Thor (June 2011)

TSPolaris
post May 7 2008, 03:41 PM, updated 15y ago

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Red-hot director Matthew Vaughn ("Stardust," "Layer Cake") has been tapped to bring the God of Thunder to the silver screen!

The son of Odin, most powerful of the Norse Gods, Thor has been an emissary to humanity, a protector of both Asgard and Earth and inspiration for humans and gods alike. Prepare for his coming.

http://www.beyondhollywood.com/category/thor-2009-movie/
http://www.marvel.com/movies/Thor.Thor

Which actor would have the physique to play Thor?

UPDATE 1:

QUOTE(KingKongStudy @ Jul 12 2009, 06:52 PM)
Two main role already casted.  rclxms.gif

Chris Hemsworth is THOR.

Tom Hiddlestone is LOKI
hmmm....
This post has been edited by Polaris: Jul 12 2009, 10:54 PM
Naota-kun
post May 7 2008, 03:45 PM

All the stars below are lights in the heavens.
1,345 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ May 7 2008, 03:41 PM)
Which actor would have the physique to play Thor?
Any actor. start pumping him up now! flex.gif laugh.gif
firedauz
post May 7 2008, 03:53 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

One comes to mind: Triple H laugh.gif
ubhm
post May 7 2008, 04:01 PM

I kill fast and danger!
1,364 posts

possible villian loki?

loved stardust.
SUSsharkteef
post May 7 2008, 06:27 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

goldberg is suitable to play thor. triple h so-so la.
greyshadow
post May 8 2008, 09:26 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

no wrestling star in movie anymore pls.... sweat.gif
they are all disaster doh.gif
non of them can act on the silver screen
fujkenasai
post May 8 2008, 11:08 AM

1,137 posts

Will loki be another joker like in batman, like how he never gets defeated?
peinsama
post May 8 2008, 03:43 PM

Au fait
725 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 7 2008, 03:53 PM)
Triple H? Wow thats good one though i believe in the next coming warcraft movie, i believe he suits to be Prince Arthas...but how bout Hulk Hogan as Thor? Seems cool to me. Especially when he wants to his signature move 'Can you hear me' before he launch his ultimate skill.
hamsterz
post May 8 2008, 05:04 PM

133 posts

hulk hogan??? otot dah kendor la bro.. aahahah
azbro
post May 8 2008, 05:42 PM

4,403 posts

Stallone
oucheev
post May 8 2008, 09:44 PM

433 posts

Vin Diesel with hair lots and lots of hair. whistling.gif
beck_ken
post May 8 2008, 09:53 PM

4,716 posts

it's a movie or animated like beawoulf?
blademaster
post May 9 2008, 02:23 AM

1,009 posts

I am dying for the rock to be in this movie

IF YOU SMELL WHAT THE ROCK IS COOKING!
Ninja
post May 13 2008, 08:09 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Brad Pitt as Thor?

While it looks like Marvel Studios' big screen version of Thor is in need of a new director, the rumor mill suggests the studio is nevertheless moving ahead with casting and is mulling a certain A-list star to play their god of thunder.

According to Latino Review, Marvel is eyeing none other than Brad Pitt to play Thor. Pitt's no stranger to playing ancient armored heroes, having previously portrayed Achilles in Wolfgang Petersen's Troy.

The site points out that "no offer has been made to Pitt yet," but that he's high up on their wish list.

Source: http://movies.ign.com/articles/873/873211p1.html
Klesk
post May 13 2008, 11:33 AM

3,469 posts

wooo Bard Pitt fits the role perfectly, from being Archilles to son of god himself, thumbup.gif
TSPolaris
post May 13 2008, 11:57 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ May 13 2008, 11:33 AM)
wooo Bard Pitt fits the role perfectly, from being Archilles to son of god himself, thumbup.gif
Quoted for truth! smile.gif

Will Angelina Jolie be Sif?
SHOfrE3zE
post May 13 2008, 12:02 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

this movie confirm got Iron Man & The Hulk. Nick Fury will also appear and ask Thor 2 form the 1st Avengers. fyi, the 1st Avengers consist of Thor, Hulk, Iron Man, Ant-Man and Wasp.

This post has been edited by SHOfrE3zE: May 13 2008, 12:03 PM
Eric_Almighty
post May 13 2008, 06:22 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ May 13 2008, 12:02 PM)
this movie confirm got Iron Man & The Hulk. Nick Fury will also appear and ask Thor 2 form the 1st Avengers. fyi, the 1st Avengers consist of Thor, Hulk, Iron Man, Ant-Man and Wasp.
Citation needed.
chibi_tenko
post May 13 2008, 07:45 PM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

Someone who will look good with platinum/light blonde hair and blue eyes and good physique will be suitable to play Thor. laugh.gif
Aeon_Clock
post May 13 2008, 08:11 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

bring back Arnold!! laugh.gif
SHOfrE3zE
post May 14 2008, 12:59 AM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(Eric_Almighty @ May 13 2008, 06:22 PM)
Citation needed.
here you go:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avengers_(comics)
Calvin871989
post Sep 29 2008, 02:06 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.ropeofsilicon.com/article/kenne...t_thor_20080929

Kenneth Branagh in Talks to Direct 'Thor'
Marvel is determined to get this one made

If you hadn't heard yet Matthew Vaughn is not directing Marvel's Thor, it is the second time he has been attached to a superhero flick and ultimately ended up not helming the feature. X3 was the first one and he went on to direct Stardust instead. However, that isn't stopping Marvel from persuing the project and we now learn Kenneth Branagh of all people may be the man to take up the reins.
Branagh is negotiating to direct the flick, which is already expected to hit theaters on June 4, 2010 with a distributor to be set shortly. Branagh isn't a surprising choice because he can't direct, he's a surprising choice because he isn't known for directing action. As Variety points out the last time he directed an action flick was actually his directorial debut in 1989 with Henry V a film that earned Branagh an Oscar nomination for acting and directing and won an Oscar for costume design.

Of course, we shouldn't be too surprised with indie helmers becoming common place with blockbuster superhero success thanks to Christopher Nolan (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight), Jon Favreau (Iron Man) and Gavin Hood (X-Men Origins: Wolverine). The obvious appeal of an indie helmer would be their attention to detail outside of effects and a greater desire to focus on character and story, it certainly worked for the Batman and Iron Man franchises with Wolverine yet to be proven.

Mark Protosevich penned the script for Thor, which follows disabled medical student Donald Blake, who has an alter ego as the hammer-wielding Norse god Thor.

Branagh will next be seen onscreen in Tom Cruise's Valkyrie this December. Branagh last directed Sleuth starring Jude Law and Michael Caine in 2007.

firedauz
post Oct 22 2008, 10:27 PM

876 posts

Sauce: http://belachan.net/mov/res/84.html

Daniel Craig turned down Thor

As Quantum Of Solace heads for release, it seems that there's one blockbuster Daniel Craig won't be a part of...

As the promotional tour for Quantum of Solace continues, it's now emerged that Daniel Craig was offered the role of Thor in the upcoming movie adaptation. The film, which Kenneth Branagh is believed to be attached to direct, is set to go before the cameras next year, in time for a 2010 release date.

According to IESB, Marvel approached Craig to offer him the role, but the actor turned it down. You suspect that Craig is offered an abundance of such roles right now, and according to the report, the actor joked that the power trip of playing Bond and Thor would be a little too much.

Calvin871989
post Dec 3 2008, 03:13 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://movies.ign.com/articles/934/934750p1.html

McKidd Talks Thor
Rome star talks to IGN about the Marvel movie.

December 2, 2008 - IGN caught up with Rome and Journeyman star Kevin McKidd at last night's after party for the premiere of Punisher: War Zone, starring McKidd's Rome co-star Ray Stevenson, where we asked the actor if he was still in the running for Marvel's live-action Thor movie.

McKidd confirmed for IGN that he's still a contender for the lead role and that there's been "a lot of back and forth" about the project of late, but that nothing has been determined. He acknowledged that Kenneth Branagh is directing it, a choice that makes him even more excited about the film.

McKidd stressed that the part that he's up for is indeed that of Thor and not a supporting role. This contradicts what McKidd told us last year when he suggested that Thor might be played by a younger actor and that he would be up for a different role instead.

yitjuan
post Dec 3 2008, 08:08 PM

arc reactor
688 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ May 13 2008, 07:45 PM)
Someone who will look good with platinum/light blonde hair and blue eyes and good physique will be suitable to play Thor. laugh.gif
good physique , but take note that movie size is usually 1/2 that of comic size. Wolverine in the comics is supposed to look like a 5ft Triple H. Pretty much impossible.
-SaNzO-
post Dec 4 2008, 03:04 PM

i would say Triple H as thor
kororomen
post Dec 4 2008, 05:37 PM

49 posts

great khalli..i think his acting skills were awsome in get smart lolz
Calvin871989
post Dec 16 2008, 09:12 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://splashpage.mtv.com/2008/12/13/exclu...k-is-premature/

EXCLUSIVE: Kenneth Branagh Breaks Silence On ‘Thor,’ Says Casting Talk Is Premature

It’s been over two months since word broke that Marvel was courting Kenneth Branagh to direct their next big-screen re-launch of one of their cherished heroes, Thor. And since then we’ve heard nary a peep from Branagh himself. At today’s junket for “Valkyrie,” MTV News caught up with the actor/filmmaker and of course brought up the project.

“I am directing “Thor” or “The Mighty Thor’ as you might like to call it,” he said with a smile before clarifying what the title of the film will be. “I think it will be ‘Thor.’”

MTV has spoken to other writers about why Branagh would be such a good fit for the hero. But here was finally an opportunity to hear from Branagh about what appealed to him about the project. So what’s the appeal of “Thor,” Kenneth? “To work on a story about one of the immortals, Gods, extraordinary beings, inter-dimensional creatures,” he enthused.

He continued excitedly, “There’s science fiction and science fact and fantasy all woven into one. It’s based on Norse legends which Marvel sort of raided in a brilliant way.

So who will play Branagh’s hero? Asked about the rumors of Kevin McKidd being up for the role, the director waved it off as premature speculation.

“There’s been lots of talk [about casting] — I sound like a politician — but we are too early at this stage. We’re getting the story and the visual effects together and all of that is very exciting. Someone sensational is going to play the part but it is early days.”

Just because Branagh hasn’t worked on a project of this scale since “Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein,” fear not. This “Thor” promises to be as large as the character would seem to call out for. “It’s a chance to tell a big story on a big scale,” said Branagh. “It’s a human story right in the center of a big epic scenario.”

Branagh’s keeping mum for the most part but are you liking what he has to say so far? Is he the best director for “Thor”?

hxcpride
post Dec 16 2008, 03:11 PM

Toyol Mabuk
612 posts

viggo mortensen should be the mighty Thor.
Calvin871989
post Dec 23 2008, 02:50 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.joblo.com/branagh-confirms-thor

Branagh Confirms Thor

Although it was a pretty much done deal that Kenneth Branagh was to direct THOR, the actor finally confirmed the news himself, and had the following to say about the project:

We're getting the story and visual effects together and all of that is very exciting.

Many eyebrows were raised when Branagh was announced as the film's director, however if you think about it, the choice falls in line with other superhero films of late, and their orientation towards more intelligent, thought-provoking fare. If that is indeed the direction Marvel wants to take with THOR, than Branagh is most definitely an inspired, and fitting choice.

Now on to who will play the titular character--a question that has become one of the most hottly contested on the web. Personally I think they will cast a relative unknown, but I also predicted Colin Hanks would play the next Batman before Bale was cast, so what do I know.

Extra Tidbit: Are you guys more excited for THOR or CAPTAIN AMERICA?

Gr3yL3gion81
post Dec 24 2008, 02:57 AM

\(n.n)/
685 posts

Kevin Mckidd or Ray Stevenson might be a good choice.

Rome fan btw, lol.
chibi_tenko
post Dec 24 2008, 07:49 AM

1,250 posts

QUOTE(yitjuan @ Dec 3 2008, 08:08 PM)
good physique , but take note that movie size is usually 1/2 that of comic size. Wolverine in the comics is supposed to look like a 5ft Triple H. Pretty much impossible.
biggrin.gif While I don't expect an actor to have the comic Thor's muscles and gigantum size but of course he must have good physique ya? biggrin.gif Toned body and stuff. If they find an actor with only an athletic build, it might look... weird. Someone beefy and muscled would make a good Thor - something like Hugh Jackman's physique in X-Men.

tongue.gif

wink.gif The actor who played Eomer in LOTR could potentially make a good Thor, no? Acting wise I don't know la but if he wears blue contacts, he can pass off as a Norse. LOL

This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: Dec 24 2008, 07:51 AM
picado
post Dec 24 2008, 09:27 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(chibi_tenko @ Dec 24 2008, 07:49 AM)
Someone beefy and muscled would make a good Thor - something like Hugh Jackman's physique in X-Men.
Agree man...i would like hugh jackman playing the role but he's already a wolverine n he must look weird in blonde. I think Daniel Craig fits in the role but he's already turned it down.

I remember Marc Singer, the BeastMaster movie hero.. He would be a great Thor..but he's already oldlah...I hope they get someone that has similar look like him..

This post has been edited by picado: Dec 24 2008, 09:29 AM
SUSFlizzardo
post Dec 24 2008, 09:30 AM

Troll
1,093 posts

i hope bradpitt will play as thor i like bradpit so much and hoping see him in the big scren again
azbro
post Dec 24 2008, 09:55 AM

4,403 posts

The Rock is most suitable....hehe...but he has to wear a blonde wig...kakaka
kazek
post Dec 24 2008, 10:54 AM

The Bringer of Rain
1,116 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Dec 24 2008, 09:55 AM)
The Rock is most suitable....hehe...but he has to wear a blonde wig...kakaka
The Rock shakehead.gif
Can't act. If The Rock acted it I wouldn't watch it. Name one movie The Rock has done that's even half decent
beelzebob13
post Dec 24 2008, 11:26 AM

**Newbie DeIllusionist**
591 posts

casting the rock who doesn't have the nordic look would be quite a miscast...i sorry to say but most of his best acting were done inside the ropes...

what i wonder how they will manage to transform a ordinary sized guy (dr blake) into a 6' 6" muscle-bound god of thunder (ie if they follow the origins)...will there be two actors playing the two "roles"?
Calvin871989
post Jan 5 2009, 11:20 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.iesb.net/index.php?option=com_c...=6023&Itemid=99

IESB Has Got Updates on Marvel's Big Screen Adaptation of THOR!

Marvel is bringing THOR to the big screen come July 16, 2010 with Kenneth Branagh attached to direct.

IESB did a script review on Mark Protosevich's draft awhile back in August 2007. Of course there have been I am sure several re-writes since that time, as scripts do, but the script dealt only with Thor in his native land of Asgard, his father issues with Odin and his battle with his brother turned evil-doer Loki with hopes of Asgard domination with no mention of the modern world.

We are now getting word that there has been an addition to the end of the Asgard driven Thor story that very much gives credence to further Thor stories and how Marvel plans to bring everything together for the Avengers film due out in 2011 a question even Tony Stark himself pondered, Downey Jr. said to MTV, "The danger you run with colliding all these worlds is [director] Jon [Favreau] was very certain that 'Iron Man' should be set in a very realistic world. Nothing that happened in 'Iron Man' is really outside the realm of possibility. Once you start talking about Valhalla and supersized super soldiers and jolly green giants it warrants much further discussion."

A reliable source tells the IESB that the character of Donald Blake has been added to the end of the script. Let me reiterate that he wasn't there before, the script was set entirely in the land of the Norse Gods.

The introduction of the character is essential to how Marvel will tie Thor into the Avengers that is set in contemporary Tony Stark/Hulk timeframe. It explains how the actual Thor film will be set in the ancient time of the Norse Gods and how they will subsequently bring the character into a modern time with Donald Blake discovering the magical Norse hammer Mjolnir and turning into Thor.

Now is Thor sent to live amongst the humans with no memory of his life as Thor until he finds the hammer as in the comic book? I would have to assume so but this will all happen after we see Thor in his native land battling other Norse Gods in Asgard in order for the audience to learn his backstory.

Now can they explain all this using an epilogue approach a la Samuel L. Jackson in Iron Man with the main story still focusing on the Thor character in Asgard or does the Blake character and his storyline have a bigger role?

Don't know for sure, but he's been added says our source. Take it as a rumor if you need to but it makes complete sense.

We've also been told that director Kenneth Branagh will have an acting part in the film as well - a throw back to Jon Favreau's role in Iron Man. Guess Louis Leterrier missed that boat as he didn't appear in The Incredible Hulk.

One more thing, no J. Michael Straczynski is not doing the current re-write of the script, he has confirmed this repeatedly.

sshahar9
post Jan 8 2009, 12:58 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(kazek @ Dec 24 2008, 10:54 AM)
The Rock  shakehead.gif
Can't act. If The Rock acted it I wouldn't watch it. Name one movie The Rock has done that's even half decent
game plan comes to mind... also get smart. wait scratch get smart... hmm.. anyhow hes not that bad lar... there are other worse or lesser entertaining actors...

QUOTE(beelzebob13 @ Dec 24 2008, 11:26 AM)

what i wonder how they will manage to transform a ordinary sized guy (dr blake) into a 6' 6" muscle-bound god of thunder (ie if they follow the origins)...will there be two actors playing the two "roles"?
hmm good question... kinda like the old incredible hulk tv series...

anyhow, my opinion of the best thor would have been Bulvai from the movie 13th warrior. but hes probly too old now.

so now i got no idea whod be best
silbii
post Jan 8 2009, 01:21 AM

963 posts

put some padding on paris hiton...get her to sound manly...the best part is that they might not need to dye her hair blonde tongue.gif
selenium
post Jan 8 2009, 11:29 AM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

most of the actors mentioned are quite good as concerning the face..

but what about the body.

brad pitt is old d.
sshahar9
post Jan 8 2009, 11:28 PM

38 posts

cgi lehhh
Calvin871989
post Feb 19 2009, 06:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://coronacomingattractions.com/scoops/...character-movie

February 18, 2009 - Thor / casting notice for Thor character in movie

Thanks to one of our longtime scoopers, Coming Attractions has been given the casting call notice for the one and only Thor. What you're about to read is the physical and personality traits of what the movie's producers are looking for in their leading man. This information comes directly from the production and it provides an insight into what Branagh and the producers want to see in the actor that plays the Norse god of thunder.

Male MUST BE MID-LATE 20'S and SIX FEET OR TALLER. LEAD.

Physically powerful, very handsome, occasionally egotistical, petulant, and wild. A natural warrior with a quick charming wit who must be genuinely and severly humbled before becoming the compassionate, mature her of our film.

The start date of filming is given as July and the wrap is September.

Calvin871989
post Mar 10 2009, 09:39 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.latinoreview.com/news/is-kennet...g-his-thor-6337

Is Kenneth Branagh Close To Choosing His THOR?

El Mayimbe here...

A short while ago, I received an email from a scooper...

In it, he goes...

Hey Mayimbe,

Long time reader, finally with something juicy.  I had a first hand eyeball witness of Kenneth Branagh eating dinner at Blairs today accompanied by a young Blonde actor who i recognized from HBO's awesome miniseries Generation Kill that was on a year or so ago.  I had no idea what his name was but I got home today and Googled him, his name is Alexander Skarsgård.  I have no idea if he actually is Thor or not, maybe he's being considered, maybe he and Kenneth are just friends.  However, it seems likely he is being considered since he's a young Blonde actor and seems to fit the description of the character. Two other men were with them but I didn't recognize either of them. I know it's speculative at best, even so I thought you'd wanna know.

Not one to just print emails, and especially since every "Taking-a-meeting.com" story I do from now on has to be spot on in order NOT to be debunked by haters (HI HATERS! tongue.gif), Kellvin and I came up with a clever way to see if Branagh was actually there today.

I won't get into details, but Kellvin succeeded and personally confirmed that Branagh was in fact at the restaurant this afternoon!

I heard rumblings around town with some of my pals about this guy, but until now I didn't have anything concrete to go on and chalked it up to mere fanboy speculation on forums. Unfortunately, I never seen an episode of Generation Kill nor True Blood but the guy does seem to fit the profile (at least physically) of what the breakdown described of Thor when Patrick at Corona Coming Attractions reported it.

I had no idea that actor Stellan Skarsgård had a son who is also an actor and stands a towering 6'4''.

Something else to consider: Both Branagh and Skarsgård are repped at the same agency.

An interesting development for sure. Kel and I coin this one as the 2nd level of a "taking-a-meeting.com" story and introduce this as a "having-a-lunch.com" story which in itself can mean nothing but more serious than your typical "taking-a-meeting.com" story since lots of Hollywood deals are brokered over lunch.

Could Branagh be close to making a decision on his lead actor to play THOR?

We'll all know soon enough.

Gr3yL3gion81
post Mar 11 2009, 03:11 AM

\(n.n)/
685 posts

Alexander Skarsgård is very tall, but he'll need to buff up significantly.

A vampire sheriff as Thor anyone? tongue.gif
Evangelistica
post Mar 11 2009, 10:18 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion81 @ Mar 11 2009, 03:11 AM)
Alexander Skarsgård is very tall, but he'll need to buff up significantly.

A vampire sheriff as Thor anyone? tongue.gif
Agree. Watched him in true blood but he seriously needs to buffed up more.
firedauz
post Mar 13 2009, 11:30 AM

876 posts

New release date: http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=53649

From July 16, 2010 change to June 17, 2011.
KingKongStudy
post Jul 12 2009, 06:52 PM

671 posts

Two main role already casted. rclxms.gif

Chris Hemsworth is THOR.

Tom Hiddlestone is LOKI

hmmm....
chibi_tenko
post Jul 12 2009, 08:38 PM

1,250 posts

omg.... *facepalms*
smallbug
post Jul 12 2009, 10:41 PM

874 posts

Val Kilmer... or Dolph Lundgren
KingKongStudy
post Jul 12 2009, 11:30 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Jul 12 2009, 10:41 PM)
Val Kilmer... or Dolph Lundgren
lol, for what?
Gr3yL3gion
post Jul 13 2009, 05:16 AM

468 posts

QUOTE(KingKongStudy @ Jul 12 2009, 06:52 PM)
Two main role already casted.  rclxms.gif

Chris Hemsworth is THOR.

Tom Hiddlestone is LOKI
hmmm....

Can't see any resemblance between the main cast. hmm.gif

Well, he did play a movie role in Star Trek. tongue.gif
20thCentury
post Jul 13 2009, 03:46 PM

138 posts

IMO- Tyler Mane is more suitable for THOR character... he got more season look and muscular body

user posted image user posted image in Troy user posted image

This post has been edited by 20thCentury: Jul 13 2009, 04:06 PM
K' Dash
post Jul 13 2009, 04:52 PM

Thought that Hugo Weaving would have been a better choice for Loki. Love his Agent/Mr. Smith sinister smile tongue.gif
Gr3yL3gion
post Jul 13 2009, 05:24 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(20thCentury @ Jul 13 2009, 03:46 PM)
IMO- Tyler Mane is more suitable for THOR character... he got more season look and muscular body

user posted image user posted image in Troy user posted image
face problem, won't draw alot of female crowds. doh.gif
20thCentury
post Jul 13 2009, 05:45 PM

138 posts

Okay.. so in this case why not just cast Zac Efron and spoil the whole movie... that will do....hahaha...
Gr3yL3gion
post Jul 13 2009, 05:58 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(20thCentury @ Jul 13 2009, 05:45 PM)
Okay.. so in this case why not just cast Zac Efron and spoil the whole movie... that will do....hahaha...
They already did that by casting Chris Hemsworth.

Hell, Eric Bana would make a convincing Thor than him.
azarimy
post Jul 13 2009, 07:12 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(Gr3yL3gion @ Jul 13 2009, 09:24 AM)
face problem, won't draw alot of female crowds. doh.gif
LOL... remember arnie as conan? how the F did that face attract female fans? laugh.gif
Gr3yL3gion
post Jul 13 2009, 07:15 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jul 13 2009, 07:12 PM)
LOL... remember arnie as conan? how the F did that face attract female fans? laugh.gif
Different generation dude, Arnold came from a mr.universe generation.

The current generation is Mr.I-have-a-Gucci-handbag Ronaldo metrosexual generation.
KingKongStudy
post Jul 13 2009, 08:56 PM

671 posts

Well at least we have an awesome director. Plus, I haven't seen stuffs from Tom Hiddlestone and Chris Hemsworth (except that five minutes appearance at Star Trek) so we don't really know how good these guys are. Sure, they may not be a draw, but I'd rather have them than someone who can't act, at all.
Gr3yL3gion
post Jul 13 2009, 09:22 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(KingKongStudy @ Jul 13 2009, 08:56 PM)
Well at least we have an awesome director. Plus, I haven't seen stuffs from Tom Hiddlestone and Chris Hemsworth (except that five minutes appearance at Star Trek) so we don't really know how good these guys are. Sure, they may not be a draw, but I'd rather have them than someone who can't act, at all.
They can just use cgi, like hulk, lulz.

I dunno, unless these actors seriously buff up, they won't make a convincing Thor.
wayne322
post Jul 13 2009, 09:23 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

Wow...should be great..haha
olman
post Jul 13 2009, 10:28 PM

1,998 posts

should be triple h as thor, he has everything to be thor, check out his stats:

Statistics
Ring name(s) Terra Ryzing[1]
Jean-Paul Levesque[2]
Hunter Hearst Helmsley (HHH)[2]
Triple H[3]
Billed height 6 ft 4 in (1.93 m)[2][3]
Billed weight 255 lb (116 kg)[3]
Born July 27, 1969 (1969-07-27) (age 39)[2][4]
Nashua, New Hampshire[4][2][5]
Resides Greenwich, Connecticut[2]
Billed from Greenwich, Connecticut[2][3]
Trained by Killer Kowalski[5]
Debut March 1992[6]

Gr3yL3gion
post Jul 13 2009, 10:32 PM

468 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Jul 13 2009, 10:28 PM)

Statistics
Jean-Paul Levesque[2]
Triple H[3]
Debut March 1992[6]
Too bad he doesn't have the charisma of the Rock. tongue.gif
KingKongStudy
post Jul 14 2009, 02:06 AM

671 posts

Well, here we go. Someone more recognizable;

Portman set for Thor

The news has been rumored for a while but today we get confirmation: Natalie Portman will star in THOR for Marvel Studios. Portman will play Jane Foster, the mortal nurse who falls for Thor. She joins the previously cast Chris Hemsworth (Thor) and Tom Hiddleston (Loki). This may also mean that the rumors of Jessica Biel joining the cast could mean she's Enchantress (or perhaps not in the film at all).

The release also includes this brief snyposis of the film's plot:
This epic adventure spans the Marvel Universe; from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is The Mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth and forced to live among humans as punishment. Once here, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth.

THOR isn't scheduled to begin filming until early next year with a May 20, 2011 release planned. Is it a coincidence that Portman's casting is announced just about 10 days before Comic-Con?....

Source: Joblo.com

Added on July 14, 2009, 2:26 am
QUOTE(olman @ Jul 13 2009, 10:28 PM)

Statistics
Jean-Paul Levesque[2]
Triple H[3]
Debut March 1992[6]

seriously??? triple h can't act, and thor is going to be in the avengers, so triple h is going to be in the same scene with the likes of robert downey jr., sam jackson, probably edward norton as well. they're going to pwn him and he's going to make Thor looks like a complete joke.

This post has been edited by KingKongStudy: Jul 14 2009, 06:07 PM
sshahar9
post Jul 14 2009, 03:11 PM

38 posts

OMG... that pic of natalie is see thru drool.gif
xin
post Jul 14 2009, 03:15 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

hahaah..now i wan Portman is nurse more after that picture :>
KingKongStudy
post Jul 14 2009, 06:08 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(sshahar9 @ Jul 14 2009, 03:11 PM)
OMG... that pic of natalie is see thru  drool.gif
sleep.gif...

she's wearing an undershirt laaa. nvm, changed the picture already.

neway, who's next to be casted?? Jessica Biel as Lady Sif, anyone? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by KingKongStudy: Jul 14 2009, 06:13 PM
sshahar9
post Jul 14 2009, 09:19 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(KingKongStudy @ Jul 14 2009, 06:08 PM)
sleep.gif...

too late... i saved the pic oredi tongue.gif
thanks so much for that rclxms.gif

gonna spend some quality time with natalie tonight... rclxm9.gif
muahahahaha whistling.gif
TSPolaris
post Jul 15 2009, 02:26 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(KingKongStudy @ Jul 14 2009, 06:08 PM)
sleep.gif...

neway, who's next to be casted?? Jessica Biel as Lady Sif, anyone?  icon_idea.gif

Yes! Biel has a kick ass physique, literally and figuratively

Calvin871989
post Jan 7 2010, 02:18 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

quick update

due to spiderman script problems, Thor takes spidey spot

old date: 20/5/2011
new date: 6/5/2011

The First Avenger: Captain America still stand as it is

date: 22/7/2011

Calvin871989
post Jan 8 2010, 01:39 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Update

Adriana Barraza from 2006 Babel joins Thor

a look at the other announced cast so far,

Chris Hemsworth (Star Trek) is Thor.
Anthony Hopkins is his father Odin
Natalie Portman is Jane Foster, who in the comics is nurse to Thor’s human alter-ego Donald Blake
Tom Hiddleston is the villanous Loki
Jaimie Alexander is the Asgardian warrior Sif, an Asgardian warrior and lover of Thor who spends much of her time worrying about and searching for him.
Colm Feore is a villain whose identity is being kept secret
Stellan Skarsgard is Professor Andrew Ford
Ray Stevenson, Tadanobu Asano , and Stuart Townsend are “The Warriors Three”, a group of Asgardian badasses who fight alongside Thor.
Kat Dennings is Marcy Lewis, a aloof, jaded college student and intern to scientist Kate Spelling, and is a co-worker of Jane Foster
Rene Russo is Frigga, the wife of Odin and the adopted mother to Thor and Loki.
Idris Elba is as Heimdell, brother of Sif, “the guardian of Asgard, he stands on the BiFrost Bridge ready to defend the city from intruders.”
Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury, head of SHIELD.
And of course, Stan Lee cameos.

Kenneth Branagh is directing Thor from a script by Mark Protosevich. The movie begins shooting next week at Marvel’s Manhattan Beach studios. Thor is now scheduled to hit theaters on May 5th 2011.
Calvin871989
post Jan 28 2010, 01:38 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://moviesblog.mtv.com/2010/01/26/samue...know-hes-in-it/

Samuel L. Jackson Knows About 'Thor,' Doesn't Know He's In It

"Nobody's told me anything. I was reading the trades last week and I saw the cast list. My name was in it, so maybe I am doing something that I don't know about and I'll hear about it soon."

"I don't know what's going on," Jackson says. "Since Disney's bought the franchise, I have no idea what Marvel told them or even if my deal with Marvel is still valid."

Calvin871989
post Mar 9 2010, 03:15 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.slashfilm.com/2010/03/08/plot-s...r-marvels-thor/

Plot Synopsis Revealed for Marvel’s Thor

Paramount Pictures and Marvel Entertainment have released an updated official plot synopsis for the big screen adaptation of Thor, along with preliminary credits. No huge surprises, but a few confirmations. All the information is included, after the jump.

The Official Plot Synopsis:

Paramount Pictures and Marvel Entertainment present the epic adventure, “Thor,” which spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor (Chris Hemsworth), a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin (Anthony Hopkins) and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It’s while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth.

Calvin871989
post May 1 2010, 03:30 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

so did you guys like Thor's hammer after iron man 2 ending credits ? want more ? here's the 1st look at Chris Hemsworth as Thor

Extra Tidbit: No hat with wings?

firedauz
post May 1 2010, 10:03 AM

876 posts

WOW.

He really got Thor's looks now thumbup.gif
swks26
post May 1 2010, 10:09 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Thor looks older there.
Chris Hemsworth looks young, but he now looks old as Thor.

More please tongue.gif
firedauz
post May 1 2010, 10:13 AM

876 posts

Yeah, I think they followed the beard according to the old Thor comic design.
My bet is that he'll lose the beard somewhere in the movie tongue.gif
swks26
post May 1 2010, 11:38 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Can't wait to hear some Valhalla english.
alucard89
post May 1 2010, 11:47 AM

4,454 posts

That beard really adds more manliness to his character tongue.gif
TSPolaris
post May 6 2010, 05:25 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

He needs bigger guns, like darklight on steroids!
silbii
post May 6 2010, 06:21 AM

963 posts

that vampire Eric of True Blood used to be considered for playing Thor...he could have been a good one as well, since he's Norse to begin with smile.gif
SHOfrE3zE
post May 6 2010, 02:32 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 1 2010, 10:13 AM)
Yeah, I think they followed the beard according to the old Thor comic design.
My bet is that he'll lose the beard somewhere in the movie tongue.gif
the old thor does not have any beard. he's clean shaved. or probably does not have any beard or mustache at all.

This thor is a hybrid of the new thor and the ultimate's thor.

This post has been edited by SHOfrE3zE: May 6 2010, 02:34 PM
firedauz
post Jun 2 2010, 09:50 AM

876 posts

Sauce: http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Pon...e/news/?a=18667
Just like the teaser says, I received this image today from a source who has been consistently reliable in providing valid updates on Marvel Studios projects. It appears to be the logo for the Thor movie, starring Chris Hemsworth and Anthony Hopkins, which is due out in theaters May 6th, 2011:

The design for this logo has a heavy spacial influence, which does fall into line with the galactic undertone of the film that Kevin Feige has commented on, as opposed to the Nordic-style lettering usually associated with Thor comics. But what really caught my eye was the resemblance of the lettering's texture to the texture of Thor's Uru-metal hammer, Mjolnir, which was seen at the end of Iron Man 2.

Hopefully someone at Marvel Studios can either confirm or deny the validity of this image, and eager fans won't have to wait until San Diego Comic Con this July for an answer.

Ninja
post Jun 3 2010, 11:45 PM

1,764 posts

New Images of Chris Hemsworth as THOR

firedauz
post Jun 4 2010, 12:21 AM

876 posts

Awesome concept arts! Can't wait to see photos of Chris in action wearing that suit! thumbup.gif
Brian O'Connor
post Jun 4 2010, 10:57 AM

61 posts

Where's his helmet?
Calvin871989
post Jul 14 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/herocomple...el-studios.html

It's official: 'Thor' and 'Captain America' will be 3-D films

EXCLUSIVE FIRST-LOOK PHOTO: THE GODS OF"THOR"

firedauz
post Jul 15 2010, 08:35 AM

876 posts

WOOOAH

Anthony Hopkins is ODIN! thumbup.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jul 15 2010, 09:41 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Chris Hemsworth looks fitting for Thor.

But I'm still irked on why Mjolnir looks, SMALL.
azxel
post Jul 15 2010, 09:45 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Jun 3 2010, 11:45 PM)
New Images of Chris Hemsworth as THOR

I think it's horrendous at the bottom part... those boots look really out of place
Snake'eyes
post Jul 15 2010, 02:11 PM

Silent Shinobi
1,224 posts

The suit looks crap sweat.gif
firedauz
post Jul 15 2010, 03:08 PM

876 posts

Loki looks the part too biggrin.gif
olman
post Jul 15 2010, 11:29 PM

1,998 posts

damn, they should have picked Triple H as Thor
JonSpark
post Jul 16 2010, 10:06 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Thor and Odin

HungryJason
post Jul 17 2010, 09:08 PM

Any idea what's gonna be in the soundtrack?
Lets hope they've got stuff from Amon Amarth biggrin.gif
bex9432
post Jul 19 2010, 12:35 AM

111 posts

Thor...

Thor <====> Asgard race....

in Stargate... whistling.gif
Calvin871989
post Jul 24 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Oh great Odin's raven! The Thor helmets have been revealed!

Originally I just wanted to post the picture and this sentence, "LOOK AT THIS AWESOME SHIT!" But I have to at least write a little bit more than that.

One of the biggest gripes of THOR thus far as been the severe lack of helmet. Well, it may not be on his head, but Marvel posted a pic of the helmets on their site. That's right, helmets. Not only do you get to see the helmet of the thunder God, but you also get to see Odin and Loki's helmets. Orgasmic.

I also decided to throw in a picture of Odin's throne just hanging out at Comic-Con.

firedauz
post Jul 25 2010, 09:04 PM

876 posts

I bet Toys' R' Us is gonna make that Thor's helmet for everyone thumbup.gif
beatlesalbum
post Jul 25 2010, 10:47 PM

1,711 posts

who will be the villian? loki may be bad guy but thor will always love him deeply inside because theyre both brothers.
in the latest marvel siege saga, when loki is killed by sentry, you can see thor crying and going berserk over the death of his brother....

hairyLGS
post Jul 29 2010, 12:13 AM

209 posts

Now they are cashing in on the movie with THOR - THE VIDEO GAME laugh.gif

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/wield-that-...teaser-trailer/

Wield That Hammer! Thor: The Video Game Teaser Trailer

Quickie (and invariably shitty) games based on big-budget Hollywood movies are as common nowadays as fanboys finding something to complain about even the best genre movie. With Kenneth Branagh’s “Thor” set to launch next year, Marvel and Sega have smashed their heads together and come up with “Thor: The Video Game”. Okay, maybe they didn’t spent all that much time on the title, but do they ever?

The 3rd person action adventure game boasts an original storyline from Marvel writer Matt Fraction, who also serves as story consultant on the game. Check out the teaser trailer shown at Comic Con below. It’s really not much, just a lot of hammer time (get it?), and a quick shot of Thor’s backside.

“Thor: The Video Game” is due out next year on the Xbox 360
, PlayStation3, PSP, Wii and Nintendo DS. Basically, if you have a gaming system, you’ll be able to wield Mjölnir like a champ. Or a chump if you’re a big fat weakling.

hairyLGS
post Jul 29 2010, 02:17 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/by-odins-be...trailer-online/

By Odin’s Beard! Extended Thor Comic Con Trailer Online!

I’ll be honest with you, I have absolutely no idea how long this trailer is going to last online (via CBM), but it’s apparently the same extended 5-minute-plus trailer that was shown at Comic Con this past weekend, featuring all of the movie’s main plot points and, at the end, the arrival of the Destroyer to lay down some mega waste. Check it out below. So, does five minutes of “Thor” convince you this movie could actually … work?

Synopsis:- Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster (Portman), has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It’s while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth.

Starring Natalie Portman, Chris Hemsworth, Idris Elba, Kat Dennings, Anthony Hopkins, Stellan Skarsgård, Ray Stevenson, Rene Russo, Tom Hiddleston, Jaimie Alexander, Clark Gregg, Colm Feore, Tadanobu Asano, Adriana Barraza, Joshua Dallas, Matt Battaglia, and directed by Kenneth Branagh.

Release the thunder May 6, 2011.

It seems those who posted in YouTube were removed... so the only way to watch this is through the source. From what I have seen...

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Calvin871989
post Jul 29 2010, 05:00 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

the trailer was good, but way to much was revealed. i suggest to those who havent watch the trailer to stay away and wait for a shorter version of the trailer
hairyLGS
post Jul 29 2010, 05:04 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jul 29 2010, 05:00 PM)
the trailer was good, but way to much was revealed. i suggest to those who havent watch the trailer to stay away and wait for a shorter version of the trailer
But it felt like kinda expected much since the synopsis said as much as the film. What would be great is if the action scenes are incorporate more... but I have a feeling there will be more dialogue than action... I don't know which is which rclxub.gif
Calvin871989
post Jul 29 2010, 06:26 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

gave another watch again at the trailer. still felt that some scenes from the trailer shoul've been cut out and reduce it to like 2 minutes or so. i hope there's more action then to dialogues. i'll wait for another shorter trailer in meantime.

thor looks badass. the setting of asgard where odin is looks beautiful. didnt like the earth part but ill have to live with it because thats where thor will defend the people and keep them safe from his enemies.

loki looks, ok. at the end part we have the Destroyer which looks, cool ? the setting at the end where Destroyer was reminded me of the opening scene from the 1st ironman movie. somewhere is a deserted area.

overall it looks good from the trailer. but as far as the whole movie goes, we'll have to wait and watch it 1st. hope it will be good as the 1st ironman movie or even better.

this movie better dont let me down as im not really a marvel fan and at the same time dont hate it either. looking foward to this movie next year.

wait, where are the lightnings and thunders ? or did i missed it in the trailer ? he is afterall, god of thunder.

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jul 29 2010, 07:35 PM
Hyperion
post Jul 29 2010, 08:58 PM

19 posts

Looks like Agent Coulson will be playing a bigger part in this.

The last part with the Destroyer suit,

SHIELD agent : Is that one of Stark's?
Coulson : I don't know, the guy never tells me anything. biggrin.gif

But seriously, when they released the photo of Odin with Thor and Loki standing at the back, I thought this movie was going to be a joke.

But judging from the trailer, it looks decent. Next, Captain America....and then Avengers.

This post has been edited by Hyperion: Jul 29 2010, 09:00 PM
hairyLGS
post Jul 30 2010, 09:30 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jul 29 2010, 06:26 PM)
gave another watch again at the trailer. still felt that some scenes from the trailer shoul've been cut out and reduce it to like 2 minutes or so. i hope there's more action then to dialogues. i'll wait for another shorter trailer in meantime.

thor looks badass. the setting of asgard where odin is looks beautiful. didnt like the earth part but ill have to live with it because thats where thor will defend the people and keep them safe from his enemies.

loki looks, ok. at the end part we have the Destroyer which looks, cool ? the setting at the end where Destroyer was reminded me of the opening scene from the 1st ironman movie. somewhere is a deserted area.

overall it looks good from the trailer. but as far as the whole movie goes, we'll have to wait and watch it 1st. hope it will be good as the 1st ironman movie or even better.

this movie better dont let me down as im not really a marvel fan and at the same time dont hate it either. looking foward to this movie next year.

wait, where are the lightnings and thunders ? or did i missed it in the trailer ? he is afterall, god of thunder.
There was thunder at least laugh.gif

It was when Agent Coulson interrogate Thor (the sound)

Anyway, I hope so too. I was waiting for the infamous throw in the trailer but alas... tongue.gif
Brian O'Connor
post Jul 30 2010, 12:06 PM

61 posts

Something's wrong.

Marvel universe should be filled with mutant superheroes, yet why there is a viking god got lost here.Hmmm....
Kyoyagami
post Jul 30 2010, 12:11 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Jul 30 2010, 12:06 PM)
Something's wrong.

Marvel universe should be filled with mutant superheroes, yet why there is a viking god got lost here.Hmmm....
Stop reading your X-Men and get back to Thor and Hercules! tongue.gif
lycaphim
post Jul 30 2010, 12:17 PM

137 posts

All I got from the trailer was that for a movie about Norse Gods there were a lot of exploding cars. Michael Bay will be proud.

Still, too early to judge. But I suspect another half-hearted sequel setup origin story.
domcobb
post Jul 30 2010, 01:18 PM

199 posts

I suppose we will have to wait for the after-credit scene, showing Tony Stark approaching Thor huh?

Don't you guys think the image of Thor kneeling down in the trailer, resembles Achilles, played by Brad Pitt in [Troy]?

This post has been edited by domcobb: Jul 30 2010, 01:26 PM
Klesk
post Jul 30 2010, 04:12 PM

3,469 posts

omg the trailer is so B-grade, in fact if not for the A-listers (Anthony Hopkins and Natalie Portman) i would have thought it was a fanmade trailer..
hairyLGS
post Oct 11 2010, 11:26 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/trouble-in-...s-are-underway/

Trouble in Asgard? Probably Not, but Reshoots are Underway

Reshoots are pretty common in big-budget Hollywood movies, and doesn’t necessarily mean something is wrong with a movie. It could just be that this or that needed a little tweaking; or perhaps something tested really well with audiences, and the filmmakers decide to give the audience more of that something.

Either way, Kenneth Branagh’s “Thor” has gone back for reshoots, according to What’s Playing.

According to the site, the scene (or scenes) in question apparently involves a large crowd, because casting calls have gone out for “Nordic”-looking men, women, and chiildren.

“Thor” stars Natalie Portman, Chris Hemsworth, Idris Elba, Kat Dennings, Anthony Hopkins, Stellan Skarsgård, Ray Stevenson, Rene Russo, Tom Hiddleston, Jaimie Alexander, Clark Gregg, Colm Feore, Tadanobu Asano, Adriana Barraza, Joshua Dallas, and Matt Battaglia.

It’ll be hammer time May 6, 2011.

swks26
post Oct 12 2010, 11:41 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Holy shit. Huge Thor is fcuking huge. Good stuff!
hairyLGS
post Dec 10 2010, 10:31 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/kenneth-bra...-teaser-poster/

Kenneth Branagh’s Thor Gets an Official Teaser Poster

Marvel Studios has released the first official poster for their upcoming movie “Thor”. It looks like just a teaser poster, though, with black and white and with a flowing red cape. Classy, and kind of heroic.

Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is the mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. Thor is cast down to Earth by his father Odin and is forced to live among humans. A beautiful, young scientist, Jane Foster (Portman), has a profound effect on Thor, as she ultimately becomes his first love. It’s while here on Earth that Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero when the most dangerous villain of his world sends the darkest forces of Asgard to invade Earth.

Starring Natalie Portman, Chris Hemsworth, Idris Elba, Kat Dennings, Anthony Hopkins, Stellan Skarsgård, Ray Stevenson, Rene Russo, Tom Hiddleston, Jaimie Alexander, Clark Gregg, Colm Feore, Tadanobu Asano, Adriana Barraza, Joshua Dallas, Matt Battaglia and directed by Kenneth Branagh.

The hammer falls May 6, 2011.

Brian O'Connor
post Dec 10 2010, 11:10 AM

61 posts

I still love Thor in his helmet. Neway can't wait for the real teaser trailer.
thesecond
post Dec 10 2010, 01:56 PM

21 posts

Need another version with the helmet. biggrin.gif
MugomnX
post Dec 11 2010, 12:09 PM

188 posts

Trailerr rclxms.gif

Ninja
post Dec 11 2010, 12:26 PM

1,764 posts

^ Nice~ thumbup.gif
hairyLGS
post Dec 11 2010, 03:18 PM

209 posts

Hmmm... very different story hmm.gif
swks26
post Dec 11 2010, 04:44 PM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Natalie Portman wub.gif
saigetsu
post Dec 11 2010, 04:53 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Dec 11 2010, 04:44 PM)
Natalie Portman wub.gif
jew!
hairyLGS
post Dec 31 2010, 08:28 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/spoiler-an-...n-thor-but-who/

SPOILER: An Avenger Will Make a Cameo in Thor, But Who?

Well, there goes Marvel’s big easter egg for fans in their upcoming “Thor”. Obviously this post comes with a huge SPOILER WARNING, so go ahead and skip it if you’d rather be surprised by what Avenger does and does not show up in “Thor” to talk smack with the guy with the really big and heavy hammer, ala what Nick Fury did with Tony Stark at the end of the first “Iron Man”, or how Thor showed up (in a manner of speaking) in the second “Iron Man”.

Okay, still here? Then I assume you don’t care if the cameo gets spoiled for you.

So let’s get to it…

“Thor” strikes in May 6, 2011, but you can see Hawkeye in his full bow-slinging glory in “The Avengers” a year after that on May 4, 2012.

(By the way, we know that Marvel wants another female superhero to compliment Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow in “The Avengers”, so how about Hawkeye’s Mockingbird? With Hawkeye in the picture, it would make sense, right?)

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Dec 31 2010, 08:29 AM
Calvin871989
post Feb 7 2011, 09:52 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

vivienne85
post Feb 10 2011, 07:16 PM

360 posts

the cast seems alright.
hope it will turn out good
legendofhafiz
post Feb 10 2011, 07:44 PM

82 posts

Can anyone verify that Hawkeye (were once Shield member) making a cameo for this movie? Maybe Cobie Smulders will make a cameo since she has been confirm for Avengers as Agent Maria Hill laugh.gif
TSPolaris
post Feb 11 2011, 12:22 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Feb 7 2011, 09:52 AM)

He doesn't have Thor's physique, need to x200% muscle mass
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 11 2011, 01:14 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

QUOTE(legendofhafiz @ Feb 10 2011, 07:44 PM)
Can anyone verify that Hawkeye (were once Shield member) making a cameo for this movie? Maybe Cobie Smulders will make a cameo since she has been confirm for Avengers as Agent Maria Hill  laugh.gif
OMG cobie smulders from himym? wub.gif
hairyLGS
post Feb 11 2011, 01:34 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(legendofhafiz @ Feb 10 2011, 07:44 PM)
Can anyone verify that Hawkeye (were once Shield member) making a cameo for this movie? Maybe Cobie Smulders will make a cameo since she has been confirm for Avengers as Agent Maria Hill  laugh.gif
Not sure about if Hawkeye make a cameo in Thor but looks like have to wait until if anything that is leak.

Still, I do not know about you all but Thor just don't seem... too appealing to me yet... sweat.gif
low7
post Feb 11 2011, 03:21 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 7 2008, 03:53 PM)
wasn't he in Blade Trinity? Just horrible.

QUOTE(greyshadow @ May 8 2008, 09:26 AM)
no wrestling star in movie anymore pls....
they are all disaster doh
non of them can act on the silver screen

agree 100%. nod.gif
RieZky
post Feb 12 2011, 12:28 AM

219 posts

dwayne johnson can act whut..hehe..anyway i like the guy who act as Thor..he totally suit with Thor character
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 12 2011, 02:05 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

yeah the only wrestler that can act is dwayne johnson...
Calvin871989
post Feb 18 2011, 01:54 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

damnself
post Feb 18 2011, 09:32 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Feb 18 2011, 01:54 PM)

Wow!
Brian O'Connor
post Feb 18 2011, 11:28 PM

61 posts

THor looks more cooler if he wear his helmet!!!!
defaultname365
post Feb 20 2011, 01:27 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Okay. The trailer wasn't that impressive. Or was it? I don't know, it was all fists and visual glittery.
RieZky
post Feb 20 2011, 04:08 PM

219 posts

the evil monster..totally like Kamen Rider Den-O..hahaha
shaznizzle
post Mar 2 2011, 05:06 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

Made my own funny skit base on the trailer.. smile.gif Theres 10 other trailers I made too...
be kind as its my 1st few videos I made.. can be improved.. Enjoy & Subscribe Movie Fans!!!

YouTube Channel HERE

or

Visit a thread I made HERE

THOR

legendofhafiz
post Mar 5 2011, 09:31 AM

82 posts

mr_simple
post Mar 5 2011, 11:32 AM

Nice poster!! I can't wait til Thor comes out! >_<
Razaelx
post Mar 5 2011, 09:17 PM

219 posts

new poster smile.gif

warriorjin
post Mar 6 2011, 01:32 AM

Thor trailer was great, IMO. The Destroyer looked true to the comics. Visually nice to look at.
defaultname365
post Mar 8 2011, 11:57 PM

1,098 posts

From the studio that brought you "Iron Man"

From the boom mic holder of "Avatar"

hyperx
post Apr 26 2011, 12:56 AM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

already bought the tickets on Thursday night rclxms.gif
expl0it
post Apr 26 2011, 02:47 AM

On Letting Go
1,213 posts

Weird that this one was shown in Australia first (April 21st). Anyway, gonna try to get tix for Thursday.
BeastX
post Apr 26 2011, 04:22 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Apr 26 2011, 02:47 AM)
Weird that this one was shown in Australia first (April 21st). Anyway, gonna try to get tix for Thursday.
The god of thunder comes from the land down under

greyshadow
post Apr 26 2011, 04:47 PM

1,844 posts

will have a date with god of thunder this friday night rclxm9.gif
danger46
post Apr 26 2011, 05:44 PM

123 posts

i gonna date with the God oF thunder on saturday afternoon!
hairyLGS
post Apr 26 2011, 10:48 PM

209 posts

Watching this Thursday nod.gif
Fawkes
post Apr 27 2011, 06:20 PM

584 posts

Planning to watch in BTS GSC Maxx this Friday, is college student elligible for student's price?
hairyLGS
post Apr 27 2011, 10:10 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Apr 27 2011, 06:20 PM)
Planning to watch in BTS GSC Maxx this Friday, is college student elligible for student's price?
I think new movie you won't get student's price at all. Already paying RM 14 (because its a new movie)
JustForFun
post Apr 27 2011, 10:37 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

How long to wait until the price drops and student price becomes available?
hairyLGS
post Apr 27 2011, 11:36 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Apr 27 2011, 10:37 PM)
After two weeks of normal screening (and that does not include sneak previews)
Fawkes
post Apr 28 2011, 01:54 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Apr 27 2011, 10:10 PM)
I think new movie you won't get student's price at all. Already paying RM 14 (because its a new movie)
Hmm, then why do they give option for student price in e-ticketing? rclxub.gif
stargazer_7
post Apr 28 2011, 02:26 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Apr 28 2011, 01:54 AM)
Hmm, then why do they give option for student price in e-ticketing?  rclxub.gif
If i not mistaken student prices are always available. Just that the prices for blockbuster films will be higher but still cheaper than the normal adult price.
onejme
post Apr 28 2011, 05:52 AM

183 posts

just watched the premier last night in 3D..it was freakkking awesome!
its a must watch movieee!
V3nz
post Apr 28 2011, 06:58 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Apr 28 2011, 05:52 AM)
just watched the premier last night in 3D..it was freakkking awesome!
its a must watch movieee!
3D is worth it or not?
defaultname365
post Apr 28 2011, 09:32 AM

1,098 posts

What the... 38 out of 40 reviews on RT gave it fresh for a very promising start of 95% fresh! biggrin.gif If this is the case, it will most certainly be over 80% after 100+ reviews...

Didn't expect that.

SUSPhilHellmuth
post Apr 28 2011, 10:21 AM

699 posts

more comments in 3D pls .. thanks !
hairyLGS
post Apr 28 2011, 10:46 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 28 2011, 09:32 AM)
What the... 38 out of 40 reviews on RT gave it fresh for a very promising start of 95% fresh!  biggrin.gif  If this is the case, it will most certainly be over 80% after 100+ reviews...

Didn't expect that.
Seriously... I guess the trailer was misleading...

Hmmm... tonight going to watch... will return with a review...
BeastX
post Apr 28 2011, 10:50 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Apr 28 2011, 10:21 AM)
more comments in 3D pls .. thanks !
Not worth it.... 2D better...
Kyoyagami
post Apr 28 2011, 10:54 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Misleading?

The moment Thor hantam his hammer on the ground and you think its Misleading? tongue.gif
danger46
post Apr 28 2011, 01:05 PM

123 posts

oh my gosh. Cant wait for till Saturday!!!
g5sim
post Apr 28 2011, 01:51 PM

5,750 posts

looks cartoonish but i am going to watch it anyway lol
sickx
post Apr 28 2011, 02:11 PM

:)
1,232 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Apr 27 2011, 10:10 PM)
QUOTE(JustForFun @ Apr 27 2011, 10:37 PM)
QUOTE(stargazer_7 @ Apr 28 2011, 02:26 AM)
If i not mistaken student prices are always available. Just that the prices for blockbuster films will be higher but still cheaper than the normal adult price.
student price only available on monday-friday for screening before 6pm.after 6 pm and during weekends,student price not available. smile.gif
greyshadow
post Apr 28 2011, 02:17 PM

1,844 posts

Thor, "Where's my hammer?"
Thor, "Mana penukul saya?"
托尔:“我的铁锤在那里?”

damnself
post Apr 28 2011, 03:34 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 28 2011, 02:17 PM)
Thor, "Where's my hammer?"
Thor, "Mana penukul saya?"
托尔:“我的铁锤在那里?”

Patutnya mana tukul saya. haha. tongue.gif
danger46
post Apr 28 2011, 03:57 PM

123 posts

LOL @ PENUKUL SAYA!
Darah Harimau
post Apr 28 2011, 04:39 PM

69 posts

enjoyed it !!
Fawkes
post Apr 28 2011, 04:44 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Apr 28 2011, 02:11 PM)
student price only available on monday-friday for screening before 6pm.after 6 pm and during weekends,student price not available. smile.gif
So can college student buy the ticket at student price?
Tsj261
post Apr 28 2011, 05:17 PM

314 posts

anything to stay tune till after credits scene ? like every marvel movies they do that =)
Frankmiller92
post Apr 28 2011, 05:40 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Tsj261 @ Apr 28 2011, 05:17 PM)
anything to stay tune till after credits scene ? like every marvel movies they do that =)
Yes U'll get to see stellan something possesed by the villain of the film mentioning the cosmic cube, which could be seen more in Captain America!! Remember to stay after credits!!!
hairyLGS
post Apr 28 2011, 05:43 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Frankmiller92 @ Apr 28 2011, 05:40 PM)
Yes U'll get to see stellan something possesed by the villain of the film mentioning the cosmic cube, which could be seen more in Captain America!! Remember to stay after credits!!!
Ah... gooding... means have to stay longer to see stuff...
BeastX
post Apr 28 2011, 06:10 PM

5,987 posts

A good movie but IM1 is still better...
defaultname365
post Apr 28 2011, 08:01 PM

1,098 posts

I wish there was a Digital-2D version.
-br0k3n-
post Apr 28 2011, 08:45 PM

167 posts

please stay until the end of credit =)
Lynixx
post Apr 28 2011, 08:55 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

after credit still got something ar??? hmm.gif
-br0k3n-
post Apr 28 2011, 09:32 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Apr 28 2011, 08:55 PM)
after credit still got something ar??? hmm.gif
nod.gif nod.gif
tech_frix
post Apr 28 2011, 10:49 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

its about the cube is it?
Razaelx
post Apr 28 2011, 11:42 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Apr 28 2011, 10:49 PM)
its about the cube is it?
allspark? biggrin.gif
Mov_freak
post Apr 28 2011, 11:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Thor (2011)

By Odin, it is GOOD.

It's NOT perfect, it is good.

Asgard NEVER looked so good.

This movie is ALL about duality.

Interesting how "heaven" seem so... Shakespearean... (Thor, Clash of the Titans etc)

I LUV the interpretation/representation of the rainbow bridge (BiFrost)

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE the beginning of the movie

Tom Hiddleston is PERFECT as Loki

I do have some bones to pick though

Please stay after the movie, there are AS USUAL tidbits!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Apr 28 2011, 11:50 PM
kadS
post Apr 28 2011, 11:51 PM

344 posts

5/5 nuff said,
better than battle la shit.
stargazer_7
post Apr 29 2011, 12:04 AM

89 posts

The effects are simply dazzling. I love the futuristic feel of Asgard, its like meshing mythology and sci-fi together.
Chris Hemsworth is excellent as Thor. From an arrogant *******, to a confused human, then a remorseful son, and finally a true warrior, he couldn't hide his charm throughout the movie, especially when he smiled... biggrin.gif
Tom Hiddleston who played Loki is equally impressive too. And I appreciate the way they made Loki a complicated character, instead of a plain one-dimensioned villain seeking for power.

The same, however, cannot be said for other characters. Natalie Portman is there just for the sake of being the chick. Her character, Jane Foster, basically did nothing at all the whole movie besides being consistently concerned about Thor. Same goes to the four Thor's sidekicks. We know virtually nothing about them, except that they are loyal to Thor. I didn't even catch their names in the movie. I hope that the inevitable upcoming sequels can correct this out. At least give us who never read the comic books some backstory about those characters..
Ohh and the action scenes are..kinda..boring...to me. The CGI may be awesome to watch, but the fighting is anything but thrilling. From the beginning where Thor fought the Frost Giants right until the 'climatic' battle between Thor and Loki, I kept hoping for something that would excite me, but I never saw it. The scenes are too short, each time starting with Thor waving his hammer and ending with Thor stop waving his hammer, as nothing seems to stand a chance against the mighty Mjolnir.

Hmm well if you are looking for mindless entertainment, this movie is strongly recommended. It is much better than Clash of The Titans, but still has a long way to go to match Iron Man. Its a typical fun-to-watch yet forgettable Hollywood movie.

P/S This movie is converted to 3D in post-production instead of being filmed in 3D. Which typically means watching in 3D is nothing but a waste of money. Still, would like to hear feedback from people watching in 3D too..
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 12:11 AM

219 posts

^^cool review bro

n thanks for informing bout post production 3d convertion

dont want to feel like watching clash of the titans again vmad.gif

btw tron also didnt really feel the 3d...was it converted in post production also ? hmm.gif
stargazer_7
post Apr 29 2011, 12:25 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Apr 29 2011, 12:11 AM)
^^cool review bro

n thanks for informing bout post production 3d convertion

dont want to feel like watching clash of the titans again vmad.gif

btw tron also didnt really feel the 3d...was it converted in post production also ? hmm.gif
Haha, this forum thread might be useful for you.
http://forum.blu-ray.com/3d-blu-ray-movies...-converted.html
Dunno whether the list will keep updating or not though..
FYI, Tron is filmed in 3D, not converted..according to it..
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 12:36 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(stargazer_7 @ Apr 29 2011, 12:25 AM)
Haha, this forum thread might be useful for you.
http://forum.blu-ray.com/3d-blu-ray-movies...-converted.html
Dunno whether the list will keep updating or not though..
FYI, Tron is filmed in 3D, not converted..according to it..
thanks for the link biggrin.gif , but looks like it is not updated anymore
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 12:48 AM

209 posts

Just came back from watching Thor.

No wonder it works! One name says it all - J. Michael Straczynski... and what the hell - he even appear in the movie! Of course Stan Lee is there too...

Anyway - this movie is worth it. Just the story enough will do. The special effects is alright for me (seriously, good enough) and Chris Hemsworth carry it well as Thor. So is Tom Hiddleston as Loki. True enough, the love scenes are platonic... but who cares - I go for the story and that's good enough.

If you ask me - I just hope when Captain America is showing - it is as good as this!

P/S:- There is a certain cameo appearance in the film I am sure nobody noticed - CLINT BARTON! Who is he? HAWKEYE (played by Jeremy Renner!)! He appears only a minute over only! I am sure nobody knows this because he is not in costume!

Also, stayed on till the end credits end:-

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Apr 29 2011, 12:49 AM
Sniperwolf1987
post Apr 29 2011, 12:56 AM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

worth my every ringgit in this movie .. far more better than ironman 2 ~ touching love story between thor and jane ...rated 10/10
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 01:04 AM

219 posts

dayummm all this good reviews, make me want to see this movie asap !!

post Apr 29 2011, 01:11 AM

53 posts

damn cinema cut off the credit part....me ish sad...
Darah Harimau
post Apr 29 2011, 01:13 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Apr 29 2011, 12:48 AM)

No wonder it works! One name says it all - J. Michael Straczynski... and what the hell - he even appear in the movie! Of course Stan Lee is there too...

Anyway - this movie is worth it. Just the story enough will do. The special effects is alright for me (seriously, good enough) and Chris Hemsworth carry it well as Thor. So is Tom Hiddleston as Loki. True enough, the love scenes are platonic... but who cares - I go for the story and that's good enough.

If you ask me - I just hope when Captain America is showing - it is as good as this!

P/S:- There is a certain cameo appearance in the film I am sure nobody noticed - CLINT BARTON! Who is he? HAWKEYE (played by Jeremy Renner!)! He appears only a minute over only! I am sure nobody knows this because he is not in costume!

I knew it haha, knew since he appeared in the miniclip posted few weeks ago....
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 01:23 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Darah Harimau @ Apr 29 2011, 01:13 AM)
I knew it haha, knew since he appeared in the miniclip posted few weeks ago....
If someone watched the Comic Con line-up of the cast for Avengers, they will know Jeremy Renner there appearing in Thor. But I guess not many paying attention... laugh.gif
hyperx
post Apr 29 2011, 01:33 AM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

superbly awesome!

after watching this movie i gained so much momentum.. now im afraid i may get disappointed with fast 5 next week icon_question.gif
incognito
post Apr 29 2011, 01:37 AM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

haha yeah i caught his cameo... i was giggling to myself when he appeared biggrin.gif

i thoroughly enjoyed chris hemsworth's performance... he's immensely charismatic (only last saw him in the opening 10 mins of star trek previously). hopkins was also very imposing as odin, i thought he'd ham up the cheese factor but he manages to find a nice balance to his portrayal.

marvel are on a winning streak here. can't wait for captain america next. bring on the avengers!
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 01:53 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ Apr 29 2011, 01:37 AM)
haha yeah i caught his cameo... i was giggling to myself when he appeared biggrin.gif

i thoroughly enjoyed chris hemsworth's performance... he's immensely charismatic (only last saw him in the opening 10 mins of star trek previously). hopkins was also very imposing as odin, i thought he'd ham up the cheese factor but he manages to find a nice balance to his portrayal.

marvel are on a winning streak here. can't wait for captain america next. bring on the avengers!
When I saw him in Perfect Getaway - he really look bada$$. He got me thinking the way he portray his character. Got my attention real quick. But with Thor now... he got it right and luckily not some goldilocks guy laugh.gif

Well, I just home Captain America is also doing well too - Avengers 2012... that means, trailer should be coming year end. Hope they have something good... icon_rolleyes.gif
MHR
post Apr 29 2011, 03:25 AM

312 posts

awesome movie, going to see it again
madcrow
post Apr 29 2011, 09:16 AM

39 posts

Thats a lot of good reviews up there.. For me, it just kind of fell apart halfway through as if Branagh went up and said: Frak it man

It became a bit campy and cheesy with the flow of the film being distorted at times. And come on man, you expect me to believe Thor goes from arrogant and reckless to humble and wise after just two days? The movie is quite forgetable but its a summer blockbuster and I'd have to agree on the fact that there were some great special effects.

But I would say that Hemworth fit the role perfectly as Thor.
n00b13
post Apr 29 2011, 11:52 AM

364 posts

No wonder it works! One name says it all - J. Michael Straczynski...
Who also wrote Ninja Assassin. biggrin.gif

Anyway, I really liked it too. It does everything a comicbook adaptation of Thor needs to do, it looks great, the action scenes are cool, the characters are fun, and the main character is established perfectly. I also noticed that they made sure to make it fun - there are quite a few humourous bits, and they balance the seriousness just right.

I'd say it's almost as good as the first Iron Man. (And definitely better than the second.)

kueks
post Apr 29 2011, 12:38 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

hmmm waited till the 1st part of credits... still they don cut out the credits to show the extra scenes then only continue credits back sad.gif

wat is it about ?
fookie
post Apr 29 2011, 12:42 PM

What?
622 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Apr 29 2011, 12:38 PM)
hmmm waited till the 1st part of credits... still they don cut out the credits to show the extra scenes then only continue credits back sad.gif

wat is it about ?
the cinema i went didnt show the extra scene. the dude had to tell me. sudah habis. lol
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 12:48 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Apr 29 2011, 11:52 AM)
Who also wrote Ninja Assassinbiggrin.gif

Anyway, I really liked it too. It does everything a comicbook adaptation of Thor needs to do, it looks great, the action scenes are cool, the characters are fun, and the main character is established perfectly. I also noticed that they made sure to make it fun - there are quite a few humourous bits, and they balance the seriousness just right.

I'd say it's almost as good as the first Iron Man. (And definitely better than the second.)
He did?!? shocking.gif

Crap... and I did not even watch it doh.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Apr 29 2011, 12:48 PM
quithrilius
post Apr 29 2011, 02:50 PM

110 posts

haha took me about 20 hours to decide to write something. I thought the movie was good.. straight and sweet. I thought it was a tad short.. like there were only 5 main scenes, but i find the simplicity pretty good. Trying to over complicate things always ruins a good movie especially when it concerns myths, legends and sorts..

I was the only one in the cinema to spazz about hawkeye tho.. which kinda let me down. I love Asgard.. the people did an awesome job putting it to life but still not feeling Odin's eye-patch.. but i have to say .. THE HEADGEARS ARE AWESOME.

I think they only thing that i didnt like is that Thor wasnt carrying a barrel of ale around and now that he's diplomatic, prepare for something to happen so he can rage in the avengers.
Razaelx
post Apr 29 2011, 02:56 PM

219 posts

so this movie is better than iron man 1 ?
thesecond
post Apr 29 2011, 03:11 PM

21 posts

Definitely taking leave to watch this on Monday... tongue.gif
hairyLGS
post Apr 29 2011, 03:17 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(thesecond @ Apr 29 2011, 03:11 PM)
Definitely taking leave to watch this on Monday... tongue.gif
Watch it over the weekend! thumbup.gif
ivanau88
post Apr 29 2011, 03:23 PM

3,777 posts

Renner as Hawkeye!

Added on April 29, 2011, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(Razaelx @ Apr 29 2011, 02:56 PM)
so this movie is better than iron man 1 ?
hard to judge. Both are almost same as the original story but at least better than iron man 2

This post has been edited by ivanau88: Apr 29 2011, 03:24 PM
kei18kun
post Apr 29 2011, 03:34 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

so most of u guys agree that 3d is a waste of money is it? since its post production added

Added on April 29, 2011, 3:36 pmsince planning to watch it tomoro

Added on April 29, 2011, 3:37 pmfeedback very much appreaciated. thanks

This post has been edited by kei18kun: Apr 29 2011, 03:37 PM
quithrilius
post Apr 29 2011, 03:58 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Apr 29 2011, 03:34 PM)
so most of u guys agree that 3d is a waste of money is it? since its post production added

Well.. i watched the normal version and it was good.. i couldnt imagine watching 3d tho.. i think skip the 3d first. I will prolyl watch again this weekend in 3d
dokidoki
post Apr 29 2011, 04:15 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Apr 29 2011, 03:34 PM)

watch 2D is more than enuf smile.gif
Shanashi
post Apr 29 2011, 04:30 PM

55 posts

I'm in cinema now waiting for last scene after credits n movie is fuxking awesome yeah!!!
satsugai
post Apr 29 2011, 04:38 PM

303 posts

was the 3d worth it?
also, was the cinema crowded? should i book or just go earlier to get it?
wanna watch tmrw afternoon or night
Lynixx
post Apr 29 2011, 04:41 PM

Gooner
1,916 posts

NICE MOVIE!!! and awesome CGI effect!!!
gonna watch it for 2nd time with 3D this time tongue.gif
yeehs18
post Apr 29 2011, 08:19 PM

258 posts

The movie sucks, predictable story, cheesy story, lame dialog, fighting also non intense. Just a few hammer and all those so called powerful opponent die like rats.
defaultname365
post Apr 29 2011, 09:31 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(kadS @ Apr 28 2011, 11:51 PM)
5/5 nuff said,
better than battle la shit.
Please don't compare ANYTHING to that movie. nod.gif

QUOTE(yeehs18 @ Apr 29 2011, 08:19 PM)
The movie sucks, predictable story, cheesy story, lame dialog, fighting also non intense. Just a few hammer and all those so called powerful opponent die like rats.
shocking.gif

I doubt it dude, I doubt it. A crazy 97% approval rating after 47 reviews on RT warrants this movie a certified fresh no matter how many reviews come pouring in, ever after 100+

Critical praise aside, fan reception has been overwhelmingly positive. And I thought this movie was going to be bad and that "Captain America" would be a better choice to watch instead.

I admit it - the trailer didn't quite work for me. I don't know why. It felt just like any other action movie. Indeed, I prefer it that way - not so good trailers, brilliant movie. Think "Clash of the Titans" - great trailer, not so good movie.

It is not even Summer (June-August), but we have a highly recommended pre-Summer movie. biggrin.gif

Most likely watching it. And yes, it is because of the reviews. 9 out of 10 times, great overall critic responses for me means a great movie experience.

Heck, this one is off the charts, Thor style. rclxms.gif Thanks for the heads up. Since there is no Digital-2D, it will be Normal. 3D is going to be a waste.

kei18kun
post Apr 29 2011, 09:37 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

same here, just want more feedback on 3d
ayanami_tard
post Apr 29 2011, 09:46 PM

40 posts

Iron Man?

Thor?

Captain America?

this is the sign....

Added on April 29, 2011, 9:51 pmbtw i like how them SHIELD thinkin the destroyer as "ni mesti stark punya angkara nih!"

This post has been edited by ayanami_tard: Apr 29 2011, 09:51 PM
Shanashi
post Apr 29 2011, 09:51 PM

55 posts

it stated at the end of the movie "Thor Will Return In The Avengers"
quithrilius
post Apr 29 2011, 10:02 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(yeehs18 @ Apr 29 2011, 08:19 PM)
hahaha predictable and cheesy.. wait til Cap comes out.. I can clearly tell you what happens, why!? most stuff happens in the comics and if you want stuff that is unpredictable, watch the X-men franchise especially X-3 and see how well it was in the box office.

On the case of Mjolnir.. Thor's a freaking God! deal with it.
G_KeN
post Apr 29 2011, 10:53 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

Just watched at GSC Maxx. The 3D is so so, better go for the 2D version, although you'll miss the awesomeness of digital screen and arguably best cinema sound system around. tongue.gif

Yeah, the movie is pretty good, better than ive expected. smile.gif In terms of level of awesomeness, the movie is on par with the first ironman. smile.gif
kobe8byrant
post Apr 29 2011, 11:34 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

97% for this is very misleading. None of the reviews seem to be high 9/10 or 10/10 or even 8/10. Rather, they seem to be of the 7/10 or B grades. At least those that I have read.

However, I'd like to ask, how long is the Renner cameo/scene? Any talking scenes involving him? Please put in spoilers if necessary.

QuickFire
post Apr 29 2011, 11:38 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

I will be watching it but I expect it to be something like Iron Man. Good but utterly pedestrian. Nice if turns out to be more than that.
hairyLGS
post Apr 30 2011, 12:02 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 29 2011, 11:34 PM)
97% for this is very misleading. None of the reviews seem to be high 9/10 or 10/10 or even 8/10. Rather, they seem to be of the 7/10 or B grades. At least those that I have read.

However, I'd like to ask, how long is the Renner cameo/scene? Any talking scenes involving him? Please put in spoilers if necessary.
Already mention two pages back tongue.gif
Visualize
post Apr 30 2011, 12:42 AM

557 posts

Just watched it and it's better than expected implied by the trailer.

Just make sure to watch it in a THX Hall as the sound can be eargasmic. Watched it in OneU's GSC Hall 2. thumbup.gif

Razaelx
post Apr 30 2011, 12:45 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Apr 30 2011, 12:42 AM)
Just watched it and it's better than expected implied by the trailer. 

Just make sure to watch it in a THX Hall as the sound can be eargasmic. Watched it in OneU's GSC Hall 2.  thumbup.gif
how did u manage to get thx hall ? did u ask for it when buying the ticket ?

just wondering tongue.gif
undentifyxd
post Apr 30 2011, 12:49 AM

85 posts

i hope there is no ROMANCE in this story

will watch it tmrw
Visualize
post Apr 30 2011, 12:52 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Apr 30 2011, 12:45 AM)
how did u manage to get thx hall ? did u ask for it when buying the ticket ?

just wondering tongue.gif
Nop, I always buy my tickets online so that I can choose which halls I want. You can also ask them when buying at counter but some of them may not

know what is THX laugh.gif . Well, if you wanna know if you're getting a THX Hall:

GSC One U - Hall 2 & 3

GSC Summit - Hall 7 / THX

Or... Gold Class. tongue.gif
Razaelx
post Apr 30 2011, 01:02 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Apr 30 2011, 12:52 AM)
Nop, I always buy my tickets online so that I can choose which halls I want. You can also ask them when buying at counter but some of them may not

know what is THX  laugh.gif . Well, if you wanna know if you're getting a THX Hall:

GSC One U - Hall 2 & 3

GSC Summit - Hall 7 / THX

Or... Gold Class. tongue.gif
oh ok, thanks for the info dude icon_rolleyes.gif

gonna try to get THX hall at 1U on sunday

wait wait, if buy tickets online need to have credit card izzit ?
Visualize
post Apr 30 2011, 01:04 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Apr 30 2011, 01:02 AM)
oh ok, thanks for the info dude icon_rolleyes.gif

gonna try to get THX hall at 1U on sunday

wait wait, if buy tickets online need to have credit card izzit ?
No prob, if you don't have credit card, Maybank2u online transaction is an alternative . icon_rolleyes.gif
Razaelx
post Apr 30 2011, 01:07 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Visualize @ Apr 30 2011, 01:04 AM)
No prob, if you don't have credit card, Maybank2u online transaction is an alternative . icon_rolleyes.gif
i see nod.gif

btw besides OU n summit where else got THX ? hmm.gif
Visualize
post Apr 30 2011, 01:13 AM

557 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Apr 30 2011, 01:07 AM)
i see nod.gif

btw besides OU n summit where else got THX ? hmm.gif
Mid Valley and some other place has it as well but not as good as those 2 mentioned.
defaultname365
post Apr 30 2011, 01:28 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 29 2011, 11:34 PM)

Well at least it indicates it is not a bad movie to watch. It may not be great, but rather a "consensus of good".

I haven't watched it myself, but thus far I know there is something shown after the credits.
FLampard
post Apr 30 2011, 01:42 AM

590 posts

best sound track ever.

Added on April 30, 2011, 1:45 ambtw goto youtube and search "ironman 2 credits ending spoiler" and you will know why thy made Thor

This post has been edited by FLampard: Apr 30 2011, 01:45 AM
SUSAzurues
post Apr 30 2011, 01:54 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Thor + Captain America will be a movie must watch before The Avengers in 2012
Fawkes
post Apr 30 2011, 02:32 AM

584 posts

Watched the movie in GSC Maxx just now as well, the movie is definitely worth watching. I don't really get the after credit scene though, can anyone explain to me?
djhenry91
post Apr 30 2011, 02:45 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

i like the funny part...
for example...
thor go pet shop..ask tht cashier..i want a horse..
another is 4get zor..
xena,robbin hood,jackie chan and wat already?
MaxSteR88
post Apr 30 2011, 04:37 AM

488 posts

just watched the movie... real nice imo...
at least the story line was nicely portrait...

@fawkes

did anyone think the guy ...

anyone loved STAN LEE in the movie...lol.. i know i did tongue.gif
hairyLGS
post Apr 30 2011, 09:12 AM

209 posts

Nobody read what was written two pages ago?

Already mention a few things there... sweat.gif
Alexdino
post Apr 30 2011, 09:20 AM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(556 @ Apr 29 2011, 01:11 AM)
damn cinema cut off the credit part....me ish sad...
same here... i hate tgv sad.gif ... they even sensor vulgar words.....
fragglerock
post Apr 30 2011, 11:47 AM

37 posts

for:

against:

suggest me an alternative pls

2/5 + bonus .5 for the cinema communal experience

profwacko
post Apr 30 2011, 12:19 PM

31 posts

to me i think this movie was better than iron man 2. too bad the cinema cut end ending part. ddedems u tgv.
Eisenmeteor
post Apr 30 2011, 12:29 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Thor smile so cute.Lol..
Dias
post Apr 30 2011, 03:07 PM

161 posts

TGV Pyramid had technical issues with their projector in Room 4 for the 11am show which could not be resolved in time. Had to move over to Room 5. As a result, the movie was delayed.

Good news is that all those who got Room 4 get a refund. In other words, free movie screening.
shortleg88
post Apr 30 2011, 05:08 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

I heard after credits still got some extra, is it true?
wilson88
post Apr 30 2011, 05:10 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Apr 30 2011, 05:08 PM)

Yes, it will be a 5-minutes or more long wait, you have to be patient.
danger46
post Apr 30 2011, 05:10 PM

123 posts

Thor is awesome! Love it
king_eric
post Apr 30 2011, 06:28 PM

147 posts

watching it tomorrow.
danger46
post Apr 30 2011, 06:57 PM

123 posts

A lot of funny stuff that makes me crack a little especially

demolationz
post Apr 30 2011, 06:58 PM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

What is the similarities of Iron man 1 and thor ? cant get it =.='

danger46
post Apr 30 2011, 07:02 PM

123 posts

not similar just same universe and some easter egg here and there
rhoyo
post Apr 30 2011, 07:02 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Apr 30 2011, 05:08 PM)
Yup it is true . i just watch it times square IMAX .. f*** 3d was found near the word Thor doh.gif .. overall a simple story . straightforward story . but how i wish thor was dead whistling.gif whistling.gif

ironman is robot . thor is god .
n00b13
post Apr 30 2011, 07:04 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Apr 30 2011, 09:20 AM)
same here... i hate tgv  sad.gif ... they even sensor vulgar words.....
Cinemas don't censor laa. Anyway, Thor is rated PG-13 so there aren't any vulgar words anyway.

PhungTM
post Apr 30 2011, 07:05 PM

585 posts

Nice movie ! I like the gatekeeper... kinda godly as well. Didnt know there was extra! Damn it.
Wijjog
post Apr 30 2011, 07:10 PM

118 posts

can anyone tell me about the ending part. i miss it just now at tgv wwalk
n00b13
post Apr 30 2011, 07:11 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Apr 30 2011, 02:32 AM)
I don't really get the after credit scene though, can anyone explain to me?
It's about a Cosmic Cube.

rhoyo
post Apr 30 2011, 07:11 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Apr 30 2011, 07:05 PM)
Nice movie ! I like the gatekeeper... kinda godly as well. Didnt know there was extra! Damn it.
thank god of thunder i wait with the few nerds to watch the ending whistling.gif .. all left laugh.gif after the foo fighters walk and some movie soundtrack u will see the ending .

you can watch crappy youtube if u miss it wink.gif

Dias
post Apr 30 2011, 07:12 PM

161 posts

I thought people would have realized it already by now. Iron Man, Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, Thor. All have additional stuff after the credits. Same is to be expected for Capt. America in a few months time.
kei18kun
post Apr 30 2011, 08:19 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

average movie for me. like the fighting at the beginning though. the handsome actor saves the movie alrite
Klesk
post Apr 30 2011, 08:22 PM

3,469 posts

srsly this mov was juz ok for me... Aasgard was amazing yes, and some cheesy moments here n there, the fight at Jotunheim was jawdroppig, but the same cant b said for the end fight, effin lame, and i just had to ask this question

Frankmiller92
post Apr 30 2011, 09:23 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Apr 30 2011, 08:22 PM)
srsly this mov was juz ok for me... Aasgard was amazing yes, and some cheesy moments here n there, the fight at Jotunheim was jawdroppig, but the same cant b said for the end fight, effin lame, and i just had to ask this question

I guess he didn't really want to kill his brother? I wouldn't consider him a villain at all.
legendofhafiz
post Apr 30 2011, 11:01 PM

82 posts

For Asgard , I'm a bit biased. This is a good movie. well done Marvel for expanding their franchise compared to their counterpart that rely with same franchise

Basically this movie is an introduction of Thor which is an excellent description of Thor from the beginning.

It's nice to see Hawkeye making a cameo (even though it is not in full costume)

3D wasn't anything special but I still enjoy it. I will watch again without 3D tomorrow

Loki will return in the Avengers. Maybe Enchantress or Scarlet Witch will appear in Avengers laugh.gif
t(-_-t)
post May 1 2011, 12:22 AM

59 posts

thor... is ok. i was very excited to see it, but my expectations were let down unfortunately.
its no batman begins or IM imo. and the 3d is a fkn ripoff. i felt like i was putting on the glasses just to watch it in 2d... ><"

its was... ok. the 94% rating on RT really deceived me ><"
utar_boy
post May 1 2011, 12:53 AM

127 posts

this movie 9/10

So full of testerone, full of man-li-ness

Epic

make u want to grow long hair and dye it gold rclxm9.gif

maybe he dont want thor to know he is from the ice breed sweat.gif
legendofhafiz
post May 1 2011, 01:04 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(utar_boy @ May 1 2011, 12:53 AM)

maybe he dont want thor to know he is from the ice breed sweat.gif
nope. he has bigger plan to conquer the midguard and making Thor suffers from inside (and obviously a plot for Avengers movie)
Mgsrulz
post May 1 2011, 03:19 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

Caught the movie a few hours ago,absolutely LOVED hawkeye's cameo!
Was expecting him to just strike a pose and shoot/Wait for orders,didn't think he'd actually have lines! laugh.gif

hairyLGS
post May 1 2011, 10:48 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ May 1 2011, 03:19 AM)
Caught the movie a few hours ago,absolutely LOVED hawkeye's cameo!
Was expecting him to just strike a pose and shoot/Wait for orders,didn't think he'd actually have lines! laugh.gif
Times have change in Hollywood laugh.gif

I was really hoping for him to even shoot tongue.gif
Mgsrulz
post May 1 2011, 11:22 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ May 1 2011, 10:48 AM)
Times have change in Hollywood  laugh.gif

I was really hoping for him to even shoot  tongue.gif
laugh.gif me too!
But it makes sense why he didn't-it's Thor's movie,so Thor can't die..
And it's Hawkeye-they can't make him shoot and miss,what would that say about his skills? laugh.gif
danger46
post May 1 2011, 11:32 AM

123 posts

If hawk eye shoot and miss, then no point sheild need him anymore lol
tonYe
post May 1 2011, 12:28 PM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

Lacks of solid script but impressive special effects and action scenes. The charm and performance of Chris Hemsworth would captivate any viewer. However, the storyline lacks of patience, emotion and surprise. How Thor manages to mature from the person he was all his life in his short period of banishment from Asgard is a little illogic.
Klesk
post May 1 2011, 02:51 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(Frankmiller92 @ Apr 30 2011, 09:23 PM)
I guess he didn't really want to kill his brother? I wouldn't consider him a villain at all.

laowai
post May 1 2011, 03:13 PM

490 posts

I didn't really understood the sneak scene.

Did it mean the Doctor was Loki in disguise? Or was loki just hiding and spying?

What was in the briefcase that is related to AVENGERS ... some power source?

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Apr 30 2011, 07:11 PM)
thank god of thunder i wait with the few nerds to watch the ending whistling.gif .. all left laugh.gif after the foo fighters walk and some movie soundtrack u will see the ending .

you can watch crappy youtube if u miss it wink.gif

hairyLGS
post May 1 2011, 03:20 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ May 1 2011, 03:13 PM)

Did it mean the Doctor was Loki in disguise? Or was loki just hiding and spying?

Read back a few pages - already explained...
laowai
post May 1 2011, 03:49 PM

490 posts

The answer found from google .....

So in the last scene of the movie Dr. Selvig played by Stellan Skarsgård meets up with Nick Fury played by Samuel L. Jackson, in some kind of government S.H.I.E.L.D. location. Fury is standing in front of a table with a large metal box/case on it. They go on to discuss some recent discoveries that Selvig has made in relation to some of the alternate universes. Fury then asks Selvig for his advice on something… and that’s what is in the case on the table. Fury opens up the case and inside is the the Tesseract or Cosmic Cube linking the film to Captain America. Selvig then asks what is it, Fury tells him that it is a source of incredible power. After he says this the camera moves a bit revealing what is supposed to be Selvig’s reflection, but it’s not. Instead we see a reflection of Loki played by Tom Hiddleston. So Loki is actually possessing Selvig. Loki responds to Fury with… “That’s very interesting…” Boom, end.

QUOTE(laowai @ May 1 2011, 03:13 PM)

n00b13
post May 1 2011, 04:42 PM

364 posts

I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say that most of the people who didn't like it watched it in 3D.

Proof once again that 3D is just a gimmick and a waste of money. whistling.gif

soonlee33
post May 1 2011, 06:19 PM

2,677 posts

son of Odin totally rocks~
good job, and my mother was amazed by the scene of Asgard city
DEz012
post May 1 2011, 06:25 PM

574 posts

I rate this movie 5/10. Nothing much or special on the story and action scene but ok for acting. Don't now why rate 95% seems like deceiving.

Don't waste your money on 3D nothing special, actually i have no intention of watching 3d as the sound system on non 3D JB cinema sound terrible.

wiNd
post May 1 2011, 06:26 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

average script but entertaining movie...biggrin.gif 7.5/10

This post has been edited by wiNd: May 1 2011, 06:26 PM
ge5undhe17
post May 1 2011, 09:39 PM

Ohh, Cosmic cube. I thought it was an Allspark. Fucuk yeah transformers!

I like the galaxy travel scene at the end. So layan watch with 3D specs.
bro bro
post May 1 2011, 11:01 PM

177 posts

Awesome ~ movie
utar_boy
post May 2 2011, 12:31 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(ge5undhe17 @ May 1 2011, 09:39 PM)
Ohh, Cosmic cube. I thought it was an Allspark. Fucuk yeah transformers!

I like the galaxy travel scene at the end. So layan watch with 3D specs.
optimus prime join avengers?

I CONCUR flex.gif
Holyboy27
post May 2 2011, 01:12 AM

843 posts

The movie is awesome but if you're paying for 3D, you'd get to see floating subtitles (only)!

Watched this awesome movie again! I can't get enough!

Feels like being blonde.
ashburn98
post May 2 2011, 09:38 AM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

thor went shirtless i went jealous
hairyLGS
post May 2 2011, 11:05 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ May 2 2011, 09:38 AM)
What's with Thor going "shirtless with jealousy" going around?!?

Has anyone seen Ryan Gosling shirtless too??? sweat.gif
Sniperwolf1987
post May 2 2011, 11:44 AM

 No iPhone No Life 
1,251 posts

cant wait for thor, ironman, hulk and captain america in a movie together !

hans7474
post May 2 2011, 11:54 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ May 2 2011, 11:44 AM)
cant wait for thor, ironman, hulk and captain america in a movie together !
next year, the avengers!!
whoopa
post May 2 2011, 05:50 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

thor is thorawesome man lol
aieazuri
post May 2 2011, 07:31 PM

59 posts

A great movie for me!! i think chris hemsworth successfully portrayed the Thor's role=)!!

soul2soul
post May 2 2011, 07:39 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I want moar Thor 2 please!!
defaultname365
post May 2 2011, 08:02 PM

1,098 posts

My review of "Thor"...

Watched it today, so it's still fresh in my mind.

So, it all started with "OK, yet another comic book character made into a movie." When the trailer was released, I thought "Pfft... whatever. It is just fists and all out action."

When the reviews came in particularly from RT, I was quite surprised. After the abysmal movie I watched previously, I was sure to watch any movies with "critics reviews first, then viewer response."

In other words, the early critical response was the ultimate reason I decided to watch this. Originally I had no interest in watching this, and the trailer did not make it any better since I felt "Captain America" was going to beat this.

The Story
The plot here is kept simple, sharp and mildly engrossing. I comes close to hitting the 'sweet spot', say of "Spider-Man" or even "Iron Man" but it holds up very well. Daftly directed by Kenneth Branagh, I must say, well done.
The plot definitely keeps the movie going in the right direction. I loved how they started the movie - the war, Asgard, then cut right back to Earth. So casual movie goers would be like "Ahh.... that's how Thor ends up on Earth." That's how you keep the audience fascinated and intrigued. "Thor" caters to both hardcore fans and casual movie goers. It doesn't divide them. The movie also never takes itself too seriously, something most Hollywood movies these days are struggling to keep out. Everyone wants to go "darker, grittier and meaner". "Thor" definitely takes itself light-heartedly and delivers quite a bit of humor, injected at the right moment. I have to add, even when superhero movies have humor, it usually isn't even funny... probably earning a smile, but here, there are actual laughs. Again, something recent Hollywood action flicks are lacking.

The Pace
Relentless at times especially the action sequences, and it does very well to let you take a breather. Nothing ever feels overly done or exhaustive. It just feels right. Most movies these days tend to give you non-stop action sequences claiming it would make the movie "epic". "Thor" surprisingly pulls itself back at times, restraining from going all-out crazy. Nice one and quite a rarity in action movies of recent times.

The Acting Performances
Nice casting. Chris Hemsworth absolutely nailed the "nature" of Thor and played him very well. It didn't have to take a brilliant actor to play Thor, it just takes a rugged, disheveled and brute person. The fact that Chris did more than that is brilliant. If Iron Man worked big time because of Robert Downey Jr., then without doubt, Thor worked because of Chris Hemsworth. I was quite surprised by Loki, played by Tom Hiddleston. He absolutely delivered a great performance considering how the character of Loki has to deal with his past and present self. The character Odin could have easily been overdone, or overplayed, but Anthony Hopkins did justice. Good stuff. It could have gone very wrong for Mr Hopkins, or it could have gone very right, for the character he plays. Fortunately, it was the latter.

Overall
Let's see- a good plot, great cast, nice action sequences, light-hearted, non-disappointing ending. This itself, warrants the movie a nice 8 out of 10. I'll add 0.5 because it surpassed my expectations... smile.gif

FINAL VERDICT
Definitely worth your money. It's comic book character done right in movies like these that give hope to future Hollywood movie makers wanting to make beloved characters into live action. Kenneth Branagh definitely deserves a pat on his back for job well done. It may not be the most supreme superhero movie, but it gets it right for most part. "Captain America" - - can this summer movie be on par with "Thor" ? If it does, brilliant.

8.5/10

mls_gamer
post May 2 2011, 08:07 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ May 2 2011, 08:02 PM)
My review of "Thor"...

Watched it today, so it's still fresh in my mind.

So, it all started with "OK, yet another comic book character made into a movie." When the trailer was released, I thought "Pfft... whatever. It is just fists and all out action."

When the reviews came in particularly from RT, I was quite surprised. After the abysmal movie I watched previously, I was sure to watch any movies with "critics reviews first, then viewer response." 

In other words, the early critical response was the ultimate reason I decided to watch this. Originally I had no interest in watching this, and the trailer did not make it any better since I felt "Captain America" was going to beat this.

The Story
The plot here is kept simple, sharp and mildly engrossing. I comes close to hitting the 'sweet spot', say of "Spider-Man" or even "Iron Man" but it holds up very well. Daftly directed by Kenneth Branagh, I must say, well done.
The plot definitely keeps the movie going in the right direction. I loved how they started the movie - the war, Asgard, then cut right back to Earth. So casual movie goers would be like "Ahh.... that's how Thor ends up on Earth." That's how you keep the audience fascinated and intrigued. "Thor" caters to both hardcore fans and casual movie goers. It doesn't divide them. The movie also never takes itself too seriously, something most Hollywood movies these days are struggling to keep out. Everyone wants to go "darker, grittier and meaner". "Thor" definitely takes itself light-heartedly and delivers quite a bit of humor, injected at the right moment. I have to add, even when superhero movies have humor, it usually isn't even funny... probably earning a smile, but here, there are actual laughs. Again, something recent Hollywood action flicks are lacking.

The Pace
Relentless at times especially the action sequences, and it does very well to let you take a breather. Nothing ever feels overly done or exhaustive. It just feels right. Most movies these days tend to give you non-stop action sequences claiming it would make the movie "epic". "Thor" surprisingly pulls itself back at times, restraining from going all-out crazy. Nice one and quite a rarity in action movies of recent times.

The Acting Performances
Nice casting. Chris Hemsworth absolutely nailed the "nature" of Thor and played him very well. It didn't have to take a brilliant actor to play Thor, it just takes a rugged, disheveled and brute person. The fact that Chris did more than that is brilliant. If Iron Man worked big time because of Robert Downey Jr., then without doubt, Thor worked because of Chris Hemsworth. I was quite surprised by Loki, played by Tom Hiddleston. He absolutely delivered a great performance considering how the character of Loki has to deal with his past and present self. The character Odin could have easily been overdone, or overplayed, but Anthony Hopkins did justice. Good stuff. It could have gone very wrong for Mr Hopkins, or it could have gone very right, for the character he plays. Fortunately, it was the latter. 

Overall
Let's see- a good plot, great cast, nice action sequences, light-hearted, non-disappointing ending. This itself, warrants the movie a nice 8 out of 10. I'll add 0.5 because it surpassed my expectations...  smile.gif

FINAL VERDICT
Definitely worth your money. It's comic book character done right in movies like these that give hope to future Hollywood movie makers wanting to make beloved characters into live action. Kenneth Branagh definitely deserves a pat on his back for job well done. It may not be the most supreme superhero movie, but it gets it right for most part. "Captain America" - - can this summer movie be on par with "Thor" ? If it does, brilliant.

8.5/10

Frankmiller92
post May 2 2011, 08:23 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(aieazuri @ May 2 2011, 07:31 PM)
A great movie for me!! i think chris hemsworth successfully portrayed the Thor's role=)!!

Chris Hemsworth IS THOR!

Added on May 2, 2011, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 1 2011, 04:42 PM)
I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say that most of the people who didn't like it watched it in 3D.

Proof once again that 3D is just a gimmick and a waste of money.  whistling.gif
If it was used properly like for Avatar or Drive Angry or Tron: Legacy it enchances the experience. But don't settle for post-conversion crap by studios who wants to make a quick buck.

This post has been edited by Frankmiller92: May 2 2011, 08:27 PM
utar_boy
post May 2 2011, 09:49 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(ashburn98 @ May 2 2011, 09:38 AM)
agree

with that body girls would go crazy for me
+Newbie+
post May 2 2011, 10:23 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

Goddamn ... i liked it ... i really, really liked it!!

This is a good movie, folks. Go and watch it.

"I am the mighty THO- urgghhhhh" biggrin.gif
eric.tangps
post May 2 2011, 10:37 PM

640 posts

I prefer ... I need a Horse from a petshop.
vivienne85
post May 2 2011, 10:38 PM

360 posts

luv it...4/5

p.s. chris hemsworth's bod is so drool.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by vivienne85: May 2 2011, 10:45 PM
Mgsrulz
post May 2 2011, 11:05 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ May 1 2011, 02:51 PM)

shinjite
post May 2 2011, 11:07 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Chris hemsworth's body really ganas man...lol
maximus85
post May 2 2011, 11:15 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

Somehow i felt the climax of this movie can be better. It's just not good enuf.. probably becoz Thor is up against his own brother..

Added on May 2, 2011, 11:18 pmThor has been arrogant for all his life. To turn good in such a short time(1-2days?) is really not that convincing. Given that its a comic book adaption, i guess its fine...

This post has been edited by maximus85: May 2 2011, 11:18 PM
Scrambler
post May 3 2011, 12:02 AM

59 posts

Super Cool Movie !
Asgard was awesome!
realshinjae
post May 3 2011, 12:11 AM

88 posts

It is a great movie.
But I'll give 7.25/10.

Yeah, will be waiting for the avengers!!
huruhara
post May 3 2011, 02:00 AM

5 star porn
1,045 posts

hawkeye!!
quithrilius
post May 3 2011, 03:09 AM

110 posts

just watched it for the 2nd time .. noticed what could be a Dr Strange reference tho smile.gif
DrizzyDrake
post May 3 2011, 03:16 AM

180 posts

Thor is awesome. watched with gf few days back. we both liked it!
and i got my New Era x Thor cap coming too. smile.gif

ss6098
post May 3 2011, 09:44 AM

Watched it last night, damn it's good....

freefall
post May 3 2011, 11:17 AM

68 posts

for the time being all the comic characters movie are up too par. For me:

Hope movie will be awesome:
-Avengers
-Captain americe

Afraid movie not that good:
-Green Lantern

Hope do a reboot AGAIN:
-The Hulk

Fail all time:
Spiderman 3

Just my 2cent smile.gif
ate
post May 3 2011, 11:45 AM

629 posts

this is the most boring movie of the year :yawn: very bored till sleep halfway.
neo_lam
post May 3 2011, 12:19 PM

Player
1,921 posts

guys...is there any subtitles available in Thor 3D screening in Cathay Cineplex??
elv2k
post May 3 2011, 12:38 PM

388 posts

Don't know about Cathay, but there is subtitles in GSC 3D smile.gif
Listiani
post May 3 2011, 01:58 PM

I watched Thor last nite. I was dissapointed because I expected a lot of action and fighting. But not much. Here n there only. The character does not develop properly within Thor & Jane when Thor was in exile.
whoopa
post May 3 2011, 02:43 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

no way the movie can be so long till years only thor become good what lol .. its a movie comic so many episodes. if too long ppl will get bored too lol
Hexlord
post May 3 2011, 02:44 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(freefall @ May 3 2011, 11:17 AM)
for the time being all the comic characters movie are up too par. For me:

Hope movie will be awesome:
-Avengers
-Captain americe

Afraid movie not that good:
-Green Lantern

Hope do a reboot AGAIN:
-The Hulk

Fail all time:
Spiderman 3

Just my 2cent smile.gif
Hahaha, I quite agreed on the Spiderman 3 bit... doh.gif
Listiani
post May 3 2011, 02:52 PM

At least another 30 minuteslah. So shortlah the movie.

QUOTE(whoopa @ May 3 2011, 02:43 PM)
no way the movie can be so long till years only thor become good what lol .. its a movie comic so many episodes. if too long ppl will get bored too lol
BWV1007
post May 3 2011, 02:52 PM

Seen it twice, thinking of watching it for the last time. My only dissatisfaction for this film is that I think there was not enough scenes of Fandral. I love Fandral's character, and the shirtless scene was a plus.
n00b13
post May 3 2011, 03:32 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ May 3 2011, 02:52 PM)
At least another 30 minuteslah. So shortlah the movie.
It's already 1 hour 55 minutes long.

kding2
post May 3 2011, 08:51 PM

1,007 posts

Don't really enjoy this film. I think that Thor's character development was a bit rushed. He become a nice guy/hero way too quickly. At least let him live in human world for a few months before the Destroyer attack.
William Somerset
post May 3 2011, 09:05 PM

49 posts

Personally, it was an average movie and nothing more than that. I would say that the actor who played Loki was quite good. Not only did Hawkeye made an appearance, he even delivered few lines! It was ok la.

But Thor's Sister is hot!
quithrilius
post May 3 2011, 09:17 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(William Somerset @ May 3 2011, 09:05 PM)
Personally, it was an average movie and nothing more than that. I would say that the actor who played Loki was quite good. Not only did Hawkeye made an appearance, he even delivered few lines! It was ok la.

But Thor's Sister is hot!
Sif's not Thor's sister...
shinjite
post May 3 2011, 09:22 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Since when Lady Sif is his sister ~_~
ZeneticX
post May 3 2011, 10:37 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Sif should be Heimdallr's sister

Added on May 3, 2011, 10:44 pm
QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ May 2 2011, 10:23 PM)

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ May 2 2011, 10:37 PM)

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 3 2011, 10:44 PM
utar_boy
post May 4 2011, 01:15 AM

127 posts

lol, thor so awesome with his blonde long hair.

any guys who try that hairstyle in real life will be labeled fag/ gay

awesome ppl can pull off anything
William Somerset
post May 4 2011, 09:12 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 3 2011, 09:22 PM)
Since when Lady Sif is his sister ~_~
QUOTE(quithrilius @ May 3 2011, 09:17 PM)
Sif's not Thor's sister...
Ops. She's not? My bad but she's hot though.
[kuaLe]_AGX
post May 4 2011, 09:21 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(William Somerset @ May 4 2011, 09:12 AM)
In comics she was Heimdall sis. But in movie i doubt so... biggrin.gif
soonlee33
post May 4 2011, 11:40 AM

2,677 posts

kinda used to watching jaimie alexander in kyle xy smile.gif
Listiani
post May 4 2011, 12:24 PM

Really?? The movie started at 945pm and ending at 1125pm. It is too short. Maybe because too many cuts I guess. Even if is 2 hours 30 minutes still ok because Harry Potter and several blockbuster movies play for 2 hours & 30 minutes or so.

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 3 2011, 03:32 PM)
It's already 1 hour 55 minutes long.

Added on May 4, 2011, 12:27 pmShe looks familiar but I don't remember which movie I saw her. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Listiani: May 4 2011, 12:27 PM
John Uskglass
post May 4 2011, 02:07 PM

quithrilius
post May 4 2011, 02:26 PM

110 posts

hahaha if she was.. and they decide to put her in the avengers or thor2 .. you'll be like blink.gif shocking.gif
cause stuff happens in the comics laugh.gif
babyface_neo
post May 4 2011, 02:38 PM

QUOTE(utar_boy @ May 4 2011, 01:15 AM)
lol, thor so awesome with his blonde long hair.

any guys who try that hairstyle in real life will be labeled fag/ gay

awesome ppl can pull off anything
if you have his bodybuild, the gay label can throw to dustbin d kakaka
pjpumper
post May 4 2011, 03:07 PM

78 posts

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/MARVEL-SELECT-THOR-...=item2eb4f73af8

hi bro! for the marvel select 7 inch figure, does anyone know what is the sword Heimdall is using? is it Odinsword?
stormlcc
post May 4 2011, 03:58 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

jaimie alexander = M. Jackson without a dxck

p.s i'm supposed to type d-i-c-k, without the dash, but i think LYN censored it, let's try:

d***
d***

how am i supposed to post my friend's name if he's named d*** tracey

stupid............

let's try fxck

f***

this is sooooo NOT cool, fxcking rules

This post has been edited by stormlcc: May 4 2011, 04:03 PM
fion4891
post May 4 2011, 04:50 PM

Looking at Chris Hemsworth's body alone is worth the ticket already plus Natalie is so pretty. I not yet watch but the trailers makes me Mmm Mmmm.
Holyboy27
post May 4 2011, 05:49 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ May 4 2011, 03:58 PM)
jaimie alexander = M. Jackson without a dxck

p.s i'm supposed to type d-i-c-k, without the dash, but i think LYN censored it, let's try:

d***
d***

how am i supposed to post my friend's name if he's named d*** tracey

stupid............

let's try fxck

f***

this is sooooo NOT cool, fxcking rules
*ahem* senior member already, baru tau?

QUOTE(fion4891 @ May 4 2011, 04:50 PM)
Looking at Chris Hemsworth's body alone is worth the ticket already plus Natalie is so pretty. I not yet watch but the trailers makes me Mmm Mmmm.
Word.
QuickFire
post May 4 2011, 10:31 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Decent flick... exactly as I expected- very formulaic but executed competently enough. I prefer Iron Man though (and even that wasn't a great movie). Iron Man had better performances and character writing. Chris Hemsworth is a charming guy, but his charms do taper off slightly as the movies moves along. Not to mention Thor's transformation on earth is never convincing, and while individually both Hemsworth and Portman are very good, they don't generate chemistry between them.. unlike say Stark and Peppers. One thing I loved about Stark is how he was actually just as arrogant as he was before the transformation. Thor's arrogance and by extension his charms disappear after his "lesson". Screw that. And Loki, the friggin' god of mischief, was a bore.

That said Asgard looks so pretty, and most of what is good about the movie happens there.

Oh and I also prefer Fast Five over this. That was uneven but had some very bright spots. I'll take that over one that is consistently not bad but never moves up a gear ever.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: May 4 2011, 10:35 PM
afaris
post May 5 2011, 08:14 PM

160 posts

Damn good! Watch both Thor and Furious Five today!
opxo
post May 5 2011, 09:39 PM

109 posts

superb! cant wait for the avengers
ping325
post May 6 2011, 12:44 AM

Prudential Advisor
859 posts

this and fast 5 which one better ?
firedauz
post May 6 2011, 01:05 AM

876 posts

*burst into a pet shop*

I NEED A HORSE!

lol laugh.gif
swc881
post May 6 2011, 02:49 AM

90 posts

Hi there, is there any link to the video for Thor after credits scene?
Just watch the movie but miss it though, went to the youtube and found out it been removed ady sad.gif
stargazer_7
post May 6 2011, 11:56 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ May 6 2011, 12:44 AM)
For me I prefer Fast Five...
Simply more thrilling...
n00b13
post May 6 2011, 12:50 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(ping325 @ May 6 2011, 12:44 AM)
You can only watch one meh? biggrin.gif

firedauz
post May 6 2011, 03:24 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 6 2011, 12:50 PM)
You can only watch one meh?  biggrin.gif
^ this rclxms.gif
defaultname365
post May 6 2011, 08:05 PM

1,098 posts

And so "Thor" settles for 82% on RT as expected after 136 reviews which still means the movie is really good.

I agree that the chemistry between Thor and Jane is not as believable as Tony Stark and Pepper Potts but I guess it's still fine.

miloy2k
post May 7 2011, 01:32 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 6 2011, 01:05 AM)
*burst into a pet shop*

I NEED A HORSE!

lol laugh.gif
XD enjoy the show .. 4 out of 5 smile.gif

Added on May 7, 2011, 1:32 ami predict their will be a real action movie whereby all the marvel character are in soon laugh.gif

This post has been edited by miloy2k: May 7 2011, 01:32 AM
madcrow
post May 7 2011, 03:12 PM

39 posts

A 58% on Metacritic seems just about right
SUSb3rnard7
post May 7 2011, 05:42 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ May 6 2011, 01:05 AM)
*burst into a pet shop*

I NEED A HORSE!

lol laugh.gif
is this renaissance era?

we have xena, jackie chan and robin hood

defaultname365
post May 7 2011, 07:01 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(madcrow @ May 7 2011, 03:12 PM)
A 58% on Metacritic seems just about right
I read the mixed reviews there and... oddly most seem to be good reviews tongue.gif Most blaming the script and characters/myth-meets-reality execution.

Razaelx
post May 7 2011, 07:28 PM

219 posts

best movie i've seen in a while thumbup.gif

8.5/10

but got few questions:

next movie: fast five biggrin.gif

btw i watch it at GSC tropicana city, sound system really suck yo doh.gif mad.gif

This post has been edited by Razaelx: May 7 2011, 07:34 PM
blur_goofy
post May 7 2011, 08:58 PM

354 posts

Movie was entertaining but a lil anti climatic for my taste. Fast fivE was a better movie so far.
SUSb3rnard7
post May 7 2011, 10:55 PM

kanpeki na CHEONGSTER yo!
1,023 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ May 7 2011, 07:28 PM)
best movie i've seen in a while  thumbup.gif

8.5/10
but got few questions:

next movie: fast five biggrin.gif

btw i watch it at GSC tropicana city, sound system really suck yo doh.gif  mad.gif
u mean this?

but isnt loki is dead? or he fell into another place/location?
Razaelx
post May 7 2011, 11:16 PM

219 posts

^^yes that scene

i already know what inside that box, it called the cosmic cube, it gonna play a huge role in the Captain America movie

n as for Loki, i think he fell to earth and SPOILERS:

i got it from here n again, contain spoilers
http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/joshw24/news/?a=36700

but i still cant brain about that eric selving guy, was he in trance by Loki or is he evil and working for Loki all along ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Razaelx: May 7 2011, 11:22 PM
mitodna
post May 8 2011, 01:36 AM

14,039 posts

Is there a different way to enter Asgard? Loki mention he knows the place, means Thor can go back to Earth?
Razaelx
post May 8 2011, 01:41 AM

219 posts

from this site
http://splashpage.mtv.com/2011/05/06/thor-movie-easter-eggs/

ODIN'S VAULT: Early in the movie, we get a peek inside Odin's vault of treasures from around Asgard and beyond. Some early rumors had one of the items pegged as the Eye of Agamotto, the magic amulet used by Doctor Strange. Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige recently shot down that rumor, but said there are definitely a few items comic fans will recognize in the vault — as well as an empty spot where something very important should be

anyone know what empty spot they talking about ? what suppose to be there ? hmm.gif
quithrilius
post May 8 2011, 02:22 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(Razaelx @ May 8 2011, 01:41 AM)
from this site
http://splashpage.mtv.com/2011/05/06/thor-movie-easter-eggs/

ODIN'S VAULT: Early in the movie, we get a peek inside Odin's vault of treasures from around Asgard and beyond. Some early rumors had one of the items pegged as the Eye of Agamotto, the magic amulet used by Doctor Strange. Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige recently shot down that rumor, but said there are definitely a few items comic fans will recognize in the vault — as well as an empty spot where something very important should be
anyone know what empty spot they talking about ? what suppose to be there ? hmm.gif
Nah.. it was confirmed it wasnt the eye.. bummer.
utar_boy
post May 9 2011, 12:22 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ May 8 2011, 01:36 AM)
Is there a different way to enter Asgard? Loki mention he knows the place, means Thor can go back to Earth?
dont worry, in hollywood, there is always a way.

for example, Dusts shove inside a socks can revive a robot

freefall
post May 9 2011, 11:27 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(utar_boy @ May 9 2011, 12:22 AM)
Dusts shove inside a socks can revive a robot
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Razaelx
post May 9 2011, 06:36 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(quithrilius @ May 8 2011, 02:22 AM)
Nah.. it was confirmed it wasnt the eye.. bummer.
how bout that "empty spot where something very important should be" ?

what suppose to be there ? hmm.gif icon_question.gif
mrsmile
post May 10 2011, 02:54 PM

606 posts

Awesome movie! liked almost everything the visual effect was amazing.

btw, does anyone know why thor destroyed the bridge? the part where loki wanted to destroy jotunheim (the frost giant realm)
n00b13
post May 10 2011, 03:00 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(mrsmile @ May 10 2011, 02:54 PM)
btw, does anyone know why thor destroyed the bridge? the part where loki wanted to destroy jotunheim (the frost giant realm)
Hard to understand meh? The bridge is the weapon that's destroying Jotunheim.

mrsmile
post May 10 2011, 03:02 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 10 2011, 03:00 PM)
Hard to understand meh? The bridge is the weapon that's destroying Jotunheim.
no i dont mean the wormhole bridge (bifrost) i mean the colorful bridge where thor placed his hammer on loki. that bridge.

n00b13
post May 10 2011, 03:24 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(mrsmile @ May 10 2011, 03:02 PM)
no i dont mean the wormhole bridge (bifrost) i mean the colorful bridge where thor placed his hammer on loki. that bridge.
That one was like a power cable lah. biggrin.gif

mrsmile
post May 10 2011, 03:30 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ May 10 2011, 03:24 PM)
That one was like a power cable lah.  biggrin.gif
if that's the power cable, whats the source? haha tongue.gif
Kyoyagami
post May 16 2011, 03:52 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Thor and Fast Five measure up quite nicely. So its still 2 good movies altogether.
mrsmile
post May 17 2011, 07:19 PM

606 posts

my friends said its not nice. totally predictable sad.gif
HeavenNirvana
post May 17 2011, 09:42 PM

849 posts

QUOTE(mrsmile @ May 17 2011, 07:19 PM)
Well its a comic superhero. The story is of course predictable. As long its entertaining I don't mind.....
Mgsrulz
post May 17 2011, 10:16 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

ofcourse it's predictable! laugh.gif what were you expecting?

an arrogant warrior gets sent to earth to learn humility..you can guess the ending from that statement alone!
utar_boy
post May 18 2011, 12:59 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ May 17 2011, 10:16 PM)
ofcourse it's predictable! laugh.gif what were you expecting?

an arrogant warrior gets sent to earth to learn humility..you can guess the ending from that statement alone!
maybe wake up from coma and he is a doctor, with a nurse, but from a dream

within a dream
faiz21
post May 18 2011, 02:19 AM

266 posts

awesome!!! biggrin.gif
n00b13
post May 18 2011, 10:56 AM

364 posts

If your friends thought Thor was predictable but they liked Priest, please give them one tight slap. rolleyes.gif

Kyoyagami
post May 18 2011, 11:43 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I can;t imagine anyone liking Priest. Its just WAY TOO SIMPLE. haha.

Btw noobie, i think the character development part of Thor, I think because of death he just changed drastically. We did see his chivalry parts when he landed on Earth, amidst having a proud feeling of himself.

But hey, at least its not Priest. haha.
mrsmile
post May 18 2011, 12:31 PM

606 posts

Thor was awesome overall except the part where thor fight destroyer. it is too quick. should make destroyer more of a challenge for thor. maybe that's the part my friends think demerits the movie.

Dont get me wrong, but i've watched this movie twice. so that goes to show how nice i think it is biggrin.gif
lopo90
post May 18 2011, 02:07 PM

695 posts

this drink i like. ANOTHER!!! (THROWS CUP ON THE FLOOR)
danger46
post May 18 2011, 10:42 PM

123 posts

ANOTHER!!!
phat_ox
post May 18 2011, 11:40 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ May 18 2011, 02:07 PM)
this drink i like. ANOTHER!!! (THROWS CUP ON THE FLOOR)
Love that part. Wonder what will happen if I try for real in a bar sweat.gif
The movie is way better than priest imho nod.gif
mrsmile
post May 19 2011, 10:43 AM

606 posts

i need a horse!
Rachel.Heart
post May 19 2011, 12:35 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(phat_ox @ May 18 2011, 11:40 PM)
Love that part. Wonder what will happen if I try for real in a bar  sweat.gif
The movie is way better than priest imho  nod.gif
probably you'll get kicked out? and have to pay damages? smile.gif

it's a really great movie. was never much a comic book fan.

but it was a worth to watch movie, very entertaining.

and does not have muck talking. smile.gif
hairyLGS
post May 21 2011, 08:44 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/not-that-it...ster-egg-scene/

Not That it Matters, But Joss Whedon Directed That Thor Easter Egg Scene

If you’ve seen “Thor”, you already know what happens at the end of the film, post-credits. If you haven’t, and for some reason are still waiting to see the movie (sheesh, it’s only been out what, for three weeks now?), then consider the below SPOILERS. You have been warned.

…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..
…..

So, at the end of “Thor”, there is a minute-long scene where Professor Selvig (played by Stellan Skarsgard) meets up with SHIELD’s Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), who has something to show Selvig. It is eventually revealed that Selvig was being manipulated by Loki (Tom Hiddleston), believed dead at the end of “Thor”, but let’s face it, villains don’t die in comic books, and they certainly don’t die in comic book movies.

I think most people assumed that Kenneth Branagh, the director of “Thor”, also directed that easter egg scene above. But according to Skarsgard, who tells Empire that it was actually Joss Whedon, and that they shot the scene only a “few months ago”, probably to ensure that the secret didn’t leak out to the Interwebs so quickly.

The scene itself isn’t so outstanding that it really matters who directed it, but you know, in case you were wondering, it was Whedon, who is currently directing “The Avengers”, a movie that will feature Selvig, Fury, and Loki.

Mov_freak
post Sep 10 2011, 06:06 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Thor (2011) (Bluray)

I just rewatched Thor on Bluray and have to say, it improves with multiple viewing!!

Just a quick note, please watch the special feature, Marvel One-Shot: The Contractor!!! It is SO funny!!

Enjoy!! smile.gif
voon25
post Sep 10 2011, 10:51 PM

107 posts

poor movie...looks like a labourer than a hero. Only Portman looks good in this movie.

0.1310sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:06 AM