Asus P320, Last Known Price : RM 899

PrinceCaspien
post Jun 26 2008, 10:03 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

Called Asus Malaysia and it is on sale now at low yat concourse area for RM1299....not sure about the package though....
PrinceCaspien
post Jun 26 2008, 10:39 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(nashakir @ Jun 26 2008, 10:11 AM)
r u kidding that price??
hmm.. the design looks familiar with other brand izit?
promotion price during the soft launching.....i was suprise also.....htc touch which have similiar spec excluding built in GPS also selling RM1999 when launching.....

Recommended for GPS lover.....
PrinceCaspien
post Jun 27 2008, 04:37 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(kerazul @ Jun 27 2008, 12:33 PM)
no wifi?!
got

Added on June 27, 2008, 4:38 pm
QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Jun 27 2008, 01:18 PM)
cute lorr............o2 atom killer?
more to htc touch killer

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jun 27 2008, 04:38 PM
PrinceCaspien
post Jun 28 2008, 09:56 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

Today Star advertisement-RM1299 comes with 2GB micro sd.
PrinceCaspien
post Jun 29 2008, 10:56 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(SFOD-D @ Jun 28 2008, 10:47 AM)
Can EDGE support video downloading like You Tube?

Added on June 28, 2008, 5:08 pmWent to LYP just now...with the intention to buy backup PDA phones. Checked the Asus P320 (both the bootloader demo version and retail version from Asus guy) - very nice, small, light...but somehow for RM1299 with FOC 2GB and RM50 petrol voucher doesnt really attract me. Maybe the build quality or something like that. Its a good phones for those hunting for bargain PDA phones with good specs (plus wifi). Just that the Asus P320 not for me though. End up buying the wasabi green P3452 at RM1399
what advantage htc touch over asus p320? please let me know....bigger ram? touch flo interface? rclxms.gif

what i'm into is GPS which HTC touch do not have......

stay away for PDA Gear midvalley-selling at RM1499(they claim extra charges is for their lifetime software support, tiew now we are in the internet era where all software can get over the net)..cut throat

while it's next door neighbour PDA Experts is selling at RM1299 also lifetime software support.... thumbup.gif

PrinceCaspien
post Jun 29 2008, 11:34 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(SFOD-D @ Jun 29 2008, 11:11 AM)
Asus got the GPS stuff built in unlike P3452 (which i think you have to connect to external device) ...apart from that and smaller form factor the Asus P320 aint that great. I end up buying the P3452 for a simple reasons:
- HTC P3452 better value for money, great quality, bigger RAM/ROM, support from SIS better, TouchFlo, metal stylus etc etc etc. Hey then again....its a personal choice
haha....i'll have to sacrifice the ram for GPS, i'll wait till iphone launch, sure will affect the price of PDA's, on the day of annoucement of launching date of iPhone 3G, HTC share drop by 6% in taiwan.....
PrinceCaspien
post Jun 29 2008, 12:35 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(SFOD-D @ Jun 29 2008, 12:10 PM)
A bit off topic...Iphone wont change HTC pricing and if u were talking about the 3g version..it wont reach our shore officially (even the 2g didnt make it here officially) and HTC still selling their PPC at a premium price coz they know that their reputation sells.
haha....we'll wait and see 2g less hype mah, now iphone 3g is creating a scene worldwide and manage to down HTC share price by 6% with just it's launching date, imagine what it can do when it's in the market, with all this hype 1 of Malaysia telco will surely try to bring in the iphone 3g to make profit..........if it do arrive it seems that the only telco that support iPhone 3G function such as Microsoft Exchange is celcom....

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jun 29 2008, 12:35 PM
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 1 2008, 04:16 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

wow, no user of this pda in lowyat.net yet?

common don't be shy, please give some reviews......
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 2 2008, 07:43 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

sales was good for Asus P320 at the shop my friend is working at, they take in 30 units and sold 15 units within 2 days.....
just that maybe all Asus P320 user might not me lowyat.net members...smile.gif
Diamond rm2799 is overpriced, look at Asus p750 started at RM2799 also and it drop to RM1999 less than 6 months, i would say diamond will be in that range in december or january or less if iphone comes legally to malaysia.....

Added on July 2, 2008, 9:06 amLatest news from AT&T :
AT&T also says that a "no-commitment" (read: no contract) iPhone 3G will be available soon, at $599 for the 8GB version and or $699 for the 16GB handset. Pricey, but hey-no two-year contract.

USD599 convert to malaysian ringgit around RM2000 which is still consider affordable than a few other PDA which is overpriced........

HTC is going down.......

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jul 2 2008, 09:06 AM
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 2 2008, 09:48 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

i just got this pda, let me test for a few day and give you guys simple review.
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 3 2008, 04:34 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(Alen_Infinite @ Jul 2 2008, 09:40 AM)
Well, users please review, any problem on this phone ? I heard there is problem on hang, and wifi problem, is it true? appreciate if users can verify on this.  icon_question.gif
QUOTE(SFOD-D @ Jul 2 2008, 05:39 PM)
Wifi problem? Hope somebody do a review soon
Hang nop, lag yes, wifi is very good on my unit-no problem at all....

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jul 2 2008, 05:06 PM)
This phone only Rm1099? 400 bucks different from HTC Touch but with GPS and other better specs?
that's cheap, my friend wants to get 10 unit from you for RM1099.00, please PM me how to COD with you. or else do not simply quote if you do not have the facts right.

PrinceCaspien
post Jul 4 2008, 04:53 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jul 4 2008, 02:18 PM)
Caspien doink, i quote from here. Not simply quote.
Btw, the screen size is 2.6" is it? Then HTC Touch got slightly bigger size.
my mistake..... biggrin.gif

HTC Touch screen size on paper is 2.8" but in real life it is actually only 2.6"(screen across), measured by me and my friend at his shop, maybe their 2.8 inch definition is including their silver frame into the measurement... biggrin.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 5 2008, 09:50 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

This is my simple review on Asus P320.

The unit itself & Accessories :
The pda comes in with a box, External GPS anthena connector(how to use this i also dunno...smile.gif, earpiece(quite good quality, same design like sony bass boost model), 2 stylus, CD software, pouch, pc connection cable and 1100mah battery.
This pda is small in size and lightweight so it is very convenient to me. Front panel surface are fingerprint magnet but the rear are rubberized-won't easily get scratch.
The battery life is quite lasting. But i like the window logo button, the ok button, the Navigation key which is useful during driving, you can access & scroll the start function without having to touch the screen.
GPS
I install Garmin mobile over Mapking due to speedtrap warning and also i'm too familiar and get used to Garmin edi. Eventhough it takes up 8MB of my phone memory. Why Garmin wanna use my phone memory while Mapking don't?
Initial locked on was a pain in the ass, at least 3 minutes because there is not help from A-GPS like in my previous Nokia N82(initial locked on 15 to 30 seconds). But subsequent locked on was fast.
WM6.1 Professional
I have not play around with the software yet but i love the WM6.1 which has better interface than WM5(on my previous HP6828) and i love Asus today screen. The speaker phone was loud enough to be used for calls while driving. For ringtone i would advice you guys to put at the root of your memory card so that it would be detected in the Notification menu, or else it will transfer to your phone memory and takes up your phone memory. It will make your memory card more messy though.....
Camera
Nothing special about the camera on this pda but oklah......sample below.
Marco mode
Normal

Summary
The pda is a bit lag due to it's slow processor but in return you will get longer standby hours. If you need speed, you can oc it to 240mhz as mentioned by borneo to get rid of the lagginess but you will shorten the battery standby time. For me i need the GPS and it is very small so i can even put it in my shirt pocket and would not know that it is there.

Added on July 5, 2008, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(SFOD-D @ Jul 4 2008, 10:45 PM)
Asus screen smaller than P3452 coz ive seen asus since the day one launch at LY and i have P3452. Somehow the TD screen look smaller than p3452 though (eventhough its 2.8).. sorry a bit off topic
confirm htc touch is bigger screen.

This post has been edited by PrinceCaspien: Jul 5 2008, 04:15 PM
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 8 2008, 08:59 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(ahnien @ Jul 8 2008, 11:31 AM)
the rom very generous... but the processor speed.... so so ungenerous....
You will not find anything perfect in this world......
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 9 2008, 07:49 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(Tainted @ Jul 9 2008, 03:23 PM)
Are there any cases or pouch which comes with it or available in the market right now?
so far no, but in youtube you can see there is leather case which will make it bulky.
i'm waiting for the silicone case...smile.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 10 2008, 07:44 AM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(OwenMnM @ Jul 10 2008, 01:44 AM)
This phone support chinese sms or input ?

Some 1 said RM1299 with 2gb, some 1 said with 4gb, some said RM1099 can get ady.

So tempting ...
I think no chinese input, not sure lah...

Launching price was RM1299 with Free 2GB Micro SD + RM50 petrol voucher, that was history(2 weeks ago). Only those with launching stock will be able to offer free 2GB or 4GB memory card, those with new stock, won't have.

RM1099 have to wait long long lah......that's only prediction price.
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 12 2008, 06:40 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 12 2008, 02:30 AM)
Woohoo! Just got mine. It's 1299 still. biggrin.gif
congrats to you.......wah soo fast buy edi.....thought you wanna wait till it drop to 1099.... biggrin.gif (just joking.....)

PrinceCaspien
post Jul 13 2008, 05:49 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(zombie @ Jul 12 2008, 10:44 PM)
PC, I couldn't wait anymore after reading your marvelous review. And now that we are both owners already, I also hope the price remains 1299 forever.  biggrin.gif  rclxm9.gif
i'm sure it will maintain it's price till year end unless competitor comes with models with GPS with better spec at lower price, doubt this will happen this year and also it launch at a very low price which oppose to when HTC touch launch a a premium price of RM1999 & Wasabi Green at RM2199 and now drop to RM1399 or RM1499-somemore without GPS which i like and need.

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 13 2008, 08:49 AM)
A new user reporting in ....  biggrin.gif

Some questions as I am new in PDA world
01. There is two Office Mobile installed. How do I get rid of either 1
02. The screen will somehow be on? I tried it at night and swicthed off my room lights. 
      Any ways to make it dark like handphone?
03. If I have an application, I have to install the software first in PC then transfer the file to which folder in the phone?
04. I have MapKing 2007, How do I get started to use it? Once I start the application, Do I need to set anything?
05. Any extra tips?

Thanks a lot  smile.gif
1. got to Start-Settings-System-Remove Programs=choose the office you want to remove in there.
2. Press the Sleep Button on top on the right hand side, press too long you will switch off the phone, i think your setting is still standard 5 minutes before it switch off the display, mine change to 1 minute.
3. choose storage card, if cab file transfer to the folder in storage card also cause you have limited storage on the phone, Create a new folder in storage card for new applications.
4. Mapking i can't help you, i am A Garmin guy....smile.gif
P/S: Garmin takes up 8MB of memory on the phone while Mapking Less than 1MB, me dun like mapkng anyway, got try for few hours last thursday buy can't get a lock on.
5. If your screen flicker like christmas light, when you want to switch on from sleep mode just put it in sleep mode again and wake it up and it will be ok,
Battery status make the phone respond faster by overclock the processor but i do not dare lah, tried for a few hours only....try at your own risk.
Put you backlight at 51% or 45% to make your battery last longer when you use GPS often.
Use Task Manager to close any unwanted programs.

cheers.

QUOTE(bububang @ Jul 13 2008, 02:51 PM)
if i knew this earlier.. i will get this instead of touch coz it come with build in GPS..  drool.gif

somemore there is softkey button ..
but you have touch flo software lah.... smile.gif
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 13 2008, 07:27 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(ricadoe @ Jul 13 2008, 06:13 PM)
actually i've been torn between two choices. asus p320 or p525. d differences to me is the processor. p320 = 200mhz while p525 = 416mhz. can anyone tell me whether it really makes that much difference? my normal usage will be using some skyscape software, perform windows mobile and read pdf files. no need to play games. please advise. Thanks in advance.

if there's a big differences, i'll be tempted to get a second hand p525 which i'm really reluctant to because no warranty.
P525 have 2.8" screen which might be better for you to view pdf files, original OS might be running WM5, WM6.1 Pro is more interesting-support window live and no GPS-which you do not mentioned will you. P525 have more bigger cap battery.

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 13 2008, 06:35 PM)
PC:
2. To wake up the phone again, press the power button once?
3. Meaning I just need to transfer the CAB file or the whole folder with CAB file to the phone? Need to perform installation once transfered to the phone?

2. yes
3. whole folder. just click the folder and installation will start.

Resco Explorer is a good software, Registry editor included also.
PrinceCaspien
post Jul 13 2008, 08:29 PM

Unique
1,717 posts

QUOTE(mustang @ Jul 13 2008, 08:49 AM)
05. Any extra tips?

Thanks a lot  smile.gif
For ringtone to run directly from Storage Card/memory Card, paste directly the mp3 to the Memory Card without putting into any folder. If you do not do this, the system will copy the mp3 to your system memory and reduce the capacity.

0.0331sec    1.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:39 AM