interesting phone...any idea when's it launching and available in MY??
Nokia Nokia N85 Thread [v1], The dual slider evolves
Sep 1 2008, 04:57 AM
1,766 posts Joined: May 2005 From: rite here in this forum! |
interesting phone...any idea when's it launching and available in MY??
Nov 7 2008, 04:02 PM
anyone can recomment good AP company to buy N85 from?? And what's the price for AP unit in KL now? I m planning to get one in KL this monday. Can recommend any seller around Lowyat area?
Nov 14 2008, 11:51 AM
Hi there, just got myself a N85 two days back. Been happy with it.
So far I do not have any major issues with the phone like those listed in the link provided by craxors above. Only thing I have is : 1. Bluetooth headset keep disconnecting and reconnecting. 2. If u set to ask for security code when different simcard is inserted, it will ask u for the security code everytime you switch on the phone irrespective of whether the same or different simcard is in your phone. So far, there's no restart problem since using it for the third day now. No restart even when charging using usb data cable or charger. I am using the supplied 8Gb microSDHC Class 4 (Nokia) |
Nov 15 2008, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 14 2008, 12:33 PM) @yupio nice to hear that...maybe n85 in malaysia dont have that kind of major problems... btw where do u bought it?? how much.. is it AP or ORI..?? QUOTE(tyss @ Nov 14 2008, 01:06 PM) @craxors & @tyss,I bought a CSL AP set from a shop and its expensive...RM1980. Its full ori Nokia (Malaysia) version and comes with 15 mth warranty. I was one of the early adopters hence the high price but I think its worth all of the money. The screen quality is awesome and some features are superb especially the FM transmitter. Playing radio, MP3 and videos routing its audio to the car stereo. You can also trick your friend by transmitting some weird audio clip over their frequency and they jump ehehehehe. The sellers in forum may have a lower price but I have enquired some of them but unable to get stock. In actual fact the AP price should be around RM1700 to RM2030 depending on which AP company and ORI set priced around RM2450 (+/-). QUOTE(kwkean @ Nov 15 2008, 06:00 AM) Hopefully the new firmware update will fix these problems. Planning to get this phone and I hope it won't let me down The current firmware as it is, does not pose any major concern. So far, all I have is a very minor and negligible issue.QUOTE(intune @ Nov 15 2008, 06:42 AM) What is the most problematic firmware for n85..? Im really looking into upgrading into the n85 so far i kinda like my n78 interms power useage..i really think the new FP2 has improve lots on power consumption n useage. Also i beliew the single CPU ARM11 really is fast..to bad it doesnt do video out. nevertheless 6220 clasic use the same processor but has video out which puzzles me.. Most problematic I facing is everytime u switch off the phone and when ON back, it will ask u for a security code if u set to ask the code on different sim inserted. Thing is, u don't switch off n on often rite? And even if u do, u can always set it to not ask for code for the moment, untill the new firmware is ready.Overall the performance is fast, operating the menu is not laggy, audio quality is good. Video at high quality still plays smoothly and does not make the phone laggy. Love this phone. I have always been a SE supporter. Was contemplating btwn SE C905 and NK N85. Only diff is SE is S40 and NK is S60. For SE, you cannot install other GPS software and S60 u get lots of software. I installed Garmin for GPS software instead of using the Nokia Maps which only comes with 90 day trial. Garmin works great man! |
Nov 16 2008, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Vint @ Nov 15 2008, 08:02 PM) The main drawback is the lifespan of the OLED screen i guess..heard that some afraid that when they trade in this phone in the next few years time,then it wont have any value..can someone enlighten me with this prob? well the 2nd hand price may not look good but its actually due to the public which is mis-informed of the OLED. Typical OLED lasts 500,000 hrs of use and that would equate to almost the lifetime of the phone...heck some other parts of the phone don't even lasts as long.What u can do to preserve the screen is to not turn on any standby screen like the clock and such. |
Nov 16 2008, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Nov 16 2008, 12:37 AM) I heard that n85 has photo zooming problem. It's very slow in zooming photos. But I played with n85 in Nokia Showroom and I felt that FP2 is very fast in zooming photo, it's like instant without waiting time like what in my n82. If the photos in memory card, can it be zoomed fast? Purposely try the zoom function for u...The speed was superb. Zooming in each time took less than 1 sec. and the picture was taken in 5 Mega pixel, highest quality the N85 is capable. I am suspecting the review unit has multiple apps running in the background while the reviewer is zooming, since S60 OS is capable of multitask. But for me, when the phone is not multitask, the zooming function i think even some digital camera may not be as fast as the N85. Zooming in as well as going left, right, up & down in the zoomed picture is less than a second. Its real fast. Added on November 16, 2008, 12:59 am QUOTE(kwkean @ Nov 15 2008, 05:20 PM) I do believe we should go for the AP set as it is cheaper (hell a lot) compare Original. The retail price set by Nokia is 450 Euro for n85, so you can imagine how much you save if you get an AP set. Warranty shouldn't be a problem if you have access to those AP company easily I agree with u there. I usually choose AP with its company available locally in my state.But more importantly, go for reputable AP company. Like my case, I went to a good AP company that sells be the N85 which is fully original Nokia set and its exactly the same as the Zitron / Avaxx unit meaning , its localised for Malaysia as well. The T9 is also capable of Eng, Malay, Chinese. Also it readily comes with MMS, GPRS, 3G settings for the local telcos. Also the phone and all the accessories comes with the authentic Nokia sticker. This AP unit is of course more expensive than other AP company's but its still a lot cheaper compared to the Official Ori unit, but then mine's just as Ori as the Official one. This post has been edited by yupio: Nov 16 2008, 12:59 AM |
Nov 16 2008, 03:11 AM
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Nov 16 2008, 01:57 AM) Ic... thx for the result. Anyway, when I played with the phone in Nokia showroom, the phone has several apps running and the music player seems to be hanged. Eventhough, the zooming speed is still fast. I think my next phone gonna be n85. But I read the review from GSMarena, saying that eventhough n79 and n85 has same camera but Nokia somehow make n85 camera algorithm worsen. As a result, n85 is not able to produce good quality photos compare to other top 5MP cameraphone. hrm...I can't say much about the camera quality as compared to other 5mp phone cams coz i dun own any other 5mp phone cams except the docomo SH906iTV which is 5.2MP autofocus but then the pics from the N85 is still better than the docomo (which is a SHARP manufactured phone). Overall I m happy with the N85 produced pictures. |
Nov 16 2008, 01:03 PM
oh ya the navi wheel is really not usable...not sensitive enough and there's no sensitivity adjustment.
Nov 17 2008, 08:58 AM
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 16 2008, 05:24 PM) btw...some say...if buy AP set, need to add another RM50++ for the GPS application because it still not activate. can someone confirm this...thanks... QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Nov 16 2008, 06:11 PM) GPS software should be free only need to pay for voice guidance features..but anyway you can get it for free if you know where to find it... Yes, I am ditching the Nokia Maps and using Garmin XT instead with map from malsingmaps, latest is Sept 08 map. i don't think nokia maps is as uptodate as garmin map for malaysia released by mapsingmap right?? |
Nov 18 2008, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(Howard @ Nov 18 2008, 10:38 AM) how far do you need to put your phone away from the radio for it to receive the transmission anyway? just leave it on the radio will do the job... Oh, I thought I need to tick off Assisted GPS instead of Network Based. Anyway, what's the difference between Assisted GPS and Network Based? Aren't they the same?? Confused!! and i don't think your distance of yourself with the radio receiver on your car is way further than 1m... it works perfectly with playing music & videos no need to pay, however, you must make sure your GPS settings is not NETWORK-BASED, you must turn it off manually in your phone settings, otherwise, each time u turn on your GPS, your GPRS/3G connection is on also to assist your phone in getting more accurate positioning from your telco, which could cost you a bomb if you are on the move (except if you have unlimited data package subscribed for your phone) to do this :-> Menu > Tools > Settings > General > Positioning > Positioning Methods > tick off Network based |
Nov 18 2008, 05:56 PM
nolar, at the moment not many users yet i think.
Nov 19 2008, 05:26 PM
Nov 20 2008, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 20 2008, 01:05 PM) u guys have no problem with the slides? i read somewhere that when the phone is slide up,when u tap the end call button u can hear squeaking sound because there is a big gap. hrm...no issue with that....maybe mine's still new. Only been a week owning it. The slide down (to expose the media keys) is a tad tight though. Tried again just now with the phone slide up (showing the numeric pad) and tapping n pressing the Eng Call button. I tried softly and harder, both do not give any squeaking sound. In fact, I cannot feel the top piece and the bottom piece of the phone moving (i.e. getting closer to each other) at all. Its a very solid slide mechanism. This post has been edited by yupio: Nov 20 2008, 01:23 PM |
Nov 20 2008, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(doomx @ Nov 20 2008, 01:25 PM) that im aware of and besides i think that it is no problem. later i go search the source i was reading review of it. Thanks for the link doomx, after looking through the video and testing and inspecting my N85. I have a wobble on the top (screen) part and the rest of the areas none. Even tried what the link said (in closed mode and try pressing the lower right part as well as in multimedia mode) all do not exhibit any wobble.ok i when digging all my history and found it N85 wobbly slider after reading make sure see the video. thanks In closed part, I have a slight wobble on the top part but its a really really slight wobble, I think 1mm or even less and its not so bad until can make a click-clack sound. It wobbled very slightly but doesn't make any sound. It is soo minor and makes me think this is normal for a sliding phone. A slide mechanism must have a slight free-play otherwise, the sliding would not be smooth. Mine's pretty normal. I think N85 may have units manufactured in different region of the world and they may churn out different quality handsets. Mine although is AP, is the same model as the Malaysian Ori Zitron / Avaxx set which I think do not possess such issues. So far, been using it for a week and I am a heavy user (calls a lot, watch videos a lot and MP3 average). I sync a lot, my 8Gb microSD is almost full. So first week owning it, I sure meddle with it a lot. So far, the phone never hangs and never restart on me even while synching and charging. Only thing worth complaining is Security code always ask when phone turned on even simcard is not changed. And bluetooth handsfree keeps disconnecting and reconnecting which can be eliminated when u switch your handsfree off and on back. I think both the above problem can be addressed via firmware so no worries. Overall, I am satisfied with the N85. |
Nov 22 2008, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 22 2008, 04:59 PM) how long would it take for this phone to fully charge?? i felt using the USB data cable to charge takes a bit more time to get to full...forgot how long though...is it different if using charger (3 pin plug) and the usb charging?? noob noob using the adaptor (3 pin) to charge took mine around 2 hours i think. |
Nov 23 2008, 02:10 AM
QUOTE(tyss @ Nov 22 2008, 07:37 PM) Got my N85 today from nokia store. Tried charging through the USB cable, and didn't encounter reboot issue. Seems like we are no affected. So far so good. At the moment, testing out all the advertised features.... QUOTE(Qool @ Nov 22 2008, 11:11 PM) yo yo yo, new user reporting in. just got it today. I was trying to install the opera mini 4.2 beta... installed till around 80% and stucked there... damn... anyone tried that out yet? hi guys congrats guys on the N85...i m sure u will find lots of fun using n exploring it for opera mini 4.2 beta...nope i haven't tried...u might wanna try on the opera mobile 8.65 (if i remember correctly). I m using it fine |
Nov 23 2008, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 08:23 AM) new N85 user reporting in to the squadron... hahaha welcome to the eat grass club...i joined this club much earlier though 1.6k on my hand...so small..huhuhuhuhu... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(Qool @ Nov 23 2008, 08:36 AM) something to share.... wow thanks for the link...now only i know there's this menu transition effects....i've been missing this for like 1 week + of owning it duh.http://thenokiablog.com/2008/10/23/3-setti...er-fp2-devices/ still working on my wifi though.. i can connect to my home's wifi.. but then i can't surf the net at all. it works on and off... browse 1 page fine... link to another it stucked at 0kb... any advice on the settings? on the wifi thing, did u set your SSID to be hidden? If it is then you would have this prob. To solve it, have your wifi router set to show SSID, use your N85 to detect it and connect to it. After successful connect, then only set your SSID in your router to hide. Then set your N85 Network Status to "Hidden". To do that, go go Tools > Settings > Connection > Destinations > Internet > Edit your access point > Under Network Status : Change to Hidden. This should solve it. It did for mine. QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 10:25 AM) 1 - everytime after send a msg, the screen will go back to inbox folder...is there any setting i can set so it will go straight to frontpage...?? 1 : Nope, i don't think there's any setting that can set that.2 - if i open same applications or pages, when i press the "red button" (dont know what it called 2 : The S60 is a multi task system and yes, there's the hassle of having the apps not quitting when u press the Red (End Call) button. There's no setting to overcome this as well. I also find it a problem everytime u wanna press lots of BACK button till u come to EXIT button. That is after u go deep in to certain menu. QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 11:23 AM) Those buying AP sets, is Nokia Map included in the package? I asked my friend who is a phone shop dealer, saying AP have something in difference like cannot fully support some software due to like non-ori firmware sort of thing compared to Ori. Just wondering if its true. Cause the prices for both is quite a margin. I bought an AP set. All are original including the battery. Although i read AP sets do not come with Nokia Maps of something like that, my AP unit comes with it. The voice navigation only has 90 days trial though. But the ORI set also has till 90 days as well. U can have a full version replacing it after expiring though...but need to google lar. Personally I find the Nokia Maps not very useful due to the not updated map (one time it tells me to go thru a one way street in the opposite direction - although the road used to be 2 way, it ain't now). So I am using Garmin Mobile XT which has a much updated map. Gotta google for those info though.EDIT : Not to mention the battery might not be original anymore with AP set. My AP set's firmware and region code is exactly the same as malaysian Ori unit, firmware update would not be a problem. So when buyin AP sets, choose wisely. QUOTE(noty_boy87 @ Nov 23 2008, 11:33 AM) Hai All of you.. Yeah, me thinks the sound quality (off the speaker) is not so good too. I heard its great on N96 though. Might wanna consider that model.i just wanna ask your opinion about this Hp.. i just see and try the handphone at Nokia,The Garden beside Mid Valley and in my 1st impression was so "wow!" QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 11:39 AM) last time when to phone shop asking for AP set, they said need to add another RM50 if want to use the nokia map...if ori set, no need because already installed...i ask some sellers here in garage sales, they also said same thing... hrm...refer my reply above...then i ask is there any others function that are not in AP set...they said only the nokia map..others are same... QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 12:06 PM) How about the battery included? Still original? Also I bet they take out the 8GB microSD as well. Any rumour that AP set can't install certain java programs? Just want to know what's the major difference in AP and Ori set. More comments will be more justified. Am considering either to get this one or just wait for Nokia 5800. Downgrading from Samsung Omnia though. All accs, battery, microSD card, charger, cable all ori for mine. All java apps can install. For my case, the diff btwn Ori n AP is only on the Price & Warranty. |
Nov 23 2008, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 01:36 PM) @yupio No prob bro....mine's CSLThanks for the reply. Some more questions. Is your warranty by Telstar? And how much did you bought yours? Still considering this or upcoming XpressMusic 5800. Added on November 23, 2008, 5:21 pm QUOTE(noty_boy87 @ Nov 23 2008, 03:28 PM) thanks yupio.. yeah, my AP set will be able to update fine as its exactly the same as the Zitron / Avaxx set. For a confirmed answer, will have to wait till a firmware update is available.but i think i juts buy N85 because N96 are to expensive for me but for the firmware, if nokia release a new firmware, can the AP set upgrade it?? QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Nov 23 2008, 03:32 PM) As for the warranty, I see most AP gives 12 months warranty for LCD, 1~3 months for battery and charger. Just want to confirm on that. My CSL AP set have 12 months warranty on LCD, 15 months warranty everything else.QUOTE(Qool @ Nov 23 2008, 04:22 PM) thanks yupio for the settings but i still can't really make use of the wifi. Do we use infrastructure or ad-hoc mode? I can detect my SSID and connect to it. but when i browse the net... it loads like a few hundred bytes.. then it'll stop completely. just hanging there. other times it'll just stuck at 0kb... anyone can help on the settings? It'll be Infrastructure mode....funny though, mine works just fine...try other browser??Added on November 23, 2008, 5:45 pmReporting 1st incident of N85 freeze. I've switched on Menu Transition and for the first time, when a call comes in, the ringer did not ring but the screen shows Incoming Call but then I press the green (receive call button), the phone did not respond. All other buttons pressed also did not get the phone to respond. End up, the phone auto reboot with the NOKIA word and white background then goes into main standby screen. I go into Call logs, the call did not register as missed or incoming call. Overall with the menu transition switched on, the interface seems lagged. Will try it for a few days, if it gives prob, will switch off. This post has been edited by yupio: Nov 23 2008, 05:45 PM |
Nov 24 2008, 08:40 AM
QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 23 2008, 06:03 PM) Refer this post from bro Qool : http://thenokiablog.com/2008/10/23/3-setti...er-fp2-devices/Added on November 24, 2008, 8:41 am QUOTE(noty_boy87 @ Nov 23 2008, 08:32 PM) Thanks Mr yupio.. I really appreciate your info.. can't help on where to buy in KL though...but if u wanna buy CSL's AP set, I think Lowyat plaza does have its office. Hav a look at their website on the location.Added on November 24, 2008, 8:45 am QUOTE(vkashin @ Nov 24 2008, 01:10 AM) Hi can anyone explain how does Garmin XT works? i mean, how come it's for free? can download by ourself to install if it's not included with the phone? thanks lol Garmin is not free la....but there r ways to get them working for free...do a google coz i think i m not allowed to expose any further in this forum. This post has been edited by yupio: Nov 24 2008, 08:45 AM |
Nov 24 2008, 07:40 PM
lol bro, the N85 works fine without the Kaspersky....no need to bogged down the memory n performance by having the AV ma.
| Change to: | 0.0419sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:03 AM |