4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia

jeff_ckf
post Jun 6 2008, 01:51 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Jun 6 2008, 11:20 AM)
UOB platinum cheating  .... worst than cimb DA gold ....

i got a CIMB DA limit 8k ... then this uob gal said its a platinum so u can get higher limit ... after i got my card , the letter stated credit limit 7k  shocking.gif  ... somemore i apply using my hsbc card (limit 12k) ... if u r not givin higher limit at least pls follow my previous card la ... straight away cancel the card w/o activate

now already ban uob cards....
LMAO....then UOB One Plat really is a disgrace (no offense to card holders, just that the credit limit is a joke)
jeff_ckf
post Jun 6 2008, 01:58 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 6 2008, 01:56 PM)
@jeff_ckf,
The UOB One Platinum isn't really a Platinum card so it's not really a joke tongue.gif  It's just a gimmick to make people feel good smile.gif

@ar188,
I'm a faithful user of my Citibank Clear Card.  A couple of weeks ago, I was given an upgrade to their Gold card.  Upon checking, I realised my credit limit was down from RM20k to RM7k so I made lots of noise [I just needed some drama then, and I wasn't at all interested in the upgrade but muAHahAHahHAhahAHahHA nothing to do so sent Citibank a letter].

It shouldn't matter how much $ I spend but I shouldn't be downgraded for no reason.  Moreover, this was supposed to be an upgrade tongue.gif
Gimmick huh....you really should be a politician notworthy.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 6 2008, 02:01 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 6 2008, 02:00 PM)
@jeff_ckf,
But it is - it's a marketing gimmick to make their cardholders feel more special [esp those who aren't able to earn that actual Platinum card] - it's a big market...
I am one of their target then brows.gif But I am using cheapo free for life cards from DA and Citibank rclxm9.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 6 2008, 02:07 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 6 2008, 02:04 PM)
@jeff_ckf,
Just cause banks offer 'Free For Life' cards doesn't mean it's cheapo.  I certainly wasn't aware that Citibank had Free For Life cards other than complementary cards issued with CitiGold accounts.

I too hold a DA Gold Graduates Credit Card which is Free For Life with no conditions attached smile.gif
Citibank does offer. They are called Choice cards, only condition is you need to swipe twice a month for any amount smile.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 6 2008, 02:18 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 6 2008, 02:13 PM)
@jeff_ckf,
It's not exactly free cause if U don't use the card 2x a month, U'll be charged RM5 monthly.  If U don't use the card for the entire year, U would have paid an annual fee of RM60 smile.gif

I'm still at present sticking with my Citi Plat but I oredi have sufficient points to redeem what I wanted so am looking to change banks smile.gif
Yep you are right. So I just go to Watsons and buy some sweets and swipe my card TWICE brows.gif cheapo to the max icon_idea.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 6 2008, 02:22 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 6 2008, 02:19 PM)
@jeff_ckf,
It costs more to have to issue a cheque to make those payments.  Anyhow, I wouldn't call this Free For Life! *grins*  Again, another gimmick  tongue.gif
I ask my colleague to pay for me biggrin.gif no cheque involved brows.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 10 2008, 10:51 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 10 2008, 10:26 AM)
yes. paying via savings/current account is transfer instantly.

btw, my HSBC powerVantage is start charging me RM5 per months. it's time to abondan the accounts. 
how fast is all depend on ur etics. the sales person wont get his commision if the card is being cancelled for less than 6 months. not sure whether also applicable to Citibank or not.
Under what condition would HSBC start to charge you RM 5 per month? I am also using PowerVantage Savings/Current account and so far I have not been charged anything except the RM 8 for ATM card. RM 5 per month is crazy sweat.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 10 2008, 03:23 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 10 2008, 02:41 PM)
@kons,
No I don't think CL will be reduced.  What I mean is that for purchases made through installment plans, are they calculated based on:

1) I have RM3000 CL
2) I buy a product that cost RM1200 and repay over 12 months
3) Each month, I pay RM100

Does it mean my total available credit limit for the month is now RM3000-RM1200?  Or does it remain at RM3000?

Citibank gives u a separate CL.
Citibank never gave me a separate CL when I bought my laptop cry.gif I think it's because I am using their Choice Card so the instalment plan reduced my CL.
jeff_ckf
post Jun 11 2008, 04:17 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 11 2008, 03:44 PM)
@Aeon_Clock,
Citibank Shell Card is not worth it cause they only give u rebate if U have RMX balance  biggrin.gif
Ya I am using their silly classic card, only 1.5% for Shell petrol since I don't have any balance. Will cancel it once I reached my RM 20 quota tongue.gif

Will revert back to my good old DA Mastercard thumbup.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 11 2008, 04:37 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 11 2008, 04:18 PM)
@jeff_ckf,
I had no idea Citibank Classic gave 1.5% rebates on Shell Petrols?
Yea you can find the info at http://www.citibank.com.my/APPS/portal/gen.../card_shell.htm

It is 1.5% for Classic and 2.5% for Gold (assuming no balance of debt)
jeff_ckf
post Jun 11 2008, 10:49 PM

857 posts

Actually all cards don't give points for petrol payment. This is part of the settlement that the BNM, Petrol Stations Owners Associations and the banks when the petrol prices went up to RM1.92 back then. The association were threatening to stop credit card payments coz they were not making money anymore when petrol prices went up.

The exception would be cards which gives out rebates and MBB Petronas cards which give out 5x points for Petronas petrol and Kedai Mesra purchases for a limited time. (It's not forever ... read the T&C)

[/quote]

I believe charge cards like Amex and Diners do give out points for fuel purchases. Not entirely sure as only my dad uses them
jeff_ckf
post Jun 16 2008, 12:03 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Jun 15 2008, 11:42 PM)
I used CC daily, for everything...just to collect points...

I have 4 cards currently, HSBC and UOB brings quite alot of dining and golf benefit...
while my EON bank can allow me to go into VIP lounge in KLIA and Changi...
Woaah flex.gif 4 credit cards u using at one go....steady thumbup.gif

I got 2 from Citibank and 2 from DA also I am keeping one of the DA and one of the Citibank at home already....too lazy to separate...will most probably cancel the Citibank Shell after my reimbursement is done as well since DA gives more discount on fuel purchase...unless they wana upgrade me to Shell Gold and give me annual waiver tongue.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 16 2008, 12:10 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Jun 16 2008, 12:08 AM)
I have plans for all my cards one.... brows.gif

My UOB visa and Master are great to use in Malaysia and Singapore... they bring quite alot of discounts and privileges..

while my HSBC is great for traveling(especially Hongkong)

while my EON bank card ah... ehehehe... just for VIP lounge access.. laugh.gif
Uh huh....whatever floats your boat then I suppose thumbup.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 16 2008, 09:00 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(navilink @ Jun 16 2008, 08:02 AM)
ermm...how about citibank? are they good for traveling also? coz just applied it...don wan apply HSBC though...
if i cancel too much credit card after apply, dunno the BNM will blacklist me or not leh?
What does cancelling your credit card have to do with BNM laugh.gif

Maybe the said bank will blacklist you coz you always cheat their free gifts la....j/k....I don't think anyone can blacklist you my friend....unless u are in debt and not paying tongue.gif
jeff_ckf
post Jun 16 2008, 09:56 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(candy_chl @ Jun 16 2008, 09:42 PM)
Hi....juz wanna ask usually when the DA statement will be posted to our house? beginning, mid or end of mth?? Afraid the postman simply throw the mail around....
It depends on your cut off date.

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 16 2008, 09:51 PM)
My statement date is around mid of month and i usually get my statement on 20-24th of the month... I'm not sure if we can choose our own statement date...
It depends on when is your cut off date. It is normally 1 week after that. I don't think you can choose your date though...more like it was allocated to you after they are done processing your credit card application....do correct me if I am wrong though
jeff_ckf
post Jun 17 2008, 01:13 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(naz @ Jun 17 2008, 01:10 PM)
owh...thanks for the info.but right now,very difficult to find HSBC booth~  sweat.gif  weekdays no time to go to the Bank...haihh~  sad.gif  if anyone have the contact number for HSBC CC promoter,do inform me ya.last time my friend got one,but threw it already...huhu
Any particular reason you would want a HSBC card?
jeff_ckf
post Jun 17 2008, 01:32 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(naz @ Jun 17 2008, 01:16 PM)
errmm,nope.just that,I really like the HSBC card since long time ago~  biggrin.gif  plus,a lot of my cousins & friends are using HSBC CC.as of today,no fuss at all.  smile.gif
why u ask that question? wanna promote me with other bank CC?  brows.gif  biggrin.gif
Nope I don't have any particular card that I fancy. I only go for free cards. Credit cards are to me just a medium of collecting points and possible discounts as well as convenience in the sense that I need not carry so much cash.

I am asking because if you do not have a savings account with HSBC, you will face difficulties when you decide to pay the monthly bill. Of course you could always do an online transfer or send them a cheque, all of which costs some small amount of money. Since you choose your card based on what your relatives and friends have, then I guess you should stick to your preference.

I am only interested in ease of payment as well as benefit. And finally, I don't promote anything, there are several lowyat members here who can help you with that.
jeff_ckf
post Jun 17 2008, 01:39 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(naz @ Jun 17 2008, 01:37 PM)
thanks for sharing.thats what my friends said to me about not having savings account with HSBC...after all,I dont mind having any CC.just that the HSBC one that attract me the most.  biggrin.gif

if any LYN members willing to help me to apply,then I'm more than happy to cooperate with them. (*I'm too lazy to do online application as I need to fax all the required documents.  sweat.gif )
You're welcome. Good luck with your application
jeff_ckf
post Jun 17 2008, 06:22 PM

857 posts

QUOTE(soitsuagain @ Jun 17 2008, 04:41 PM)
I put most of my credit cards in my home and my membership cards like California Fitness in my car. I just don't like my wallet being too bulky. It makes ppl think that your financially screwed.
I thought wallet bulky normally means financially un-screwed? That's why I am always keeping my wallet thin unsure.gif

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 17 2008, 05:15 PM)
@ Tinkerbel

low market  = classic card
middle market = Gold card
up market = Platinium card
highest End market = Black card.

ops... shd have term is as High End market.
Hmm....I am really "kampung". Didn't know got Black card till vin_ann posted sweat.gif What is the income threshold for a real platinum btw? and the black card?
jeff_ckf
post Jun 18 2008, 12:02 AM

857 posts

I got a question on Citibank online banking. Currently I hold two cards from them - a Citibank Choice Card and a Citibank Classic Shell Card. The thing is, I can view and download the e-statements for both of these accounts, but I'm unable to see the transaction details of my Shell card in the "Account Summary" section. Only my Choice card appears at that section but I can see my Shell card account in the "View E-Statement" section...any idea why is this happening? sweat.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0489sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:25 AM