Cult Heroes, Little impact, but endearing to the fans

kobe8byrant
post Jun 1 2008, 07:03 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Am I the only United fan who liked the ugliest keeper Earth has ever seen - Raimond van der Gouw?
kobe8byrant
post Jun 2 2008, 01:49 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Aiyo, lads I was merely kidding lah. But seriously, you are looking at his pictures pre-ponytail or post-ponytail? laugh.gif
QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jun 1 2008, 07:23 PM)
^ Well he's not that ugly to be honest, in fact he looks like a cachexic Jens Lehmann... Tevez is so much worse sweat.gif

van der Gouw is a decent GK, but I'm not sure whether he's a cult hero of MU fans or not since he's not mentioned as often as the other ex-MU players. But I guess he could qualify as a cult hero since he's still a part of the treble team.
But in all seriousness, I think he was massively underappreciated. He was a solid deputy to the Schmeichel and when we had Barthez shoved down our throats, he stayed on for a while and played a bulk of games. If Quinton Fortune is worthy of cult hero status (well he should be at least), this lad should definitely be a cult hero.

QUOTE(Hevrn @ Jun 2 2008, 01:31 PM)
Ugly? Looked like a pretty decent looking bloke to me. Taibi was far worst biggrin.gif
Now a real cult hero: Jim Leighton who followed Fergie club to club.

0.0217sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:41 AM