Jun 5 2009, 01:27 PM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
Good mar..
8mths or 9mths or 1yr also never mind Coz can enjoy the changes and improvement gradually. |
Jun 5 2009, 02:58 PM
Jun 5 2009, 04:21 PM
Hey guys....
I could sleep well yesterday night oh... Surprisingly... |
Jun 5 2009, 05:00 PM
QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 5 2009, 04:45 PM) hmm...Did you hear Sonus Faber at Perfect Hifi yesterday? Hehehe... Nope. Not yet.. I heard that if you use type A power amp (such as PASS)...your electrical fee will instantly shoot up gao gao I am still far away from KL now.. Oh.. talk about Class A amp. I read from wikipedia on Class A design that the efficiency is low. Not sure how to explain but something like the amps operate full phase cycles and requires lots of power to generate the healthy output. That's why they run very hot during operation.. Sorry ya.. not so good in explanation but hope you get the picture. I prefer to talk about SFCD more... |
Jun 6 2009, 11:39 PM
As I gaze through the SFCD specs again, I have a feeling that my amp will have difficulties in bringing the specialties of the SFCD.
4ohms and require at least 35W. |
Jun 7 2009, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jun 6 2009, 11:53 PM) a well built amp should have its power rating double up when the speaker's load decreases. I had a really long winded article about Amp power ratings vs. Speaker impedances some time back. Yes.. bro.. read that before.. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=789611 Well, I am comparing to my friend's MF A3.5. So much more power and manage to drive the highs out of the speakers. The vocals are just so much livelier... Comes the headache part.. I am pretty sure that I will have to upgrade my amp if grab the SFCD. |
Jun 7 2009, 09:10 AM
Oh no.. not again..
so many 'poisonous' photos.. Bro, I know that I am a normal human... Until I have auditioned them, I still can have nice sleep. But after the audition, errr... hard to say lur.. The year of 2009 might not be the year which I can save money after all... |
Jun 7 2009, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Jun 7 2009, 11:19 AM) Hi Car_o_scope, I am still waiting for some diffusers. I have been following this thread and your post in hifi4sale, after noticing you have done room treatment (haven't you?) and speaker placement, i would suggest you to enjoy your music and your revised setup if your budget to upgrade is not permitted. Wait until you are comfortable financially, then upgrade your speaker (SFCD) and then amplifier, please note that SFCD is not difficult to drive, my previous amp was 50W Cambridge Audio 540A, it can drive SFCD too. My 2 cents. Auronthas I have managed to find the 1st refection point. Now, using the book rack to place at the points. Those noisy boomy bass has disappeared after tweaking the speakers and adding absorption materials. Apart from that, I also tuned my listening positions. Oh ya.. I have shifted my speakers so that they are not having the same distances from side and rear walls. Not so much of a difference maybe because of the minimal shifts. |
Jun 7 2009, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 7 2009, 02:41 PM) agree. some more. there's about which to get first if the speaker is out of production and it's only left 1 single pair in the shop. Left only single pair? while other things are fairly easy available. replacement model for concertino is way too expensive compare to concertino. so no point.. unless very loaded. spend on acoustic foam... diffuser... a lot. then in the end it not suitable to the speaker.. wasting those money.. like when i have my NAD floorstander speaker, epos ES11. i stick my room with corner bass trap. acoustic foam.. all sort of things. spend more than RM 1K on the acoustic material. in the end when i changed to concertino. i realise that without those things. the sound is more alive.. so i took them all down and don't know what to do with them.. now i am keeping them behind my kitchen.. lol. My room still has very minimal absorption foams. I guess I have lots more furniture instead. Anyway, those foams that I bought were not so expensive either.. Bro TarePanda, I have seen some friends' hifi chain are like this: Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->Cables--->Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->Cables--->Speaker-->Amplifier-->Source--->Cables.................. |
Jun 7 2009, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 7 2009, 03:02 PM) thats who want the best of the best.. Correct.. It is all about own self. no ending one. unless u are happy with what u want and u found what you want. some ppl. they just wish to have the best out of the best. camera also mah.. body.. lens. body lens.. flash.. body lens.. flash.. lol.. it's depend on urself. if u are happy with what u have. then enough loh. no one ever force u to upgrade.. some one blame hifi world for making them ugprade. some one blame hifi magazine for making them upgrade.. imho that's BS. if they themself don't wanna upgrade. what for they go and read the magazine / online review? in the end the simply neglected that they themself is the one who wish for better sound. and put the blame on other ppl for making them upgrade.. how ironic. lol. PERHAPS they trying to see those review hoping that other praise what they bought is the best.. but after they read it.. they were F*cked that their equipment ranged at lowest range.. then they try to upgrade to impress other ppl.. "see my gear is recommended by what hi-fi" and keep the magazine. every time ppl visit their house. they will show the book. they just simply want ppl to acknowledge their speaker is the best... or "got taste". just face urself. make a decision. want it. take it. don't want it . leave the whole audio world out of ur life.. say "i have equipment that i already appreciate.. so no point upgrade." Well, talk about the British Mag What Hi Fi.. I dont really read much into their short and less detailed reviews. To me, everyone's taste is different. The reviewers were just judging from their point of view. Might not applicable to me though... Well, I already know what I want lah... dont worry bro... By the way, you only able to go Perfect on weekdays ar? |
Jun 8 2009, 09:20 AM
Well, I wanted to go to MPL last Sat..
I woke up early that morning only to realise that it was YDP Agong's birthday. _____________________________________________ I have put up my B&W speakers for sale.. Time to get more $$$$... This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Jun 8 2009, 08:46 PM |
Jun 8 2009, 11:22 PM
Jun 9 2009, 08:20 AM
Well, he sleeps well after more than 10 hrs of listening on the 1st day.
Let's have a look at the Italian beauties.... ![]() So many things to write about them.. |
Jun 9 2009, 09:41 AM
QUOTE(TarePanda @ Jun 9 2009, 08:37 AM) car_o_scope, I am not in a hurry to change the amp. Congratulation on your purchase~ Notice that you purchase it together with the stand Next move--->upgrade your amp (Need time for wallet and pocket to recover leh..) Anyway, I went to KL last Sat to test the SFCD. Two types of auditions were carried out. One is the synergy between my amp and SFCD and the other is the capability of the SFCD. |
Jun 9 2009, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 9 2009, 01:06 PM) sweet................. beauty eh.. I have taken a few photos comparing ES11 and SFCD side by side, dimension wise.. glad u enjoyed ur music straight 10 hours.. lol.... i am yet to break the record.. it's like feel wanna hear each CDs again... it's so different from ES11. lol Actually, I was in a haste that day and have yet to define the best placement for the SFCD. Dont care lar.. Listen 1st... Right. Back to the music reproduction between the two. These are my findings.. I would say the vocals from SFCD are just so much smoother and sound 'thicker'. Try imagine a singer in a concert hall... (I listened to Jacky Cheung's) When he is talking to the audience, you can actually 'feel' that he is there standing in the middle of a hall. There are the slight echo of the hall and also the presence of the microphone. Really becomes more accurate coz in actual he is really using a microphone. And also can hear the audience reactions clearly from different parts of the hall. These are some of the things that I have never heard from the ES11, even after I tweaked their positions. Vocals from Epos ES11 are 'thinner'. The ES11 have less control in vocals. Not as smooth as the SFCD. But they do excel in bass and fast pace musics like Rock. Oh ya... I also had the privilege to listen to the Toy, Toy Tower (a short time) and also the Audio Analogue Primo Settanta Rev2.0. |
Jun 9 2009, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(Y.C. @ Jun 9 2009, 01:34 PM) Car_o_scope, Congrats for being an owner of SFCD. Thanks, Bro.. I too had lived with Epos ES11/12s for many years before moving over to SF loudspeakers. No competetion here, the SF loudspeakers are in a higher price league and more refined than the Eposes. Yes. Different price league but just curious to find out the differences. I have long dreamed of owning a pair of SF. Finally, managed to fulfill my dream that day. I also got to know the capability of the SFCD when being driven by a more powerful amplifier. At least, i know what to benchmark next time. The Toy speakers are very small indeed. The kind of vocals are like ES11. Not as thick as SFCD. But just like Y.C. said, different price range mar... |
Jun 9 2009, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(auronthas @ Jun 9 2009, 01:49 PM) Wow, so many response already ! Thanks, bro... Congratulation Car_O_Scope on your purchase of SFCD and welcome to SF club Take your time for speaker placement (explore them, it's fun) and room treatment. As always, enjoy the music, you can listen to all your music collection again and compare with your previous setup. Fun, isn't it. Cheers, Auronthas I will slowly explore and get the best position that suits my listening. Now, I just want to listen to all the music that I have 1st. Play them over and over again... Listen for many many hours... So enjoyable... QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 9 2009, 02:13 PM) Yes, indeed. Not just vocals, instrument sound is also a wonder from the SF. The violin, the piano and the guitar..... |
Jun 9 2009, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Jun 9 2009, 04:10 PM) Aiyo I miss my SFCD.. amp sent for repair, any kind soul mind to sponsor me an amp? Using Exposure amplifier to drive them. Also, planning to have an upgrade for the amp (currently using NAD3020i only), any good suggestion? Car_o_scope currently which amp do you use to drive your SFCD heh? And how do they match so far? To me, it still can do its job. Managed to bring out some of the characters of the SFCD. (Must not compare with other more powerful amps at the meantime. Bro PcWork also using NAD amp for his SFCD. QUOTE(auronthas @ Jun 9 2009, 04:26 PM) Hi nicholas, are you having the original speaker stand? How's substantial improvement between original speaker stand and generic original stand? Itching for the original stands eh? This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Jun 9 2009, 04:54 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0501sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:20 PM |