Sugar Glider V6, Pocket Marsupials

muchan86
post Jun 5 2008, 04:56 PM

1,523 posts

eh.. how long can a glider stay alone?
I mean... IF i buy 1 female joey..... and of course have to play wif them and give my time to her.. then how long she can stay alone without other female companion? and the best time to introduce them is after bond well wif the 1st female and 2-3 months later get another female to teman her or? hehe
spel'it
post Jun 5 2008, 05:04 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 04:56 PM)
eh.. how long can a glider stay alone?
I mean... IF i buy 1 female joey..... and of course have to play wif them and give my time to her.. then how long she can stay alone without other female companion? and the best time to introduce them is after bond well wif the 1st female and 2-3 months later get another female to teman her or? hehe
there's a few opinions on this matter. sum wud say better u bond with the 1st glider and get a new one after two months of bonding with the first one. this is to avoid that they bond with each other and reject ur effort to bond with them.

but for me, i took care of both ck n kc at the same time. so i bond with them together. i spend a lot of time with them. Koochee was more laid back and Cheekoo was more trusting that time. so it was quite easy for me to bond with them. and i guess they do effect each other. meaning to say, when CK trust me, KC begin to trust me too.
krynzpeaches
post Jun 5 2008, 05:06 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Gliders can stay alone quite long as long as YOU are willing to spend a lot of time with them. Keep them company and entertained.

If it's for bonding purposes like 2-3 months then later get another one is okay, even up to 6 months++ is still okay IF you spend a lot of time with the one you have.

-----

Yes, like what spel'it said also is true. We CAN bond with 2 gliders at once. It's a matter of you bond with them smile.gif

Most newbies are scared to get 2 at once with bonding reasons, but if you can, I think getting 2 at once is always better.

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jun 5 2008, 05:08 PM
muchan86
post Jun 5 2008, 05:09 PM

1,523 posts

means.... there're few options.. but it all depends on me right?
as long as I committed to and willing to spend more time wif my glider then I might just keep her alone as long as I really spend wif her... hmm...

Now I understood... hehe
thanks KP n spel'it!! =]

KP, yeah... as for me or many other noob.. i think we used to think *too many 'think' lol* that better have one 1st to bond.. because we are new and scared if we straight away buy both... but as I read n read again... having both pairs at the same time also good as long as I can spend my time correctly to bond and play wif them rite? hehe

thanks a lot.... if I find another question will sure to come and ask.. because my mind still debating if i really wan to buy or not.. hehe

This post has been edited by muchan86: Jun 5 2008, 05:12 PM
sharil_routh
post Jun 5 2008, 05:10 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 5 2008, 12:18 PM)
Mealworms can climb on rough surfaces where their tiny front legs can grab on, eg: cloth, woods, cushions, etc.

Best to put the mealworms in the metal bowl when feeding.

Mealworms have traveled far in my apartment. From the dining area to my room, from my glider's room to my guest room sweat.gif

Yep, if they get loose, you'll find them in the nooks and cranny of your house/rooms by the following day or two tongue.gif

tongue.gif
KP
Hmm...
How come worm can climb on slippery stand? coz my sofa ada kaki.
I thought glider can throw the worm. tongue.gif
krynzpeaches
post Jun 5 2008, 05:29 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 05:09 PM)
means.... there're few options.. but it all depends on me right?
as long as I committed to and willing to spend more time wif my glider then I might just keep her alone as long as I really spend wif her... hmm...

---

KP, yeah... as for me or many other noob.. i think we used to think *too many 'think' lol* that better have one 1st to bond.. because we are new and scared if we straight away buy both... but as I read n read again... having both pairs at the same time also good as long as I can spend my time correctly to bond and play wif them rite? hehe

thanks a lot.... if I find another question will sure to come and ask.. because my mind still debating if i really wan to buy or not.. hehe

Yes, some can be kept alone quite long if the owner can spend time with it. But we always have to consider the "what if"...

Say, "What if something happens to you?"

"What if you suddenly become busy?"

"What if your new boyfriend/husband doesn't like you to spend so much time with your pet?"

Haha, I know, but these factors have to be thought carefully smile.gif

Take your time to debate and decide wisely smile.gif

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 5 2008, 05:10 PM)
Hmm...
How come worm can climb on slippery stand? coz my sofa ada kaki.
I thought glider can throw the worm. tongue.gif

It's very rare for a glider to throw their mealworm... More likely slipped from their hand ada lar...

But fruits they do throw sometimes smile.gif

KP

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 5 2008, 05:34 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

A Picture update on little Ringo, saramic and tee_jay's future boy boy:

Ringo OOP around 22 May. Today he has opened his eyes. Look at those big cute eyes. And his size has increased!

He is a single joey to Naya and Pama. They adore Ringo to bits and would never leave him alone in the bonding pouch. Ringo is still nursing.
krynzpeaches
post Jun 5 2008, 05:41 PM

2,047 posts

Ahhh, I miss little joeys growing up wub.gif

Yeap, that's what mommy and daddy suggies always do, take good care of their little ones wink.gif

I'm sure Sara will drool.gif at these Ringo's pix tongue.gif

Looks like he has fuzzy wuzzy fur!

tongue.gif
KP
muchan86
post Jun 5 2008, 05:43 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 5 2008, 05:29 PM)
Yes, some can be kept alone quite long if the owner can spend time with it. But we always have to consider the "what if"...

Say, "What if something happens to you?"

"What if you suddenly become busy?"

"What if your new boyfriend/husband doesn't like you to spend so much time with your pet?"

Haha, I know, but these factors have to be thought carefully smile.gif

Take your time to debate and decide wisely smile.gif
KP
I do understand these reason laugh.gif
because.. we can never predict the future right?
althou if i say I sure have time to play but I won't know it there's a sudden busy waiting for me tongue.gif
yeah... I'm thinking now.. @.@
If i really plan to buy also it 'might' be decided after July means early of August after I came back from my 2 weeks holiday and if my pocket is supporting me... haha

Hun : it's that baby ringo?? soooooooooooooooooooooooooo cuteeeeee....
and now u really poison me till the suggie-sickness is crawling into my brain now!! doh.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 5 2008, 05:44 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Ringo is a total darling. He is vocal too. Would crab and hiss for him mommy heheheh.

When I look at Ringo, I imagine joeys that are about his size, sold at PS.... so sad.... means they are about 3 to 4 weeks old only at those pet shops.... pity pity.
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 05:45 PM

514 posts

Wah cute ..

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 05:49 PM
muchan86
post Jun 5 2008, 05:48 PM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 5 2008, 05:44 PM)
Ringo is a total darling. He is vocal too. Would crab and hiss for him mommy heheheh.

When I look at Ringo, I imagine joeys that are about his size, sold at PS.... so sad.... means they are about 3 to 4 weeks old only at those pet shops.... pity pity.
Yeah.... pity them....
still can remember how fragile they are in the small cage... without their mom to feed n a nice warm pouch to sleep on sad.gif I do hope they can survive... and those who really bought them.. know how to take care of them cry.gif
krynzpeaches
post Jun 5 2008, 05:49 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 05:43 PM)
I do understand these reason  laugh.gif
because.. we can never predict the future right?
althou if i say I sure have time to play but I won't know it there's a sudden busy waiting for me  tongue.gif
yeah... I'm thinking now.. @.@
If i really plan to buy also it 'might' be decided after July means early of August after I came back from my 2 weeks holiday and if my pocket is supporting me... haha

The future is something that we can never foresee nod.gif

Sometimes I do question myself about keeping my suggies... Will I be able to keep them until they part from me, or I will have to give them up along the way?

That always makes me sad and I will always remind myself to just keep keeping them as long as I can smile.gif

You going back your hometown?

Mebbe you can check out the procedure how to bring back a suggie to your hometown wink.gif

KP
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 05:51 PM

514 posts

Dear sifu rafiqos..
An example of a weld bed using "/////" stroke, how's this? ok?

I grind it to be smooth..like this..

OK.. i know it's off topic nod.gif

ggMIng, here's the pix of making my glider cage.
I don't know if later they protest," Hey, where's the cute cute smiley face suggie, what's this heavy duty crap?"

Welding glider cage is not difficult, need some practise and space and equipment.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 06:01 PM
krynzpeaches
post Jun 5 2008, 05:52 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 5 2008, 05:44 PM)

Yeah, those sold at PS are just about 3-4 weeks OOP only...

And they are more smaller looking than Ringo!

mad.gif

sad.gif
KP

muchan86
post Jun 5 2008, 05:56 PM

1,523 posts

I felt the same thing like u.....
sometimes I can get bored wif my pets... but I never think of sell them off because of my boredness.. if I really can't take care of them anymore I willingly to find ppl who can take care of them but not selling them... cuz my dictionary said : never sell a pet! althou they're a pet but they do have a felling like us.. so selling them means treating them like a thing not a pet... hehe this is always come on my mind... last time my dad used to have lots of birds and a monkey forgot what it's name... he gave it all to a friend who can take care of them.. because we all think they better live wif ppl who can take care them but not selling them =]

yeah.. goin back because friends want to visit my hometown.. hehe
will try to ask bout the procedure on the way back home...

thanks for all the answer KP =]
ekazakaria
post Jun 5 2008, 06:02 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 5 2008, 05:49 PM)
The future is something that we can never foresee nod.gif

Sometimes I do question myself about keeping my suggies... Will I be able to keep them until they part from me, or I will have to give them up along the way?

That always makes me sad and I will always remind myself to just keep keeping them as long as I can smile.gif

You going back your hometown?

Mebbe you can check out the procedure how to bring back a suggie to your hometown wink.gif

KP
One of my concern too..what will happens to my suggies if anything happen to me or my sis..altho i dun have any suggies yet, but thats one of thing that cross my mind...belum dapat sudah risau..hehehehe

probably should include the custody of the suggies in my will too.. tongue.gif

wink.gif
Eka
silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 06:07 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 5 2008, 09:37 AM)
Silver, the J clips are available here in Malaysia, not abundantly, you really need to search for it smile.gif

Currently the one place I found it is at ACE Hardware Ikano Power Centre smile.gif

It was still there when I went browsing in last Sunday smile.gif

However, I am not sure if they have the J clips plier or not because I only saw the packs of J clips only.

KP
When i return from my trip, then go check it out myself, thanks.
tee_jay
post Jun 5 2008, 06:21 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 5 2008, 05:34 PM)
A Picture update on little Ringo, saramic and tee_jay's future boy boy:

Ringo OOP around 22 May. Today he has opened his eyes. Look at those big cute eyes. And his size has increased!

He is a single joey to Naya and Pama. They adore Ringo to bits and would never leave him alone in the bonding pouch. Ringo is still nursing.
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

silverwineus
post Jun 5 2008, 06:24 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Jun 5 2008, 05:56 PM)
I felt the same thing like u.....
sometimes I can get bored wif my pets... but I never think of sell them off because of my boredness.. if I really can't take care of them anymore I willingly to find ppl who can take care of them but not selling them... cuz my dictionary said : never sell a pet! althou they're a pet but they do have a felling like us.. so selling them means treating them like a thing not a pet... hehe this is always come on my mind... last time my dad used to have lots of birds and a monkey forgot what it's name... he gave it all to a friend who can take care of them.. because we all think they better live wif ppl who can take care them but not selling them =]

yeah.. goin back because friends want to visit my hometown.. hehe
will try to ask bout the procedure on the way back home...

thanks for all the answer KP =]
Your dictionary says, "Your pets are never forsaken because they are yours."

This is a principle that we need to hold on to. It's my principle that helps me not to be swayed away when i see nicer ones and tempted to sell.

It is COMMITMENT that we make, just like marriage, a more severe compatible comparison.

It's RELATIONSHIP. Giving up your pet is never a happy occasion, speaking from my experience of giving them up once. It's very heart breaking. After that, i say to myself, no second time again.

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Jun 5 2008, 06:30 PM

123 Pages « < 91 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:00 AM