5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 01:50 PM

QUOTE(zieraq @ Apr 16 2009, 12:45 PM)
guys please guide icon_question.gif  me how much is weight for mr hobby spray can? i want to buy from a forumer but he said poslaju shipping cost rm 13 for 2 unit.  blink.gif hmm.gif  is the rate true? btw he's location is JB
http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZJ-001

it's abt 140g... weight n stuffs can be found online. u'll just need to google it.
davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 10:01 PM

oso note...ppl have to go to post office n wrap it for u. so...do expect an extra premium on postage. but whether reasonable or not...ur choice.
davelcm
post Apr 16 2009, 10:42 PM

QUOTE(richard0304 @ Apr 16 2009, 10:08 PM)
eh I think HLJ does not ship liquid items overseas.. It's in their terms and conditions page..
read the previous posts. he's talkin abt someone in johor shipping spray paints to him. hlj is being used as reference on the weight of the spray cans. no one said anything abt shipment fr hlj for the paints.
davelcm
post Apr 29 2009, 07:17 PM

fiber heli canopy? how big is that? and how much is your budget?
davelcm
post May 5 2009, 01:21 PM

to avoid peeling off the paint...
1) prime the kit before painting.
2) more importantly, let the paint dry 24 hrs before trying any masking. although on the surface the paint may be dry, the bottom layer may not have melded into the plastic/primer layer yet.
3) lessen the glue on the tape. e.g. stick it on ur hand a couple of time before you put on the kit. reason being, industrial tapes are way too strong. it'll peel off paint. try puttin it on ur shin and do a quick peel off the tape. see how it feels and how much leg hair u lost wink.gif
4) gently remove maskin tape. plastic dun feel pain but peeling it off too fast usually result in paint sticking to the tape
5) dun leave the tape too long on the kit. glue residue will remain on the kit and i believe, when u remove the tape...u're more likely to peel off paint too. just like if u tape anything and leave too long, when u pull off the tape... u can find glue on the box/plastic wrapper/etc.

This post has been edited by davelcm: May 5 2009, 01:23 PM
davelcm
post May 11 2009, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(kurz @ May 9 2009, 12:32 PM)
transparent kits...if we apply base coat on it..will it lose the transparent effect?

im thinking that i have the special version red frame.
like the red frame transparent parts but i dont like the transparent armor..if i apply base coat on it then spray white, i wonder it will be like normal armor
hmm.gif
1) if u spray coating...it should not affect the transparent part...but if u flat coat it...they may be "frosting" effect...i.e. the flat coat becomes whitish. it has nothing to do with the transparent part...just that the flat coat not sprayed on properly.

2) i don't see any reasons why it won't be so.
davelcm
post May 13 2009, 12:35 PM

why that detergent advise so familiar wan? tongue.gif
davelcm
post May 13 2009, 01:34 PM

poster colors are very soluble. if u spray the top coat thick (or wat we call wet coat it on), the color will dilute into ur coating. whereas mist spray is tiny drops of coat that'll mostly dry by the time it hits the plastic. won't dilute/mix wif the panel line colors.
davelcm
post May 15 2009, 09:44 AM

PG strike. you won't find in the local market. it's printed by "aftermarket" dealers. you may try www.hobbiescorner.com. usually he stocks a bit of aftermarket decals but he has not been bringing in new items..so may not have it.

davelcm
post May 18 2009, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(KuzumiTaiga @ May 17 2009, 03:32 PM)
err guys... I'm just wondering, after viewing the pinned thread about gundam/gunpla fixing and tricks.. i wanna know.. where can i get those stuff from? they don't seem to sell them in Jusco... and can anyone here recommend me a good shop on model fixing?? i wanna get another MG series.. trying to find PLAN 303E Deep Striker (that's MG rite??) I saw one while i was at C2AGE yesterday and i kinda like it..

so far i have many 1/144 gundams from the 80s (cousin gave me, lol) and Mobile Suit Variation 1/60 Zaku II MS-06R purple colour.. all those are not painted, no stickers also.. hahaha..
i have a MG RX-98 GP01 too, but didn't do anything with it, just fix and keep in the box doh.gif i feel wasted lah. so i wanna start up with decorating it a bit..

what shop do you guys go to usually?
where are you? u dun say where u are, we can't tell u where to buy the things.

and, there's no MG deep striker. Only one in the market is the resin kits. those costs abt RM1000+ each.

Added on May 18, 2009, 11:25 am
QUOTE(silentser @ May 17 2009, 11:49 PM)
sifus... is there any other pen that can do panel lining except the gundam maker? my marker tip already spread and cant be use effectively, got any other that is better and last longer?
and acrylic use what type of thinner? try finding in the pinned thread but only mention about acrylic colour, but not the thinner....
sorry newbie here...
i think just a few posts back, someone mentioned Copic pens? If not, go stationery shops and look for those felt tip pens. look for the thinnest tip. u can use that.

This post has been edited by davelcm: May 18 2009, 11:25 AM
davelcm
post Jul 8 2009, 01:35 PM

mist coat in quick passes when using spraycans for coating. distance fr kit? about 10cm. waste? yes, that's the result of using spraycans.

how to do that...well, press lightly on the trigger/cap of the spraycan away fr the kit. then go left to right/ or right to left with the kit in the middle in quick successions.

so it should be...
1) press the cap to start spray. the coating spray should be away fr the kit.
2) move the spray onto the kit quickly
3) now the spray should be away fr the kit already
4) release trigger and start fr step 1.

well, this is the best i can do on explanation. i think youtube has a few clips on model kit making. look through them. japanese modellers tend to use spraycans for priming the kit. concept it the same in spraying. the do quick passes when spraying. n not laying the whole can thick on the kit.

if it's flat coat, u shldn't be seeing the kit like it has just been washed i.e. wet look. that shld solve your "frosting" issue i.e. white specks. as for grainy feel...spray closer to the kit.

This post has been edited by davelcm: Jul 8 2009, 01:44 PM
davelcm
post Jul 8 2009, 06:46 PM

the number of layers depend on how flat you want. spray til u're satisfied.
davelcm
post Jul 9 2009, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Jul 9 2009, 12:23 AM)
yes. top coating clear parts will fog it....
top coating with FLAT will fog up clear parts. GLOSS coats will have no effect other than making it shinier.

This post has been edited by davelcm: Jul 9 2009, 09:48 AM
davelcm
post Jul 9 2009, 01:42 PM

Hobby HQ orders Alcad once a while...but very much in demand colors e.g. Chrome Silver finishes very fast. best is to go ask him when he's ordering, then book 1 bottle. er...booking sometimes depend on familiarity i think. regulars tend to be able to get that. not too sure for non-regulars. if cannot book, just ask when it'll arrive. then call him at the date he mentioned. he'll most likely say havn't arrive...n give u another date. call him on the next date mentioned. repeat cycle biggrin.gif til u get the paint.

Added on July 9, 2009, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(punditski @ Jul 9 2009, 12:44 PM)
Hmm... If thats the case i jus wan my sword to look less toyish (Lol... White isn't a very good colour)... So will it still be feasible to give it a metallic finish even tho it won't look as good as the air brushed ones?
hmm...if u can get metallic paints such as steel/gunmetal in spraycans, then it shld be fine. not as much option as airbrushed but i guess it should be "less toyish"

This post has been edited by davelcm: Jul 9 2009, 01:44 PM
davelcm
post Jul 13 2009, 01:54 PM

QUOTE(unpronunceable @ Jul 11 2009, 07:36 PM)
Hi i m not sure what paint to use to get the really glossy look?I went t the forums and noticed that they able to get surface without brush strokes by thinning the paint properly. And can the paint um.."expire" when kept over 10 years time?Once again thanks in advance sifu. smile.gif
1) dark colors are easier to handpaint than light colors when it comes to reducing brush strokes.
2) yes, if you thin it correctly and paint correctly...you won't see brush strokes but then 1) still applies.
3) but if u want reaaaaaaaaaaaaaally glossy like mirror kind, best to use spraycans. if not, handpaint...then multiple of gloss coats plus polishing,etc shld help
4) no expiry dates but it will dry after a while. so if you kept up the thinner level in the bottles, it should be fine. and why are you keeping paint for 10 years? anyway, some of my paints are 4-5 years old. still fine. if dried, just need to add thinner and let it be for a while before stirring the bottom paint up.
davelcm
post Jul 14 2009, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Jul 13 2009, 07:21 PM)
Guys, how do I reduce bubbles on my paint ? I was painting oh so ever smoothly today, until I noticed bubbles on my paint job! D:
are u handpaintin the kit? if that's the case, i believe there are few possibilities on how you get the bubbles.
1) paint bottle itself...u shake n stir..n paint being a bit thick, air bubbles get caught in the paint.
2) air pockets in the brush. i.e. paint not fully immerse/wet with paint. so u get air bubbles.

for these, what i did was add couple of drops of thinner into the paint. also clean the brush properly. it may be a chemical reaction, i.e. 2 chemical content don't mix...so you get spots in btwn...so when u paint...u get bubble spots. but then, this is from my experience..not scientifically proven.

if airbrush...rarely get bubbles unless it's water drops. then u'll need to get a moisture trap for it.
davelcm
post Jul 15 2009, 03:21 PM

well, not too sure why your top coat has bubbles. are you handbrushing them or spraycan or airbrush?
davelcm
post Jul 16 2009, 08:28 AM

yeah, spraying too thick fr can will result some air being caught in the spray. mist it and dun lay it on too thick.
davelcm
post Jul 30 2009, 08:56 AM

wash the kit if necessary...n ur hands too. then prime the kit. let it dry for 24 hrs before painting.
davelcm
post Aug 4 2009, 11:16 AM

white spots when flat coating is something called "frosting". i believe in this thread somewhere..there's an explanation on it n how to solve it.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0526sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:10 PM