All Things about BLU-RAY | V5

sunauto
post Jun 23 2008, 02:02 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 23 2008, 08:50 AM)
Of course can muat, but with lower bitrate. Meaning some details could lost. It's like DVD5 and DVD9, you can see the difference.

In this current stage, I think the BDA should make it compulsory now, at least for 2 hour movies to use 50GB. If possible, the extra features are moved to disc 2 except for audio/PiP commentary.
Precisely, like what bro aiman said, I'm more concerned about the lower bitrates used for the video and audio part. I wonder whether in the future, there will be a 100GB BD for movies. I hate the idea of having two BDs for a movie.
sunauto
post Jun 23 2008, 11:24 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 23 2008, 05:41 PM)
Speedy is selling BDs at exorbitant price. Siao.... better get it from either taukehs here.
Speedy staff price is RM100 per BD movie. Just found out from my friend. wink.gif
sunauto
post Jun 24 2008, 01:23 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 24 2008, 12:52 PM)
How many BDs I own? That's top secret. whistling.gif
Got any prize if we guess it correctly? drool.gif

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 24 2008, 01:02 PM)
we should launch CENTURY-BD club rclxms.gif

i m not qualified

but i know who got >100 tongue.gif
Not you, ar? Your BDs more than the books in the public library wor. laugh.gif
sunauto
post Jun 24 2008, 07:29 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 24 2008, 01:34 PM)
LOL... I've also lost count actually. Not because too many, but because they come and go. But definitely growing. sweat.gif
Like the Chinese saying, if the old ones don't go, how can the new ones come to you? tongue.gif

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 24 2008, 01:41 PM)
yes... if u dun keep track..it will get "lost" sad.gif
So, you're suggesting that we should audit our inventory, ar? tongue.gif

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jun 24 2008, 01:47 PM)
saw this ad regarding Panasonic.

40" full hd lcd + BD30 bd player for 12k if not mistaken.

But the BD30 not worth getting, it has a bug on PCM tracks, the LFE is short of 10db and Panasonic is unable to fix it and this affects the upcoming BD50 model as well. What AVS reported was true, I managed to test one from the Hi-Fi shop, the bass from the sub was softer, like putting a pillow in from of the sub. The upcoming Samsung BD1500 pulak had problems playing AVP2 and Alvin & The Chipmnunks but our PS3, so far, so good, no complaints, just that I wished that it could bitsream lossless audio codecs one day, maybe in the form of a revised console catered for BD kakis like us. wink.gif

QUOTE(JonC @ Jun 24 2008, 01:47 PM)
my collection of bds more than tripled ever since i join the poison session  tongue.gif  blush.gif
After I became friends with megatron007, mpyw and arj, my BDs and HD-DVDs are more than my original dvds now. doh.gif Yikes. sweat.gif

QUOTE(jwyj @ Jun 24 2008, 03:25 PM)
ST3! Hope it's not as bad as the ST2.
I have a bad feeling that ST3 might be worst than ST2. whistling.gif

sunauto
post Jun 24 2008, 10:58 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 24 2008, 09:52 PM)
fuyoo ...demm laku rclxms.gif
So tai kor, when is your turn to sell your BDs to us. tongue.gif

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 24 2008, 09:54 PM)
Clverfield only $13.86 at Tower.com thumbup.gif
That movie ar ....... if give free to me also I dun wan. laugh.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 24 2008, 10:42 PM)
aint a nice movie. So, that translates such low price. if CR007 at that price, I ll grab it  tongue.gif
Wah, htkaki always talk about CR007, must be a big Bond fan here. icon_rolleyes.gif
sunauto
post Jun 25 2008, 12:11 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 24 2008, 11:10 PM)
CR007 ?? i might got 1 extra SEAL-ed copy coming onshore soon

price "uncertain" yet" tongue.gif

Added on June 24, 2008, 11:11 pm

err.. better tumpang me via amazon la

wat u wan? i order for u lo  icon_rolleyes.gif
Wah ....... say until like I print money pulak. I got a lot of movies to buy but slowly lah, later when I buy today at USD19.95, next month Amazon sell at USD14.95, then I pengsan. Always happen to me but luckily I managed to get a few from their buy 2 free 1 offers. Win some and loose some. It's a gamble when buying from Amazon.

sunauto
post Jun 26 2008, 01:23 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 25 2008, 08:15 AM)
PiP...not interested lar....normally I just watch the movie nia....not even any of the extras tongue.gif
So far never tried PIP also, just play the movie, watch the special features, then that's it.

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 25 2008, 08:22 AM)
'300: Limited Collector's Edition'

demm ..wat edition again??
Nothing special lah tai kor, it contains all the special features just like the hd-dvd version, the current version only had some features from the hd-vd version. If they give the Spartan helmet as a gift then different story lah. tongue.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jun 25 2008, 01:31 PM)

anyone buying this? very nostalgic especially the excellent soundtrack songs  thumbup.gif
This one is a must buy title. It might be an old movie but the sound rocks on hd-dvd and should be better on blu-ray since it is using DTS-MA 6.1 and it will contain some special features (do take note that the hd-dvd version is featureless doh.gif ) Picture quality is a step up from the standard dvd. I'll definitely buy the blu-ray version as long as Dato' M allows me to tumpang order with him. tongue.gif

sunauto
post Jun 26 2008, 01:15 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 26 2008, 09:23 AM)
27 Dresses good comedy and romantic film....even my daughter like it tongue.gif
Hahaha, I also enjoy watching that movie too but buying it on BD ....... I'm still considering unless got extra $$$. Still saving my moolah ........ for Top Gun, XXX State Of The Union, etc on BD. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 26 2008, 09:27 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Cool_Knights @ Jun 26 2008, 08:27 PM)
guys... when bulk order for Batman Begins start? I wanna join~ I haven't test blu-ray movie on my PS3 yet... wish got some blu-ray movie to layan....
You must PM our Dato M for further details. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 26 2008, 11:04 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 26 2008, 10:54 PM)
BATMAN mini bULK coming next week rclxms.gif
Got any August bulk, ar? For Top Gun one. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 27 2008, 01:13 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 26 2008, 11:23 PM)
cannot wait la the bus...only for title release together or ealier than Batman
other than tat....wait together with MUMMY 1 & 2 BULK end of JULY rclxms.gif
Any news on our previous Amazon bulk? Sudah sampai Selat Melaka yet?

Mummy BD is out on 22 Jul but that Top Gun, Dark City and other titles on 29 Jul, that's why ask you got August bulk or not mah. smile.gif
sunauto
post Jun 27 2008, 11:37 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 27 2008, 07:21 AM)
*preparing for next POISON.... the BATMAN begin BULK*
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif moneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifrclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Wah, morning-morning poison people with Batman pulak. Takut lo. sweat.gif

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 27 2008, 07:33 AM)
So. Batman Begins now only $17.95 ar? My advise, must buy.

Better buy it now, later Amazon buat silap mata and change the price back to $19.95. After the recent fuel price hike, every cent counts nowadays. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 27 2008, 09:38 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 27 2008, 02:33 PM)
Look what Mr. Postman just bring in  drool.gif  icon_idea.gif

sent out by Amazon UK on 20th...received today... rclxm9.gif  whistling.gif
That's fast. Was it sent by standard mail?

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 27 2008, 07:39 PM)
the GOD papa very nice wow!

fuyooo
btw... got 3 copy BDs to sell out (ALL BRAND NEW IN SEALED)

flex.gif
1. gone in 60sec (RM90)
2. Casino Royale (RM90)
3. 3:10 Yuma (RM80)
pm or sms me to deal FAST rclxms.gif
I bet htkaki will buy CR007 from you. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 28 2008, 12:48 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(devanbrat @ Jun 28 2008, 12:38 AM)
Thanks bro. How to order from Mega? Maybe i want 1 or 2 BD titles only.
I play ripped HD on my ps3 too not bad la..its in m2ts format..have to convert from mkv files..
Well, you can just send a PM to Dato M, he's very friendly one, dun worry, he won't bite. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 28 2008, 11:47 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jun 28 2008, 02:52 AM)
Quite a number of titles are a few bucks more expensive right compared to earlier today. Could this be a sign that a promo is coming? hmm.gif
I do hope that they will have a big promotion now and if possible, with more titles to choose from to sweetened the deal. tongue.gif

Dato M always try to poison me with Batman pulak.
Hinting me to buy this title I guess. doh.gif
sunauto
post Jun 28 2008, 07:43 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 28 2008, 12:07 PM)
come n see the real thing in action la....fatal poison terus tongue.gif rclxms.gif

Added on June 28, 2008, 12:11 pm

super ELITE? brows.gif  u all forgot got 2 more BIG taukeh here  brows.gif  brows.gif

Added on June 28, 2008, 12:13 pm

actualli i oledi pre-order for u in my bulk list next week

wauahaha  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Wah lau ....... like that also can. Then, pre-order Top Gun and XXX State Of The Union on BD for me ya. Hahaha. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jun 28 2008, 12:24 PM)
So native 720P is more than enough for BD movies ar?  hmm.gif
Technically it is enough for the average viewer but personally I prefer 1080p/24fps anytime for judder free movies.
sunauto
post Jun 29 2008, 09:45 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 28 2008, 10:44 PM)
yes, it supports 1080p 24fps. One of the main reasons why I bought it. Too bad you are not into HD pj. It will display the signal on the screen.

Just watched Jumper DVD (OT) in the evening. Short movie. I would give it a miss for BD since no moolah to splurge. But, will deifnitely buy Indy Jones and Iron Man BD
Well, my Bravia displays the input signal on the screen too, I will know whether it is a 1080i/60, 1080p/60 or 1080p/24 signal. Yeah, you're right, I'm not into HD pj, for gaming and movies, LCDs and Plasmas are always my number 1 choice.

These few days, didn't watch any BDs, was busy playing with my MGS4. Good way to kill time. tongue.gif
sunauto
post Jun 29 2008, 08:57 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jun 29 2008, 12:42 PM)
I finished my MGS4 already. whistling.gif
Well, I'm distracted by other games besides MGS 4, it happens when you own all three consoles like Wii, XBOX 360 and PS3, too many games to play but too little time to complete them. I'm just trying my best to finish them asap. BDs are easier, just sit down and watch without any thinking needed (couch potato).

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 29 2008, 12:59 PM)
Still haven't tested my Jumper and MIB. And got dozens of BD haven't watched fully yet. doh.gif

Is Jumper that bad as a movie? If it is, might sell it unopened. hmm.gif
I have watched Jumper on dvd, didn't like the story that much so there's no way I'm buying the BD version. Is good to have dvds around, they're good for preview purposes. BDs or HD-DVDs are strictly for keeps. For movies that I buy on BD or HD-DVD format, they must pass my SIRIM test first. tongue.gif I won't spend my hard earn money on a so so movie that I won't even consider watching twice.
sunauto
post Jun 30 2008, 12:03 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Jun 29 2008, 10:20 PM)
Mostly based on PQ... but don't get me wrong, if movie like AvP: Requiem or Meet the Spartan or some other crappy titles get a 5/5 PQ, I'm not gonna buy it. It would be based on my preferences AND my budget. IMDB is my best friend here...  biggrin.gif

I don't have some badass sound system yet so AQ is not important.
For me, the storyline is more important and sometimes, it is unfortunately that some of my favourite movies have poor PQ and AQ but I still buy them, maybe because they were a few years old and some imperfections are hard to overcome or get rid off but as long as it looks and sounds better than my standard dvd, it's good enough for me.

QUOTE(amirisme @ Jun 29 2008, 10:46 PM)
aiya... so many people hating on jumper.... I like it alot!

ape2 pon... right now BD haitus on effect! hehehehe. next time buy bd will be in august! At that time, will buy:
Step Up 2
Harold and Kumar 1 and 2
Batman Begins
The Bank Job
The Italian Job
I enjoyed watching Harold And Kumar, will definitely buy these two on BD.

QUOTE(hezda @ Jun 29 2008, 11:31 PM)
What's so special about the box over the individual BD? Got extra content?
Some people like to collect boxsets which might be priceless one day when they're out of print.
sunauto
post Jun 30 2008, 01:46 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 30 2008, 07:00 AM)
Morning GUYS

is the BANK JOB nice movie??? hmmm
Just watched it on those Cap Ayam dvd last nite, I'll say it's worth getting on BD but don't expect the movie to have a 5-star AQ quality because this movie ain't Transporter or Crank. Anyway, it doesn't matter to me as long as the storyline is good and won't bore me to death. I'll give that movie a 4.5 out of 5.

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 30 2008, 08:29 AM)
Morning guys.....

Finally watched the National Treasure 1 last night.....superb PQ/AQ and an interesting movie too....Recommended thumbup.gif
Guess I'll be getting this one for the next bulk if I have extra $$$ for this.

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 30 2008, 09:14 AM)
NT1 is rocking on PQ & AQ

NT2 but AQ errr ... biggrin.gif
Apa terjadi with NT2? Not so good? I thought the critics only complaint that the PQ not as good as NT1.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 30 2008, 10:09 AM)
bank job nice thumbup.gif always been a fans o jason stathom and (.Y.)
Yup, I'm a fan of this French guy, looking forward to Transporter 3.

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 30 2008, 01:25 PM)
i wonder how many ppl still buying the fake BLU DVD nowadays sad.gif
You mean Blu-Ray rips on D9 dvds or just plain old pirate dvds? Honestly, who doesn't buy them? But for me, I won't buy Blu-Ray rips on D9 dvds, those are a waste of money because it ain't gonna look any better and yes, maybe the audio is marginally better since these Blu-Ray rips are using a higher bitrate than normal dvds.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0236sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:16 PM