiFi spectrum are filled with interference.
(you're welcomed to proove me wrong with your technical inefficiencies)

i have offered you to post the product type approval number and you welcome to take me up on that challange.

but seeing you crumbling and asking me to shut up when confronted, I made calls to SIRIM directly and they said the boxes has not been type
approved to be used or imported into Malaysia.

Therefore you've been misleading and lying to everyone here to illegally use your boxes and put them at risk.
altie
post May 27 2009, 11:59 AM

Runaway Fridgeâ„¢
673 posts

@LNB
I'm glad there are people who dare to speak up when they believe something is right, but please, this is a public forum. Harassing MX510 in every thread he is in without presenting any hard evidence is tantamount to trolling. It's very annoying to see both parties slug it out without proof. So please get some hard evidence to back up your claims and the moderating staff will do something about it.

No more fighting until proof is presented.

I am doing you a favour and not removing your posts.. not just yet. But if you can't come up with something to prove your point, I will remove all your posts from his threads. Especially the sales threads.

This post has been edited by altie: May 27 2009, 12:02 PM
SUSLNB
post May 29 2009, 09:28 AM

thanks altie,

herein producing a copy of Suruhanjaya Komunikasi dan Multimedia Malaysia's
Guidelines On The Provision Of WIRELESS LAN SERVICES for your reference:

reproduced in full and verbatim hereinbelow:

GUIDELINE ON PROVISION OF WIRELESS LAN SERVICE
REFERENCE NUMBER (MCMC/G/01/05-WLAN)

Clause 12.
To assist users in complying with the EIRP limit, a formula to determine EIRP is shown below and sample calculations are provided
in Appendix A;
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maximum E.I.R.P output power allowed by MCMC:
1. 2400.0000 Mhz to 2500.0000 Mhz = 27dBm

WiFi Power Output in dBm = Pout
Signal loss in cable (db) = Ct
Gain of the antenna (dbi) = Gt

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Senao EOC-2610 Transmit Power without antenna = 600mW ( 28 dBm)
Senao EOC-2610 Transmit Power with built in 10dBi antenna =
Pout (28dBm) - Ct (0 db) + Gt (10dBi)= 38dBm

38dBm = 6.3 W or 6,300mW

Clause 13.
Equipment which has an EIRP outside the allowable maximum would not qualify for use under the Class Assignment. The use of the
device beyond the allowed maximum EIRP are considered under Apparatus Assignment
(which requires Apparatus TYPE APPROVAL from SIRIM)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As with the above results, we can conclude that user MX510 has been misleading everyone here by recommending and selling a device/product which
seriously violates the 2.4Ghz WiFi Spectrum in Malaysia and put everyone at risk. As such I am requesting him explain and furnish us with
relevant authorised type approvals codes/number for the said product.

This post has been edited by LNB: May 29 2009, 10:10 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  MCMC_WiFi_Guideline.pdf ( 90.69k ) Number of downloads: 71
TSMX510
post May 29 2009, 12:21 PM

4,038 posts

This is the analogy

That the AP allows user to control the output power from 9dbm to 28dbm.

Although the AP capable producing 600mW, it can be tuned down to meet the requirement of the MCMC or any standard set by the sirim.

As an example, although ferarri can drive more than 300km/h, the speed limit is still 110km/h. but you can't stop people from buying ferrari or imported ferrari right?

SUSLNB
post May 29 2009, 07:12 PM

there you go, straight from the horse's mouth,

QUOTE(MX510 @ May 29 2009, 12:21 PM)
That the AP allows user to control the output power from 9dbm to 28dbm.
with a built in 10dBi antenna, any transmission above 50mW from Senao EOC-2610 boxes are illegal.

QUOTE(MX510 @ Apr 28 2009, 09:50 PM)
I got Senao 600mW AP running in my house already put it outside it does cost me headache when it's running inside
Senao EOC-2610 boxes are illegal to be used in Malaysia for the simple reason that it can cause serious interference to the 2.4Ghz Spectrum and
serious threat to humans health

QUOTE(MX510 @ May 29 2009, 12:21 PM)
you can't stop people from buying ferrari or imported ferrari right?
you will need Import Permit (AP) from the authorities in order to bring/import in the goods,
since there has been no Import Permit or Type Approval for any Senao EOC-2610 boxes here,
we can conclude that all Senao EOC-2610 are illegally smuggled into Malaysia and illegally sold MX510 here.

TSMX510
post May 29 2009, 07:53 PM

4,038 posts

Those Senao are from local distributor in PJ i am just a reseller, i already email them since you ask so much about papers. Even though you're not buying one at all. Just slamming people here and there.

X tahu lah ape masalah manusia kat dunia nih dengki tahap dewataraya. X ada pasal carik pasal. Ko nak ckp ape pun ko ckplah apa ko punya suka bro, aku rasa aku x buat masalah pun kalau ko x puas hati, . I will not reply any statement from you from now on. End of discussion.

Sesungguhnya dosa memfitnah itu adalah lebih berat dari awan.

Amin

This post has been edited by MX510: May 29 2009, 07:59 PM
SUSLNB
post May 29 2009, 09:56 PM

moral of the story is,
do not recommend or propose or sell something illegal which you are not even sure/aware or know of doh.gif

TSMX510
post Jun 1 2009, 12:27 PM

4,038 posts

Router Worm psyb0t

Written by McMadPete Saturday, 28 March 2009 10:16

In the last days several news blogs were publishing informations about "psyb0t", a worm that infects routers instead of PCs. Often the authors are suggesting that also alternative router firmwares like DD-WRT might be affected. At the current state of our investigation of the issue we can tell that DD-WRT is not vulnerable by default, only when WAN management is enabled there is a chance to attack the router.
As described in the Drone BL Blog the worm works with a brute force attack using dictonary based random passwords - there is nothing we could technically do to prevent that in general. To succeed the worm requires a router whith management access enabled at the WAN port (Web / SSH / Telnet) at the standard(!) TCP/IP ports for the services and a weak administrator password.

To nullify the possiblity to get your router infected by the worm (or to be attacked with a similar mechanism) you can take the following precautions:

* only enable admin access (Administration > Management > Remote Access) at the WAN port when required (most users don't need this and it's disabled by default)
* if you need administration access via the WAN port
o only use services with encrypted password transmission (HTTPS /SSH)
o chose a non-dictionary based secure password
o change the TCP/IP-ports to non-default ports

If a router got infected you cannot access the router anymore via Web or Telnet (SSH only if you did enable it once). As far as we know the worm does not yet install itself resistant so rebooting the router and checking if you can access it again is a first step. After you can access it again please disable WAN access or take the above mentioned precautions. If WAN access is not enabled your router was not infected and the non-accessability had another reason. The last option is resetting the router to factory defaults. Because the WAN port is disabled by default, your router then cannot get infected anymore.

If you have further questions regarding the worms mechanism please refer to the Drone BL Blog. If you have further question please check the forum or contact us.

http://dronebl.org/blog/8

http://dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv3/contact.html
InSplre
post Jun 7 2009, 11:42 AM

2,816 posts

hi, need help, i tried the access restriction on dd-wrt, but it is not working...

i wanted to only allow my housemate to have http/https only..

im using linksysy v5 and ddwrt generic micro.
blacktubi
post Jun 7 2009, 11:53 AM

-
8,399 posts

hey, why linksys WAG200G is not listed in your supported hardware list, is Linksys WA200G supported?
TSMX510
post Jun 7 2009, 01:19 PM

4,038 posts

QUOTE(InSplre @ Jun 7 2009, 11:42 AM)
hi, need help, i tried the access restriction on dd-wrt, but it is not working...

i wanted to only allow my housemate to have http/https only..

im using linksysy v5 and ddwrt generic micro.
I don't think that features works on micro version

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 7 2009, 11:53 AM)
hey, why linksys WAG200G is not listed in your supported hardware list, is Linksys WA200G supported?
Because it is not supported

InSplre
post Jun 7 2009, 10:20 PM

2,816 posts

im tryin to use iptables

iptables -I FORWARD 1 -s 192.168.0.100 -p tcp --dport 1024:65535 -j DROP

how to have source in range?
jianwei87
post Jun 8 2009, 08:00 PM

481 posts

how to setup opendns? i follow the wiki but it cannot connect. why?

33 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:55 AM