Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

toby.c13
post Dec 2 2008, 06:57 PM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 2 2008, 06:48 PM)
You can check it at the mapset section. It'll tell you the version you're using. You can go malsingmap.com or www.pda4x.com for the latest maps.
how to change map? hmm.gif
just replace the file in the memory card?

This post has been edited by toby.c13: Dec 2 2008, 06:57 PM
maxtor1
post Dec 2 2008, 08:16 PM

990 posts

Hi... i am very new in E71 Nokia High End phone...
just have few question to ask.... because i try to find the sample phone for try, can't get a demo set lah... hard to find lah... every phoneshop only have DUMMIES set.

so i am using Nokia 2600c now, the most important function for me is ALARM. it wake me up every morning... i am wonder the E71 Alarm sound is loud or not, pass many phone also can't wake me up....especially IPHONE...can't hear it, thats why i always late to office.... getting F*** by Boss.

my preview phone is E61 without camera one. it is so best. now i wonder E71 should be much better.... is there any PRO can answer me please....

i can get the AP set at RM1250 at Klang area. 10.5 hrs is really perfect to me ady, but screen only 2.36"... maybe too small liaou. hope to hear some Pro idea. i really falling in love with E71 since i saw it 1st time in gsmarena.com

naziaf
post Dec 2 2008, 08:51 PM

244 posts

You should try those Nokia boutiques if you have the chance. Then you can play around with the phone until you're completely satisfied! biggrin.gif

I'm starting to get tired of the leather pouch that came with the phone. It's a bit time consuming trying to get the phone out of it coz the top left corner always get stucked :S
davidmak
post Dec 2 2008, 10:13 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Dec 2 2008, 06:57 PM)
how to change map? hmm.gif
just replace the file in the memory card?
Yes, just replace the map file. The filename is gmapsupp.img. So you just copy and paste over the old one. Thats it. However, do consider the unlocking (security) keys. They will be different from one release to the other. Otherwise you may opt for the 'unlocked' version.
pxd
post Dec 2 2008, 10:20 PM

141 posts

Phone call question:

Tried to answer my phone when I am at my 'home screen', it will immediately minimize the phone into a small icon to the top right, where I can't get a chance to pick 'speaker', it is showing 'back' instead. (tested side by side)

However, when I am answering while the phone is keylocked, that doesn't happen. I can still manage to see the call starts, the timer, and the choice of right softkey as 'speaker'.

Any SIFU knows what should I do to prevent incoming call from minimizing to the top right? Thanks. (it has some sort of lightning fast 'highlighting' animation happened on the first most 'task' icon at 'home screen' BEFORE it minimizes, all happen in split seconds!)

This post has been edited by pxd: Dec 2 2008, 10:20 PM
eye
post Dec 3 2008, 12:22 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(pxd @ Dec 2 2008, 10:20 PM)
Phone call question:

Tried to answer my phone when I am at my 'home screen', it will immediately minimize the phone into a small icon to the top right, where I can't get a chance to pick 'speaker', it is showing 'back' instead. (tested side by side)

However, when I am answering while the phone is keylocked, that doesn't happen. I can still manage to see the call starts, the timer, and the choice of right softkey as 'speaker'.

Any SIFU knows what should I do to prevent incoming call from minimizing to the top right? Thanks. (it has some sort of lightning fast 'highlighting' animation happened on the first most 'task' icon at 'home screen' BEFORE it minimizes, all happen in split seconds!)
eh ??? whether key locked or unlocked, with an incoming call, u just need to press answer, the "LOUDSPEAKER" key always appear on yr bottom right.
pxd
post Dec 3 2008, 02:05 PM

141 posts

That's what I should be getting, but it's not, instead I am facing the problem mentioned. cry.gif Thanks for answering!! notworthy.gif
QUOTE(eye @ Dec 3 2008, 12:22 PM)
eh ??? whether key locked or unlocked, with an incoming call, u just need to press answer, the  "LOUDSPEAKER" key always appear on yr bottom right.
sembilan
post Dec 3 2008, 03:38 PM

644 posts

i am considering of buying this phone after my i600 has gone a bit wonky. i am wondering what are the main issues with this phone? I have heard that sometimes it doesn't detect the memory card, or shuts itself down. anymore problems that i should be exposed to? thanks in advance.
naziaf
post Dec 3 2008, 05:08 PM

244 posts

There's one major problem I found with this phone....

... once you own it you get addicted to it tongue.gif
pxd
post Dec 3 2008, 05:37 PM

141 posts

vmad.gif mad.gif Yeah, I was tricked by the friendly members here too and got into this honey trap! cry.gif

QUOTE(naziaf @ Dec 3 2008, 05:08 PM)

toby.c13
post Dec 3 2008, 05:40 PM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

its a damnnnnnnnnnn sweet phone. brows.gif
sembilan
post Dec 3 2008, 05:51 PM

644 posts

i appreciate the positive comments, but i really need to know if there are major problems of the phones. i have played with it a few times and i really like it as well, but the problems i mentioned above are keeping me away at the moment.
eye
post Dec 3 2008, 06:41 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(pxd @ Dec 3 2008, 02:05 PM)
That's what I should be getting, but it's not, instead I am facing the problem mentioned.  cry.gif  Thanks for answering!!  notworthy.gif
Perhaps u can try to do a restore "FACTORY SETTINGS" on yr e71?

Failing which, u shud go and update yr e71 firmware.

Goodluck.

davidmak
post Dec 3 2008, 08:20 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Yeah, especially when you try typing with it. Hehehehe... it'll make you want full qwerty keyboard for your future phones.
n20nine
post Dec 3 2008, 08:25 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(naziaf @ Dec 2 2008, 08:51 PM)
You should try those Nokia boutiques if you have the chance. Then you can play around with the phone until you're completely satisfied! biggrin.gif

I'm starting to get tired of the leather pouch that came with the phone. It's a bit time consuming trying to get the phone out of it coz the top left corner always get stucked :S
i agree about the leather pouch that comes with it. also, the open sides in my pouch have expanded after my friend pulled the leather cover outwards coz he could not take out the phone sad.gif looks a bit ugly...saw the white pouch..looks nice, but only scared of it getting dirty. costs rm 68. been looking at some pdair casings since our sifu can help us bring them in..

QUOTE(sembilan @ Dec 3 2008, 03:38 PM)
i am considering of buying this phone after my i600 has gone a bit wonky. i am wondering what are the main issues with this phone? I have heard that sometimes it doesn't detect the memory card, or shuts itself down. anymore problems that i should be exposed to? thanks in advance.
i had the memory card detection problems but after the firmware update everything is as smooth as i can imagine. only today it said that my music library is corrupt and the phone repaired it for me. i had the shut down problems as well, but like i said, one firmware update fixed everything for me.

hahah..have to agree with you...i've been playing with it everyday since i got it...
naziaf
post Dec 3 2008, 08:29 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(sembilan @ Dec 3 2008, 05:51 PM)
i appreciate the positive comments, but i really need to know if there are major problems of the phones. i have played with it a few times and i really like it as well, but the problems i mentioned above are keeping me away at the moment.
Here's some problems from me as a newbie (might not be a problem to some):

1) My keypad (the ones nearest to the screen) became bouncy and started to make creaking noise when pressed. Sent to service center and they changed the keypad.
2) It's a fingerprint magnet. Need to wipe it clean every now and then.
3) Dun upgrade to the latest firmware unless you dun plan to use a dark background/wallpaper coz the contacts font color will then be black after upgrade.

Other than that, no complaints from me. Only #1 was a big problem but that's settled.

BTW, I found a case that I'm really fond of here: http://www.gaugau.jp/?pid=9471180
Does anyone know where I can get this locally?

This post has been edited by naziaf: Dec 3 2008, 08:32 PM
n20nine
post Dec 3 2008, 08:37 PM

909 posts

those look like silicon cases...they're quite easy to get if i am not mistaken
davidmak
post Dec 3 2008, 10:36 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ Dec 3 2008, 08:37 PM)
those look like silicon cases...they're quite easy to get if i am not mistaken
Yeah the case looks good but I have had bad experience with silicon cases as they gather lots of dust due to constant rubbing when you put it into your pocket. Would prefer hard rubber/plastic case. Just need one of those to save me from wiping the entire phone every morning due to fingerprints and smudges.
n20nine
post Dec 3 2008, 11:24 PM

909 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 3 2008, 10:36 PM)
Yeah the case looks good but I have had bad experience with silicon cases as they gather lots of dust due to constant rubbing when you put it into your pocket. Would prefer hard rubber/plastic case. Just need one of those to save me from wiping the entire phone every morning due to fingerprints and smudges.
not only that bro..i used to have a silicon case for my ipod..when i charge it or use it a lot, it gets hot..what happens over time is the silicon case starts to leave sticky residue on your gadget.

i am finding for a decent case, something that is slim, made of leather and has a strap to keep the phone from falling...something that i slide in vertically...no belt clip on it...

on a side note, i just fixed a screen protector..screen looks very nice now and i just got a Kingston 4GB card.

Oh ya, check out this site : http://nokiae71.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/n...e-games-on-e71/

N-Gage Games on your E71 smile.gif
pxd
post Dec 3 2008, 11:37 PM

141 posts

Okie dokie. Restored and monitoring the outcome. Let yall know if it is fixed. Thanks.

QUOTE(eye @ Dec 3 2008, 06:41 PM)
Perhaps u can try to do a restore "FACTORY SETTINGS" on yr e71?

Failing which, u shud go and update yr e71 firmware.

Goodluck.

124 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0553sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:26 AM