QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 16 2008, 05:48 PM)
I think hes thinking veryy "deeply" Stock Market V12, Stock Market talk, some are investors, some are gamblers..
Stock Market V12, Stock Market talk, some are investors, some are gamblers..
May 16 2008, 09:05 PM
1,385 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
May 16 2008, 09:31 PM
923 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: KK, Sabah --> Hk (HKU) |
May 16 2008, 11:32 PM
633 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
GREENPACKET - Next weeks Star performer?
KUALA LUMPUR (MarketWatch) -- Intel Corp. (INTC: Intel Corporation INTC 24.56, -0.41, -1.6%) will likely announce on May 19 that it is buying a minority stake in Malaysian high-speed wireless broadband operator Green Packet Bhd (0082.KU), a person familiar with the deal said Friday. Intel's entry will help Green Packet - which will soon launch Malaysia's first WiMAX broadband service - break into other markets in the region, the person said. Details of the deal aren't immediately available. Intel said in a note earlier that it will announce an "investment in a listed Malaysian telecommunications company" at 0400 GMT on May 19, on the sidelines of the World Congress On Information Technology 2008. The investment - if it goes through - will come just weeks after Green Packet Managing Director C.C. Puan said in a May 2 interview with Dow Jones Newswires that the company was in talks to secure a strategic foreign partner. Green Packet shares have been on the rise since then, gaining as much as 23% and outperforming a 2% rise in the benchmark Kuala Lumpur Composite Index. The shares were last traded at MYR2.77. Puan had also said that Green Packet expects to roll out its 2.3Ghz WiMAX broadband service in June, targeting revenue of MYR1.0 billion from the business by 2012. While 20% of the Malaysian population have access to personal computers, broadband penetration in the country remains low at just 4%. WiMAX - short for Worldwide Interoperability for Microwave Access - expands broadband wireless access over distances of up to 50 kilometers and reduces the cost of implementing broadband. http://www.marketwatch.com/news/story/inte...376}&dist=msr_2 |
May 16 2008, 11:45 PM
37,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
GPACKET... long time no see it in action liao, coming back?
May 17 2008, 12:36 AM
607 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
May 17 2008, 12:54 AM
2,656 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Guyz, i need some consultation... The stock i bought, I've bought quite a number of different stock. I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile? Rather than just see book profit and poof there goes the book profit.... While selling off your my holding, i may not be able to get the the attractive price i bought years ago...
I'm in such a dilemma now... This post has been edited by keith_hjinhoh: May 17 2008, 12:55 AM |
May 17 2008, 08:17 AM
392 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Hey guys,
i saw my contract note from OSK, it stated that the share i bought, AISB has this: cum dividend: exdate 5/6/2008 is this mean i will be entitled for dividend on 5 june 2008? what will happen after this date? will the share price drop? if they really pay the dividend, does any one know normally how much? how they pay you? thanks in advance.... Added on May 17, 2008, 8:29 amhey guys, one more thing, how do we check whether is a dividend counter or not? This post has been edited by neverlog: May 17 2008, 08:29 AM |
May 17 2008, 09:37 AM
37,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 17 2008, 12:54 AM) Guyz, i need some consultation... The stock i bought, I've bought quite a number of different stock. I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile? Rather than just see book profit and poof there goes the book profit.... While selling off your my holding, i may not be able to get the the attractive price i bought years ago... good question.I'm in such a dilemma now... i think our senior here like cherroy, dreamer101, etc will be able to answer you well. but from my observation, they hardly sell, unless, the company is not doing well or they are no longer in good fundamentals, then maybe you may consider to take profit... QUOTE(neverlog @ May 17 2008, 08:17 AM) Hey guys, you must buy a day before the exdate.i saw my contract note from OSK, it stated that the share i bought, AISB has this: cum dividend: exdate 5/6/2008 is this mean i will be entitled for dividend on 5 june 2008? what will happen after this date? will the share price drop? if they really pay the dividend, does any one know normally how much? how they pay you? thanks in advance.... Added on May 17, 2008, 8:29 amhey guys, one more thing, how do we check whether is a dividend counter or not? thereotically price will be revised after exdate, depending on how much dividend they give you. how they pay us the dividend? some directly bank into your acc, some sending cheque to your house. |
May 17 2008, 09:51 AM
15,855 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 17 2008, 12:54 AM) Guyz, i need some consultation... The stock i bought, I've bought quite a number of different stock. I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile? Rather than just see book profit and poof there goes the book profit.... While selling off your my holding, i may not be able to get the the attractive price i bought years ago... keith_hjinhoh,I'm in such a dilemma now... Before you buy a stock, you need to know A) Why you are buying?? B) Under what condition and what price, will you sell? C) How long do you plan to hold?? D) How do you plan to make money from the stock?? If you do not answer (A) to (D), you do not buy. And, you write them down so that you can remember and learn from it. <<I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile?>> 1) There are less than 5 counters in KLSE that can be considered for INVESTMENT. 2) If you have PBBank aka good dividend paying stock, you NEVER have to sell in order to take profit. Dreamer |
May 17 2008, 10:07 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 17 2008, 12:54 AM) Guyz, i need some consultation... The stock i bought, I've bought quite a number of different stock. I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile? Rather than just see book profit and poof there goes the book profit.... While selling off your my holding, i may not be able to get the the attractive price i bought years ago... Good fundamental stock with steady performance throughout is much better than putting FD.I'm in such a dilemma now... Personally only sell when those stocks are way ahead of its fundamental or deteoriating fundamental (like I sold on Carlsberg last time out), othertime, don't bother much about their daily price movement. When it is too expensive to hold then sell decision will be more justified, like current share price only yield less than (or equivalent or slightly above) FD rate even take into account of 1-2 years growth ahread, then 90% you know the share price won't go much further or in other word, the chance of share price to move higher is slim, while share price correction downwards chance is high. <-- but still you don't know how it will move as sometimes momemtum of the market can take a stock quite far. (bullish time, people tends to see the glass half full while bearish time, people see it half empty even though it is still the same) Ask yourself, if sell those stock then what are you going to do with those money (cash)? Putting in FD earn 3.7%? Any other alternative? If answer no, it is hard to convince me to sell thouse 6-7% yield to put in FD 3.7%. Only if the stock can't generate this kind of yield due to profit deteoriation then I would sell. That's just my view on strong fundamental stock. This doesn't apply on goreng stock. Anyway, just my personal preference, there is no definite answer in stock market. It depends on individual liking. Some like 'goreng' stuff, even though some never earn a 'net gain' over the long term goreng this goreng that. While some like steady boring and don't like much price movement, as long as stock yield 6-10% return then considered satisfy already while any capital appreciation is a bonus for them. Just my 2 cents. |
May 17 2008, 12:20 PM
607 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
4898 TA TA ENTERPRISE BHD
First and Final Dividend of 10% Entitlement Details: First and Final Dividend of 10% less 25% taxation Entitlement Type: First & Final Dividend Entitlement Date and Time: 03/07/2008 04:00 PM Year Ending/Period Ending/Ended Date: 31/01/2008 EX Date: 01/07/2008 To SCANS Date: Payment Date: 01/08/2008 Interest Payment Period: Rights Issue Price: 0.000 Trading of Rights Start On: Trading of Rights End On: Stock Par Value: 1.00 This post has been edited by dsugums: May 17 2008, 12:22 PM |
May 17 2008, 12:58 PM
923 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: KK, Sabah --> Hk (HKU) |
QUOTE(dsugums @ May 17 2008, 12:20 PM) 4898 TA TA ENTERPRISE BHD wow, very tempting deal, Ta now 1.16 ...First and Final Dividend of 10% Entitlement Details: First and Final Dividend of 10% less 25% taxation Entitlement Type: First & Final Dividend Entitlement Date and Time: 03/07/2008 04:00 PM Year Ending/Period Ending/Ended Date: 31/01/2008 EX Date: 01/07/2008 To SCANS Date: Payment Date: 01/08/2008 Interest Payment Period: Rights Issue Price: 0.000 Trading of Rights Start On: Trading of Rights End On: Stock Par Value: 1.00 |
May 17 2008, 05:16 PM
713 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Long Island |
QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 17 2008, 12:54 AM) Guyz, i need some consultation... The stock i bought, I've bought quite a number of different stock. I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile? Rather than just see book profit and poof there goes the book profit.... While selling off your my holding, i may not be able to get the the attractive price i bought years ago... according to warren buffet.. he wont sell I'm in such a dilemma now... |
May 17 2008, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(aretla @ May 17 2008, 05:16 PM) We're different from buffet. They're institutional investors. They can get a company's share at attractive prices. Bear in mind the volume of shares they buy, they wont just buy a shares from us the retailing trader. They can get more information than us. He have the control of the company he acquired, we dont. He knew the business is going to do well because he's in control of it, we dont. Furthermore, he do sell shares.. Remember Petrol China? Added on May 17, 2008, 6:02 pm QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 17 2008, 09:51 AM) keith_hjinhoh, A) When i buy a shares, I sees potential in the company to grow. Management integrity is good. Financially sound. Return is good, risk is quite minimal.Before you buy a stock, you need to know A) Why you are buying?? B) Under what condition and what price, will you sell? C) How long do you plan to hold?? D) How do you plan to make money from the stock?? If you do not answer (A) to (D), you do not buy. And, you write them down so that you can remember and learn from it. <<I meant to hold for long term investment, but, is it wise I take profit once in awhile?>> 1) There are less than 5 counters in KLSE that can be considered for INVESTMENT. 2) If you have PBBank aka good dividend paying stock, you NEVER have to sell in order to take profit. Dreamer B) That's my problem now. I do not have an exit plan. But logically, whenever company do unwise activity , it will prompt me to sell. C) Indefinite as long as the company is growing and it rewards shareholder well D) Capital and Dividend gain. This post has been edited by keith_hjinhoh: May 17 2008, 06:03 PM |
May 17 2008, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 17 2008, 05:59 PM) Added on May 17, 2008, 6:02 pm A) When i buy a shares, I sees potential in the company to grow. Management integrity is good. Financially sound. Return is good, risk is quite minimal. B) That's my problem now. I do not have an exit plan. But logically, whenever company do unwise activity , it will prompt me to sell. C) Indefinite as long as the company is growing and it rewards shareholder well D) Capital and Dividend gain. <<C) Indefinite as long as the company is growing and it rewards shareholder well>> A) You forget to define what is your targeted grow rate?? X%?? For example, if the grow rate drop below 10%, I will sell. B) Again, under what dividend yield will you sell?? For example, if the dividend is not yielding at least 2 X FD rate, you will sell. Those questions have a precise number or a range of number. For example, it will be ridiculous for you to hold if the counter only grow 1%?? The exit plan has a WELL DEFINED and PRECISE numbers. Dreamer |
May 17 2008, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 17 2008, 07:40 PM) keith_hjinhoh, Sometimes growth rate is very hard to be gauge as business is cyclical, sometimes they make more business, sometimes they dont... Even growth rate for a year or 2 years maybe lower or negative, however, active management or good managers maybe able to improve the situation...<<C) Indefinite as long as the company is growing and it rewards shareholder well>> A) You forget to define what is your targeted grow rate?? X%?? For example, if the grow rate drop below 10%, I will sell. B) Again, under what dividend yield will you sell?? For example, if the dividend is not yielding at least 2 X FD rate, you will sell. Those questions have a precise number or a range of number. For example, it will be ridiculous for you to hold if the counter only grow 1%?? The exit plan has a WELL DEFINED and PRECISE numbers. Dreamer |
May 17 2008, 09:20 PM
how u define a company growth rate?
base on it EPS? profit? revenue? |
May 17 2008, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ May 17 2008, 09:02 PM) Sometimes growth rate is very hard to be gauge as business is cyclical, sometimes they make more business, sometimes they dont... Even growth rate for a year or 2 years maybe lower or negative, however, active management or good managers maybe able to improve the situation... keith_hjinhoh,If you DO NOT KNOW whether the growth rate for the company is reasonable, you DO NOT BUY. Growth rate is dependent on the GDP growth rate. Or, you could have benchmark the company against other company in the same industry. For example, we know that PBBank is a better managed bank than Maybank because PBBank has a better growth rate than Maybank. <<Even growth rate for a year or 2 years maybe lower or negative,>> So, you still could tell by benchmarking against the GDP growth rate or companies in the same industry. In summary, you "Make money when you buy". You have a well defined exit plan, ROI target, loss target, and time line/ limit. Or else, you do not buy. The problem you have right now because you do not know what is your precise exit plan. I ONLY buy one counter in KLSE. There may be 4 more that is worth buying. But, I am not buying because I DO NOT KNOW enough to invest on the other 4. You gain wisdom by knowing A) What you do not know. B) What you do not know enough This is how you protect you from yourself and losing money. In general, people are Over-confident on their investing capability. I lost 50% of my life savings learning this this lesson. Dreamer Added on May 17, 2008, 10:18 pm QUOTE(aretla @ May 17 2008, 09:20 PM) aretla,Ideally, you want all 4 1) Revenue 2) Profit 3) Profit margin ( this indicate that the company is gaining efficiency and productivity) 4) Dividend (This indicates that the profit is REAL) Dreamer This post has been edited by dreamer101: May 17 2008, 10:18 PM |
May 18 2008, 12:01 AM
monday klse close shop?
May 18 2008, 12:05 AM
2,013 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: USJ |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:22 AM |