Overclocking E7XXX Series

farscope
post Aug 30 2009, 11:56 AM

3,427 posts

nice OC there.. i might try follow yr settings n see how it goes.. laugh.gif

anyway, did u enable LLC?

Added on August 30, 2009, 12:11 pmTP.. u can try tuniq tx-2 pr tx-3.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by farscope: Aug 30 2009, 12:11 PM
farscope
post Aug 31 2009, 12:45 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Aug 30 2009, 11:49 PM)
I have the LLC (Load line calibration) Enable bcoz its improves v droop directly. If disabled, it will follow Intel specs, and knowing Intel® is paranoid when people want to OC, (due to warranty breach and lawsuit) they will usually have their settings with very big gaps in v droop to overprotect the chip. If u still have problems with this huge v droop dilemma, i guess u might want to start a new thread to isolate this matter, probably a lot of people might have the same problem as you. The worst case scenario about irregular v droops is that it might involve manipulating BIOS, etc. I'm not a pro with this kinda things sweat.gif

tq for the TP recommendation, I hope they got the stuff in L.Y.Plaza, i used to use Xigmatek's TP, they somehow become solid now, not a good TP.  rclxub.gif
i had done some reading after u mentioned about the Vdroop n so on.. it happens to be the disabled LLC..

Bios setting 1.28750V, Bios reading show: 1.26+V.. cpu-z idle show: 1.248V, load: 1.232V or 1.216V

if LLC enabled then I think it will eliminate the Vdroop but at the same time causing voltage spike during phase change.. (tat's wat i read from googling.. correct me if i'm wrong sweat.gif)
with LLC enable, i think I can set lower Vcore ady..

yea.. TX-2 is a nice TP at a nice price.. <Rm20..

if u got the money, can try TX-3 too.. but difference in performance is about 1~2°C onli according to review.. I'm using TX-2 now, it decrease my tempearture about 2~3°C compare to the xigmatek TP..

however, the temperature of my 2nd rig drop alot after I clean the stock HSF and applied TX-2.. a decrease about 10°C after the combination of clean HSF + TX-2..
farscope
post Aug 31 2009, 11:49 AM

3,427 posts

u fried yr mobo??

how? after u OC u unable to boot? or like normal use boot up failed?
farscope
post Aug 31 2009, 09:39 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Aug 31 2009, 09:01 PM)
yeah will try it asap bro...maybe it's work again..i'm love very well this board...
DFI is a nice board.. hope u can revive it by giving it a "shock" thumbup.gif flex.gif
farscope
post Sep 1 2009, 12:54 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Sep 1 2009, 12:22 PM)
nevermind bro..i'm already tired to troubleshoot my DFI...

hehehe..finally i got replacement mobo already..got TPower I45..waiting for shipment...

later i will post the result for my replacement mobo...
wow.. congrats.. so wat u do with yr DFI? RMA?
farscope
post Sep 3 2009, 06:10 PM

3,427 posts

1.35Vcore is set in bios or show in cpu-z??

3.5Ghz use 1.35V is quite high IMO..

wat fsb u using?
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 12:49 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Sep 4 2009, 12:02 AM)
Most E7400 can run 3.5ghz@ stock vcore/"automatic", 1.35v is in the region of 3.8ghz-ish. (hell some chip can run 4.0ghz on that vcore.)
i did try running 333x10.5 with auto Vcore, tat shoots up to 1.31V shown in cpu-z.. rclxub.gif

as i mentioned earlier i set my Vcore to 1.28750V to get a stable 333x10.5..

do u remember how much is yr voltage when u set it auto?
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 09:39 AM

3,427 posts

omg.. talking about 12V+, i juz check mine, it just show 1.0V+ and sometimes not showing.. y ah? rclxub.gif
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 11:46 AM

3,427 posts

HWmonitor n Everest oso show same reading.. sometimes 0.06V then sometimes disappear..

will check in bios later..
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 10:37 PM

3,427 posts

juz check in bios.. it shows 12.429V.. phew..

anyway, +12Va with 18A good enuf? hmm.gif
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 11:10 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Sep 4 2009, 10:40 PM)
total only 18A? if combine rails how much you get?
dunno how to differentiate single or combined..

i saw
+12VA = 18Amps
+12VB = 18Amps

so i guess combine is 36Amps? hmm.gif
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 11:33 PM

3,427 posts

Gigabyte superb 550W onli..
farscope
post Sep 4 2009, 11:59 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Sep 4 2009, 11:56 PM)
Yes, the gigabyte has double railings of +12v = 36A Total

[attachmentid=1177359]
thanks bro.. i m still noob n need to learn alot.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by farscope: Sep 5 2009, 12:03 AM
farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 11:22 AM

3,427 posts

nice job there..

thumbup.gif

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 9 2009, 08:59 AM)
Tight the ram timing bro since you already decided to stick w this profile.
Your ram latency is high. smile.gif

-pWs-
-pWs- do u recommend to OC with LLC enabled or disabled? currently i m on 333x10.5 with LLC disabled.. with a Vdroop about 0.03V..

can the timing of KVR be tighten as well?
farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 12:22 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 9 2009, 11:55 AM)
tq tq.. thumbup.gif

juz wanna noe, do u enable it?
farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 12:30 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 9 2009, 12:25 PM)
I din come across this setting in my board. Or maybe I miss it. hmm.gif

-pWs-
oh ok.. hmm.gif but some board use other terms if not mistaken.. if no LLC function means it is same as disabled?

wat's yr comment on my Vdroop?

to get 333x10.5 stable,

my setting in bios is 1.28750V, cpu-z shows 1.252V max 1.216V min.. LLC disabled..
farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 12:40 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 9 2009, 12:37 PM)
On Quad?
If on dual, it is a lot. hmm.gif

-pWs-
obviously on dual since we r in E7XXX thread.. blush.gif

mine is E7400 anyway.. yea, kinda high too IMO

before this i'm still able to get 300x10.5 at stock Vcore, then when i hit 333, i was shock i need 1.2875V to get it stable during stress test..

anything lower than that will not get me restart, but always failed in LinX test after 10 loops or less..

Added on September 9, 2009, 12:42 pmforget to mention with LLC disabled, I believe, IF i enable LLC, i will be able to get a lower stable Vcore..

This post has been edited by farscope: Sep 9 2009, 12:42 PM
farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 12:47 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 9 2009, 12:43 PM)
Ops. Sorry. Never notice we are in E74. laugh.gif
If then, try to enable LLC and see got improve the vDroop or not.

-pWs-
will continue OC and test out the LLC enable effect when i feel 333x10.5 is not enuf..

my next OC will try to hit 400x9 or more to get 1:1..

as for now, i'm done with 333x10.5.. will update bout the LLC enabled function with lower Vcore and see how it goes..

farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 12:53 PM

3,427 posts

If i m not mistaken, when stock, it is enabled in my bios, then when i start OC, i disabled it to test out my Vcore, I think I should giv it a try with lower Vcore and LLC enabled..
farscope
post Sep 9 2009, 12:55 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 9 2009, 12:52 PM)
Use 1:1 w 450FSB x9. thumbup.gif

-pWs-
woah.. i'm using KVR 800Mhz onli.. blush.gif

400x9 or more be satisfying enuf.. i'm juz using xigmatek RS, not too extreme cooler in a hot condition at home.. sad.gif

i tried tighten my timings like wat JoBigShow bro did.. from 18 --> 15.. but got BSOD after some time of running.. cry.gif juz to play play with the ram thou.. blush.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0369sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:16 PM