126 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia N82 Official Thread V2], Storytelling rediscovered continues...

Fearless
post Jul 15 2008, 03:15 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 15 2008, 12:26 AM)
Fearless,

SU-8W at Nokia Low Yat RM599 ?  shocking.gif  shakehead.gif
I think I'm going to skip this BT keyboard testing.
Planning to upgrade to 16GB micro-SD.  rolleyes.gif  Hopefully PC Fair Aug'08 already release worldwide.

How much is your solar charger ? Can post some pics ?
That why I called Low Yat Nokia shop a robbery shop. rclxub.gif Besides, its Nokia original USB charger CA-100 price is RM 199, another blood sucking price!

Solar charger offer price is RM138, you can bargain for a cheaper price. I bargained down to RM120 by promising them a free marketing in internet.

I am quite happy with the second replacement charger. Test the charger on the spot because China product quality is very uncertain. Return for a replacement is wasting our time.

Shop info: VS Com Sdn Bhd, 1st Floor Low Yat Plaza.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Jul 15 2008, 03:34 AM

lucaswjk
post Jul 15 2008, 03:17 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

ohh about charging battery 1000times...
if charge everyday mean 365/year
or 2.7 years lifetime... around 2years and 8months

well this simple calculation only work if your battery able to achieve it maximum lifetime...

actually i recommend change your battery once u fill your battery wont last you for 1days or 2... coz u sure dont wan to miss your appointment or task list or worst customer call...

just my 2cents

Added on July 15, 2008, 3:23 am
QUOTE(Fearless @ Jul 15 2008, 03:15 AM)
That why I called Low Yat Nokia a robbery shop.  rclxub.gif  Besides, its Nokia original USB charger CA-100 price is RM199, another blood sucking price!

Solar charger offer price is RM138, you can bargain for cheaper price.
dont tell me u bought it CA-100 with RM199???

i buy china brand RM4, coz CA-100 internal component is NOTHING!!!
moreover USB only supply max 500mA, so it unlikely to burn your phone...

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jul 15 2008, 03:23 AM
Fearless
post Jul 15 2008, 03:31 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Jul 15 2008, 03:17 AM)
ohh about charging battery 1000times...
if charge everyday mean 365/year
or 2.7 years lifetime... around 2years and 8months

well this simple calculation only work if your battery able to achieve it maximum lifetime...

actually i recommend change your battery once u fill your battery wont last you for 1days or 2... coz u sure dont wan to miss your appointment or task list or worst customer call...

just my 2cents

Added on July 15, 2008, 3:23 am
dont tell me u bought it CA-100 with RM199???

i buy china brand RM4, coz CA-100 internal component is NOTHING!!!
moreover USB only supply max 500mA, so it unlikely to burn your phone...
Solar panel shelf life is 10 years, but its internal battery is not that durable. I am happy IF I can use solar charger for one year.

No, I won't wasted that amount of money on Nokia original.

I saw clone Nokia CA-100 is selling at RM25, I believe it can be bargained to RM20.

cucubud
post Jul 15 2008, 08:29 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Jul 14 2008, 09:27 PM)
You are not the only one facing this kind of problem. My friend is a busy businessman, he got no time to wait for his new battery fully charged, now he complained his battery drains off very fast.

There are people try to use no memory effect theory for lithium battery in every aspect.

If you read those thousand articles carefully, only no memory effect on discharging is mentioned. There are articles using conditioning effect term for new battery charging.

I tested my new solar charger last week, I only portionlly-charged it with solar panel for the first time and recharged the charger. The charger cannot be fully charged afterward.

Luckily my USB cable charger is malfunctioned, I exchanged my charger with a new one. Now I make sure my new charger is fully charged and discharged for the first few cycles.

Samsung is going to release fuel cell battery this year, you can forget lithium or old technology batteries by using samsung phones.
After reading your post, I realised that after buying a new phone from the shop, the battery has already been charged. So, the first time charge on the battery is from the manufacturer/shop. We don't know how long they charged the battery for the first time. So, it depends on your luck. When we buy the phone and charge the battery "our first time" we could be charging that battery 2nd time or 3rd time already.
Am I correct to say that? tongue.gif
ziggy87
post Jul 15 2008, 09:25 AM

nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom
1,519 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jul 15 2008, 08:29 AM)
After reading your post, I realised that after buying a new phone from the shop, the battery has already been charged.  So, the first time charge on the battery is from the manufacturer/shop.  We don't know how long they charged the battery for the first time.  So, it depends on your luck.  When we buy the phone and charge the battery "our first time" we could be charging that battery 2nd time or 3rd time already.
im not quite sure but i second tat opinion
coz i juz got a set from chwlim for RM1550 for my fren
when i on n tested it..the batt is full
so im thinkin tat the factory already charged it
for how long we duno
but when i got my set..oni 2 bars left..so im gueesing distributors may or may not charge the batt
anybody can confirm this?
havenzhiv
post Jul 15 2008, 10:23 AM

556 posts

n81 will get a FP2 firmware update.......n82 need it tooo....!!!!
cucubud
post Jul 15 2008, 10:53 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Jul 15 2008, 09:25 AM)

but when i got my set..oni 2 bars left..so im gueesing distributors may or may not charge the batt
anybody can confirm this?
If your battery has 2 bars left, that means the battery was charged before. For how long we don't know. They could have charged the battery for 20 minutes and packed in the box. Do you think they will charge the battery for 8 hours and then packed in the box? hmm.gif
Fearless
post Jul 15 2008, 11:22 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Jul 15 2008, 08:29 AM)
After reading your post, I realised that after buying a new phone from the shop, the battery has already been charged.  So, the first time charge on the battery is from the manufacturer/shop.  We don't know how long they charged the battery for the first time.  So, it depends on your luck.  When we buy the phone and charge the battery "our first time" we could be charging that battery 2nd time or 3rd time already.
The battery shall not be charged for a new set. I make sure they unpack everything in front of my eyes.

I noticed seller did plug in power cord to my new set for some minor settings and I have to fully charged the battery myself. I kept it charging for overnight as kiasu measure.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Jul 15 2008, 11:25 AM
vampiric
post Jul 15 2008, 11:25 AM

157 posts

[quote=lucaswjk,Jul 15 2008, 02:49 AM]
Feature Pack 1 and 2
N82 is FP1

---
batt... dont worry, u r doing it correct...
the system will auto stop charging handphone after it full
unlike old handphone, once the battery bar is dropped its start charging again...

i think this is to protect the lifetime of battery
a normal rechargeable battery can recharge for 1000times only (max)
imagine if it allow to recharge every 10mins then how long our battery gonna last??

so charging for the 1st time is not possible to charge for full 8hours. (especially when turning the phone off)
if u able to do it, post it here... everyone wanted to see itndphone wont last u for 3-5years

/quote]

I have some comment after reading. This is base on my understand with lithium batt.

1. You dun have to charge 8 hour at first time.
2. battery lifetimes is measure by a full cycle charge. After a few full cycle, the batt may reach it's peak capacity/performance, and slowly degrade it. So batt full performance may be after X number times of cycle. (i dunno the number, and it vary from manufacturer).
3. 1 full cycle charge it's not how many times u plug in the charger. It's count by charging the batt from 0% to 100%. So mean if you charge your batt 10% per day, after ten day, it consider as 1 cycle only.

My personal opinion, if your batt last 2 years, it's a bonus already. smile.gif after all, batt are cheap these day.
cute_boboi
post Jul 15 2008, 11:25 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

AlphaBeta,

FP1 & FP2 = Feature Pack, you can imagine it is the BIOS/ROM of the h/p

Symbian OS S60v3 = the operating system, something similiar like WinXP/Vista.

We can upgrade the OS (e.g. v10.x to v20.x) easily nowadays. But upgrading the BIOS (FP2), will depends on the FP modified to support N82 or not.

Fearless,

That's why I prefer to buy Nokia originals from SG or other countries, if I travel there or have friends/families pass by. rolleyes.gif

vampiric
post Jul 15 2008, 11:34 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Jul 14 2008, 08:10 PM)
This is base on wat I experience la..Charged 4 hours and found myself a malfunction battery. shakehead.gif

Have a second thought again about the no memory effect of lithium. hmm.gif I'm also confused.

LOL now who invented nicad or nimh tat can be the size of lithium??? blink.gif

By the way anyone knows now have changing casing for n82 or not>
I wont argue about memory effect la. But wat you can do is to check the battery capacity. Use Nokia Energy Profiler.

Fearless
post Jul 15 2008, 11:36 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 15 2008, 11:25 AM)
AlphaBeta,

We can upgrade the OS (e.g. v10.x to v20.x) easily nowadays. But upgrading the BIOS (FP2), will depends on the FP modified to support N82 or not.

Fearless,

That's why I prefer to buy Nokia originals from SG or other countries, if I travel there or have friends/families pass by.  rolleyes.gif
Will go to SG this weekend or next week when I back to my Kampong in Johor. My trip to SG is not for Nokia accesories shopping, but will looking for these items.

I would like to get Nokia wireless keyboard if the price in SG is right. It is very hard to use N82 keypad for typing long email with my big fingers. rclxub.gif

Added on July 15, 2008, 11:50 amNano lithium battery can last 10 times longer than normal lithium.

A US company set up by a MIT Chinese professor already produced such nano tech battery in Shanghai. But this manufacturer only sells their batteries to car companies at the moment.

This post has been edited by Fearless: Jul 15 2008, 11:52 AM
cute_boboi
post Jul 15 2008, 11:50 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Fearless,

SG no need goto original Nokia centre. Any h/p shops in food court/hawker centre, HDB flats or some shopping mall is fine. Normally I goto Woodlands/Chong Pang area. But they might not have SU-8W.

But original, tell seller you want to buy original. If problem submit to Nokia Service centre in Causeway Point @Woodlands.

That's my experience. If they sell you pirated when you mention to them original, later got problem, seller will get into trouble for selling fake goods in SG.

I suggest to try test the BT keyboard. The keys tactile response might not be as good as a good keyboard. Touch typing might not work. May need more pressure and effort on each keys. I'm not sure, just speculating based on pictures only.

Fearless
post Jul 15 2008, 11:59 AM

390 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 15 2008, 11:50 AM)
Fearless,

SG no need goto original Nokia centre. Any h/p shops in food court/hawker centre, HDB flats or some shopping mall is fine. Normally I goto Woodlands/Chong Pang area. But they might not have SU-8W.

But original, tell seller you want to buy original. If problem submit to Nokia Service centre in Causeway Point @Woodlands.

That's my experience. If they sell you pirated when you mention to them original, later got problem, seller will get into trouble for selling fake goods in SG.

I suggest to try test the BT keyboard. The keys tactile response might not be as good as a good keyboard. Touch typing might not work. May need more pressure and effort on each keys. I'm not sure, just speculating based on pictures only.
Meaning I have to install keyboard driver in my N82 set first if I want to test it over there.

After sales service is a real problem when I come back to KL. Yaap...have to think twice before getting keyboard from SG. doh.gif
AlphaBeta
post Jul 15 2008, 12:38 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 15 2008, 11:25 AM)
AlphaBeta,

Fearless,

That's why I prefer to buy Nokia originals from SG or other countries, if I travel there or have friends/families pass by.  rolleyes.gif
i see...those things wont affect much if u r reffering to 'BIOS/ROM'... nt much different..
lucaswjk
post Jul 15 2008, 01:21 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(vampiric @ Jul 15 2008, 11:25 AM)
I have some comment after reading. This is base on my understand with lithium batt.

1. You dun have to charge 8 hour at first time.
2. battery lifetimes is measure by a full cycle charge. After a few full cycle, the batt may reach it's peak capacity/performance, and slowly degrade it. So batt full performance may be after X number times of cycle. (i dunno the number, and it vary from manufacturer).
3. 1 full cycle charge it's not how many times u plug in the charger. It's count by charging the batt from 0% to 100%. So mean if you charge your batt 10% per day, after ten day, it consider as 1 cycle only.

My personal opinion, if your batt last 2 years, it's a bonus already. smile.gif after all, batt are cheap these day.
correct!!! how many battery u know can lasted for 5years?
btw battery also have LIFETIME from the day of manufacturing...

dont pay too much attention to the battery...
it is not worth your time!!!~ trust me!
lucaswjk
post Jul 15 2008, 01:25 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Fearless @ Jul 15 2008, 11:36 AM)
Nano lithium battery can last 10 times longer than normal lithium.

A US company set up by a MIT Chinese professor already produced such nano tech battery in Shanghai. But this manufacturer only sells their batteries to car companies at the moment.
Nano Lithium?? hahaha dont be crazy la...
it even wont reach our shelf...
unless someone wanted to pick it up and put into our phone.. kkeke

---

FP2... i heard it is energy saving also
and the new interface is really nice...
i want it... really hope someone ahemm it
kekekek

like windows mobile 5 can be upgraded to 6 and 6.1 tongue.gif
why not symbian?? NO WAY!!!~
AlphaBeta
post Jul 15 2008, 02:56 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

how much for an original n82 battery?
iori57
post Jul 15 2008, 05:13 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

HELPPPPP

I today first time try to assign different ring tones to different contacts... i thought it will be easy, until when i choose 'ringing tone' in the contacts, all i see is 'download tone' and 'default tone' but no other choices! I told my friend to try (he also using n82) but when he choose ringing tone, all his musics are available to choose... why le?

Maybe my phone need a hard reset? anyone has this problem? please help...

thanks!!
lucaswjk
post Jul 15 2008, 05:17 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 15 2008, 05:13 PM)
HELPPPPP

I today first time try to assign different ring tones to different contacts... i thought it will be easy, until when i choose 'ringing tone' in the contacts, all i see is 'download tone' and 'default tone' but no other choices! I told my friend to try (he also using n82) but when he choose ringing tone, all his musics are available to choose... why le?

Maybe my phone need a hard reset? anyone has this problem? please help...

thanks!!
there should be a lot of original Nokia tune...
did u delete something from the phone memory?? format memory card?

since u got 2 N82... mayb u can try to swap memory card with your fren...
and do checkdisk on memory card...

126 Pages « < 93 94 95 96 97 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:10 AM