20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Asus P320, Last Known Price : RM 899

ajay67
post Jul 10 2008, 07:41 PM

2,960 posts

not bad la the price for what it has. how do you guys overclock the pda to 240mhz? my P3300 also use same processor i think & it really really sluggish til fed up already
limyusiong
post Jul 10 2008, 10:06 PM

2,815 posts

TI OMAP 850 200 MHz CPU, 1280 ROM/64 RAM, tis will be killer lo, no multi tasking and heavy usage here...but look at de price, RM1299, with GPS, ok la...u get wat u pay, tat all...
davidmak
post Jul 11 2008, 09:21 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 10 2008, 11:52 AM)
Typical behaviour of owners who just bought an item.  tongue.gif  Don't want the price of their prized asset to drop so fast.

No offence lar, its just that a price drop will be great for the rest of us. Just wanna say that I will grab one unit at 1099 without any extras too.
Can also be typical behavior of 'would-be' owners because they want it cheaper even if it is cheap to begin with. Hehehe! Basically there's nothing wrong in having wishful thoughts. But saving a small RM200 by sacrificing extras and warranty services and support isn't justifiable. That saving could be enormous for other people. Yes, very true. But on another perspective, if you can't afford that, probably you should be looking at another alternative and save some cash for needed times. Or buy it on another time.

In the market, the price point of RM1299 is a new record for new PDA phones. It could be a sign for ultra-low-end-affordable smartphones for everyone in the next few years - price point of RM899. Just like what is happening with ultra-low-cost notebooks. TI OMAP 850 is the best cost-effective platform to achieve this. It will happen, but not now.
ricadoe
post Jul 11 2008, 10:11 AM

218 posts

ya soon, there will be more cheap phone pda like this one coming out. For me, if there is a Asus P320 - GPS + higher processory, i'll get it immediately. But, how to overclock the processor?
TSDeani_77
post Jul 11 2008, 10:56 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(ricadoe @ Jul 11 2008, 10:11 AM)
ya soon, there will be more cheap phone pda like this one coming out. For me, if there is a Asus P320 - GPS + higher processory, i'll get it immediately. But, how to overclock the processor?
I think got special application for the (perhaps same like PC user overclock their processor). Because my P525 using customize ROM. It already been overclock by the ROM user from 416MHz to 520MHz. But the side effect I get was it get warm and drain out battery faster.

Added on July 11, 2008, 11:08 amJust try to do some searching at XDA Developer. There various program for various processor type. Feel free to search there...

Here link for Intel PXA Processor overclock thread.

Added on July 11, 2008, 11:14 amJust found application for overclocking OMAP processor called OMAPCLOCK V2.0 at Freeware PPC

Feel free to try. But at your own risk la.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Deani_77: Jul 11 2008, 11:15 AM
ricadoe
post Jul 11 2008, 11:21 AM

218 posts

thanks a lot.
zombie
post Jul 12 2008, 02:30 AM

Died
685 posts

Woohoo! Just got mine. It's 1299 still. biggrin.gif
mustang
post Jul 12 2008, 04:32 PM

#mUsTaNg.corp#
1,748 posts

1 shop in Penang is selling at RM1399 with 2GB. Quite expensive shakehead.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 12 2008, 06:40 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 12 2008, 02:30 AM)
Woohoo! Just got mine. It's 1299 still. biggrin.gif
congrats to you.......wah soo fast buy edi.....thought you wanna wait till it drop to 1099.... biggrin.gif (just joking.....)

zombie
post Jul 12 2008, 10:44 PM

Died
685 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 12 2008, 06:40 PM)
congrats to you.......wah soo fast buy edi.....thought you wanna wait till it drop to 1099.... biggrin.gif (just joking.....)
PC, I couldn't wait anymore after reading your marvelous review. And now that we are both owners already, I also hope the price remains 1299 forever. biggrin.gif rclxm9.gif
mustang
post Jul 13 2008, 08:49 AM

#mUsTaNg.corp#
1,748 posts

A new user reporting in .... biggrin.gif

Some questions as I am new in PDA world
01. There is two Office Mobile installed. How do I get rid of either 1
02. The screen will somehow be on? I tried it at night and swicthed off my room lights.
Any ways to make it dark like handphone?
03. If I have an application, I have to install the software first in PC then transfer the file to which folder in the phone?
04. I have MapKing 2007, How do I get started to use it? Once I start the application, Do I need to set anything?
05. Any extra tips?

Thanks a lot smile.gif

This post has been edited by mustang: Jul 13 2008, 08:59 AM
bububang
post Jul 13 2008, 02:51 PM

1,739 posts

if i knew this earlier.. i will get this instead of touch coz it come with build in GPS.. drool.gif

somemore there is softkey button ..
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 13 2008, 05:49 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 12 2008, 10:44 PM)
PC, I couldn't wait anymore after reading your marvelous review. And now that we are both owners already, I also hope the price remains 1299 forever.  biggrin.gif  rclxm9.gif
i'm sure it will maintain it's price till year end unless competitor comes with models with GPS with better spec at lower price, doubt this will happen this year and also it launch at a very low price which oppose to when HTC touch launch a a premium price of RM1999 & Wasabi Green at RM2199 and now drop to RM1399 or RM1499-somemore without GPS which i like and need.

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 13 2008, 08:49 AM)
A new user reporting in ....  biggrin.gif

Some questions as I am new in PDA world
01. There is two Office Mobile installed. How do I get rid of either 1
02. The screen will somehow be on? I tried it at night and swicthed off my room lights. 
      Any ways to make it dark like handphone?
03. If I have an application, I have to install the software first in PC then transfer the file to which folder in the phone?
04. I have MapKing 2007, How do I get started to use it? Once I start the application, Do I need to set anything?
05. Any extra tips?

Thanks a lot  smile.gif
1. got to Start-Settings-System-Remove Programs=choose the office you want to remove in there.
2. Press the Sleep Button on top on the right hand side, press too long you will switch off the phone, i think your setting is still standard 5 minutes before it switch off the display, mine change to 1 minute.
3. choose storage card, if cab file transfer to the folder in storage card also cause you have limited storage on the phone, Create a new folder in storage card for new applications.
4. Mapking i can't help you, i am A Garmin guy....smile.gif
P/S: Garmin takes up 8MB of memory on the phone while Mapking Less than 1MB, me dun like mapkng anyway, got try for few hours last thursday buy can't get a lock on.
5. If your screen flicker like christmas light, when you want to switch on from sleep mode just put it in sleep mode again and wake it up and it will be ok,
Battery status make the phone respond faster by overclock the processor but i do not dare lah, tried for a few hours only....try at your own risk.
Put you backlight at 51% or 45% to make your battery last longer when you use GPS often.
Use Task Manager to close any unwanted programs.

cheers.

QUOTE(bububang @ Jul 13 2008, 02:51 PM)
if i knew this earlier.. i will get this instead of touch coz it come with build in GPS..  drool.gif

somemore there is softkey button ..
but you have touch flo software lah.... smile.gif
ricadoe
post Jul 13 2008, 06:13 PM

218 posts

actually i've been torn between two choices. asus p320 or p525. d differences to me is the processor. p320 = 200mhz while p525 = 416mhz. can anyone tell me whether it really makes that much difference? my normal usage will be using some skyscape software, perform windows mobile and read pdf files. no need to play games. please advise. Thanks in advance.

if there's a big differences, i'll be tempted to get a second hand p525 which i'm really reluctant to because no warranty.

This post has been edited by ricadoe: Jul 13 2008, 06:15 PM
mustang
post Jul 13 2008, 06:35 PM

#mUsTaNg.corp#
1,748 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 13 2008, 05:49 PM)
i'm sure it will maintain it's price till year end unless competitor comes with models with GPS with better spec at lower price, doubt this will happen this year and also it launch at a very low price which oppose to when HTC touch launch a a premium price of RM1999 & Wasabi Green at RM2199 and now drop to RM1399 or RM1499-somemore without GPS which i like and need.
1. got to Start-Settings-System-Remove Programs=choose the office you want to remove in there.
2. Press the Sleep Button on top on the right hand side, press too long you will switch off the phone, i think your setting is still standard 5 minutes before it switch off the display, mine change to 1 minute.
3. choose storage card, if cab file transfer to the folder in storage card also cause you have limited storage on the phone, Create a new folder in storage card for new applications.
4. Mapking i can't help you, i am A Garmin guy....smile.gif
P/S: Garmin takes up 8MB of memory on the phone while Mapking Less than 1MB, me dun like mapkng anyway, got try for few hours last thursday buy can't get a lock on.
5. If your screen flicker like christmas light, when you want to switch on from sleep mode just put it in sleep mode again and wake it up and it will be ok,
Battery status make the phone respond faster by overclock the processor but i do not dare lah, tried for a few hours only....try at your own risk.
Put you backlight at 51% or 45% to make your battery last longer when you use GPS often.
Use Task Manager to close any unwanted programs.

cheers.
PC:
2. To wake up the phone again, press the power button once?
3. Meaning I just need to transfer the CAB file or the whole folder with CAB file to the phone? Need to perform installation once transfered to the phone?

PrinceCaspien
post Jul 13 2008, 07:27 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(ricadoe @ Jul 13 2008, 06:13 PM)
actually i've been torn between two choices. asus p320 or p525. d differences to me is the processor. p320 = 200mhz while p525 = 416mhz. can anyone tell me whether it really makes that much difference? my normal usage will be using some skyscape software, perform windows mobile and read pdf files. no need to play games. please advise. Thanks in advance.

if there's a big differences, i'll be tempted to get a second hand p525 which i'm really reluctant to because no warranty.
P525 have 2.8" screen which might be better for you to view pdf files, original OS might be running WM5, WM6.1 Pro is more interesting-support window live and no GPS-which you do not mentioned will you. P525 have more bigger cap battery.

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 13 2008, 06:35 PM)
PC:
2. To wake up the phone again, press the power button once?
3. Meaning I just need to transfer the CAB file or the whole folder with CAB file to the phone? Need to perform installation once transfered to the phone?

2. yes
3. whole folder. just click the folder and installation will start.

Resco Explorer is a good software, Registry editor included also.
ricadoe
post Jul 13 2008, 07:33 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 13 2008, 07:27 PM)
P525 have 2.8" screen which might be better for you to view pdf files, original OS might be running WM5, WM6.1 Pro is more interesting-support window live and no GPS-which you do not mentioned will you. P525 have more bigger cap battery.
ya, i'm aware of the gps. but i live in a small town and seldom travel. so i guess it won't be useful to me. my concern is lag. thanks a lot anyway
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 13 2008, 08:29 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 13 2008, 08:49 AM)
05. Any extra tips?

Thanks a lot  smile.gif
For ringtone to run directly from Storage Card/memory Card, paste directly the mp3 to the Memory Card without putting into any folder. If you do not do this, the system will copy the mp3 to your system memory and reduce the capacity.
bububang
post Jul 14 2008, 03:58 AM

1,739 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 13 2008, 05:49 PM)

i thought touch flo can install on later on.. unsure.gif

eg. FLtouch? unsure.gif
mustang
post Jul 14 2008, 04:32 PM

#mUsTaNg.corp#
1,748 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jul 13 2008, 08:29 PM)
For ringtone to run directly from Storage Card/memory Card, paste directly the mp3 to the Memory Card without putting into any folder. If you do not do this, the system will copy the mp3 to your system memory and reduce the capacity.
I tried using the GPS today using MapKing and it seems I am having some problems with the connection. PC, any idea where I can download or buy Garmin to use in the phone? Thanks

PS: Can I switch off the blinking LED light?

This post has been edited by mustang: Jul 14 2008, 05:43 PM

20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:34 PM