14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Please recommend me ... music!

scy320
post Jul 14 2008, 09:37 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 14 2008, 05:32 AM)
Yes, both are them are imported edition. As i have said, the 3rd album, the recording is not so good, especially vocal soundstage, i can hear noise when Hayley sing on high tones.
if like that the recording spoil the album already coz Hayley voice is so nice on high tones.
otroman
post Jul 14 2008, 10:21 AM

504 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 11 2008, 10:01 PM)

I do have Steely Dan - Showbiz Kids The Steely Dan Story 1972 - 1980 (dual disc).

Here's the brief review of 'Two Against Nature' abstracted from Tower.com and few magazines. Actually this album was released in year 2000, but hardly find locally.

Rolling Stone (1/4/01, p.117) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 50 Albums of 2000".
Rolling Stone (3/16/00, p.72) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...[The album] is Steely Dan defined....mixing world-class chops and jazzy postgraduates soul sound with some wonderful, vague storytelling....stunning musical clarity....showcasing what Steely Dan's core twosome can do..."
Entertainment Weekly (3/10/00, pp.68-9) - "...The core elements are unchanged: white-hot chops, black humor, and a flair for the cryptic....their ensemble sound remains sharp and inimitable....proves that you [still] 'can' buy a thrill."
Q (4/00, p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...a demanding slice of music, brilliantly out of sync....its appeal is slow-burning and ultimately satisfying: enough to keep the faithful happy for another 20 years."
Uncut (3/00, p.90) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...TWO AGAINST NATURE is the very best thing Steely Dan have ever done..."
Vibe (4/00, p.183) - "...musically [they] are in their prime....this is the only band that truly understands how James Brown's scratchy grooves and the Eagles' lite-rockin' appeal aren't mutually exclusive. These OGs flex their trademark dark wit like it never went out of style..."
Mojo (Publisher) (3/00, p.102) - "...Sharp, sleek, sophisticated, more going on than a couple of spins can take in and seductive enough to keep drawing you back. 9 tracks, some a little cooler, funkier or jazzier than others...and all top-form. Quintessentially Steely Dan."
NME (Magazine) (3/4/00, p.35) - 7 out of 10 - "...exquisite....still hermetically sealed in an exclusive world where the pursuit of the immaculate 'chop' is paramount, [they] are the only men in history to make the concept of the cerebral muso remotely tantalising..."

Hey,

Thanks man. I gotta try and give it a listen.

This post has been edited by otroman: Jul 14 2008, 10:22 AM
Machai
post Jul 14 2008, 06:19 PM

Hi folks,

what about British female jazz music, Carol Kidd who got swarm in Korea

http://damnshiokmusic.blogspot.com/2008/07...carol-kidd.html

scy320
post Jul 14 2008, 06:50 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(Machai @ Jul 14 2008, 06:19 PM)
Hi folks,

what about British female jazz music, Carol Kidd who got swarm in Korea
http://damnshiokmusic.blogspot.com/2008/07...carol-kidd.html
havent listen to her song yet.will try audit her albums.
Machai
post Jul 14 2008, 09:22 PM

hi, click the playlist on the left for that "When I Dream" song, see whether it's your cup of tea or kopi smile.gif

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 14 2008, 06:50 PM)
havent listen to her song yet.will try audit her albums.
scy320
post Jul 14 2008, 10:46 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(Machai @ Jul 14 2008, 09:22 PM)
hi, click the playlist on the left for that "When I Dream" song, see whether it's your cup of tea or kopi  smile.gif
ok,will try listen to the song.
etchan
post Jul 18 2008, 10:53 AM

14 posts

what about chinese/cantonese (especially canto!) good jazz/easy listening cds?

apart from cai4 qin2 whom i like but can't listen to too often, are there jazzy/acoustic renditions of pop music which are recommended?

as someone mentioned, chen2 jie2 li4's albums are good, she's got a classic voice which still suits certain pop songs. am currently looking for more!
scy320
post Jul 18 2008, 11:14 AM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(Machai @ Jul 14 2008, 09:22 PM)
hi, click the playlist on the left for that "When I Dream" song, see whether it's your cup of tea or kopi  smile.gif
listen to the song already,is really my cup of tea.the music so nice.thanks.
auronthas
post Jul 18 2008, 10:11 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 2 2008, 07:59 PM)
Also I have ordered three CDs via tower.com (hard to find from local CD shops) which are highly recommended

a) Two against Nature - Steely Dan (Rock, Pop)

b) Getz/Gilberto - Stan Getz / Joao Gilberto (Latin, Jazz)

c) Car Wheels on a Gravel Road - Lucinda Williams (Folks, Rock)

I will display their track lists after ripping and saving into my music jukebox smile.gif

Cheers
Finally, i received two of three CDs ordered via tower.com yesterday (2-3 weeks shipping and handling).

a) Car Wheels On A Gravel Road by Lucinda Williams - Winner of 1999 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album, it's real American country/folk music.

b) Two against nature by Steely Dan - I have posted its review earlier in this thread

Attached photoshots of the CDs.

Cheers

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 18 2008, 10:12 PM

foongchinboon
post Jul 20 2008, 04:37 PM

395 posts

hei guys,
may tell me wer got outlet shop selling a lot of HIFI CD? smile.gif
bloodvanille
post Jul 20 2008, 06:50 PM

57 posts

I think you should listen to some more indie electro! Those are the best! biggrin.gif

I recommend you all Imogen Heap!
scy320
post Jul 20 2008, 08:02 PM

2,464 posts

Anyone listen to Best Audiophiles Voices V already?
ALPS2008
post Jul 20 2008, 08:24 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 20 2008, 08:02 PM)
Anyone listen to Best Audiophiles Voices V already?
I saw this disc....wanna to know also....

Have you brought all other Audiophiles song.....? Nice or not ah?..... hmm.gif hmm.gif
vivienne85
post Jul 20 2008, 08:30 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(BratPAQ @ May 20 2008, 02:52 AM)

i also like The Prodigy - Fat of The Land, their music is kinda "flooding" your senses.

ya...that album is the best from the prodigy

any1 can recommend any new songs?getting bored with my playlist

i prefer alt./indie rock like muse, placebo, bloc party, stereophonics, kaiser chiefs, the killers
kevyeoh
post Jul 20 2008, 08:44 PM

4,720 posts

Go try check this album out...

Adele - 19

damn nice in my opinion...another amy winehouse in the making? hehe
scy320
post Jul 20 2008, 09:04 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Jul 20 2008, 08:24 PM)
I saw this disc....wanna to know also....

Have you brought all other Audiophiles song.....? Nice or not ah?..... hmm.gif  hmm.gif
not.but i heard all the previous albums are nice.
foongchinboon
post Jul 21 2008, 02:28 AM

395 posts

any sweet vocal song recommended? smile.gif
otroman
post Jul 21 2008, 09:49 AM

504 posts

Hey,

I just re-discovered this CD in my store-room: Dave Matthew's Band "Beneath these crowded streets"

Awesome la wei. Fusion-pop-rock. Now, if I can only find it in vinyl form...

etchan
post Jul 21 2008, 11:10 AM

14 posts

listened to audiophile voice V.. imo the songs are not as deep as the older albums already. arrangements are just a little suspect at times. singers' voices are still awesome though. still an album well worth getting! smile.gif
scy320
post Jul 21 2008, 12:01 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jul 21 2008, 02:28 AM)
any sweet vocal song recommended? smile.gif
you can try look for albums from Katie Melua, Hayley Westenra and Jheena Lodwick.

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0733sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:41 PM