Overclocking E7XXX Series

TSstimix
post Jun 6 2008, 12:22 PM, updated 18y ago

Dunno
3,542 posts

I hope that this is not a duplicating topic since no real discussion on intel E7200 although there is one on E8XXX peryn series.. blush.gif

The stock E7200 is actually a budget processor to the E8XXX series & having 1/2 of what those E8XXX series having..such as 3MB L2 Cache compare to 6MB L2. The following is the stock specs of this processor:

Code name = Woftdale. Core speed=2533Mhz, Mutiplier=9.5, Bus speed=266mhz, rated FSB=1066Mhz . Stock Vista score is at 5.4.

For my overclocking experience & history, I started wth a low budget MOBO Asrock Woftdale (Intel945 chipset) and it's such a dissapointement because the highest I can go is up to 310X9.5 or 2945Mhz. As a OC noob at that point of time, instead of changing the MOBO, I upgraded the HDF to Xigmatek HDT964. I was happy wth the tremendous reduction in the Temp but not OC!! It still no good & I can't bypass the 310X9.5 barrier!! mad.gif

No choice but to upgrade to P35 MOBO which I got it from a forumer here...ABit IP35P & that's how I feel that I should post the result here as well since I hv posted my OC experiences in hardwarezone singapore here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthre...=1950140&page=4

Nevertheless here is my latest at 3800Mhz Vcore 1.275V (Avg load temp 55C) & will continue further & targeting 4000Mhz or even 4500Mhz soon... biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 6 2008, 12:27 PM
mfcm
post Jun 6 2008, 01:18 PM

2,765 posts

erm think this can join intel penryn thread..nonid to make new thread nod.gif
TSstimix
post Jun 6 2008, 03:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Sorry moderator for re-opening this topic again...but the other thread availbale is only discussing on E8XXX series which is entirely different from E7XXX series which is a budget processor hmm.gif

Even Hardwarzone Singapore is having a separate Topic on E7200 hmm.gif ....Nevetheless I hope moderator to rethink because I do need feedback from E7200 users & not those E8200 or E8400 users... hmm.gif
mfcm
post Jun 6 2008, 04:52 PM

2,765 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 6 2008, 03:32 PM)
Sorry moderator for re-opening this topic again...but the other thread availbale is only discussing on E8XXX series which is entirely different from E7XXX series which is a budget processor  hmm.gif

Even Hardwarzone Singapore is having a separate Topic on E7200  hmm.gif ....Nevetheless I hope moderator to rethink because I do need feedback from E7200 users & not those E8200 or E8400 users... hmm.gif
hehe sorry bout it coz jus gv advise since its included in penryn fam..C2D even differ type of e84,e82 or e85..even xeon n C2Q discuss there laugh.gif yea myb better for mod to clear it nod.gif
ktek
post Jun 6 2008, 10:00 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

already purchase a E7200 too
awaiting mobo rolleyes.gif
sempronic
post Jun 6 2008, 10:12 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 6 2008, 10:00 PM)
already purchase a E7200 too
awaiting mobo rolleyes.gif
man....already got this topic ar??
kinda want to get this E7200..price cheap....same 45nm...just the cache is low....
so how far this baby can go? brows.gif
TSstimix
post Jun 6 2008, 10:49 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

My above posting is the best I can go...i.e 3800Mhz on 1.3V Vcore. Further than this system unstable sad.gif sad.gif

It's on Abit IP35P Mobo & Xigmatek HDT SD964 HSF - Fantastic cooler ...on high load, temp maintained at avg 55C (Max62C) only & idle temp at 44C

Wondering anyone getting higher than 3800Mhz.. hmm.gif ..If yes what is the voltage? I tried up the voltage to 1.35V but stil failed.. sad.gif
QUOTE(sempronic @ Jun 6 2008, 10:12 PM)
man....already got this topic ar??
kinda want to get this E7200..price cheap....same 45nm...just the cache is low....
so how far this baby can go? brows.gif
TSstimix
post Jun 7 2008, 11:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I reduced further the Vcore to 1.28V (BIOS setting=1.255V) and still stable at 3800Mhz. Temp further redcuced to 41C idle.

To get 4000Ghz (421X9..5)...Probably will try to increase the Vcore to 1.4V instead hmm.gif .by then my CPU vista score probbly touching the max of 5.9 rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 7 2008, 11:08 AM
Amedion
post Jun 7 2008, 11:17 AM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 7 2008, 11:02 AM)
I reduced further the Vcore to 1.28V (BIOS setting=1.255V) and still stable at 3800Mhz. Temp further redcuced to 41C idle.

To get 4000Ghz (421X9..5)...Probably will try to increase the Vcore to 1.4V instead hmm.gif .by then my CPU vista score probbly touching the max of 5.9  rclxm9.gif
Your CPU vista score will explode with that core clock ...
tkh_1001
post Jun 7 2008, 02:16 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 7 2008, 11:02 AM)

To get 4000Ghz (421X9..5)...Probably will try to increase the Vcore to 1.4V instead hmm.gif .by then my CPU vista score probbly touching the max of 5.9  rclxm9.gif
omg...very nice proc....btw, waht is ur batch ar? brows.gif
TSstimix
post Jun 7 2008, 02:29 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Naahhh....just Vista score..nothing to do wth explosion.... biggrin.gif ..Even at 3800Mhz..idel temp is at above....Load temp =55C probably by reducing VCORE, load temp probably 52C...I am predicting at 4000Mhz & 1.4V, probably temp will be at the range of 48C & load temp 65C... hmm.gif hmm.gif

Yesterday failed..but I know someone in Singapore did it by reducing mutiplier to 8 & FSB to 500Mhz!! Vcore if I'm not mistaken..1.4V+... hmm.gif

Nevertheless...at 3500Mhz & above, the passmark CPU benchmark tool dun looks great anymore wth small number increment as u can see from the 1st post sad.gif

Here is the benchmark website..intereting one brows.gif

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/
QUOTE(Amedion @ Jun 7 2008, 11:17 AM)
Your CPU vista score will explode with that core clock ...
SlayerXT
post Jun 8 2008, 02:27 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

This is better than conroe
TSstimix
post Jun 8 2008, 10:13 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

On stock, the reviewa at those OC websites rated this 1/2 cooked E8XXX series as in between E4700 & E6700 processors..but from this website:
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

The stock performance is actually better than the top conroe (E6750) which is running on 4MB L2 cache compare wth the 3MB L2 of E7200 rclxms.gif & it's ~RM150 cheaper than conroe E6750 & ~RM200 cheaper than E8400.. rclxms.gif

On oveclock stage..This is the one I can't believe..see the chart below:
http://www.cpubenchmark.net/overclocked_cpus.html

It's even higher than E8400 the fully cooked Woftdale... shocking.gif Nevertheless.I dun really believe that because at 3700Mhz, I only managed to score 2283 only (refer 1st posting) sad.gif which is abit higher than E8200 on overclocked stage thumbup.gif

OK latest on my overclock story...Although I'm able to run Vista core & Passmark score on 3800Mhz - but this Morning, I encountered cmos checksum error.. sad.gif ..so currently running at 3700Mhz only which I feel it's faster than running at 3800Mhz.. smile.gif

QUOTE(�layerXT @ Jun 8 2008, 02:27 AM)
This is better than conroe
This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 8 2008, 10:18 AM
DaRkSyThE
post Jun 8 2008, 12:38 PM

4,809 posts

im going to allow this thread but if i feel its of no use im sorry, im going to close it down
ive seen posts like"wah nice proc" and all that here.
spam has to stop.

LExus65
post Jun 8 2008, 12:49 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

stimix, how high the FSB cna go, have u try it ?? may be u could do 500mhz x8

Darkshythe so generous, hehe boss any intention of trying this new proc??

This post has been edited by LExus65: Jun 8 2008, 12:49 PM
tkh_1001
post Jun 8 2008, 02:03 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jun 8 2008, 12:49 PM)

i have tried mine on 510 fsb before stable.....i think if really tweak can go higher...will try to upload some ss when free... tongue.gif
OC4/3
post Jun 8 2008, 03:16 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 8 2008, 02:03 PM)
i have tried mine on 510 fsb before stable.....i think if really tweak can go higher...will try to upload some ss when free... tongue.gif
Your processor not good whistling.gif 510x9.5 i think is impossible laugh.gif
IcEMoCHa
post Jun 8 2008, 03:26 PM

~本田~
1,988 posts

wats the diff between 8 series and 7 series?.. 8 series shud oc much better right?..
TSstimix
post Jun 8 2008, 03:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

U can check/compare the only extensive review of this processor here:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/displ...uo-e7200_2.html

As said earlier, it is almost the same tech as E8xxx series except having 1/2 the L2 Cache of E8 series processore, no VT & running on 1066 bus frequency compare to 1333 on E8xxx..It suppose to the budget processor to E8 series and having better than earlier conroe E4700 of even better than E6600. (Cheaper too rclxms.gif )

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Jun 8 2008, 03:26 PM)
wats the diff between 8 series and 7 series?.. 8 series shud oc much better right?..

Added on June 8, 2008, 3:39 pmImpossible-leh....can't get anything higher than 400X9.5 sad.gif ..Maybe MOBO limitation or even cheap Mem RAM.. blush.gif ..hehe..moderator so kind oledi..allowing the only topic on E7 series... rclxms.gif Hope no spamming too.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jun 8 2008, 12:49 PM)

Added on June 8, 2008, 3:51 pmWell, it's a small brother to E8xxx series..what u expect.. biggrin.gif ..Read thgis X-bit lab conclusion:

I believe it won’t be too much to say that Intel prepared another remarkable product. From the user standpoint, the main advantage of Core 2 Duo E7200 is the fact that its launch reduced the cost of a new CPU with 45nm core. As a result, the new processor that came to replace Core 2 Duo E4700 raises the performance bar for mainstream Intel processors quite noticeably. Of course, it is not faster than Core 2 Duo E8000, losing about 10% to it, but it is significantly faster than Core 2 Duo E6550 and is just a little behind Core 2 Duo E6750. Moreover, Core 2 Duo E7200 boasts great overclocking potential and is capable of hitting frequencies close to 4GHz with just a few simple tricks.

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 8 2008, 03:16 PM)
This post has been edited by stimix: Jun 8 2008, 03:51 PM
tkh_1001
post Jun 8 2008, 04:04 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Jun 8 2008, 03:16 PM)
ask pak google n u will see somebody did with 1.9v......

n i didnt say i did it on 9.5 multiplier also.... i just say max fsb.... tongue.gif

40 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:44 AM