128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

ayie1984
post Jan 5 2009, 12:44 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Jan 2 2009, 09:18 PM)
What is BA(Law) ?

Oxford and Cambridge offered this instead of LLB.
Correct me if i'm wrong...

BA (Law) and LLB are of the same meaning, it means bachelor in law

LLB stands for Legum Baccalaureus - Latin words icon_rolleyes.gif

jhong
post Jan 5 2009, 04:13 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(ayie1984 @ Jan 5 2009, 12:44 PM)
Correct me if i'm wrong...

BA (Law) and LLB are of the same meaning, it means bachelor in law

LLB stands for Legum Baccalaureus - Latin words  icon_rolleyes.gif
Yeah , it should be the same , imo.
But , i am wondering whether it has any different with LLB though .

ilovelyn
post Jan 7 2009, 02:40 PM

2,287 posts

im going to take spm in 2009..
and law is one of the course that i have in my mind..
mmu law degree not recognise??
i read in the first post it is pending recognition by the qualifying board??
any news on that??
i want to go mmu and get my degree there..
jhong
post Jan 7 2009, 07:33 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 7 2009, 02:40 PM)
any news on that??
Why you choose MMU ?
solstice818
post Jan 7 2009, 09:36 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 7 2009, 02:40 PM)
any news on that??
Correct me if I m wrong.Til now, 2 years after the 1st graduation, they still failed to get recognized by Bar Council.In other words, you cant practice as a lawyer if you get your degree there...

And like jhong asked , Why mmu? Famous?Big campus?No point if u cant get recognized by BC.
ilovelyn
post Jan 8 2009, 04:08 PM

2,287 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 7 2009, 09:36 PM)
Correct me if I m wrong.Til now, 2 years after the 1st graduation, they still failed to get recognized  by Bar Council.In other words, you cant practice as a lawyer if you get your degree there...

And like jhong asked , Why mmu? Famous?Big campus?No point if u cant get recognized by BC.
because quite a few of my frens are doing their degree there and they say that mmu campus best..
but they are not taking law..
other than mmu.. is there any other private u offering degree in law??
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 05:09 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 8 2009, 04:08 PM)
because quite a few of my frens are doing their degree there and they say that mmu campus best..
but they are not taking law..
other than mmu.. is there any other private u offering degree in law??
Private U, no...Private colleges, yes.

There are quite a number of them that offering degree in law and most of them are external degree..

ATC, BAC and HELP are those that are better known...

If you dont want external program, head over to local uni.

Anyway, it doesnt matter whether MMU campus is the best or not...In the end, you ended up wasting your time and money if they are STILL not recognized by Bar Council smile.gif
yanniieee
post Jan 8 2009, 05:39 PM

Starsss!
564 posts

HELP got external degree? hmm.gif
solstice818
post Jan 8 2009, 05:47 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Jan 8 2009, 05:39 PM)
HELP got external degree? hmm.gif
Nope... 2+1 if i m not mistaken smile.gif
yanniieee
post Jan 8 2009, 05:51 PM

Starsss!
564 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 8 2009, 05:47 PM)
Nope... 2+1 if i m not mistaken  smile.gif
Yerps, 2+1 or 1+2 biggrin.gif
ilovelyn
post Jan 8 2009, 11:29 PM

2,287 posts

in ur opinions..
which uni or college in malaysia offer the best degree law??
thanks..

solstice818
post Jan 9 2009, 12:08 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 8 2009, 11:29 PM)
in ur opinions..
thanks..
I m from ATC, of course I would say ATC...

Til now, ATC is holding a better(if not the best) record compared to others...but BAC is chasing up...and if u ask jhong, he probably say BAC tongue.gif

Why dun u pay both a visit and decide urself? thumbup.gif
jhong
post Jan 9 2009, 12:44 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 9 2009, 12:08 AM)
I m from ATC, of course I would say ATC...

Til now, ATC is holding a better(if not the best) record compared to others...but BAC is chasing up...and if u ask jhong, he probably say BAC  tongue.gif

Why dun u pay both a visit and decide urself?  thumbup.gif
Why is that ? How would you know i will give my vote to BAC ?

Erm..well, i would say both of it have the best UOL External LLB Program .

As from what i know , BAC got a excellent notes and ATC got fantastic Chart !
If both of it combine together , it would be the best law school ever in Malaysia i think .

However , HELP is doing well for its UK transfer degree .

Yeah , ilovelyn , you should take solstice818's advise . Word doesnt speaks much .

Added on January 9, 2009, 12:53 amGuys , i am going to sit for IELTS soon in this coming 30th and 31st Jan .
5th of CNY man and i going to take a test !

Anyone here taken this test before ? Mind to share what have you gone through ?

This post has been edited by jhong: Jan 9 2009, 12:53 AM
alsree786
post Jan 9 2009, 05:01 AM

937 posts

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Jan 8 2009, 11:29 PM)
in ur opinions..
thanks..
recommended private colleges offering law:

1) ATC
2) BAC
3) INTI
4) HELP
5) KDU
6) Taylors (uni of Reading)

if u are considering UOL ext, then i suggest considering Mentari as well. they all have informative websites...

QUOTE(jhong @ Jan 9 2009, 12:44 AM)

Added on January 9, 2009, 12:53 amGuys , i am going to sit for IELTS soon in this coming 30th and 31st Jan .

there's an ielts thread somewhere. anyway, i sat for the GT IELTS in December. dun worry about it, just make sure you get alot of rest the nite before because u need to be alert and the entire test may take a long time to complete as the speaking test is done hours later that day. i was at the hall at 8am, and did my speaking test at 2pm. if you're not attending any courses or seminars for test preparation, i suggest at least getting the sample test book. if you speak english regularly, it shouldn't be a problem, though honestly, i found the reading test a lil hard...which is bad since im a law student....
jhong
post Jan 9 2009, 07:56 AM

685 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Jan 9 2009, 05:01 AM)
there's an ielts thread somewhere. anyway, i sat for the GT IELTS in December. dun worry about it, just make sure you get alot of rest the nite before because u need to be alert and the entire test may take a long time to complete as the speaking test is done hours later that day. i was at the hall at 8am, and did my speaking test at 2pm. if you're not attending any courses or seminars for test preparation, i suggest at least getting the sample test book. if you speak english regularly, it shouldn't be a problem, though honestly, i found the reading test a lil hard...which is bad since im a law student....
I wouldnt really worry so much in speaking test but writing and reading ....

Yes, i am not attending any courses for IELTS . Thats why i am quite worry.....

Reading is hard ? Wow...How hard is it ?

yanniieee
post Jan 9 2009, 09:07 AM

Starsss!
564 posts

QUOTE(alsree786 @ Jan 9 2009, 05:01 AM)
recommended private colleges offering law:

1) ATC
2) BAC
3) INTI
4) HELP
5) KDU
6) Taylors (uni of Reading)

if u are considering UOL ext, then i suggest considering Mentari as well. they all have informative websites...
what it mean by uni of reading?
solstice818
post Jan 9 2009, 09:42 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(jhong @ Jan 9 2009, 12:44 AM)
Why is that ? How would you know i will give my vote to BAC ?

Erm..well, i would say both of it have the best UOL External LLB Program .

As from what i know , BAC got a excellent notes and ATC got fantastic Chart !
If both of it combine together , it would be the best law school ever in Malaysia i think .

However , HELP is doing well for its UK transfer degree .

Yeah , ilovelyn , you should take solstice818's advise . Word doesnt speaks much .

Bcos I remember last time u told me the same thing brows.gif

Good memory I have brows.gif

Added on January 9, 2009, 9:43 am
QUOTE(yanniieee @ Jan 9 2009, 09:07 AM)
what it mean by uni of reading?
Twinning with University of Reading... 2+1 /1+2 smile.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Jan 9 2009, 09:43 AM
jhong
post Jan 9 2009, 04:31 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 9 2009, 09:42 AM)
Bcos I remember last time u told me the same thing  brows.gif

Good memory I have  brows.gif
Seems like i have bad memory then ....

onenightwonder
post Jan 10 2009, 03:25 AM

Is it hard to pass clp in malaysia?

Is PJ stamford college a good place to study law (LLB) and is the lecturers there good?
solstice818
post Jan 10 2009, 10:33 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(onenightwonder @ Jan 10 2009, 03:25 AM)
Is it hard to pass clp in malaysia?

Is PJ stamford college a good place to study law (LLB) and is the lecturers there good?
Some say it is easy...Some, on the other hand say it is hard...

It is more depends on the efforts you put in...So, whether it is easy or not, varies with individual smile.gif

128 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:25 PM