i just wanna ask your opinion about this Hp..
i just see and try the handphone at Nokia,The Garden beside Mid Valley and in my 1st impression was so "wow!"
Nokia Nokia N85 Thread [v1], The dual slider evolves
Nov 23 2008, 11:33 AM
122 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hai All of you..
i just wanna ask your opinion about this Hp.. i just see and try the handphone at Nokia,The Garden beside Mid Valley and in my 1st impression was so "wow!" |
Nov 23 2008, 11:39 AM
2,529 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 11:23 AM) Those buying AP sets, is Nokia Map included in the package? I asked my friend who is a phone shop dealer, saying AP have something in difference like cannot fully support some software due to like non-ori firmware sort of thing compared to Ori. Just wondering if its true. Cause the prices for both is quite a margin. last time when to phone shop asking for AP set, they said need to add another RM50 if want to use the nokia map...if ori set, no need because already installed...i ask some sellers here in garage sales, they also said same thing...then i ask is there any others function that are not in AP set...they said only the nokia map..others are same... |
Nov 23 2008, 12:06 PM
2,378 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri,Sarawak,Malaysia Status: Dead! |
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 11:39 AM) last time when to phone shop asking for AP set, they said need to add another RM50 if want to use the nokia map...if ori set, no need because already installed...i ask some sellers here in garage sales, they also said same thing... How about the battery included? Still original? Also I bet they take out the 8GB microSD as well. Any rumour that AP set can't install certain java programs? Just want to know what's the major difference in AP and Ori set. More comments will be more justified. Am considering either to get this one or just wait for Nokia 5800. Downgrading from Samsung Omnia though. then i ask is there any others function that are not in AP set...they said only the nokia map..others are same... This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Nov 23 2008, 12:07 PM |
Nov 23 2008, 01:11 PM
1,766 posts Joined: May 2005 From: rite here in this forum! |
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 08:23 AM) new N85 user reporting in to the squadron... hahaha welcome to the eat grass club...i joined this club much earlier though 1.6k on my hand...so small..huhuhuhuhu... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(Qool @ Nov 23 2008, 08:36 AM) something to share.... wow thanks for the link...now only i know there's this menu transition effects....i've been missing this for like 1 week + of owning it duh.http://thenokiablog.com/2008/10/23/3-setti...er-fp2-devices/ still working on my wifi though.. i can connect to my home's wifi.. but then i can't surf the net at all. it works on and off... browse 1 page fine... link to another it stucked at 0kb... any advice on the settings? on the wifi thing, did u set your SSID to be hidden? If it is then you would have this prob. To solve it, have your wifi router set to show SSID, use your N85 to detect it and connect to it. After successful connect, then only set your SSID in your router to hide. Then set your N85 Network Status to "Hidden". To do that, go go Tools > Settings > Connection > Destinations > Internet > Edit your access point > Under Network Status : Change to Hidden. This should solve it. It did for mine. QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 10:25 AM) 1 - everytime after send a msg, the screen will go back to inbox folder...is there any setting i can set so it will go straight to frontpage...?? 1 : Nope, i don't think there's any setting that can set that.2 - if i open same applications or pages, when i press the "red button" (dont know what it called 2 : The S60 is a multi task system and yes, there's the hassle of having the apps not quitting when u press the Red (End Call) button. There's no setting to overcome this as well. I also find it a problem everytime u wanna press lots of BACK button till u come to EXIT button. That is after u go deep in to certain menu. QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 11:23 AM) Those buying AP sets, is Nokia Map included in the package? I asked my friend who is a phone shop dealer, saying AP have something in difference like cannot fully support some software due to like non-ori firmware sort of thing compared to Ori. Just wondering if its true. Cause the prices for both is quite a margin. I bought an AP set. All are original including the battery. Although i read AP sets do not come with Nokia Maps of something like that, my AP unit comes with it. The voice navigation only has 90 days trial though. But the ORI set also has till 90 days as well. U can have a full version replacing it after expiring though...but need to google lar. Personally I find the Nokia Maps not very useful due to the not updated map (one time it tells me to go thru a one way street in the opposite direction - although the road used to be 2 way, it ain't now). So I am using Garmin Mobile XT which has a much updated map. Gotta google for those info though.EDIT : Not to mention the battery might not be original anymore with AP set. My AP set's firmware and region code is exactly the same as malaysian Ori unit, firmware update would not be a problem. So when buyin AP sets, choose wisely. QUOTE(noty_boy87 @ Nov 23 2008, 11:33 AM) Hai All of you.. Yeah, me thinks the sound quality (off the speaker) is not so good too. I heard its great on N96 though. Might wanna consider that model.i just wanna ask your opinion about this Hp.. i just see and try the handphone at Nokia,The Garden beside Mid Valley and in my 1st impression was so "wow!" QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 11:39 AM) last time when to phone shop asking for AP set, they said need to add another RM50 if want to use the nokia map...if ori set, no need because already installed...i ask some sellers here in garage sales, they also said same thing... hrm...refer my reply above...then i ask is there any others function that are not in AP set...they said only the nokia map..others are same... QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 12:06 PM) How about the battery included? Still original? Also I bet they take out the 8GB microSD as well. Any rumour that AP set can't install certain java programs? Just want to know what's the major difference in AP and Ori set. More comments will be more justified. Am considering either to get this one or just wait for Nokia 5800. Downgrading from Samsung Omnia though. All accs, battery, microSD card, charger, cable all ori for mine. All java apps can install. For my case, the diff btwn Ori n AP is only on the Price & Warranty. |
Nov 23 2008, 01:36 PM
@yupio
Thanks for the reply. Some more questions. Is your warranty by Telstar? And how much did you bought yours? Still considering this or upcoming XpressMusic 5800. |
Nov 23 2008, 01:43 PM
2,095 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: misery |
We need a user review quick!
Nov 23 2008, 02:06 PM
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 01:36 PM) @yupio i bought AP Set from renee...telstra warranty...same price with her thread at garage sale...RM1589 for 1yr warranty , lcd no warranty, battery and charger 1mth warranty..Thanks for the reply. Some more questions. Is your warranty by Telstar? And how much did you bought yours? Still considering this or upcoming XpressMusic 5800. **i'm not @yupio thou... |
Nov 23 2008, 03:14 PM
2,801 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Nov 23 2008, 03:28 PM
thanks yupio..
but i think i juts buy N85 because N96 are to expensive for me but for the firmware, if nokia release a new firmware, can the AP set upgrade it?? |
Nov 23 2008, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 02:06 PM) i bought AP Set from renee...telstra warranty...same price with her thread at garage sale...RM1589 for 1yr warranty , lcd no warranty, battery and charger 1mth warranty.. **i'm not @yupio thou... QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 23 2008, 03:14 PM) As for the warranty, I see most AP gives 12 months warranty for LCD, 1~3 months for battery and charger. Just want to confirm on that. |
Nov 23 2008, 04:02 PM
2,801 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Nov 23 2008, 04:22 PM
189 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
thanks yupio for the settings but i still can't really make use of the wifi. Do we use infrastructure or ad-hoc mode? I can detect my SSID and connect to it. but when i browse the net... it loads like a few hundred bytes.. then it'll stop completely. just hanging there. other times it'll just stuck at 0kb... anyone can help on the settings?
Nov 23 2008, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 23 2008, 03:14 PM) QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 03:32 PM) As for the warranty, I see most AP gives 12 months warranty for LCD, 1~3 months for battery and charger. Just want to confirm on that. QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 23 2008, 04:02 PM) then....u can upgrade the warranty to "2yrs warranty, lcd 1yr, battery and charger 3mths warranty "...just like what renee says in her selling thread...sumore, she will add the "missing part on AP set" (the NOKIA GPS thing)..plus..she also install garminxt for free...plus...1 screen protector... for the price, i think u all better check with her... |
Nov 23 2008, 05:17 PM
1,766 posts Joined: May 2005 From: rite here in this forum! |
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 01:36 PM) @yupio No prob bro....mine's CSLThanks for the reply. Some more questions. Is your warranty by Telstar? And how much did you bought yours? Still considering this or upcoming XpressMusic 5800. Added on November 23, 2008, 5:21 pm QUOTE(noty_boy87 @ Nov 23 2008, 03:28 PM) thanks yupio.. yeah, my AP set will be able to update fine as its exactly the same as the Zitron / Avaxx set. For a confirmed answer, will have to wait till a firmware update is available.but i think i juts buy N85 because N96 are to expensive for me but for the firmware, if nokia release a new firmware, can the AP set upgrade it?? QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 03:32 PM) As for the warranty, I see most AP gives 12 months warranty for LCD, 1~3 months for battery and charger. Just want to confirm on that. My CSL AP set have 12 months warranty on LCD, 15 months warranty everything else.QUOTE(Qool @ Nov 23 2008, 04:22 PM) thanks yupio for the settings but i still can't really make use of the wifi. Do we use infrastructure or ad-hoc mode? I can detect my SSID and connect to it. but when i browse the net... it loads like a few hundred bytes.. then it'll stop completely. just hanging there. other times it'll just stuck at 0kb... anyone can help on the settings? It'll be Infrastructure mode....funny though, mine works just fine...try other browser??Added on November 23, 2008, 5:45 pmReporting 1st incident of N85 freeze. I've switched on Menu Transition and for the first time, when a call comes in, the ringer did not ring but the screen shows Incoming Call but then I press the green (receive call button), the phone did not respond. All other buttons pressed also did not get the phone to respond. End up, the phone auto reboot with the NOKIA word and white background then goes into main standby screen. I go into Call logs, the call did not register as missed or incoming call. Overall with the menu transition switched on, the interface seems lagged. Will try it for a few days, if it gives prob, will switch off. This post has been edited by yupio: Nov 23 2008, 05:45 PM |
Nov 23 2008, 05:53 PM
I asked another phone dealer, AP set 1 year warranty for all parts, RM15XX. Also included 8GB microSD as well.
Nov 23 2008, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(yupio @ Nov 23 2008, 05:17 PM) No prob bro....mine's CSL what menu transition?? Added on November 23, 2008, 5:21 pm yeah, my AP set will be able to update fine as its exactly the same as the Zitron / Avaxx set. For a confirmed answer, will have to wait till a firmware update is available. My CSL AP set have 12 months warranty on LCD, 15 months warranty everything else. It'll be Infrastructure mode....funny though, mine works just fine...try other browser?? Added on November 23, 2008, 5:45 pmReporting 1st incident of N85 freeze. I've switched on Menu Transition and for the first time, when a call comes in, the ringer did not ring but the screen shows Incoming Call but then I press the green (receive call button), the phone did not respond. All other buttons pressed also did not get the phone to respond. End up, the phone auto reboot with the NOKIA word and white background then goes into main standby screen. I go into Call logs, the call did not register as missed or incoming call. Overall with the menu transition switched on, the interface seems lagged. Will try it for a few days, if it gives prob, will switch off. |
Nov 23 2008, 08:23 PM
107 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: UKM Bangi |
i think i will buy for my girlfriend/wife next year, mid of Jan...so, around how much RM? where cheaper? Warranty extended??
Thanks... cheers!!! |
Nov 23 2008, 08:32 PM
Thanks Mr yupio.. I really appreciate your info..
This post has been edited by noty_boy87: Nov 23 2008, 08:32 PM |
Nov 23 2008, 08:49 PM
3,887 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 02:06 PM) i bought AP Set from renee...telstra warranty...same price with her thread at garage sale...RM1589 for 1yr warranty , lcd no warranty, battery and charger 1mth warranty.. You should upgrade the warranty la.**i'm not @yupio thou... I bought from her also. But pay a bit more for the 2yrs warranty with 1yr warranty on LCD. She got install Garmin for you? Maybe cos I didnt ask so I din get it. But Nokia Map is enough for me liao. |
Nov 23 2008, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Nov 23 2008, 08:49 PM) You should upgrade the warranty la. i did upgrade the warranty to 2yrs.. I bought from her also. But pay a bit more for the 2yrs warranty with 1yr warranty on LCD. She got install Garmin for you? Maybe cos I didnt ask so I din get it. But Nokia Map is enough for me liao. i ask her to install garmin...also the nokia map.. but i tot we need to pay if want to use the nokia one...garmin is free right.. |
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:31 AM |