14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia N82 Official Thread V2], Storytelling rediscovered continues...

lucaswjk
post May 24 2008, 02:19 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

hi guys, first post here.
been reading for months for v1 and v2 thread
and decided to join lowyat and n82 community.
Color~Black, AP, 3 weeks old

clsia1001 >> add me~
clsia1001 >> can u please add proper guide on factory reset / hard reset including the locale code on main page (dict recovery and n-gage, and other which is related)

and i would like to thanx the community for the Garmin XT guide, wonderful!!!~

Got some serious problem ~ need some feedbad rclxub.gif
1) I bought a leather casing with small magnet on bottom-front of keypad "0",
The magnet location is very far away from camera and opposite of antenna. Problem:...
a) battery drain very fast, n need 2 charge in 1 day (trying to confirm again)
b) the n82 body sometime is hot, (like normal charging, the body will hot), suspect the antenna is disturb by the magnet. as it need more power to search for network.
Question: Anyone have similar problem??

2) Related to first question, after that whenever i try to access the menu. the whole phone become "very slow". need 30seconds - 5minutes to acccess the menu. (after 5minutes i do a power button reset ~ conclude system didnt hang, just slow)
More info:..
a) use 1.6GB on memory card ~ mostly mp3, flv and gps maps
b) install around 20 apps and 20 java games (before the first problem accessing menu need 1-5 seconds)
c) all software install in the memory card
d) i took out the memory_card and the phone become fast again. I dont believe magnet will cause MicroSD to become slow rite?
Question: Do i need to format the memory card?? hard-reset or is it software/hardware problem?

3) emTube cannot be remove, error message is "Removing Failed"
Tried Apps
Question: Need guide to manual uninstall/delete.

4) Playing java game for 2-3hours will consume 90% of fully charge battery (game install on memory card).
Question: Anyone have similar problem??

Other than above problem, i m truly in love with this phone.
conclusion: correct choice choosing N82 over Samsung i780.
the camera is simply wonderful,
and tons of software n games r available thumbup.gif
and nokmote is fun, i dont think i need DS/Wii anymore (casual entertainment) tongue.gif

thanx
-lucas-

Added on May 24, 2008, 5:31 pmfound an n82 bug
1) I kill my Gallery process, unable to start Gallery
2) the Image folder have gone crazy and unable to delete
eg: \\n82\memory_card\Images\200805\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0\200805A0
3) Path is too long and unable to access
4) Samething happen to Video folder, but manage to delete it
Any idea to delete it?

btw i temporary solved my 82 slow problem, i delete all my music, video and picture. Still slow but better... could be memory_card file system problem. I need chkdsk on my MicroSD card. anyone own MicroSD to SD converter?

Another thing i discover, whenever i transfer file to my memory_card using usb cable/wifi (i m talking about few hundred MB). the battery life will drain like hell. I believe this is not n82 prob as my fren confirm his O2 have same battery drainage issue.

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: May 24 2008, 05:31 PM
lucaswjk
post May 24 2008, 10:15 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

yes... good news for all N82 user
my phone become fast again....

answer: chkdsk the memory card, and delete all corrupt file
u may need a MicroSD card reader as Data Transfer may not able to chkdsk on your e: drive

im wondering if the file corrupt in phone_memory what is the best action without hard-reset...

ok next task is investigate why is the N82 body is hot and memory drain problem
lucaswjk
post May 26 2008, 07:06 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

To clarify something about battery drain,
1) ALL SMARTPHONE power consumption about the same amount, n82 on average use last 2day is consider same rank as other phone. They are all power hungry monster.
2) Magnet on phone top/bottom of phone will not cost battery drain (so far tested 2days). As magnet on middle will drain battery is highly subjective, as nobody have proof yet.
3) I suspect memory will drain faster if there are file corruption on memory card. Something must be wrong on the Symbian OS. After solved this file corruption issue... as rite now my phone battery will last me 2days ~ back to normal (with magnet leather casing on bottom). Before this, less than 6hours battery life and the phone will slow like HELL.

Need N82 user to test this, has anyone ever feel the heat from N82???
~ During charging, yes I do.
~ Due to magnet, mayb but i unable to confirm...
~ Due to file corruption, mayb the OS will use more power for watever task like infinite loop.

Overall if the phone have no problem, i m quite happy with the battery life. Last me 2days on normal use.
lucaswjk
post May 27 2008, 03:32 AM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ May 26 2008, 10:11 PM)
my maps cannot be used..everytime when i open the Maps it will hang and i will have top plug out my battery..any idea what's wrong?
hahaha u can try to check disk (chkdsk) your memory card, if the file is corrupt just remove the maps and redownload a new one

QUOTE(aitoshi @ May 26 2008, 10:15 PM)
i am trying N82 earpiece HS-43 just now. I am figuring what is the function for the centre button between increase/decrease volume. anyone know the function for that?
Do you know how can I skip track in music player using HS-43?
Only N95 headset able to skip track, i think it is HS-45...

i discover the headset function mayb can be program by music player, but till now nobody program it yet
if u try Nokia default Music Plyr and LCG Jukebox before, u will understand both of them behave differently on headset

ps: LCG Jukebox might be better player but the headset work better with Music Plyr.

if u know how to tune the Music Plyr u can have the same music experience.
if u still not satisfy with the music experience, i guess your ear need a better headset. Go for Bose... hahaha
lucaswjk
post May 27 2008, 06:41 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(aitoshi @ May 27 2008, 08:25 AM)
i just want perfect music control experience smile.gif
yeah i agreed with you, music control experience is the most important!!!

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ May 27 2008, 04:28 PM)
i asked jimmylim85 in lyn b4, now HS-45 around 60 bucks +-
i planned to invest another headset... just for handfree driving~ cool2.gif
but currently i still coudn't find a suitable headset
guys do u have any idea which is the best headset available? with in-ear design and must be nokia compatible...

lucaswjk
post May 30 2008, 03:07 AM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

anyone own gadwrap on n82??? or other similar product

can post some picture of it
lucaswjk
post May 31 2008, 04:47 AM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(cppau @ May 30 2008, 06:45 PM)
After installed, there are no "Use Attached/Built-in GPS" for me to select. Just the "Pair New GPS"

Please advise and give me the solutions.  icon_question.gif
Best Regards,
p a u
u miss few step

forget 4.10.60 version just go for 4.10.80 else you will have a annoying bug...
lucaswjk
post May 31 2008, 11:57 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

ehh can share to all of us...
where u get it done?
lucaswjk
post Jun 2 2008, 01:31 AM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(Spawnster @ Jun 1 2008, 08:35 PM)
guys, i'm planning to get n82 but which color to choose? black or titanium?
well i can assure u... black have the lastest firmware/new in-stock
while titanium is around 7month old... at least there might be old stock

dont mad at me, whos know ~ dealer might selling old stock... u r not him

------
ps: if u dont like the casing, u can always buy the protector sticker with anime/scenery/custom picture.

new look everyweek whistling.gif

Added on June 2, 2008, 1:36 ami know this is not the right forum, but i donno where to ask...

guys, do u know what kind of message sent from Maxis?
try dial *100#
this is not ordinary sms, they didnt appear in inbox
whenever i answer from n82, it shows "Serv. Comm." on message header

so what kind of message is tat???

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jun 2 2008, 01:36 AM
lucaswjk
post Jun 2 2008, 08:06 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(emilyc @ Jun 2 2008, 07:36 PM)
Hi everybody, new N82 user here.  Had my phone for one full week now and it has been great!  rclxms.gif

I did a quick search and I haven't seen anyone mention Nokia Step Counter (Beta).
yeah, this is a great program...
but not stable yet, it will crash...
when it crash on background, u wont know...
as expected from beta version, final version will be great
ps: u wont need Wii Fit anymore

since u have try this one, u better try Nokmote or RockNScroll
ps: this one u wont need WiiMote
lucaswjk
post Jun 3 2008, 03:27 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jun 3 2008, 02:48 PM)
Just got myself an N82 Black today.....
congratulation and welcome to the club

Added on June 3, 2008, 3:30 pmDiscover something just now on HS-43 headset

HOLD Answer Button + HOLD Mute Button = Voice Dial

Damm Nokia should release manual for this headset... shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jun 3 2008, 03:30 PM
lucaswjk
post Jun 3 2008, 07:33 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Jun 3 2008, 03:46 PM)
which is the mute button? the one in the middle of the 2 volume buttons?
if press the answer button when listening to radio, will it change the stations saved to the next 1?
the mute button is the one below answer button. u can only mute it during call...
i dont do voice dial, but this feature come as a surprise add-on...

hell nokia, wat is the middle button for...

QUOTE(tplcaik @ Jun 3 2008, 04:04 PM)
Hi,Get ur choice alr? I just sold my N95 and change to N82. Hehe.. N95 exp is suck batt, slide cover easy loose,GPS slow, no xenon flash...Other than this is ok for me. I prefer N82 cos auto rotate and smooth,xenon flash, fast detect GPS but disadvantage is small screen & keypad.
n82 batt also suck
candybar is a good phone for professional look
nokia slide prob i heard they already it fix on n81... so n96 is worth more
n82 gps need 3-5minites to lock-on satellite unless u use AGPS...
n82 xenon is so far the best xenon light amount other camera phone...
n95 hv build in accelerometer rite??
screen size 2.4inch vs 2.6inch... 0.2inch u wont notice much diff
i like n82 keypad, coz everykey have the touch feeling and i dont have sausage size finger

hahaha dont mad at me... i think n95 no much different than n82
but overall n82 still better than n95 (n i own n82 kekekeke)
if no mistake n82 have bigger ram, allow u to browse web faster and load more multi-task program

ps: n82 camera is good but no face focus, no zoom and the color sensor is not better than actual camera.
from what i read, u can bring out the best of the camera if u r professional photographer...
there is a website hosting n95, n82 monthly photography contest, all the photo there r really better than average flicker photo
u couldnt believe n82 is a crazy camera...

conclusion: u need to b pro to handle this camera (i mean really good photo)
fact: if u r pro, u can handle any camera... whistling.gif

Added on June 3, 2008, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(shinobikit @ Jun 3 2008, 07:30 PM)
wanna ask something...

the GPS for N82 need to pay or not? smooth? any review?
GPS... if free for lifetime

AGPS.. u need to pay for data rate, 1kb 1cent, so each gps locking u need to pay 8-12cent for each locking...
i already disable my AGPS locking

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jun 3 2008, 07:44 PM
lucaswjk
post Jun 3 2008, 08:00 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jun 3 2008, 07:52 PM)
my 3g connection show no data transmission when i using AGPS to find my position.  blink.gif
well i donno about this and never give maxis chances to charge me... icon_rolleyes.gif

the charges i read from lowyat n82 v1 post... not from my own testing... sweat.gif
lucaswjk
post Jun 3 2008, 08:33 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Jun 3 2008, 06:44 PM)
Haha i do the same decision too. sold off my n95. u guys can glance on my gallery. n82 gallery!  icon_rolleyes.gif
your frankenstein mouse aka Darth Vader is creepy...
lucaswjk
post Jun 4 2008, 12:34 AM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Jun 3 2008, 09:44 PM)
do you own a white 82, just got my black 82 and the lock on is fantasticly fast compare to my old white 82......smile.gif

My AGPS is disabled.

in my house managed to lock on less than 10 seconds, never did achieve with my white 82 previously, oh ya my white 82 is november 07 batch, maybe the driver or software not so good at the time they launch.
i own Black N82, bought on second week of official Black release...

but u said u can lock less than 10sec + inside house... sure or not??
where u stay??
the fastest time i able to lock is 2minutes, and that is the only time it work perfectly fast

but i notice, if u have lock first time... u can easily lock on second time
if u move around and try to lock, u will have hell of time to lock...
i tried walking and driving... both unable to lock...
anyone face similar situation??

Added on June 4, 2008, 12:37 am
QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jun 3 2008, 11:24 PM)
hold on, the ans button=nokia button right? just hold on nokia button then can liao...
sorry guys... i didnt properly test on this one...
yes you r rite... HOLD Answer Button / Nokia Button will do...
my mistake...

im just too excite i found addition feature on the headset...

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jun 4 2008, 12:37 AM
lucaswjk
post Jun 4 2008, 02:30 AM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

dont scare me man... tat mean i hv faulty unit??

i need side by side test with you guy!!!
i plan to use gps to guide me to terrengannu leh...
lucaswjk
post Jun 4 2008, 01:17 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jun 4 2008, 08:33 AM)
mine also takes quite long without A-GPS lah

beware, nokia maps doesn't have detail map for rural area.
im using malsing map... should be okey...
tested on the simulation...

QUOTE(herzeleid @ Jun 4 2008, 01:13 PM)
need some help here

how to disable the write protection on my memory card

cant del the photos in my memory card after i plug it into my computer using a card reader
not sure but i think no write protection after u take out the memory_card
chkdsk your memory card
lucaswjk
post Jun 4 2008, 01:19 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

plug in your usb cable on your phone and select "data transfer"...
u wont need memory_card reader
lucaswjk
post Jun 4 2008, 01:30 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

your fren called google will help u on chkdsk

very friendly guy u should trust him more
lucaswjk
post Jun 4 2008, 04:47 PM

~im coming~
3,816 posts

jus bought nokia original car charger... dc-4