GUINEA PIGS CORNER V2, Kiut Kiut Kawaii~

Jamien
post Jun 17 2008, 01:18 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(tee_jay @ Jun 17 2008, 01:06 AM)
hi all.. i do have a question 2 ask...
where n what toy u guys give 2 GPs 2 play???
is it those like 4 sugat glider's one???
sweat.gif It's really sad but none of my GPs ever play the toys I get for them, be it a ball, any cat toy or chew toys. I think they'll like tunnels though.
Jamien
post Jun 17 2008, 07:14 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 17 2008, 06:32 PM)
LOL... the Toby pet seller cheat me...
i think he don know...

that my GP is male.. not female...
argh... i just went to Pet Shack and check out...
zzzzzzzz...
sweat.gif Not so much as cheat you. Just that they DON'T KNOW how to differentiate the genders. As silver mentioned, go back and tell him you got the wrong gender and ask to change (if you want).
Jamien
post Jun 17 2008, 10:28 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(mac_osXX @ Jun 17 2008, 09:38 PM)
Here is mine bought 1 months ago.Which type my GPs actually...sheltie , peruvian or what.really dont know here and sorry for noob question. hmm.gif
wub.gif OMG it's so cute! It's an abysinnian. The marking on its face is so special! Kinda like mine lar, one side white one side brown, the rest of the body brown. Except my Micheri's face has more white than brown.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 17 2008, 10:29 PM
Jamien
post Jun 17 2008, 10:42 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(MooZz @ Jun 17 2008, 10:30 PM)
haha...i think is abby...
n mayb got mix abit...
really not sure
wub.gif It really reminds me of my Micheri so much. Come, give us a short description of her? Her food intake Her personality?
Jamien
post Jun 17 2008, 11:27 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Jun 17 2008, 11:24 PM)
lol... ya cute cute... how old is it?

er... by the way, where did u all buy the the the...
call what d...
carpet? the floor that u all put in the cage...
blush.gif I don't use it since my Micheri doesn't like to step on it. Plus she uses a toilet so no point put.

You can get it from hardware stores. Like Ace Hardware. I saw it on sale that day some 1 week ago.
Jamien
post Jun 17 2008, 11:54 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(mac_osXX @ Jun 17 2008, 11:46 PM)
Ur Micheri's and mine look similar and I think both is same type.Very lucky all of u Peninsular M people coz im fom Sabah so as u all know very hard to find pets  here .If have  its very pricey.bought my GP's maybe 2 x what u pay but I dont care coz it very cute  sweat.gif I dont know to much about this GP's but as I know  mine is very2 shy boy.feed him vege like carrot ,cucumber and lalang of coz .Ur Ferrero is so cute,love it ...
smile.gif Thanks. but Ferrero is a syrian hamster.

You sur it's a boy? blink.gif Apa lalang. We're suppose to give hay ar. Not the ones we pick on the side of the road. I do hope you're not giving your boy that. What's his name btw?
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 01:13 AM

2,647 posts

Not really. I know they'd greet me when I wake up.

Guys, there's 3 GPs up for adoption. Anyone wants them better pm the guy and grab em.
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 12:32 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 18 2008, 03:19 AM)
since I joined LYN...
each and every day i started to haunt many threads to found out that there are lots of animal lovers here!!! and.. it made me go crazy  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

1st.. hedgehog because I'd loved them long before I join here and finally got one from a nice breeder...
2nd.. gliders... have became so addicted to them but unfortunately I'm not ready for the commitment as I can't provide a stable house  cry.gif
3rd... maltese.. well. this confirm to get one but not within these years  tongue.gif
4th... syrian.. became that day go hunt with Jamien n hun.. lolx
5th... which is now.. guinea pig..  drool.gif

I guess.. If i have money now.. surely will buy all in one shoot and prepare to made my self busy with pets..  laugh.gif

anyway.... just came in here and found out that guinea pigs are lovely  wub.gif  wub.gif
saw many piggie in pyramid before but never knew they actually are very lovely~~~~
now.. wanna ask some questions after i finish reading all from the 1st page  sweat.gif

1. For 1 pig if i used cage that for rabbit can ar? like the one petshack have...
2. Is it possible to have only 1 gp? cuz I dun think I have space for 2 pigs... ><
3. Any different between male n female? I mean which one is easier to handle?
4. Hmm... what else??  hmm.gif

Well.. these Q 1st then.. sorry if this has been asked before... maybe it pass through my eyes when reading it  sweat.gif

Jamien : gp or syrians?  brows.gif
sharil : next time bring ur gp to petshack!!! xD let me play play like hun's keera to gave me more feeling  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif Muchan~ you also kena poison here? Hehe... Anything you can message me mar. Actually myself also kena poison suggie dy but no space and no parents permission yet. gotta wait for next time.

For your Qs:
1. As long as the cage is barred on the top for ventilation and the bottom part is basically like a rectangle with no bars, then you can use it. The ventilation is important to prevent heat stroke and the flooring area cannot have bars or it'll cause the GPs to develop bumblefoot, which is a infection of sorts. Any shape or design of the cage is otherwise fine.

2.Yes it's possible to have 1 GP only as long as you give it attention. You will become its only source of companionship. sweat.gif And maybe some like my house punya Kiki don't like other GP so must stay alone. But all my GPs are housed seperately.

3. hmm.gif I think the difference is just size. Males are bigger. And I read that males MIGHT mark their cages. It's a funny smelling greasy thing their body produce to mark territory. This is a might because I don't know anyone's GP who actually marks their cages.

4. GPs are herbivours. They only eat vege. Don't give meat lo. They are like us in the sense that their body don't produce vitamin c on their own, so we mus give through vegetables and fruits. Must give hay to keep teeth in proper size and digestion healthy. Can toilet train. Can bathe. Can let you hug hug and touch.

What else you wanna know? hehe...

Muchan, I like both syrians and GPs lor. Hehe... Syrians are cute, nice to see and have fun with. GPs are better for company. Can put on your lap when you watch tv. Seem to better understand you by the things you do. It will know you're scolding because it did something wrong. It will pay attention when you talk.

wub.gif And you should see my Micheri. When I lie down watch tv put her on my stomach, she will slowly slowly step by step start climbing up to my face. sweat.gif She think I dunno she doing that. Then she'll groom my face.

Go get one lar. Hehe...

Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 12:47 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(tina_yess @ Jun 18 2008, 12:44 PM)
piggies can watch tv together?? can give attention to the owner???? OMG, this is what i'm looking for!!!
sweat.gif Err... Yeah. But don't expect them to be like dogs lar. biggrin.gif You really should see my Micheri. When I bring her up to my computer room, she'll watch the screen when I watch anime and turn away when I stop watching. She'd sometimes lick the messenger chatbox area on the screen. Kinda funny.

wub.gif But if you want to talk about attention, they'll squeel squeel in the morning when they see you for food and sometimes company. One of their features that I like so much.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 18 2008, 12:49 PM
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 12:54 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(gchin_st @ Jun 18 2008, 12:48 PM)
and also, gp not only easy to take care, looks cute, pet-able n pamper-able, well responding to owner, and also hav unique personality on each of them... evry piggies hav thier own characteristic... n is sooo adorable when u see them show different characteristic...  wub.gif
biggrin.gif Gosh, i couldn't agree more.

Girl girl is the biggest GP in my house. She responds EXTREMELY well when you're holding food. It's like she'll burst right out of her cage to be with you (and the food). biggrin.gif

Kiki is very independant. She likes to wander around o her own. And she gets jealous very easily. sweat.gif Once, she wouldn't eat her vege because my sister was playing with someone else's GP and not her.

wub.gif My Micheri is the sweetest girl. She's never bitten anyone. You can hold her and play with her however you want. She likes licking faces (actually just mine). When you stroke stroke her and stop stroking a while, she'll groom you wherever she can like a signal to tell you "don't stop lar".

smile.gif Absolutely wonderful creatures.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 18 2008, 12:55 PM
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 09:05 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 18 2008, 08:50 PM)
What i know is if bleeding from rectal area they will be  UTI, Bladder Stones, Pyometra, Retained Placenta

Blood in the pee, squeaking while peeing, a serious and painful condition.
A vet should check your pet for a possible urinary tract infection (UTI) or problem with the bladder or kidneys. A sour smell could indicate a cyst, bladder or urinary tract infection, or stones.

Bladder stones are hard, stone-like structures which form in the bladder. Bladder sludge is a collection of gritty particles which form in the bladder. Stones can also form in the kidneys but this is less frequent and reportedly not treatable.

not sure what virus dat dr mean..

Added on June 18, 2008, 8:55 pmso pity la dat baby...

I don hav dis experience but i suggest to u , use syringe to drink him, so he will not dehydrate.( if he don know how to use drinking bottle.)
About the suitable milk, i don know if the free lactose type from kitten milk ok for him.

if he 10 days old, he already can eat solid food. Veggies also ok, but be careful... not all veggies suit for GP esp young one.

Cuddle him...
Yesh I agree. If both parents die with bleeding some more. there is someting serious going on. You need to bring it to a vet. ASAP. If he's still alive there may be chances he has a weaker strain of wateva killed the parents and can be saved.

For both the parents to die so rapidly, it''s serious.

If you're worried about the diet, I think you can feed the lactose free animal milk formula. Can get at pet shack and feed with a syringe. But I'm not sure if it'll take. Since it's lactose free it should be ok i think.

Otherwise, do provide lots of company and comfort.

@Sharil: wah, you highlighted my budget necessities. So proud le. Hehe...

@Muchan: Yeah, sharil explained nicely dy. There are many breeds of GP but only 4 is commonly available in Malaysia which is the American Satin (the one we call normal lar), the abysinian (the one with punk like hair), Sheltie and Peruvian.

If you like short hair I suggest you get normal or aby. I personally also like aby lar. My house the 3 ladies all aby. I still suggest you comb daily even wit short hair to keep the shedding minimal. The combing is really easy and can be done in 5 minutes. sweat.gif The long hairs like peruvian and sheltie will take longer.

blush.gif I honestly think you made the right choice for getting short hair since the care requirement for the fur is much less hassle.

p/s: I guarantee that syrians smell more than GPs. XD

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 18 2008, 09:06 PM
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 09:17 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 18 2008, 09:10 PM)
Yup , but i'm not sure the best one, u can ask other owners here.

Until now my GPs dont hav serious problem, so i just use my Dr Bergerak... tongue.gif

I also wanna know best Dr for GP.

They already told but I forget the Dr, sorry... tongue.gif

Just then i attach another GP care file.
Seniior Dr Yeoh in Taman Megah vet has experience with GPs. The one in Pet Safari was ok also. My girl girl cure already, from her incessant self barbering. sweat.gif The fur grow back but white instead of black.

Sharil sure need Dr bergerak. how to ship ALL your GPs to the vet le. hehe...

And I think you should just stick the budget plan i wrote at the front. no doubt "mght-be" or "wanna-be" owners of GP will want to know.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 18 2008, 09:20 PM
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 09:34 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 18 2008, 09:20 PM)
Jamien : means... indirectly... u suggest me to choose gp compare to syrian? laugh.gif
well... gp needs more companionship and I kinda like those who can sit well and feed back to me.. so I guess GP is the best choice smile.gif
now.. just wait till the time is right and I can proudly became one of the family here!!!

TJ came and shout out loud again..
I guess... sharil dun wan those ppl to know he gave a pair of GPs to TJ brows.gif
sweat.gif Well, they're different creatures. It's like comparing apples and oranges lar.

But if you compare smell only, GPs are less smelly.

tongue.gif I'm suggesting you join me and get both. I want a satin from hun anyway. Hehe...
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 09:46 PM

2,647 posts

This thread will still be open for TJ.

tongue.gif Just that Sharil won't pass his GPs to you.

Then get a GP lor. But GPs need bigger cage lar. Will take up some space.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 18 2008, 09:47 PM
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 09:50 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 18 2008, 09:49 PM)
We must strict to TJ.. hahaha... biggrin.gif

Remember TJ, the examination hall will be at pet shack hall. rolleyes.gif
Woah. If he fail you will trauma him for his whole life.

Why don't you meet TJ somewhere else before hand and test him out?
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 10:21 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 18 2008, 10:04 PM)
one more thing... for Dr. Yeoh.. u have to call earlier to made appointment.. or u will just waste ur time... Dr. Yeoh is the busiest person... most of ppl here went to see Dr. Yeah regarding their pet... haha

Sharil : when is the time for exam? I wan to join too! haha...

Jamien : well.. yeah... GP needs bigger cage than hamster... but GP attitude is the one I want.. I mean.... at least they can let me hug hug laugh.gif
wub.gif Yup agree. So loving. But don't hug too hard. Or they'll start struggling like hamsters lar.
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 11:19 PM

2,647 posts

O, Sharil has 2 litters coming. Rumizu also has one litter coming right?

My GPs don like taking picture le. So I only take limited ones.
Jamien
post Jun 18 2008, 11:40 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 18 2008, 11:29 PM)
Sharil gonna have another litter?
well... have to stay tune then.... thinking of getting one from u...
well.. just hope my only one GP choose me itself.. not me.. LOL

ah... forgot to ask.... is there tips to choose GP? I mean.. as for hamster... we need to choose the one who can jump here n there rather than those sleeping like death at the corner :lol

how bout GP?
hmm.gif I think one that's active and eating. Has clear eyes and the nose is dry. No missing fur. No injury. If you manage to see it poo, make sure it's a firm longish shape and not wet and runny. And of course not bloody.

When you have the GP that fulfils that requirement, pick it up and check the teeth. make sure 2 are about the same length for up and down. make sure they grow together right next to each other.

Check the fur. part it and check for lice or any redness. If you want it to be easier for you to clip the nails I suggest you get one with light colored feet. Then the nails are white and you can see the quick. Dark colored feet have dark brownish nail. Harder to see the quick.

Then you will most likely have a healthy GP.

sweat.gif I'm typing this while Micheri's watching. She is licking my fingers to get me to pet her. When I don't respond she grumbling there.
Jamien
post Jun 19 2008, 12:01 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(bonai @ Jun 18 2008, 11:49 PM)
this will be my first time to post some pics here.. (i guess  blush.gif )

[attachmentid=502001] [attachmentid=502003]
Wah..... Your setup looks so good. And so spacious. Very jealous. I wan cube also lar

BTW, do your GPs actually use the push toy I see next to the bowl?

This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 19 2008, 12:02 AM
Jamien
post Jun 19 2008, 08:01 PM

2,647 posts

hmm.gif Guys, Malaysian abys aren't as pretty as those in other countries. their abys have a minimum of 8 rossettes. I've never seen an aby with 8 rosettes. The more rossettes the more their fur stand.

20 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0448sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:28 AM