Cult Heroes, Little impact, but endearing to the fans

StarGhazzer
post May 28 2008, 10:17 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ May 26 2008, 12:03 PM)
means the fans that nick ashley cole as cashley cole are stupid ? nothing wrong with cole move to chelsea because of $$$ ?
There's nothing wrong with moving to a club who pays you more, but constantly talking shit and bad mouthing about everyone in the club who nurtured him into the player he is today, just because of a measly 5000/week paycheck is in no way forgivable.

QUOTE(navilink @ May 28 2008, 08:50 PM)
or how about Paolo diCanio? anyone will remember his attitude pushing the referees....but there's one time when he got the chance to score (no goalkeeper at the goalpost)....but instead he take up the ball, and showed the referee there's someone injured somewhere on the field....that was sooo cool!!
The irony. Paolo won fair play award, but will always be remembered for his referee abuse and Musolini salutes... tongue.gif

More cult heroes from Arsenal in addition to Romford Pele...

Gilles Grimandi... typical utility player with no fixed position, plays wherever he is asked to, no nonsense tackler, and gave us one of the worse defence pairing alongside Igor Stepanovs. sweat.gif Luckily that makeshift defence was just present for one match. After a short stint in US, he returns as a scout to help us raid Ligue 1. Recently turned down PSG's offer to remain at the Grove. Lovely Gilles, once a gunner, always a gunner.

Oleg Luzhny... damn it the neatly combed, flattened, ahpek hairstyle just cannot be erased from memory. Another utility player whose role was a reserve RB, did nothing spectacular but was pretty decent nonetheless. WOW-ed me once when he skipped past two or three Newcastle defenders in one of the league matches witha lovely dribble. That's probably the only flashy thing Oleg has done, but yeah... another cult hero. Don't think newer fans esp those who jumped onto the bandwagon after our unbeaten season would remember him though.

matyrze
post May 29 2008, 03:23 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 15 2008, 06:45 PM)
take a break from BPL, shall we ?  biggrin.gif

introducing 1 of most beloved n respected 'hero' in Italy : Damiano Tommasi.

not only Tommasi is a great player, he is a great man. not even Lazio fans can hate him.
OMG..i thought he is already lost somewhere at serie C or arabic gulf or australian league!!long time not hear about him..this article, very touching one...

edit: lor..this story was published in 2005..that's why i checked at wikipedia it says that he is currently at levante

This post has been edited by matyrze: May 29 2008, 03:27 PM
Gr3yL3gion81
post May 29 2008, 03:49 PM

\(n.n)/
685 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ May 28 2008, 10:17 PM)
There's nothing wrong with moving to a club who pays you more, but constantly talking shit and bad mouthing about everyone in the club who nurtured him into the player he is today, just because of a measly 5000/week paycheck is in no way forgivable.
The irony. Paolo won fair play award, but will always be remembered for his referee abuse and Musolini salutes... tongue.gif

Gilles Grimandi... typical utility player with no fixed position, plays wherever he is asked to, no nonsense tackler, and gave us one of the worse defence pairing alongside Igor Stepanovs. sweat.gif Luckily that makeshift defence was just present for one match. After a short stint in US, he returns as a scout to help us raid Ligue 1. Recently turned down PSG's offer to remain at the Grove. Lovely Gilles, once a gunner, always a gunner.

Oleg Luzhny... damn it the neatly combed, flattened, ahpek hairstyle just cannot be erased from memory. Another utility player whose role was a reserve RB, did nothing spectacular but was pretty decent nonetheless. WOW-ed me once when he skipped past two or three Newcastle defenders in one of the league matches witha lovely dribble. That's probably the only flashy thing Oleg has done, but yeah... another cult hero. Don't think newer fans esp those who jumped onto the bandwagon after our unbeaten season would remember him though.
I remember them. nod.gif

Damn, I'm old. doh.gif
m o m o
post May 31 2008, 01:42 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion81 @ May 29 2008, 03:49 PM)
I remember them. nod.gif

Damn, I'm old. doh.gif
They're from the late 90's... you're not old mate...

If you remember the Crazy Gang, Steve Bull etc, you're really getting old... smile.gif
StarGhazzer
post May 31 2008, 08:13 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

^We're still getting old since we're babies from the 80s. It'll be hard for us to remember anyone from the 80s, so the players from the 90s will be our first exposure to football tongue.gif
giotto
post May 31 2008, 10:04 AM

3,051 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ May 28 2008, 10:17 PM)

I watched the whole referee pushing incident by Di Canio, he was actually trying to break a fight between his team mates and opposition. In doing so, he might have raised a few arms and some shoving and the referee saw it as he was part of the fight and red carded him. Di Canio being himself didnt take that too nicely and pushed the referee. Had he just leave the field and appeal the card, the card might have been rescinded.

Gilles Grimandi, the unsung hero of Arsenal. I've always mention his name in the Arsenal thread but nobody here ever gives a damn or even remembers him. He alongside Ray Parlour werent exactly what you call star players. They hardly ever score goals, maybe with the exception of Parlour who always chooses to score some spectacular goal, just from out of the blue. Grimandi on the other hand is a no nonsense player, hardly gets into the limelight, extremely hardworking on the pitch and just keeps going without complaining.

Igor Stepanovs...this SOB will probably go down in Arsenal history as the worst player. Haha. He's slow, doesn't win much headers, mistimes his tackles and will be remembered as 'the defender that concedes 6 goals' in the Arsenal's worst ever defeat to Man Utd. He was that bad that a commentator once said that Arsenal should sell Stepanovs, use that transfer money to buy a plane ticket for one of their targetted player. Of coz Arsenal was really broke at that point, with the new stadium looming.

Oleg Luzhny is abit better. Deputised for Lee Dixon when he was out injured. Also known as Crazy Horse. His tireless runs makes him a second choice at RB. He lacks the attacking or dribbling instincts of a RB but he makes it back with his lung busting runs and tracking. He didn't fare too badly as a Gunner but will always be remembered for his runs. I think he was a sprinter turned footballer.
StarGhazzer
post May 31 2008, 10:11 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(giotto @ May 31 2008, 10:04 AM)
I watched the whole referee pushing incident by Di Canio, he was actually trying to break a fight between his team mates and opposition. In doing so, he might have raised a few arms and some shoving and the referee saw it as he was part of the fight and red carded him. Di Canio being himself didnt take that too nicely and pushed the referee. Had he just leave the field and appeal the card, the card might have been rescinded.

Gilles Grimandi, the unsung hero of Arsenal. I've always mention his name in the Arsenal thread but nobody here ever gives a damn or even remembers him. He alongside Ray Parlour werent exactly what you call star players. They hardly ever score goals, maybe with the exception of Parlour who always chooses to score some spectacular goal, just from out of the blue. Grimandi on the other hand is a no nonsense player, hardly gets into the limelight, extremely hardworking on the pitch and just keeps going without complaining.

Igor Stepanovs...this SOB will probably go down in Arsenal history as the worst player. Haha. He's slow, doesn't win much headers, mistimes his tackles and will be remembered as 'the defender that concedes 6 goals' in the Arsenal's worst ever defeat to Man Utd. He was that bad that a commentator once said that Arsenal should sell Stepanovs, use that transfer money to buy a plane ticket for one of their targetted player. Of coz Arsenal was really broke at that point, with the new stadium looming.

Oleg Luzhny is abit better. Deputised for Lee Dixon when he was out injured. Also known as Crazy Horse. His tireless runs makes him a second choice at RB. He lacks the attacking or dribbling instincts of a RB but he makes it back with his lung busting runs and tracking. He didn't fare too badly as a Gunner but will always be remembered for his runs. I think he was a sprinter turned footballer.
I do remember Gilles, otherwise I wouldn't have mentioned him right? tongue.gif
Cheers for the man as he stayed on as a scout and spearheaded our quest to unearth more French jewels.

Stepanovs haha... he may not be the best defender we've ever had under Arsene, but to call him SOB is a bit overboard. But yeah, those who are bashing Sendy endlessly need to watch Igor to know how grateful we are to have the Swiss Tony instead of the Latvian defender.

giotto
post May 31 2008, 10:49 AM

3,051 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ May 31 2008, 10:11 AM)
I do remember Gilles, otherwise I wouldn't have mentioned him right? tongue.gif
Cheers for the man as he stayed on as a scout and spearheaded our quest to unearth more French jewels.

Stepanovs haha... he may not be the best defender we've ever had under Arsene, but to call him SOB is a bit overboard. But yeah, those who are bashing Sendy endlessly need to watch Igor to know how grateful we are to have the Swiss Tony instead of the Latvian defender.
Haha, i never really intend to call him a SOB, just a figure of speech. Yeah, be thankful we have Sendy instead of Igor.
m o m o
post Jun 1 2008, 04:49 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ May 31 2008, 08:13 AM)
^We're still getting old since we're babies from the 80s. It'll be hard for us to remember anyone from the 80s, so the players from the 90s will be our first exposure to football tongue.gif
Not everyone was a baby then mate... smile.gif

Some older geezer would also struggle to remember anything before the 90s, simply because back then, football wasn't shown as often... sure, there were weekly football magazine round-up shows, but most 'Live' matches were FA Cups... "Sponsored by Dunhill - Style, Quality, Excellence" ... remember? Ahh, I am old...
StarGhazzer
post Jun 1 2008, 06:04 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(m o m o @ Jun 1 2008, 04:49 AM)
Not everyone was a baby then mate... smile.gif

Some older geezer would also struggle to remember anything before the 90s, simply because back then, football wasn't shown as often... sure, there were weekly football magazine round-up shows, but most 'Live' matches were FA Cups... "Sponsored by Dunhill - Style, Quality, Excellence" ... remember? Ahh, I am old...
Haha... yeah I remember... Dunhill advertisements for FA cup telecasts. Even in the late 90s and early 2000s Dunhill was the one which brought some football action to people without Astro like me tongue.gif
Chrisky
post Jun 1 2008, 07:00 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

here's a real cult hero for Roma. biggrin.gif

Leandro Cufre, an Argentine defender who play for us for 5 years n virtually done NOTHING significant at all for us. but when he left for Monaco in 2006 the ultras marched on the street to bid farewell to him, n call him a legend. the reason : he played every game with full passion n spirit, n this :

LOL. i'm sure no one knows who he is unless those who really follow Serie A. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Chrisky: Jun 1 2008, 07:00 PM
kobe8byrant
post Jun 1 2008, 07:03 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Am I the only United fan who liked the ugliest keeper Earth has ever seen - Raimond van der Gouw?
StarGhazzer
post Jun 1 2008, 07:23 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

^ Well he's not that ugly to be honest, in fact he looks like a cachexic Jens Lehmann... Tevez is so much worse sweat.gif

van der Gouw is a decent GK, but I'm not sure whether he's a cult hero of MU fans or not since he's not mentioned as often as the other ex-MU players. But I guess he could qualify as a cult hero since he's still a part of the treble team.
disco333
post Jun 1 2008, 07:36 PM

453 posts

Grimandi will always be remembered especially after he stopped Davids from scoring the first goal at the Emirates albeit illegally.
Hevrn
post Jun 2 2008, 01:31 PM

4,017 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 1 2008, 07:03 PM)
Am I the only United fan who liked the ugliest keeper Earth has ever seen - Raimond van der Gouw?
Ugly? Looked like a pretty decent looking bloke to me. Taibi was far worst biggrin.gif
kobe8byrant
post Jun 2 2008, 01:49 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Aiyo, lads I was merely kidding lah. But seriously, you are looking at his pictures pre-ponytail or post-ponytail? laugh.gif
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 1 2008, 07:23 PM)
^ Well he's not that ugly to be honest, in fact he looks like a cachexic Jens Lehmann... Tevez is so much worse sweat.gif

van der Gouw is a decent GK, but I'm not sure whether he's a cult hero of MU fans or not since he's not mentioned as often as the other ex-MU players. But I guess he could qualify as a cult hero since he's still a part of the treble team.
But in all seriousness, I think he was massively underappreciated. He was a solid deputy to the Schmeichel and when we had Barthez shoved down our throats, he stayed on for a while and played a bulk of games. If Quinton Fortune is worthy of cult hero status (well he should be at least), this lad should definitely be a cult hero.

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Jun 2 2008, 01:31 PM)
Ugly? Looked like a pretty decent looking bloke to me. Taibi was far worst biggrin.gif
Now a real cult hero: Jim Leighton who followed Fergie club to club.
sirnanzy
post Jun 2 2008, 01:52 PM

360 posts

Hehe, Massimo Taibi who famously blamed the grass after he let a ball slipped pass his crotch.

Anyone here remembers John Beresford?
TSDuke Red
post Jun 2 2008, 04:39 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Jun 2 2008, 01:49 PM)
Now a real cult hero: Jim Leighton who followed Fergie club to club.
I personally thought Jim Leighton to be a decent keeper. He as at the time the Scottish no.1 at the 1990 World Cup as well, to be succeeded later by Bryan Gunn. Speaking of United keepers being cult heroes, I'd have to nominate Les Sealey. Unless I'm mistaken you signed him from Luton Town and he wasn't a popular choice back them but put in some decent performances when Leighton's form began to wane. He has since passed away god rest his soul.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0176sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:06 AM