HTC Diamond LYN's Official Thread, Added rom 1.93 by HTC, post 2

dogdog133
post Aug 24 2008, 06:34 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(wkho555 @ Aug 24 2008, 06:16 PM)
it seem like many ppl facing this problem. from the sis tutor teach me. if u wanna to use internet on ur phone, u better sign up the unlimited package with black n white from ur telco. if not u will get ur eye big when u recieved ur bill.
actually i also ask him about the wifi n 3g internet wheter there is anyway to know which 1 is using at that time. they dont know neither.
ha?then die lo....when on top there got 3G,G,E,H icon then i very scare it charging money...
wkho555
post Aug 24 2008, 08:12 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(dogdog133 @ Aug 24 2008, 06:34 PM)
ha?then die lo....when on top there got 3G,G,E,H icon then i very scare it charging money...
if u on9 always. then go sign up for unlimited package. is much much more cheaper
TSBaronic
post Aug 24 2008, 08:32 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

when you're running on data, your signal strength will change. the tower symbol will change to E or 3G or something. so dun worry
akachester
post Aug 24 2008, 10:24 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Just got the HTC Touch Diamond as a present from my gf smile.gif

Now its still in charging mode but wondering, is the any must have program for the Diamond? This is my first time using a PDA phone and i just love it. smile.gif
wkho555
post Aug 24 2008, 10:28 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 24 2008, 10:24 PM)
Just got the HTC Touch Diamond as a present from my gf smile.gif

Now its still in charging mode but wondering, is the any must have program for the Diamond? This is my first time using a PDA phone and i just love it. smile.gif
gps software as not include inside package
akachester
post Aug 24 2008, 10:52 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

Is there any recommended, free GPS software?
dogdog133
post Aug 24 2008, 10:55 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 24 2008, 08:32 PM)
when you're running on data, your signal strength will change. the tower symbol will change to E or 3G or something. so dun worry
ha?my TD top there always got 3G or E this icom wo...so is running data?charging my money?
wkho555
post Aug 24 2008, 11:01 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 24 2008, 10:52 PM)
Is there any recommended, free GPS software?
ermmm. not really free brows.gif
just try to search around biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dogdog133 @ Aug 24 2008, 10:55 PM)
ha?my TD top there always got 3G or E this icom wo...so is running data?charging my money?
E is edge. u r using digi i think. is charging ur money.
dogdog133
post Aug 24 2008, 11:03 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 24 2008, 08:32 PM)
ha?i didnt run any program top there also always got 3G or E this icon wo...so is running data?charging my money?
tplcaik
post Aug 24 2008, 11:06 PM

<DeaL WiTh ConFideNcE>
3,541 posts

QUOTE(dogdog133 @ Aug 24 2008, 11:03 PM)
ha?i didnt run any program top there also always got 3G or E this icon wo...so is running data?charging my money?
If u put auto update weather will charge ur money lol.
wkho555
post Aug 24 2008, 11:25 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Aug 24 2008, 11:06 PM)
If u put auto update weather will charge ur money lol.
that weather update wont charge u much.
surfing the internet will charge u to he** much coz calc how many byte u r dl.

Added on August 25, 2008, 12:38 amjust try to install the mapking. a bit blur for me about mapking. any1 know how to register the mapking for htc user?
prefer garmin gps biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wkho555: Aug 25 2008, 12:38 AM
arKCHane
post Aug 25 2008, 09:40 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(wkho555 @ Aug 24 2008, 11:25 PM)
that weather update wont charge u much.
surfing the internet will charge u to he** much coz calc how many byte u r dl.

Added on August 25, 2008, 12:38 amjust try to install the mapking. a bit blur for me about mapking. any1 know how to register the mapking for htc user?
prefer garmin gps biggrin.gif
Here's my story using Maxis 3G. Last month was the first time I activated 3G, I got charged RM192. I don't blame them because out of excitement I tried using 3G for internet, the speed was acceptable but the charges was not. So today, the 10th day into my second month, my Unbilled Amount, from Maxis Web -> Personal Account -> Check Unbilled Amount was RM 6.78 . I am sure that I did not use any 3G in these 10 days and my reception icon did not turn to 3G or anything else. Besides that I also subscribed to Extra Byte (RM8 for 5MB of transfer).

I will wait until end of month to see how much Maxis charge me for "Not using 3G" and to decide whether I should terminate my 3G service. Maxis should have a better billing mechanism or they will lose all low frequency internet users like me. Sad but true.
akachester
post Aug 25 2008, 09:51 AM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

I was wondering the same, would the phone automatically download stuff via 3G? I just finish charging my phone today, set everything up. After a while, i saw an "Earth" logo at the top. It seems that its connecting to something and i am worried that it might automatically connects via 3G and cost alot. LOL..

Should i disable anything?

Besides, is there a need for any antivirus? I am new to WM and PDA phone. Is it neccessary?
TSBaronic
post Aug 25 2008, 11:55 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

antivirus not necessary. but an antivirus on your PC is. especially if you connect your diamond as a thumbdrive to your PC. in which case anything that can infect the thumbdrive will transfer to your diamond. it will probably not affect the diamond, but will probably affect the next PC you connect your diamond to.

Weather is RM1 per update.

I have no problems of getting charged regarding data services.

@dogdog, i said when u are connected the tower symbol at your SIGNAL STRENGTH will change to 3G icon.

chester take a screenshot of this "earth" icon for me.

Your phone will connect to data services (when not connected to wifi or other net services) when you

1) SURF
2) RECEIVE A MMS, in which case the phone will automatically try to retrieve
3) AUTO UPDATE/UPDATE weather
4) have some RSS FEED

i hope that clears it up for you all

This post has been edited by Baronic: Aug 25 2008, 11:58 AM
evilpuppy
post Aug 25 2008, 12:11 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 25 2008, 09:51 AM)
I was wondering the same, would the phone automatically download stuff via 3G? I just finish charging my phone today, set everything up. After a while, i saw an "Earth" logo at the top. It seems that its connecting to something and i am worried that it might automatically connects via 3G and cost alot. LOL..

Should i disable anything?

Besides, is there a need for any antivirus? I am new to WM and PDA phone. Is it neccessary?
could be your weather forecast is updating, you need to disabling your weather auto update.

and there is a tool from ModaCo which allow you to toggle your Data Connections manually, use this if you are not subscribe to unlimited data package.

MoDaCo NOData

No need any antivirus for PDA. if you are looking for PDA Software, try to search around PDA Sections for PDA Sofware or you may go to

Pocket Gear

Handango

akachester
post Aug 25 2008, 12:13 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 25 2008, 11:55 AM)
antivirus not necessary. but an antivirus on your PC is. especially if you connect your diamond as a thumbdrive to your PC. in which case anything that can infect the thumbdrive will transfer to your diamond. it will probably not affect the diamond, but will probably affect the next PC you connect your diamond to.

Weather is RM1 per update.

I have no problems of getting charged regarding data services.

@dogdog, i said when u are connected the tower symbol at your SIGNAL STRENGTH will change to 3G icon.

chester take a screenshot of this "earth" icon for me.

Your phone will connect to data services (when not connected to wifi or other net services) when you

1) SURF
4) have some RSS FEED

Thanks Baronic.

Well, i could not take it right now as the icon is not there. It will come out randomly which prompts me to feel that its connection via 3G automatically.

Nice to hear that AntiVirus is not neccessary. In that case, i would skip that for while.

1. In your option there, is it able to disable the Auto Update weather so that it would not randomly connect via 3G?

2. My memory is stable at 50% without any program at the background. Is that normal?

3. Besides, i have read from the thread here and realise some of you have problem when connecting the phone via WiFi but data transfer still using 3G connection. Is it still an issue or is there any setting that can disable this? Sorry for all the question. New here in PDA phone. smile.gif

@evilpuppy,

Thanks alot for all the help there. Will try it out and see. smile.gif

-------------

1 more question,

How do i install all those application into my Touch Diamond? Just put the EXE into the phone? Into which folder?THanks..

This post has been edited by akachester: Aug 25 2008, 12:23 PM
ng_wesley
post Aug 25 2008, 12:40 PM

Do you guys have any idea of the invisible shield dealer in KL & PJ area? Plan to get one... but any pro & con for Invisible Shield to TD?

arKCHane
post Aug 25 2008, 03:13 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Aug 25 2008, 11:55 AM)

1) SURF
4) have some RSS FEED

Bro, I am very sure that I did not perform any of the 4 things listed. The 3G icon is even greyed out! I didn't even made or receive any calls since I'm just back from meeting and lunch. It is now up from my previous post at RM 6.78 to RM 7.53 currently. It might be other things which is contributing to the increase. Not to blame too early I'll wait till end of billing date.
wkho555
post Aug 25 2008, 09:39 PM

Human from Earth
3,128 posts

since we can use 3g or wifi. any voip software we can use for free call? brows.gif
dogdog133
post Aug 25 2008, 10:51 PM

113 posts

i cant received or send mms...may i ask how to configure it?

159 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:04 AM