9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

All Things about BLU-RAY | V4, High Def. Experience | Only 1 CHOICE

aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 01:36 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 01:33 PM)
the auto tell me

all my speakers are LARGE in size

alamak
Like that ar? You using Denon?

My Yammy got everything almost right. Speaker size never wrong. Even distance up to around 10 cm accuracy. But of course, still need to adjust a few things la... biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 01:44 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jun 4 2008, 01:41 PM)
this is very good advice smile.gif

80Hz cutoff eh? THX advise i presume?  brows.gif
About the crossover cut off, the lower the better is it? Weird, the lower I put, the worse it sound to me. hmm.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 01:49 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 01:46 PM)
depends on ur speaker spec also bro

if it can takes 80 ...then cut at 80 ..if not higher
My speakers low frequency is 50 Hz. Well, never mind, was just curious. I like how it sounds already with my current setup. thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 01:51 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 01:46 PM)

Added on June 4, 2008, 1:47 pmremember the lower it goes

it sux more power per channel
aiman...ur AVR can set each channel cut over or not?

or 1 setting applies to all channel?
Nope, only one setting for all channel. Kinda sucks there. This is one of the comments I read about V1800, the other is EQ. sad.gif

Added on June 4, 2008, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jun 4 2008, 01:51 PM)
the eye, jessica alba one nice or not? i heard it was not nice, but the original one really seram  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Jessica Alba is nice. The movie, donno. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 4 2008, 01:52 PM
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 02:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 02:00 PM)
ha? ur model also 1 setting for all??  doh.gif  how about 3800 then??
Not sure about 3800. Could be the same. sweat.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 02:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jun 4 2008, 02:25 PM)
That's about US$13.50 per title. Nice. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jun 4 2008, 02:26 PM)
Apocalypto, my favourite BD  thumbup.gif , best PQ i have ever seen  thumbup.gif

Yeah, Crank is one of the best PQ I've ever seen. Really bright, popping vivid colors and sharp. But I'm thinking of selling it because too violent and many 18SX scenes.

But remember, digitally shot, that's as good as it can get. With film stock, it can be scanned at 4k resolution, that's twice the HD resolution. The only question is how well-preserved the film is, and how well the transfer was done.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 4 2008, 02:43 PM
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 02:54 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 02:46 PM)
sorry to ask 1 stupid question

film at 4000i ? (analog) process n make into our BD digital format 1080p
It's digitally scanned to 4k resolution, about 2160p. Don't remember exact numbers. Then it will downconverted to 1080p for blu-ray. nod.gif

It's explained on the DVD HD Basics calibration disc. Or can ask uncle Google. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 03:09 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jun 4 2008, 02:57 PM)
ask unker wikipedia also can lar  wink.gif. When transfer from film, the master must be processed and cleanup kau kau. If quality is not up to specification will need digital processing to remove scratches or dirt marks from the initial transfer. Betul or not tan sri aiman?  notworthy.gif
Correct!

For Star Wars, when they transfer to DVD, they even first clean the film stock using chemicals before digitally scanned. Then cleaned up again digitally. I'm sure they'll do a new transfer for blu-ray. They already did a poll on hi-def formats earlier this year, it's kind of possible we'll be seeing Star Wars on blu-ray soon, maybe next year.

The resolution of film is much higher than the current HD cameras.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 4 2008, 03:14 PM
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 03:14 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jun 4 2008, 03:06 PM)
if the master hilang ?? need to shoot again the whole film??  hmm.gif
I doubt it will hilang la... The so called master is also not the real stock from the camera reel, that will be duplicated first (after lab processing) to be edited and combined. So there culd be many backup masters in the steel safe somewhere. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 03:20 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Jun 4 2008, 03:16 PM)
more money to fly to amazon since disney annouce nightmare b4 christmas our on august 26.  drool.gif  sweat.gif

"Video will be presented in 1.66:1 (OAR) 1080p AVC accompanied by a 7.1 Dolby TrueHD soundtrack sourced from a 24-bit master. " - copied from blu-ray dot com
That will be the first title with 7.1 channel for Dolby TrueHD I think. Anyone seen before?

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 03:17 PM)
ok back to our pariah ciname local

they are shooting wat format?? the sound format??

Added on June 4, 2008, 3:18 pm
1st disney BD with digital copy  flex.gif
Some local indie movies shoots using digtial cameras, but not sure about the resolution. Don't know lah bro. Local movies, even on DVDs look worse than VCDs.

Added on June 4, 2008, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 4 2008, 03:19 PM)
Coming lightning deals:-
Better wait for new transfer for RoboCop:

http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/movies.php?id=65&show=review

Bad AQ and PQ.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 4 2008, 03:22 PM
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 03:32 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 03:23 PM)
no no bro

i mean at our cinema...when they shoud movie

they use film or wat format to shoot screen?

You mean DLP? Malaysia got no digital cinemas yet, Thailand and Singapore already have. Digital projection uses a harddrive as the source. What format and resolution I don't know.

Read more here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_cinema
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 06:04 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

THX in cinemas is just a standard, just like ISO9002, etc.

THX was founded by George Lucas to make sure cinemas are designed and equipped properly. The seating, speaker placement, screen, etc must comply to their specifications so that each person in the audience can have true movie experience. THX staff will visit the cinema, do a thorough inspection. Only after they're satisfied then it will get the THX certification.

Hall 1 in TGV KLCC was certified by THX when it was opened, but was not renewed due to poor maintenance by TGV. There are no THX halls in KLCC anymore.

There is a THX sound format, just like DTS/Dolby/Sony Dynamic Digital Sound, but rarely used by Hollywood. The only one I know that uses it was the Star Wars prequels.

And, sound in cinemas is just 5.1 guys. Those 6.1 or 7.1 you have on BDs are mastered from a new mix. Except for SDDS, which have 5 channels on the front alone. sweat.gif

This come from my own memory, so please correct me if I'm wrong guys.

QUOTE(kkChan @ Jun 4 2008, 05:11 PM)
Almost forgot ordered these....

Dilepaskan Kastam:31 May 2008

Amazon printed Item as "Unknown"  blink.gif  blink.gif
Box also no any printing of "Amazon"

Amazon is smart already  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Congrats! rclxms.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 06:18 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

It is relevant Fentanyl. It will affect our BD budget.

Those using diesel can just switch to petrol now. Only add 12 sen more.

They've been holding back too long already. Imagine if they do this before election. doh.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 4 2008, 06:20 PM
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 07:58 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Yeah, that beats everyone here. Now I know how peasant I am. cry.gif
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 08:14 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ Jun 4 2008, 08:02 PM)
sg money is bigger than us, direct comparison isnt fair la..
plus we dig our own oil la..
Agreed. I work in the oil industry, but don't want to elaborate more on this, long story. However, just heard the news that those with car lower than 2000cc will get more than RM600 cash when you renew the road tax?
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 08:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jun 4 2008, 08:19 PM)
The billion dollar question for Petronas: Where does the money go?
The government. With every increase, it will apply to Petronas too, the government will actually earn more.

OK lah, no more talk about this, or it will turn into political debate.

So, let's discuss BD, though we maybe little bit poorer. Our BD collection will slow down for sure.

We can discuss about our dream to own blu-ray boxsets. Just dream. cry.gif

PS: Did anyone know that any reservoir found in Malaysia automatically owned by Petronas? If Shell found one, they have to make a deal with Petronas, that's how companies like CS Mutiara (Carigali-Shell join-venture) was formed.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 4 2008, 08:29 PM
aiman04
post Jun 4 2008, 08:33 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jun 4 2008, 08:30 PM)
Upcoming Movies & TV Deal from Gold Box another 30 minutes. I think it should be Nip Tuck.
Have to pass. With the current development, only certain titles that I really wants, will be considered, no matter how cheap it is. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jun 5 2008, 07:17 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Everything will sure increase. I mean EVERYTHING. Everything uses transport.

Diesel also increased 40%, that's worst than petrol considering the new price difference. Your roti canai could be priced RM1.50 now.

Our BD budget will hurt more then you think.
aiman04
post Jun 5 2008, 08:34 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Just placed my order for Sweeney Todd at Amazon UK. Can't help it. Tim Burton is one of my favorite director, and I'm a fan of Johnny Depp. Didn't have the chance to watch in cinemas.

DVDTalk is has included this into their "DVD Talk Collector Series" group, their highest rating, which only a few titles gets that (only 13 titles total now).

http://www.dvdtalk.com/reviews/list.php?reviewType=Blu-ray

aiman04
post Jun 5 2008, 08:42 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jun 5 2008, 08:39 AM)
I already had mine  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

how much ar total cost buying from UK?
£21.56 or about RM140 using standard airmail. I know, too expensive, only 1 title. sweat.gif

But from UK usually only takes one week to arrive.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jun 5 2008, 08:43 AM

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0463sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:17 PM