Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

gark
post Jul 27 2011, 12:25 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(mango27 @ Jul 27 2011, 11:13 AM)
ya she is not in dire need of the $ but its still $ nonetheless... last resort is she store the money in my gf's ASB saving account... we're not bumi but my gf is... the only risk is once put there legally its not my mom's money anymore... very BIG risk...

My suggestion, don't put the money in your GF's ASB account. Money and friendship never mix, usually end up in big problem. Even sometime in the family, money can result in soured relationships. I have seen many people in a same family (even husband & wife's) fight over money, until resort to violence. sweat.gif
gark
post Jul 27 2011, 12:51 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 27 2011, 12:29 PM)
I second that - own personal experience. A gang was also called in to "table talk" with me in my own home! biatch... <end of violent memories vivid recall>  tongue.gif
Wow, what a violent end to a relationship. I feel for you, that is one of my biggest fear in marriage. sweat.gif
gark
post Nov 23 2011, 10:14 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 23 2011, 08:55 AM)
What do you think about the CIMB Trader Account 0% brokeage promo? Any hidden charges?
No, but you must deposit & maintain RM 250,000 into the trust account to gain preferred member status with 0% brokerage. rclxms.gif If you got lots of money lying around then you can do it, but the trust account only pays interest rate of 2.5% p.a. You can calculate your trading pattern for yourself and see if it is worth it.

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 23 2011, 10:19 AM
gark
post Nov 23 2011, 11:05 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 23 2011, 08:38 AM)
So far no other fund houses I've glanced at has a "better than average" mix of equity and bond funds that fits my asset allocation requirements. Perhaps I need to dig deeper tongue.gif.
Please note that I'm not saying PM's funds are best of the best yar - they've dogs too but they also have better than average equity funds & bond funds.
Not exactly true.. for bond funds, PM have one of the cheapest but there are other equally good bond fund elsewhere (AmDynamic). But I admit their bond funds are still decently priced for the performance. This one is a keeper for PM. rclxms.gif

For local equity, they do have some decent funds, but lately they are venturing out of Malaysia (cannot stick to Malaysia issit?) and that have caused them some performance hit. Also there are other equivalents around (Kenanga Fund). Unless they buck up and not spamming 5-10 new similar funds, they are losing ground on this. For the last 5 years their ranking is getting lower and lower..... rolleyes.gif I am already contemplating to move my equity funds from PM...

For outside of Malaysia equity, they are performing quite badly, but also to note that no other funds in Malaysia performs satisfactory. If you have to invest in foreign countries, it is better to invest via more established players such as Aberdeen, First State and Templeton funds. So this is a no go for PM. doh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 23 2011, 11:09 AM
gark
post Nov 23 2011, 11:56 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 23 2011, 11:11 AM)
Yup yup - i think they should have some kind of "options" like:
a. Managed: Here's where the Agent adds value lar and they get paid their SCs + their annual "career benefit" based on the amount held by their customers with that Agent

b. Self-managed: Here = DIY and thus service charges AND annual mgt fees shd be rock bottom like FundSupermart's OR better, due to sheer size of PM (economies of scale for systems and stuff) & Mutual Gold <koff><koff>  tongue.gif

end of 2 cents idea - pardon me if any toes are stubbed  notworthy.gif

Added on November 23, 2011, 11:19 am
Bro - that's the reason lar. Kanaga got super equity fund tapi their bond fund.. erm.. Thus, for me to switch to/fro equity/bond VS to redeem/buy-in again later - painful cost lar long run.
For Kenanga fund you can buy from as low as 1% from FSM.. so not much hit right? Or you could be just like me, split the two investment, old ones are still with PM (bought in 2003-2005) new purchases with other funds (>2005)... so no performance hit. No need to keep buying under performing funds right? laugh.gif

Seriously PM is one of the last stalwarts who are still charging 6.5% for their funds... when they want to join the competition...?

This post has been edited by gark: Nov 23 2011, 11:57 AM
gark
post Nov 24 2011, 11:13 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Nov 23 2011, 11:06 PM)
correction - PM SC 5.5% only not the 6.5%.
Still is one of the highest in the country ... tongue.gif
gark
post Jan 3 2012, 07:22 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 3 2012, 06:49 PM)
Hi, my friend just suggested me to join UT, i want to ask like, example if i invest RM500 every month, safer investment, let say 2%, so every month i will get 2% of RM500(compare to fix deposit pay annually 3%)? I'm very noob in investment, first time.
No your RM 500 will be accumulated and your gains will be measured annually. However your gains are compounded daily. If safer investment it is not likely to get 2% per month or 24% per year, but depending on the type of UT some are higher risk while some are lower. Bond funds are most likely to return 6%-8% p.a. but it is more risky than FD. Returns are never guaranteed so be practical and don't be greedy over high returns.

Added on January 3, 2012, 7:25 pm
QUOTE(Petre @ Jan 3 2012, 09:24 AM)
hi i am new to this whole UT investment thing. there are so many funds out there in the market. could all sifu pls teach me when choosing a fund, what are the things to look for? how to choose a fund? that is my biggest question

thanks a lot
To choose fund please read the following.

1. Morningstar rating/ranking
2. Lipper rating/ranking
3. Annual financial reports
4. Fund Monthly Fact Sheet
4. Prospectus

For item 1&2 read from Personal Money or Edge, Item 3-5 download from their website.

If you have read all the above and do not understand, either you learn more about it or get someone to guide you like a trust able consultant. Good UT consultants are rare, they really care for your investment, explain everything in detail to you and not just ask you to buy! buy! buy!. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 3 2012, 07:28 PM
gark
post Jan 4 2012, 09:47 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jan 3 2012, 10:12 PM)
thanks. that is a start.
what i'm curious is for this year, what are the kind of funds that are good to invest in? as i am aware that past performance is does not guarantee future performance. what kind of funds will do well this year?
Well do you have a crystal ball? I don't so I can't tell the future.

What I advice is that you should be well diversified, with a portion in bonds, a portion in Malaysian funds and some international. Keep to your ratio and revise it one a year or so.

For me I have about 30% in bonds, 30% in Malaysia and rest in international especially AP ex Japan. Depend on your risk tolerance, you might want to have more in bonds for a less volatile portfolio.
gark
post Jan 11 2012, 10:05 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 11 2012, 12:05 AM)
Hi, i just told my agent to invest RM500 every month in Public China Selective Fund(PCSF), which is high risk, they say it will earn at least 70% for sure within 14years?

Issit like if i choose high risk, it must be long term? If i aim for short term, then choose moderate right?

My friend is going to submit the form tomorrow to public bank, any high risk fund is better than PCSF within 10years+? Im looking for long term+ high risk. Thank
Neither you or your friend have crystal ball, so you cannot predict what will happen in 14 years. rolleyes.gif If lets say hypothetically, China went back to Communist ways and kick out all the capitalist, then what happen? 14 years is a long time.

BTW, most Malaysian funds (PM included) have very bad performance in China related investments, almost all of them cannot beat the benchmark. Real benchmark ah, with dividends reinvested not the static Index benchmark that most fund houses use. wink.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 11 2012, 10:07 AM
gark
post Jan 11 2012, 10:12 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 11 2012, 10:07 AM)
Please suggest one that is good to invest? If i'm not mistaken, India fund? Thank so much
Basically most of International Funds managed by Malaysian Fund houses all under performing badly vs. benchmark. This is what you get when you don't allow foreign fund houses to set up in Malaysia. brows.gif

I am invested in DWS China Equity Fund and First State Regional China Fund. rclxms.gif

For India.. First State Regional India is a good performer...

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 11 2012, 10:14 AM
gark
post Jan 11 2012, 10:18 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 11 2012, 10:15 AM)
Er... under UT management?
Yes..these are UT.. google them.. if you want to know more. tongue.gif
gark
post Jan 11 2012, 10:51 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 11 2012, 10:48 AM)
My so-call friend told me, if u put Rm500 every month, guarantee you will still earn money if the fund goes down, because in UT, if u deposit money every month, the units will go up and up, the management will help you buy more if the fund is good to buy, so if the price go down after 10years, you still will earn since you have many units already. This is what he told me.
Biggest joke of the year... laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif Either that or, your friend tried to con you on the workings of UT and returns.. brows.gif

Having many units is not equal to earning... biggrin.gif The only guarantee is that you 'friend' will get portion of the 5% of your RM 500 every month... brows.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 11 2012, 10:58 AM
gark
post Jan 11 2012, 11:05 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 11 2012, 11:00 AM)
So what do u think about PCSF after 8years?
I don't have crystal ball.. can't tell you the future yet. tongue.gif

But what I can tell you is the PAST 5 performance of PCSF.....*drumroll* it has LOST -38% of the money invested. laugh.gif Take a look at the picture below...

gark
post Jan 12 2012, 09:55 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 11 2012, 10:24 PM)
I don't think that the fund invested into something that is causing the fund NAV to be "discounted" at nearly 40%. It's the losses of the fund holdings that has bought some shares at the very peak price. When market started to deteriorate in 2009, fund manager may cut loss by allocation from equity into fixed income instrument. Even if they didn't sell it out, it's still far far away from its peak price.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
Basically the fund lost 40% over the last couple of years. Remember once you lost 40%, you need to gain back 66% to break even.

Loss is NOT equal to discount. If it is discounted it will sell at 40% below NAV, but this fund is selling at 100% NAV. laugh.gif

Added on January 12, 2012, 10:00 am
QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 12 2012, 08:54 AM)
Issit DDi is like professional will help you to manage, but you must pay service charge to them?
You want professional help, you need to engage a PAID financial advisory, who will not sell you anything, but only advise you. Other than that most of them are glorified salesman. laugh.gif

Basically for all the funds out there, about 90% are under performing the benchmark over long term, so don;t simply go into any 'chapalang' fund.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2012, 10:00 AM
gark
post Jan 12 2012, 05:07 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 12 2012, 04:37 PM)
just wants to share,
Not nessacary to go finally 1.20.

Example:

Invest Rm100;

Rm100 / 1.00 = 100 units
Rm100 / 0.9 = 111.11 units
Rm100 / 0.8 = 125 units
Rm100 / 1 = 100 units

So, total invested = RM400 and accumulated units are 436.11

So, the average buying units price is = RM400 / 436.11 = RM0.917. not Rm1.00 or 0.9 or 0.8 anymore.

So, not need to wait for 1.20 to gain profits, RM0.92 shud be enough to start the gain.
Yeah.. this DDI is a double edge sword.. what if the following scenario happen how?

Start

Then how? In stock terms we call this 'catching falling knife' laugh.gif There is no guarantee DDI can help you make back your losses... depending on the performance of fund. It also could be like the above, one way ticket to disaster...

The 1st and foremost to to determine the if fund fits your requirements and if it constantly beats benchmark on the longer term.

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 12 2012, 05:13 PM
gark
post Jan 13 2012, 10:48 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 12 2012, 07:10 PM)
Thank for the info, you provide the best explanation  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on January 13, 2012, 9:47 amAny good investor(s) in history before put example RM200k lump sum and within few months, get back around RM1m or more/less? Just curious.
RM 200k to 1million within a few months? Not unless you go to Genting or punt in Warrants... a.k.a gambling. laugh.gif Or you can end up with $0 after a few months.. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 13 2012, 10:49 AM
gark
post Jan 16 2012, 10:16 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(bursalchemy @ Jan 15 2012, 10:55 PM)
the fundsupermart fair is promoting china equity fund. Any forumer has comment on the view? is it sensional to invest HK, Taiwan n china equity fund?
Yes and No. Yes for china growth engine is still growing, and no because no good local fund managers can manage Chian investment well, so far.
gark
post Jan 16 2012, 01:02 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 16 2012, 12:15 PM)
Dang.. U sure it's CAGR 9%pa to 10%pa consistently for the past 5 and more years (after minusing the 1% mgt fee + 0.05% trustee fee)?
Can advise where can i get the stats?  notworthy.gif danke danke
Nice for my "severe emergency funds" - ie. not for holding ammunition while waiting for value or trend buying of Equities.
AmDynamic has been steadily reducing the risk factor of it's bond fund for the past 2 years which is a good move. They have got rid of most BBB and A grade bond and loaded up more on AA and AAA bonds. So there risk and also the earnings will be lower now and should not match 9%-10%, which is an exception during the 2008-2010 period.

Anyway the fund has a good performance with 3 year & 5 year annualized return (minus all fees) of 10.16% and 8.24% p.a. This does not include the 1% NAV fee when you sell.

Added on January 16, 2012, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 16 2012, 11:36 AM)
No doubt China has an enviable growth all these while, but not their stock markets for the last two years.
Emm you sure? It kinda depend which fund you buy. The china fund i bought in 2009 so far have 40% return for me. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 16 2012, 01:07 PM
gark
post Jan 16 2012, 01:21 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2012, 01:11 PM)

Still, their biggest holdings are in AA grade securities (almost 2/3 of portfolio), while MOST other bond funds are loaded with AAA types. So, AmDynamic are still expected to perform better than most other MYR Bond funds, albeit with slightly higher risk. wink.gif

I am also anticipating the OPR interest rate to be reduced soon by BNM.. due to economic slowdown, so longer term bond funds will outperform.

Basically.... my rule of thumb in investing in bond funds..

1. Interest Rate Increasing - High Quality & Short Term Bond Funds will outperform
2. Interest Rate Reducing - Lower Quality & Longer Term Bond Funds will outperform

gark
post Jan 16 2012, 01:27 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 16 2012, 01:22 PM)
that's why it's time to load up on AmDynamic Bond brows.gif
I am also looking at Indonesian Govt Bond Funds...last year gained 17.1%. sweat.gif Based on better S&P debt ratings, performing economy and a very high rate (6% vs 3 % for MGS). But the risk is much higher... laugh.gif

Bond fund can be exciting also... brows.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 16 2012, 01:33 PM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:05 AM