5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V8, fish stuff etc etc lorr .. :p

yothim
post Oct 17 2009, 12:48 AM

182 posts

hi guys, i'm new here and i'm planning to get some fishing equipment. i'm just a beginner with little experience in fishing (using my friends rod). would like u guys to recommend some equipment for me......not too expensive .....jus wanna get some cheap but quality equipment which will last couple of years. will do some lake or some sea fishing....pls advise, thanks. btw, my budget is below 200 if too little, then below 300 lor. jus fishing for fun.......thanks

btw, any shops to recommend? some honest shop.....i stay around ampang/cheras area. is the one near mirama hotel one is good? they opened for quite some time liao.

This post has been edited by yothim: Oct 17 2009, 02:13 AM
yothim
post Oct 21 2009, 09:17 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Oct 18 2009, 07:34 PM)
ah?? what PE oo? This wan is PE2-3. So cheap...hu hu hu...
haha..that not a lot..u should ask Qiw how a lot is a lot  tongue.gif 

paypond : freshwater - usually RM7 per hour depending on ponds..some min play is 2 hours and some 3 hours.

saltwater- usually RM13-RM15 per hour. There are some is RM30+ per hour (they claim to have big fish inside) usual min play 3 hours.
it depends specifically what are you intending to do? In the sea, on the boat would be different kind of rod and reel. Some part of the sea got biggies and you'll never know what you'll get...if you bring freshwater reel, might have screws falling apart from the reel. If you're on the boat, they one reel spoiled, u can start sleeping till everybody finish fishing. But if you buy sea fishing rods/reels... it would be too big n heavy for freshwater.

but if u intend to play in saltwater payponds and freshwater...RM200 could do the job.  wink.gif

i know of a place in pandan mewah. u can PM me later if u want to find the place. recommend you this shop owner.honest and good man...for the very least this shop owner been fishing before so he knows what to recommend. the one near mirama got 2 fishing shops...fishing hunter-very expensive, sabre tackle - good man, but his shop does seem to have much choice for a beginner.
hey, i think i had found the tackle shop just now. i did not know there is one there and i think that would serve me well for my needs. btw, anything to recommed me to get for the first time besides the rod and the reel? anything that i should get? the tackle box should get it outside, right? i think it wont be cheap........i think a 20pound fish is something not for me la. i think 10-15pound would be ok........right? or should i invest more? but i dont want to spend so much (not now) on something that i'm not familiar.......btw, is there a reel which can be used on salt and freshwater fishing??
yothim
post Oct 22 2009, 09:09 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(chun @ Oct 22 2009, 05:47 PM)
to all the newbies... my honest opinion... is to start tagging along with those sifus for fishing trips... what explained here is all theory only...

for rods and reels you really need to "feel" what is good and what is not... we can only suggest to you what we have used ...

coming from personal experience as i use to follow sifu level punya Qiw go fishing in laguna looong time back... after a while learn a lot of stuff... equipments need not be very expensive to enjoy the fun of fishing...

IMHO any freshwater/paypond setups around RM100-RM150 would be very good for beginners already...  even our sifu Q use RM10 prawn rod to haul up the pacus in laguna wat... reel lain cerita la... kekekek...
i agree with u but the problem is that i do not have anyone around who likes to fish. i'm the only 'weirdo' around and everyone discouraged me......i just like the excitement when i got something and at the same time, would have something to do instead of just tv and so on. that is why i do not have much choice but to ask around for opinion and the rest would be my own trial and errors.

so understand my problem ler....i'm not as lucky as u guys to find some kaki to fish. i will expect to fish alone la.....haha....
yothim
post Oct 23 2009, 11:13 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Oct 23 2009, 04:01 PM)
heard of it..siakap pond right? I'll try there probably next month. I heard the bite rate is quite good.

added:

yothim,
u can always find us for fishing  tongue.gif  icon_idea.gif
thanks bro notworthy.gif (or sis? sorry la, cos u put female leh).......for the understanding. sometimes frustrating la cos nowadays, ppl jus movie, shopping, tv or gf/family, no life no hobby. at least later if i got my own family, i can do this with my kids instead of just taking them out for shopping (no offence, ok?). i'm not as lucky as u guys to have friends who like fishing or etc, most of my friends like online games, 'wet' and those 'rich man' lifestyle.

for now i think i need the equipment (or should i wait?) and more readings on it. hope by then, i can find some kaki la.........and at the same time, i cant find any place near my place to fish. i just dont like the paypond cos i think it is quite overcrowded, dont have those 'feel' of fishing
yothim
post Oct 25 2009, 10:17 PM

182 posts

anyone went to fish at bagan lalang before? saw one kelong there which charges rm40/12 hrs (no food is included), any comment?

btw, anyone knew the location of sukida pond at hulu langat? quite nearby my place..........any gps locations or can guide me there? would like to find out this place........to do some practising later......thanks!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by yothim: Oct 25 2009, 11:14 PM
yothim
post Oct 28 2009, 09:52 PM

182 posts

btw if the entrance is rm10 then if wan to 'tapau' balik...quite expensive since some of the fish are big. if the big fish nice? hmm....still think that the ones from the sea is better.......

btw, i'm getting the rod and reel soon.......i plan to use it for saltwater n freshwater fishing, is it ok to use back the same equipment? i'm not planing to get another pair yet, any advice?
yothim
post Oct 30 2009, 10:56 PM

182 posts

why issit that nowadyas all ponds are commercialized? any natural pond which is open to public? the fish at paypond is too huge (if eaten) and doesnt feel natural (sorry, no offence)........i guess i'll have to choose kelong now. hehe.......fish rate is not as big as the pond but at least the feel is there.....

will try to get some info to fish at morib or bagan lalang kelong. hehe........black talapia and toman? not many likes to eat it leh.......my parents are the first to complain....haha

yothim
post Nov 1 2009, 07:22 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Nov 1 2009, 05:25 PM)
everything costs $$$
$$$ to upkeep and maintain as well as keep fish stock
all the FOC places fished out or restricted ..
so figure out la why almost no more natural places to fish .. the sea is natural and free but boatman and boat costs a fortune .. hehehehe
wat i'm trying to say is tat the paypond with natural pond of fishing would not have the same feelings. u know tat there are fish in the paypond while if u get a average sized fish at the pond, it would be a great feelings or something like tat. bagan lalang kelong is around RM40/12hr, so i think it would be better than paypond since they also charge by weight n the fish taste like crap.

btw, anyone knew how to go to semenyih dam? lots of ppl fished there and i heard from the tackle shop owner it is ok to fish there. anyone knew the spot or can guide me there? thanks!! notworthy.gif
yothim
post Nov 2 2009, 11:03 PM

182 posts

aii.....so, anyone recommend to fish at semenyih dam? the only free to fish area that i found is the lake near ampang point or the one at subang holiday villa.
yothim
post Nov 4 2009, 09:30 PM

182 posts

i found a nice place to fish foc......haha.....tasik prima, puchong. near housing area, right? so should not have indon kwar.....plan to fish something out of it soon......
yothim
post Nov 5 2009, 09:01 PM

182 posts

anyone can guide me to tasik prima? where is the best location to park n fish? what is the best bait to us? life, dedak or those plastic ones?? n also what is the best time to fish there....thanks

btw, is it safe to fish there alone? found from google earth tat puchong got a lot of 'lake' wor..........

This post has been edited by yothim: Nov 5 2009, 09:11 PM
yothim
post Nov 8 2009, 05:20 PM

182 posts

sigh...satu bulu pun tak nampak. really bad at tasik prima....not a single fish seen and everyone (not only us) went back with disappointment. issit because of the rain yesterday?
yothim
post Nov 10 2009, 09:01 PM

182 posts

i guess luck was needed too. where did u fish? we all fish at the location where the guy suicide (cos got the police line there, that is how i know). fly fishing? learning to use the spoon.....experimenting la but slowly la cos still picking up but fly fishing is quite nice..like a form of art....but since no one on my side is doing so, so jus do the normal one la. for pro, 99% skill 1%luck, for me 1% skill 99% luck. so since the pro that time oso got no luck, so....i wont expect much la.

wanna try the semenyih dam......a lot of ppl fish there. this time, try to use the live bait la, don wan to jadi hero n use the artificial ones.

yothim
post Nov 11 2009, 09:24 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 11 2009, 03:08 PM)
can use ikan seluang as live bait...just throw where the fish splash is...also can get the fish  smile.gif  no need fly also can.
sifu Q call that tenggiri ar?  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  it's a wahoo... so darn proud of it and surprised can catch in malaysian waters
ikan seluang? hehe.....how does it looks like? sorry la, the fishing jargon still dunno yet. my uncle got lots of toad to feed his fish but pity the frog leh.
yothim
post Nov 13 2009, 11:20 PM

182 posts

tomolo going to semenyih dam to check out......see if got some angler or not, if yes then wanna try out. any comment? if no one around then will go to the paypond.....haha........
yothim
post Nov 14 2009, 12:43 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Nov 13 2009, 11:36 PM)
It has already been said many times that you cannot fish in that dam. Go check out MFN's topics and you'll know.
sure or not? but i saw a lot of ppl fish there.........n at the same time the tackle boss said it is ok to fish there. btw, have u fish there before? never saw anyone say cannot leh, only here.
yothim
post Nov 14 2009, 06:20 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 14 2009, 09:11 AM)
i think best u try it and tell us...neither of us have fished there so we wouldn't know.
done that just now but just for awhile only cos raining..weather is bad. rain, shine and rain till now since my home is quite nearby...hehe, around 22km if use ulu langat. i reads some comment from blogs+fishing.net.my and i found the spot behind the tnb generator building (i'm not sure). got few anglers only and it was way better than tasik prima since it was still quite clean n not many found this place. since this is a lake n not a mining area, quite safe.

as what u all said that it was restricted (i thought u all went there before), yes it is but u dont fish at the dam there. i was behind the tnb building (not sure tnb or syabas or wat), park there n fish. some malay angler was there too and they were friendly but it is better to have more than 3 person to fish there since that place is consider a jungle. the building guard also watch us fishing.....n i heard from the angler that it is ok to fish but i think if more ppl coming, i'm sure they will restrict soon....hope others wont ruin this place.

as for the fish, quite a lot of fish surfaced at the middle of the lake, something that i cant see at prima. and my worm which i used got eaten by smaller fish since i got no choice lor, small worm ma. other than that, quite peaceful place n nice. then i went to those paypond (just looking around since it was raining). quite far since i came from ulu langat.
yothim
post Nov 14 2009, 11:16 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Nov 14 2009, 08:21 PM)
good to hear the report. now the second progress would be to ask the anglers there about the types of fish available and what bait they are using. then u need to know how to differentiate the types of fish splash. learn from them and by then u know what fish to target. some fish splash can be patin, toman, haruan or even our best fren, the bandaraya.  laugh.gif  different methods of fishing can get you different types of fish. eg. if u know there's toman splash, u can cast the spoon at the splash, sure toman would whack the bait. If patin, u can cast hong on float.
i saw most is using life bait.....some use prawn n some using dedak. the rest i have to experience it myself since not much of my frens are into fishing, so not much help....trials and error. toman splash? haha......i dont even know how to differentiate the fish name ler. but no time to experiment on spoon cos raining ma, just use the float n cast out. dunno y cant cast far, maybe the sinker is not heavy enough....or my skill? haha.................but definitely will have another trip if the weather is good
yothim
post Nov 21 2009, 03:55 PM

182 posts

hey, did u all know that one tackle shop near mirama had moved to jalan imbi? i heard that everyone was saying there is 2 tackle shop but i only saw one...now i know why. i just went there this morning after having breakfast near the chinese coffeeshop opposite honda showroom. i was sitting there at the park and i saw a tackle shop (never saw one before) and went in.

went in, the staff was polite. there is 2......and both are friendly and one of them is a keen fisherman and taught me a lot of things as he knew i was a beginner. lots of tips from him too........very patient guy.

btw, lots of choices too and the price is cheaper than the one i usually go to (pandan mewah) and the owner is not as friendly as mentioned. i wish to get more but cant cos i got a lot now..........he even recommend one for trolling which include the reel+rod which cost less than rm200...not branded one la but i think he wont bullshit me kwar since he is a keen fisherman.....he take me on a tour to the whole shop and show me a 12 feet rod which is around 100++. and i got a squid lure for less than rm10...i think around rm6 la......medium size.....the one i saw at pandan mewah is around rm10-20, i forgot..same size somemore.

so thats all for today.......haha.....i think there will be a second round for me if i need something. jus helping to spread the news as i think not many knew that this shop had moved there. really recommend for good service and value for money. btw, there is a lot of collector items there which some is more than a decade old....and it cost around a new rapala lure.

This post has been edited by yothim: Nov 21 2009, 04:01 PM
yothim
post Nov 21 2009, 10:36 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Nov 21 2009, 07:44 PM)
There are some squid lures at Kepong tackle which is selling less than RM5.
err...those big ones wor...n at the shop where i normally goes to does not have any squid jig which is less than 10. but anyway, u cant expect someone from ampang to go to kepong kwar but the most important thing is tat at least they are nice/friendly enough to show me n share tips unlike some. imagine 2 uncles showed me the whole shop n try to tell me although they knew that i wont buy a lot.........

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0671sec    0.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:30 AM