Please recommend me ... music!

auronthas
post May 17 2008, 10:45 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

The following are my favorite music albums which i have mentioned in other thread (audiophile CD)

Female vocalist - Blues, Jazz, Folk, Country

Jennifer Warnes - Famous Blue Raincoat
Jennifer Warnes - The Hunter
Eva Cassidy - Lives at Blues Alley (Live recording, superb recording)
Eva Cassidy - Songbird
Rebecca Pidgeon - The Raven (SACD)
Katie Melua - Call of the Search
Alison Krauss - Now That I've Found You

Jazz music - Swing, funk jazz, fusion jazz, pro-bop

D_ick Hyman - From the Age of Swing
Lee Ritenour - Collection
Fourplay - Fourplay
Mezzoforte - Forward Motion
Herbie Hancock - River - The Joni Letters

Cheers

This post has been edited by auronthas: May 17 2008, 10:47 PM
auronthas
post May 19 2008, 08:45 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ May 19 2008, 07:03 PM)

There's also this female Chinese singer which goes by the name of Lily (not sure what her Chinese name is) and I think she has some great songs. Anyone else heard about her before?
I believe you are talking about Lily Chen (陈洁丽).

Our brother Abel recommended her too in this thread, i have few of her albums, sweet voice.

I just bought few Jazz albums by Greg Chako namely Integration and Integration II from tower record today at RM24 each, sort of fusion jazz, not bad though. I am listening now...

Cheers.

auronthas
post May 20 2008, 10:29 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 20 2008, 04:43 AM)
I just heard a bunch of Fourplay and I absolutely can't stand the music. It falls into the most boring genre of Jazz ever - smooth jazz. eugh.

Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk, Herbie Hancock and John Coltrane has more fluid creativity than the whole band combined.

However, I should refrain from genre bashing as it is very flammable. But please, pick up a proper Miles album and it'll blow your mind away if you're musically literate.

Leave lounge/smooth jazz like Fourplay at the chillout bars, and the real Bebop jazz to the jazz enthusiasts.

Try this: http://www.soulfulclassicjazz.com/ for some internet classic jazz radio.
You can't blame ppl like smooth Jazz and other kind of music, it's dependable of one's taste.

I started with smooth Jazz, slowly now i enjoy fusion jazz and going for classic jazz like Swing, Bebop nod.gif

I have couple of Herbie Hancock album such as New Standard and River - The Joni Letters.

Please recommend your favorite album in CDs of Miles Davis and John Coltrane. I will try to listen them.

Cheers.

Added on May 20, 2008, 10:36 am
QUOTE(scy320 @ May 20 2008, 10:26 AM)
Another jazz album to recommend: Albums of Pat Metheny Group or Pat Metheny.
I would recommend The Way Up by Pat Metheny Group and recently i bought Live by Brad Mehldau Trio, it's a live recording, not bad though.

This post has been edited by auronthas: May 20 2008, 12:02 PM
auronthas
post May 21 2008, 11:48 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 21 2008, 09:24 AM)
auronthas: Understandable that genre is plenty to do with taste. I will not go into genre bashing because it's not correct for me to do that. Moreover, like I said, it is a very flammable subject. You wouldn't like my recommendations one bit.

Anyway, my favourite album from Miles would be the 2nd CD from his 1970 The Cellar Door Sessions CD Box Set, it's dated 17th December 1970, oddly coinciding with my birthdate (17 Dec). It's as serious as jazz can get. If you want something lighter you may want to start with Kind of Blue, which appeals to everyones palate.

I have yet to find my favourite 'Trane album. I do like Monk better than 'Trane. Different instruments, I know.. smile.gif Preference there you have it, I'm already being a hypocrite to my own comments.

-WS
Thanks for recommendation, will get some music preview from cduniverse. smile.gif

Btw, have you heard Greg Chako with singapore jazz band and Brad Mehldau Trio latest released CD?
auronthas
post May 21 2008, 05:18 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(mofonyx @ May 21 2008, 03:48 PM)
auronthas: you would hardly get to 'preview' anything from the start. The tracks are more than 10 minutes long and it only gets complex about 5 minutes in.

Anyway, if you wish to purchase, the Boxset is about 80+ USD. I found it miraculously on CD Universe.

http://www.cduniverse.com/productinfo.asp?pid=6938847
Mofonyx: I do know the tracks are long, but at least CD universe offers music samples for listening. whistling.gif

Well, i found Miles Davis - The Cellar Door Sessions 1970 (Box Set) is sold only USD 60+ at tower.com.

http://www.tower.com/details/details.cfm?wapi=105908854

Thanks and cheers.
auronthas
post May 24 2008, 05:46 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ May 24 2008, 03:38 PM)
For those who love latin jazz-Pink Martini can be your choice.
Indeed, you can't miss Pink Martini, different genres from latin, lounge music,jazz also different languages (spanish, japanese, english, etc.). I have all three ablums.

auronthas
post Jun 13 2008, 07:59 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jun 12 2008, 11:50 PM)
recommend Robin Spielberg- Dreaming of Summer
I have her album - Spa Piano. However, imo, the recording somehow dissappoint me though the music are nice. What about Dreaming of Summer?
auronthas
post Jun 15 2008, 03:26 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

For those who likes Smooth Jazz, i would recommend the following CDs for your listening: -
(Note: It's not Classic Jazz, Funk Jazz, Fusion Jazz, it may offend someone who only like those; Smooth Jazz is good start for novice like me)

a) Brian Simpson - Above the Clouds
b) Mezzoforte - Forward Motion

Attached image(s)
auronthas
post Jun 17 2008, 10:41 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

Would like to recommend two CDs below for your listening: -

a) Bluing: Miles Davis Plays the Blues - Classical Jazz, Blues (nice recording though)
b) Audiophile Jazz -vocal jazz and smooth jazz

Attached few images and contents from my music server (SqueezeCenter) ripped in FLAC.

auronthas
post Jun 24 2008, 08:39 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(otroman @ Jun 24 2008, 04:39 PM)
My favourite rock music I would like to recommend to you fine people:

1) SoundGarden "Down on the Upside" - Their best album in my opinion. Grunge with mood.
2) Faith No More "Angel Dust" - Everybody has to try Patton once
3) Led Zeppelin "II" - the birth of rock/metal/rock-kapak/doom/death and everything heavy

You guys should try SpyroGyra's "Morning Dance" too, very nice, very smooth, very relaxing...

icon_rolleyes.gif
Hey, Spyro Gyra is more towards smooth jazz lah...

I have Spyro Gyra collection album - the very best of Spyro Gyra

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jun 24 2008, 08:42 PM

auronthas
post Jul 1 2008, 05:58 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

Kind of Blue - Miles Davis - original recorded in 1959, one of the greatest jazz album not to be missed.

I have tried looking for this CD and finally found it in one of local CD shops in KL.

Earlier digital remastering on LP and later on CD, sounded thin.

However, this CD is a reissue, it was remixed on an all-tube three-track machine, the instruments sound rich and full, like real instrument, nice soundstage.

auronthas
post Jul 2 2008, 07:59 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

I would like to share the following live recording CDs: -

a) Live at Blues Valley - Eva Cassidy (folks, vocal)

b) Companion - Patricia Barber (Jazz, vocal)

Also I have ordered three CDs via tower.com (hard to find from local CD shops) which are highly recommended

a) Two against Nature - Steely Dan (Rock, Pop)

b) Getz/Gilberto - Stan Getz / Joao Gilberto (Latin, Jazz)

c) Car Wheels on a Gravel Road - Lucinda Williams (Folks, Rock)

I will display their track lists after ripping and saving into my music jukebox smile.gif

Cheers

Typo: Lives

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 2 2008, 08:17 PM

auronthas
post Jul 11 2008, 10:01 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jul 10 2008, 11:45 PM)
Pink Martini - all 3 albums

1. Sympathique
2. Hang On Little Tomato
3. Hey Eugene!
I have all three albums, superb recording and i like their music too, especially latin style. smile.gif

Added on July 11, 2008, 10:06 pm
QUOTE(otroman @ Jul 11 2008, 11:57 AM)
Hey,

Have you gotten the CDs yet? I'm a fan of the older Steely Dan albums, especially Aja and Gaucho...

That's one of their recent ones yeah? Review on 'Two Against Nature'?  smile.gif
I do have Steely Dan - Showbiz Kids The Steely Dan Story 1972 - 1980 (dual disc).

Here's the brief review of 'Two Against Nature' abstracted from Tower.com and few magazines. Actually this album was released in year 2000, but hardly find locally.

Rolling Stone (1/4/01, p.117) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 50 Albums of 2000".
Rolling Stone (3/16/00, p.72) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...[The album] is Steely Dan defined....mixing world-class chops and jazzy postgraduates soul sound with some wonderful, vague storytelling....stunning musical clarity....showcasing what Steely Dan's core twosome can do..."
Entertainment Weekly (3/10/00, pp.68-9) - "...The core elements are unchanged: white-hot chops, black humor, and a flair for the cryptic....their ensemble sound remains sharp and inimitable....proves that you [still] 'can' buy a thrill."
Q (4/00, p.94) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...a demanding slice of music, brilliantly out of sync....its appeal is slow-burning and ultimately satisfying: enough to keep the faithful happy for another 20 years."
Uncut (3/00, p.90) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...TWO AGAINST NATURE is the very best thing Steely Dan have ever done..."
Vibe (4/00, p.183) - "...musically [they] are in their prime....this is the only band that truly understands how James Brown's scratchy grooves and the Eagles' lite-rockin' appeal aren't mutually exclusive. These OGs flex their trademark dark wit like it never went out of style..."
Mojo (Publisher) (3/00, p.102) - "...Sharp, sleek, sophisticated, more going on than a couple of spins can take in and seductive enough to keep drawing you back. 9 tracks, some a little cooler, funkier or jazzier than others...and all top-form. Quintessentially Steely Dan."
NME (Magazine) (3/4/00, p.35) - 7 out of 10 - "...exquisite....still hermetically sealed in an exclusive world where the pursuit of the immaculate 'chop' is paramount, [they] are the only men in history to make the concept of the cerebral muso remotely tantalising..."

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 11 2008, 10:16 PM

auronthas
post Jul 13 2008, 07:49 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 13 2008, 05:23 PM)
For those who love New Age and Celtic Music.Recommend Hayley Westenra- PURE.She is a member of Celtic Woman.
Yes, i like her voice very much. I have her two (2nd and 3rd) albums namely - Odyssey and Treasure. The latter's sound recording way below my satisfactory though.

Actually, Hayley Westenra born in New Zealand with Irish heritage, she is a soprano. I categorised her music genres under Classical, Classical Crossover, Contemporay Classical Vocals in my music collection search browser.

Also, I would like to recommend Patricia Barber - Cafe Blue which i have searched for long time and The Ultimate Demonstration Disc Volume 2 by David Chesky - both are superb recording, especially the latter one, each track has different soundstage from naturalness, holographic imaging, depth, deep bass, just to name a few.

Cheers

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
auronthas
post Jul 14 2008, 05:32 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 13 2008, 08:44 PM)
ya,i like her voice very much.regarding your 2nd and 3rd album of Hayley Westenra,are they US edition?
Yes, both are them are imported edition. As i have said, the 3rd album, the recording is not so good, especially vocal soundstage, i can hear noise when Hayley sing on high tones.

auronthas
post Jul 18 2008, 10:11 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jul 2 2008, 07:59 PM)
Also I have ordered three CDs via tower.com (hard to find from local CD shops) which are highly recommended

a) Two against Nature - Steely Dan (Rock, Pop)

b) Getz/Gilberto - Stan Getz / Joao Gilberto (Latin, Jazz)

c) Car Wheels on a Gravel Road - Lucinda Williams (Folks, Rock)

I will display their track lists after ripping and saving into my music jukebox smile.gif

Cheers
Finally, i received two of three CDs ordered via tower.com yesterday (2-3 weeks shipping and handling).

a) Car Wheels On A Gravel Road by Lucinda Williams - Winner of 1999 Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album, it's real American country/folk music.

b) Two against nature by Steely Dan - I have posted its review earlier in this thread

Attached photoshots of the CDs.

Cheers

This post has been edited by auronthas: Jul 18 2008, 10:12 PM

auronthas
post Jul 28 2008, 10:08 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

If you like latin music especially guitar, i would like to recommend Brazilian guitarist Lara & Reyes - Exotico.

Exotico, Cascabeles (rattlers), Brazil are few tracks i like most, it's duo guitarist, left channel is Lara and the other one is Reyes. Well recorded, highly recommended.

Attached image(s)
auronthas
post Aug 1 2008, 09:13 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 1 2008, 08:29 AM)
Any nice 'Live in Concert' CDs to recommend?
If you like Chris Botti, jazz/trumpet, you may like this - Live with Orchestra and Special Guests.

Attached image(s)
auronthas
post Aug 1 2008, 10:21 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 1 2008, 10:16 PM)
Where to get this piece of nice album? Victoria Sg Wang?
i bought it from Victoria Amcorp Mall, it's dual disc, CD + DVD.

I have seen the CD/DVD many places, including Popular Bookshop, i think Victoria Sg Wang should have this CD unless it's sold out.

auronthas
post Aug 1 2008, 10:51 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 1 2008, 10:25 PM)
Thanks!! And I can see some nice tracks from your siggy.
U are welcome smile.gif The siggy is a bit special, if you notice carefully, it would change from time as my recent listeing tracks from my music server and scrobbler to last.fm.

0.0261sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:02 PM