MayBank shareholder Group

Cubalagi
post Nov 8 2019, 02:31 AM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Nov 7 2019, 10:40 PM)
wah great history lesson..m taking notes.

that being said,with US and China not on very good terms, would it be a good time to buy into a banking sector stock?
If u think the US and China fight will get worse soon then don't buy any stocks, banking stocks or otherwise. Buy bonds, gold or keep cash.

Cubalagi
post Nov 8 2019, 02:29 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 8 2019, 05:48 AM)
but banking stocks will only be indirectly affected, no? Especially Malaysia is so far away. Even the US financial crisis, we weren't affected much right??

2nd Q: how much longer will Trump be president? I assume if he's no longer the president, the trade war will be over?
Trade war > global recession > falling loan growth > high default > interest rate cuts.. Bad for banks

Global financial crisis. Welll, we WERE affected. We had a recession. But many ppl didnt feel it because it was over very fast for us (thanks to China). But KLCI did drop like 40% from its highs.

Trump: US election is in Nov next year. He still got chance to win. If he losses, some of the Democrat candidates are also anti China. Perhaps more so.

Cubalagi
post Nov 8 2019, 02:40 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Nov 8 2019, 11:41 AM)
gold oso quite pricey dy.....haha but u recommend buying physical gold or those paper gold?
cash will prolly get devalued too rite if trade war worsens?
bonds hrmm i nv read much abt those..

Best place to be in a recession is Govt Bonds as Central Banks will cut rates. But as rates are already low, they will have to go to 0 or negative in some countries, n will also start QE.. Great for gold. For Gold I like Goldetf.

On the other hand, Xi and Trump could also be BFF again by end of this month. Many central banks have loose monetary policy now. And these could have postponed recession. Good for banks then.

Or maybe it's all just false hope?

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 8 2019, 02:40 PM
Cubalagi
post Nov 8 2019, 05:15 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Nov 8 2019, 03:13 PM)
If we expecting a recession soon, do we still buy Maybank now?

When recession come, isn't bank the first one to dive?
The thing is u don't know the future.. Could be next year, 2021, 2022...n you could miss out on a lot of good returns. That's investing for u.. Taking risk.

In the meantime, Maybank. Close up again! Nice. Rm9 coming..

Cubalagi
post Nov 11 2019, 06:57 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Nov 11 2019, 03:50 PM)
wad is "loose monetary policy"?
lol crystal ball =)
wads d difference?isnt d effect similar for investors?
Interest rate cuts
Cubalagi
post Nov 11 2019, 06:57 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Nov 11 2019, 03:57 PM)
i donno lah..pejam mata n bought 1 lot a 8.84 - might not be wise but my FOMO urges too strong dy lol
Welcome to the Club.. 😆
Cubalagi
post Nov 13 2019, 12:47 AM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 12 2019, 03:02 PM)
Normally it is not advisable using "time the market" strategy to invest in stock market especially for good stocks, like predict when the stock is bottom or top, or when recession is going to hit.

Those prediction is harder than predict 4D number, unless one has crystal ball to see it.  biggrin.gif
Boom and burst is always cyclical, so does stock market.
I use market timing strategy. It's not that impossible as ppl think, but requires guts n recognizing the possibility I could be wrong.

It's of course impossible to time perfectly, so usually a little bit early, occasionally a little bit late, but u don't want to be too early and definitely do not want to be the last.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 13 2019, 01:27 AM
Cubalagi
post Nov 17 2019, 01:32 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 16 2019, 10:38 AM)
Even if Maybank goes to RM4, it will still bounce back one day if its business is intact, as proven from its history.
So I am confident and am ready to keep averaging down on Maybank if the price does go down. Just have to hold and receive the dividends my whole life smile.gif
Rm7. 00 I will withdraw my epf n put in Maybank. RM4, I will refinance my house n put in Maybank.. 😆

Cubalagi
post Nov 18 2019, 04:43 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 18 2019, 03:09 PM)
shocking.gif

mana tau it becomes like Deutsche bank version 2.0???
Not the same problems. DB never really managed to recover from the Global Financial Crisis. Then it invested too much into Investment Banking and suffered greatly. US Fed Reserve had to bail them out! They would have been bankrupt then already.

After that, it was the zero-negative interest rates of Europe which makes it hard on their margins. So it continued decline.

I don't see the same scenario for Maybank.. But of course always be watchful.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 18 2019, 04:43 PM
Cubalagi
post Nov 28 2019, 03:48 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 28 2019, 11:02 AM)
time to queue at RM 8.40 again?
Good luck if can hit 8.40.

3Q results is pretty decent, better than 2Q which itself was better than that bad 1Q. I'm expecting an even better 4Q.

Compared to 2018, earnings have dropped, by about 2.8%. But stock price has dropped even more, 10+%. Buy.. 😆

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Nov 28 2019, 03:49 PM
Cubalagi
post Nov 28 2019, 04:10 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Nov 28 2019, 03:45 PM)

long term views is the point tongue.gif
u cannot go wrong with the biggest bank in Malaysia...
many General Public owned Funds (ASB,EPF etc.) are invested..
While I'm a Maybank investor, I have to say I disagree with this basis of investing in Maybank.

Cubalagi
post Dec 19 2019, 06:55 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Dec 19 2019, 05:57 PM)
I've been looking at MBB stocks for awhile, tempted to move funds from ASM to MBB
As long as you are aware that they are 2 different types of investments. ASM is a fund and the price is some more fixed at RM1.00, u just sleep and enjoy dividends.

MBB is a stock, and like all stocks, the price moves daily and changes even within the day (intraday). Be prepared for the volatility. Be sure to increase your knowledge of how stock investing works.

Cubalagi
post Jan 8 2020, 03:58 PM

4,484 posts

Wah Maybank drop a lot.. Beli lagi at 8.55.

Cubalagi
post Jan 8 2020, 06:32 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Jan 8 2020, 04:46 PM)
I wish Maybank would cross list itself at Singapore stock exchange.
Huh. Why?
Cubalagi
post Jan 8 2020, 06:59 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Jan 8 2020, 06:44 PM)
more market players... tongue.gif
Singaporean investors can easily buy Maybank from their brokers if they want to, even now.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 8 2020, 07:11 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 13 2020, 02:14 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 13 2020, 11:38 AM)
Is Maybank actually good to go in at any price? Its stable at 8.65 for now
Not at any price of course. Those who bought near RM10 wouldn't be very happy investor.

Is 8.65 good to enter? Depends on who you ask. One sifu here will say waste of time n money..better fishes out there 😆 I see analysts estimates are between high of RM10. 30 to a low of RM8. 25, with the consensus at RM9.28. But some sifus here say don't ever listen to analysts.. 😆

Also BNM dependant too, if BNM cut interest rate at the MPC meeting this 24 Jan, that price may not hold. If they don't cut, it could probably go higher. (But price may start to move even before the decision) .

Ultimately depend on the economy. Maybank is a good barometer for the Malaysian and Asean economy. N LGE said 2020 will be better year. So believe or not?

So many 'depends"..

But for me, I hv been buying at this level. Expecting between 30-32 sen dividend coming into my bank account in early July.

This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 13 2020, 02:15 PM
Cubalagi
post Jan 13 2020, 04:11 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 13 2020, 03:56 PM)
So many depends is like a gamble already lol. What is the dividend cutoff date for Maybank Shares?
Maybank ex date for final dividends usually early June.

Cubalagi
post Jan 22 2020, 03:16 PM

4,484 posts

Wah.. BNM cuts OPR by another 25 bps. Damn.I was expecting a cut only later in the year..

Cubalagi
post Jan 22 2020, 03:53 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 22 2020, 03:43 PM)
8.54 now, gonna fall further?
I should think so..
Cubalagi
post Jan 23 2020, 02:33 PM

4,484 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 23 2020, 01:20 PM)
Cannot say much now..
Let's see the pricing first..
Don't want to jinx it 😁
You the type that never buy one lah.. 🤣

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top