19 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Competition WCG 2008 Asian Championship Qualifiers, All @ WCG 2008 Kick-Off!

unfaithful
post May 21 2008, 05:41 AM

exist to exist.
1,145 posts

btw, got cs1.6 for ACG? o.o
NakA
post May 21 2008, 01:03 PM

171 posts

No, there is no CS for ACG. Thx
nles
post May 22 2008, 07:03 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

What does ACG stands for? I thought ACG stands for Asian Cyber Games xD

This should be AWCG, Asian World Cyber Games right?
unfaithful
post May 23 2008, 04:05 PM

exist to exist.
1,145 posts

then is there cs1.6 for this WCG Kick Off on 30th and 31st at lowyat?
kujaboyde
post May 23 2008, 05:04 PM

jaHat macam MoRza
1,281 posts

QUOTE(unfaithful @ May 23 2008, 04:05 PM)
then is there cs1.6 for this WCG Kick Off on 30th and 31st at lowyat?
answer for ur question on page #1
unfaithful
post May 24 2008, 02:55 AM

exist to exist.
1,145 posts

QUOTE(kujaboyde @ May 23 2008, 05:04 PM)
answer for ur question on page #1
hmm.. just wanted to know is there any chances for cs1.6 to be in the kick off. since it says MORE GAMES UPDATES SOON. blush.gif
gM | Mutsumi-san
post May 24 2008, 03:33 AM

PhD Falcon punch, Gunslingin, Sentry & Trollin Engineering
1,429 posts

first of all,
the kickoff is more towards the asian championship qualifiers
the "more games updates soon" was meant to be xbox games
which i doubt its gonna be added anytime soon since its just 6 days away from the event
probably there will be a freeplay booth catering all the games for audience to try out
underminer
post May 24 2008, 11:32 AM

Note to the organisers regarding Dota.

With the recent release of 6.52c , Icefrog has managed to fixed some imperfections in the 6.52 version which is incidentally what is written in the rules and I assume will be used if no announcement is done to change it ourselves.

This is the link to the latest Asian Dota Championship rule set for the regular season where as one of the head admins , I personally had a hand in drafting it :

ADC Season 2 Rules

To make it easier to comprehend , its basically using the same rules as the published ACG Dota Rules with the following differences :

1. Each team will have the chance to ban 4 heroes now instead of 3 in the current rules. So basically both teams will be allowed to take out 4 heroes from the pool of heroes before drafting starts. This will work based on a 1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1 format. This can be seen by simply typing -xl in the new map and the default mode set by the creator is 4 bans for each side.

2. The usage of the map 6.52c as the map for the tournament instead of 6.52. This change is in my opinion a must as the creator of the map has addressed several known and unknown issues in the 6.52 map which in our opinion makes the game more stable for tournament play. As the rules stated that the latest stable map version will be used in tournaments, 6.52c is the latest stable map

Attempts to reach the administration of ACG in Singapore has not been successful over the past few weeks. As the rules above will surely be implemented over time as it is in total adherence to the spirit of the rules and the default mode of banning set by the creator of the map, I hope the change above can be implemented in the qualifiers that is to be held next week where change number 2 is much more crucial.

Any queries about this can be directed through pm or communicated through My-Gaming Lim the SMM Dota tournament head marshal.

On a side note , since Dota presents a huge chance for Malaysia of grabbing honours for the nation in this prestigious Asian E-sports tournament , I am seeking assistance in securing the following teams automatic berths and seedings into the brackets :

1. Team Kingsurf from Johor
2. Team w4si from Perak
3. Team Ice from Penang
4. Team mKvL from KL
5. Team Cybertime-Gov from KL

All 5 teams has proved over the past year as possessing the teamwork and skills to prove they are heads and shoulders above the rest in the field, signs of them putting more work than anyone else in the game. Though the organisers stressed the importance of fairness in allowing teams to register on a first come first serve basis , but it is not fair in my opinion for even 1 of these potential medal winners for the nation in ACG actually missing a spot to qualify just because 11 other teams actually woke up at 6 am to get themselves registered before they can (an exaggeration but you get the point).
I was with team Cybertime 1 when they cruised to the finals of ACG Dota last year and I overheard one of them mentioned that it is much easier to reach the finals for ACG than it was for them to do so in any Malaysia competition. This is just how good we are at Dota and I think our top teams deserve to at least be given a fair chance to properly qualify in next week's qualifiers without any untoward incidents happening to them from the "first come first serve" basis of registration like the one i mentioned above.
Any pre-register work such as the setting of the latest time (which will be determined later) to be there to secure an auto berth or payment of a fee to secure a spot in the 16 team bracket can be arranged with me through pm and I will gladly ensure the teams mentioned above follow them through.

This post has been edited by underminer: May 24 2008, 11:35 AM
gM | Mutsumi-san
post May 24 2008, 02:03 PM

1,429 posts

then if the above teams are that worried not to get registered, do what the other teams do then
wake up at 6am then start a campfire
if they cant do that, then try harder
if a listed above teams ask for autoberth, then why cant others?
is there fairness in that?
underminer
post May 24 2008, 02:49 PM

There is a reason to be concerned as 3 of the 5 mentioned teams are from outstation and a team of 5 has much more logistics issues than say a Fifa player.

With Dota tournaments easily breaking the 30 team mark in Klang Valley alone even with a fee charged nowadays , there might be a chance that random teams which are just lucky to be there early enough might just sneak into the 16 qualifier spots over say a team which is a known top 2 in Malaysia (team Hybrid for CS for example) who arranged bus tickets from Johor to participate in this event missed out on the chance due to some technical issues that could occur on that day.

I would never doubt the teams I mentioned above will certainly appear in the vicinity before the registration starts at 11pm that day. But the way the registration is worded creates a slight chance that the unthinkable may just happen at that day itself. In CS terms it will be to deny Team Hybrid , in Fifa terms it will be to deny Si Jali and of course in NFS terms it will be to deny Chapree the chance to participate in this qualifiers for one of the top events of the year.

I actually have a team from Sabah which traditionally did well at the local scene but do not want to risk flying their whole team down due to this slight chance of being denied participation on that day itself.

If the aim of this qualifiers is to select the best team and players to represent our nation in this international event, some more efforts are need to be done to ensure the selection will be based on the best possible pool of 16 we can get.

And in my book , there is not much fairness if any one of the above incidents that I bolded happened to any of their respective games which will certainly be regarded as a disaster in their respective communities.

kujaboyde
post May 24 2008, 08:19 PM

jaHat macam MoRza
1,281 posts

2. FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

which fair to everyone..and yes im from sabah too smile.gif

Rin @ si_jali
post May 24 2008, 08:35 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(underminer @ May 24 2008, 02:49 PM)
There is a reason to be concerned as 3 of the 5 mentioned teams are from outstation and a team of 5 has much more logistics issues than say a Fifa player.

With Dota tournaments easily breaking the 30 team mark in Klang Valley alone even with a fee charged nowadays , there might be a chance that random teams which are just lucky to be there early enough might just sneak into the 16 qualifier spots over say a team which is a known top 2 in Malaysia (team Hybrid for CS for example) who arranged bus tickets from Johor to participate in this event missed out on the chance due to some technical issues that could occur on that day.

I would never doubt the teams I mentioned above will certainly appear in the vicinity before the registration starts at 11pm that day. But the way the registration is worded creates a slight chance that the unthinkable may just happen at that day itself. In CS terms it will be to deny Team Hybrid  , in Fifa terms it will be to deny Si Jali and of course in NFS terms it will be to deny Chapree the chance to participate in this qualifiers for one of the top events of the year.

I actually have a team from Sabah which traditionally did well at the local scene but do not want to risk flying their whole team down due to this slight chance of being denied participation on that day itself.

If the aim of this qualifiers is to select the best team and players to represent our nation in this international event, some more efforts are need to be done to ensure the selection will be based on the best possible pool of 16 we can get.

And in my book , there is not much fairness if any one of the above incidents that I bolded happened to any of their respective games which will certainly be regarded as a disaster in their respective communities.
1st come 1st serve do test a team or a gamer characteristic which is:

1. Determination
2. Passion
3. Discipline

It maybe not related to gaming skills but it is a show of characteristic. For to be a great gamer must have a good character as well.

You do point out some good point but if you put me in that spot I'll definitely be camping out at the counter. Thats show i really really REALLY wanted the spot ^^

Off the record, i heard some players already plan to camp out. Are you willing to join them? ^^
gM | Mutsumi-san
post May 24 2008, 08:36 PM

1,429 posts

@ underminer
like i said before, if a team is worried about their participation
then come earlier, like a day or 2 days before or a week
that shows how determine a team is
if u say technical difficulties happen during their travel plan
then its their fate
they just have to accept the fact
u wanna discuss about msian gamers fate?
theres plenty of those story especially last year for most of the msian gamers to the wcg grand finals last year @ seattle
they cant do a thing about it and they accepted it in the end

to be sure about participation, come earlier
camp if u must
thats the only solution
BinnYZai
post May 24 2008, 09:42 PM

Question here
So i just need to go down lowyat on saturday and camp to register?
and if there are 16 teams earlier then me i would not be able to register??
so is it about who reaches there 1st?

Rin @ si_jali
post May 24 2008, 10:25 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(BinnYZai @ May 24 2008, 09:42 PM)
Question here
So i just need to go down lowyat on saturday and camp to register?
and if there are 16 teams earlier then me i would not be able to register??
so is it about who reaches there 1st?
Yup the 1st 16 to reg for DOTA will compete.
BinnYZai
post May 24 2008, 10:34 PM

QUOTE(Rin @ si_jali @ May 24 2008, 10:25 PM)
Yup the 1st 16 to reg for DOTA will compete.
ic thx man
Wat time u think i need to be there to ensure a place 4 my team LoL?
lowyat open wat time any1 know haha

Rin @ si_jali
post May 25 2008, 01:05 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(BinnYZai @ May 24 2008, 10:34 PM)
ic thx man
Wat time u think i need to be there to ensure a place 4 my team LoL?
lowyat open wat time any1 know haha
lol well this one is really up to who wants it more.

Those who wants it more will b there earlier.

The shop in Lowyat open around 10AM.

But the doors opened earlier.

So just come as early as possible ^^
guardioo
post May 25 2008, 01:38 AM

360 posts

suddenly, i just feel the kick off is unorganize.
this is not testing
1. Determination
2. Passion
3. Discipline

this is about how well you organize the event.
i do understand they worried about team that registered never attend, but if a team really late, why dont just disqualified them, a team imho need to be punctual.
thats the matter of the crowd i think organizer worried about, without a time schedule when to play 1st?you camp there whole day??

but of coz, mutsumi, sometimes you just talking some nonsense about msia gamers to states, i wouldnt like to be harsh, but if you use ur brain, getting visa to states is pain in the ass, but getting a bus from others states to kl doesnt need visa.

oh well, organizer decide all, i just watch only...
kujaboyde
post May 25 2008, 03:30 AM

jaHat macam MoRza
1,281 posts

above all, we are just too demanding
Rin @ si_jali
post May 25 2008, 03:43 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(guardioo @ May 25 2008, 01:38 AM)
suddenly, i just feel the kick off is unorganize.
this is not testing
1. Determination
2. Passion
3. Discipline

this is about how well you organize the event.
i do understand they worried about team that registered never attend, but if a team really late, why dont just disqualified them, a team imho need to be punctual.
thats the matter of the crowd i think organizer worried about, without a time schedule when to play 1st?you camp there whole day??

but of coz, mutsumi, sometimes you just talking some nonsense about msia gamers to states, i wouldnt like to be harsh, but if you use ur brain, getting visa to states is pain in the ass, but getting a bus from others states to kl doesnt need visa.

oh well, organizer decide all, i just watch only...
Yup it might be because organizer might have limited time,limited space,limited pcs, limited resources,limited budget and etc etc.

So they come up with this rules.

But a team and a player imho should do whatever it takes to participate no matter what if they really had the DETERMINATION,PASSION and DISCIPLINE.

In my early days as a gamer i travel a lot from my hometown Kuantan to KL. I use my own money which i save during my school days to practice at cc because i dont have any pc at my house. And i still come early 1 hour to any tourney although its not 1st come 1st basis. During CGS last year where it was suppose to be 1st come 1st basis i check the website every hour every day to register to get that spot. I fly back often from Indonesia to Malaysia just to participate for WCG Asia 06, WCG Malaysia 06, CEL Games 07,WCG Malaysia 07 and CGS 07. And most of the time the tix are expensive bcoz last min flight and the prizes i won didnt even cover up the cost. And i quit from pursuing my studies in medicine because i wanna go to WCG Grand Final in USA. The only reason im doing this is because i wanted it soooooooooooo badddddddddd.

So what if have to camp? So what if have to wait another year to get a chance to go to WCG Grand Final? So what if your poor? So what if you dont have the time? So what if you live far far away? So what if you dont have family support? SO WHAT?

If you think that its too hard to achieve your dream, then just quit. Life is about facing obstacles everyday and face it with guts.

Just a lil bit of prob and ppl are complaining. So far la, so sikit la, so this la, so that la,no tourney la, have to pay la,no this game la,no that game la,this tourney sux la bcoz dun have that game la, that tourney sux bcoz the prizes no class la,not worth it la,organizer not organize la.

This is the reason y gamers in Malaysia cant compete overseas. Because they are not willing to go that far. Not determine enough. Not passionate enough. Only know to give excuses.

So if you wanna play, if you wanna go to Singapore, if you wanna have the honor representing Malaysia, if you wanna compete with the best in Asia, if you wanna be in all the gaming magazine and some newspapers, if you wanna make your family and frens(and gf) proud then just fu*king come to Lowyat next week.

It doesnt matter if the tourney is 1st come 1st serve basis or unlimited slot or free or have to pay or whateva they might come out.

You want it or not thts all.

I bet many ppl gonna post sumthg back to me and say this and that or whteva. Just post lor.

I'll still be there at Lowyat. I'll be going to Lowyat next week. I'll still be there supporting my frens although im not playing until the final.

But are you?

So i'll end this post with a quote from my favorite motivator:

"Orang lain buat duit, kita buat alasan"

By Dato Dr Fadzilah Kamsah

19 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:22 AM