11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

PSP Community | V12, Firmware 5.00 OUT NOW!

Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 11:49 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Aug 16 2008, 11:04 AM)
all also say ori sony mspd, but if ur card shows magicgate unknown, 99% fake...
Make that 100% tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 07:34 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Less ram doesn't mean "slower".The more ram you have,the better are the applications used on your psp.For example,skype requires a lot of ram,and can only be installed on slim psps.

As for custom firmware installation,you don't need to worry about it.You'll get a custom firmware psp by default unless you ask for an official firmware psp (lol)

If you get an official firmware psp (Hopefully your mo-bo isn't TA-088 v3),you can only hack it (install custom firmware) using a Pandora's Battery.Don't worry,it's just a standard sony battery with a different ipl on it.To create one,you either need to softmod it (Using an already hacked psp),or hardmod it(Cracking the battery open,an d cutting pin 5).
Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 07:47 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

hazzy yeap,spot on.The Pandora's Battery,however isn't a custom battery or anything like that.It's just a normal sony psp battery with a different ipl on it.(You need to make it yourself) tongue.gif

Well,TA-088v3 mother-boards can't be hacked yet,and it might take a while before a hack is discovered for it.
Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 07:48 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(metalslayer @ Aug 16 2008, 07:40 PM)
guys , which webside is the more game to download ...?
any nice webside ... thankue so much.
no,no links on iso/cso games here.Use/develop your google skills.
Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 08:00 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

To be honest,the additions on the psp slim unit isn't that impressive.Well,they added a "Tv-out" nonsense.The very same can be done on a fat unit by installing PSP2TV which requires modding your psp.As for gameplay,they're both equally good.(Slims can load UMD's faster) and slims have a better LCD screen.Better speakers and that's about it.
Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 08:16 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Remotejoy is a homebrew application a.k.a 3d party applications,and all homebrews are freewares.(emulators,games,applications and everything).Check my game in my signature,Playboy's Shooter tongue.gif

Nah,the UMD loading speed isn't as fast as iso/cso loading,but it's a vast improvement compared to the fat psps.Most probably it's an effort by Sony to encourage us psp users to use UMDs instead of iso's.

LCD looks cleaner and clearer (Could be my eyes lol).And the speakers are way louder,no doubt about that.Better for gaming purposes.Also,the slim's internet browser is faster.
Playboy21
post Aug 16 2008, 10:02 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I have the old phat psp,and i'm really happy with it.Yes,as wetfusion said,the irport is pretty cool,but sony found it useless because the failed to develop any application that utilises the irport.

Now,i feel it's just the same if you buy the slim or fat psp.It actually depends on the user itself.For people like me,i rarely use the 1.50 kernel which basically is the plus point for the fat psp's.Even the games i develop/port are made for 3.xx/4.xx kernels.Now,as wetfusion said,you would be gaping at the word kernel for psp.To make it simple,1.50 kernel homebrews was basically introduced during the 1.50 firmware days.This kernel support,however was removed from the psp slims.Due to this reason,developers tend to develop all their homebrews in 3.xx/4.xx kernels allowing users from both worlds to equally enjoy themselves.

As for my firmware,i'm using 4.01m33.I previously was using 3.52m33-4.You custom firmware doesn't matter really,i upgraded for the sake of experimenting on the new kernel and of course,my love CXMB! lol tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 17 2008, 05:21 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I'd be happy to see a new "PSP MODS" thread in here.In there,both wetfusion and penmarker should team up,and create tutorials and faqs to help newbies like me to mod their psp.Mind,the guide(s),should be simple! tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 17 2008, 07:23 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

mailboris,yes 4.05 is the latest official firmware,and it does whatever an official firmware is meant to do.

If you mean custom firmware,then 4.01m33 is the latest.
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 12:04 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

mailboris,sure.If you need any help throughout the upgrading process,feel free to ask smile.gif

Added on August 18, 2008, 12:07 am
QUOTE(krainsyafiq95 @ Aug 17 2008, 11:04 PM)
i already put psptube on my psp...
wetfusion said, he can watch youtube on 4.01 m33-2
The psp flash player is too weak to support video streaming.Yes,you need to use PSPTUBE.You can just go to youtube.com and stream videos using the web browser tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Aug 18 2008, 12:07 AM
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 12:29 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(mailboris @ Aug 18 2008, 12:07 AM)
thanks playboy. im so happy...i've found a forum with so many nice helpful people! biggrin.gif
haha,cool smile.gif
I'm happy for you too smile.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 09:04 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

anin?mous,you're helping pretty well for a new psp user smile.gif

I've just got some corrections to make.

1)3.71m33,3.80m33,3.90m33 or 4.01m33.All these are custom firmwares which are developed by Dark_AleX.

2)Homebrew example : http://www.uploading.com/files/SQCE086T/Pl...hooter.zip.html

Nothing else tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 09:22 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

wetfusion,there are other custom firmware developers as well,and i knew this since the first release of the M33 firmwares. wink.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 09:33 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

Of course lah,but you don't know some other well-known developers in the psp scene.Before DA even started with custom firmware (oe),harleyg made one for 1.50
There is even Team WildC*rd who developed 3.40LE.Another custom firmware named "3.71-HX" and of course 3.95GEN by Mariam.There are also some other "less-known" developers who have reversed the official firmware to create custom firmwares.

And just so you know,i've used Dark_AleX's custom firmware since 2.71SE so yea.

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Aug 18 2008, 09:36 AM
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 09:38 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

I have,i even have the source code for some oe firmwares and 3.40LE firmware.It's pretty confusing,but i'm still trying to make out what each line means tongue.gif

I know the members of Team WildC*ard so yea smile.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 09:45 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

haha,maybe i'll manage to make one when i'm older.If i EVER make one,i'll name it x.xx MAL biggrin.gif Malaysia.
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 12:31 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(ck_yoong @ Aug 18 2008, 12:09 PM)
Malaysia Boleh!! laugh.gif
haha yea! tongue.gif

Also,after my PMR,i'm planning to create a homebrew game that has the malaysian flag in the intro.What do you guys think?
Barulah our country will be famous sikit tongue.gif
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 04:11 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Aug 18 2008, 03:45 PM)
i'm having a trouble updating my psp from 3.9 m33-3 to 4.01 m33. i copy the update already in to my psp and also the original firmware which after i rename it to 401.pbp. but when run to install it, always got error saying 'incorrect file'. can someone help me out on this. thanks in advance!
Alright mDinie,follow this simple guide by me.

1)Place the UPDATE folder in your ms0:/PSP/GAME directory.
2)Copy the 401.PBP file,and paste it in the UPDATE folder as well.

You should now have two files in the update folder.Example :

ms0:/PSP/GAME/UPDATE/eboot.pbp and 401.PBP

3)Set kernel to 3.90 in recovery mode (Hold the off switch for 3-5 seconds,then hold R and boot your unit up.Then go to configuration,and set the third option to 390kernel)

4)Run the installer.

Note * The battery needs to be above 78% for the sce upgrader to load *

If it still doesn't work,download this 401.PBP

This post has been edited by Playboy21: Aug 18 2008, 04:12 PM
Playboy21
post Aug 18 2008, 06:17 PM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

QUOTE(paipai @ Aug 18 2008, 05:46 PM)
thanx guys! yeah i was thinking of gettin a few original games 1st, i heard bout the ISO games so i assumed it's the same with homebrew?..correct me if im wrong tongue.gif 
maybe i wanna ask my fren to buy the psp from the US since he is going there by end of this week.all psp games r region free rite? am i gonna have to downgrade the software or anything?
forgive me for being such a noob!  sweat.gif
No,iso's aren't homebrew.ISO's are the actual dump of the UMD game/video.This is illegal and not allowed in here.

Yes,all games are free region.

If you buy a psp from US,then you might face some difficulities installing custom firmware on it.It's way better to just get a psp from a local dealer in Malaysia.

hehe,no worries..everyone has to start from somewhere.
Playboy21
post Aug 19 2008, 12:50 AM

Il Principino
1,023 posts

haha,good to know that you've learned a lot.I just learn by browsing around different psp sites and blah blah tongue.gif

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:34 PM