127 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

incognito
post May 11 2008, 10:01 AM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

QUOTE(aiz1j @ May 10 2008, 10:46 AM)
just to point out that 37AV500E is not being phased out/old model. It's just been launched 2 months back to replace 37A3500E and similarly priced RM3100-RM3250. It has better contrast ratio compared to A3500E. I have compared with LG 37" LCD, I would say 37AV500E performs better. If you're eyeing for 42", personally I'll go for plasma unless you're gonna watch ur TV from a distance more than 10feet. Take your time, don't empty ur wallet too soon.. thumbup.gif
is it really true the 37AV500E is a newer model? i checked the specs (response time) and its even lower than its predecessor, thats kinda weird.

well i will be using it for gaming as well and i heard that plasmas are not so suitable for that due to the possibility of burn-in.

hehe, right now my budget only permits me to survey the 37" range, also my good ole 29" crt tv kaput already so i guess im ready to splurge at the moment cool.gif
kianwee
post May 11 2008, 10:05 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ May 10 2008, 08:39 AM)
Sony 32 s400a  is showing in HN ikano. contrast ratio 3000:1 , dynamic contrast 15000:1. List price RM2499.
PQ not bad. But this TV not using Samsung s-pav panel anymore.
Dude, there's no such thing as Samsung S-PAV panel. It's S-PVA
TSclngu
post May 11 2008, 10:47 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 11 2008, 08:46 AM)
Any price updates for 50" Plasma TV?  icon_idea.gif

My 42" plasma is old liao... cry.gif
Pioneer Kuro 508XG 50" Plasma the cheapest I found in local stores is RM15,000

This post has been edited by clngu: May 11 2008, 10:49 AM
kianwee
post May 11 2008, 10:48 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ May 11 2008, 10:47 AM)
Are you upgrading soon my friend? thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kianwee: May 11 2008, 10:52 AM
adrian0229
post May 11 2008, 11:32 AM

3,913 posts

which shop?my price is 14xxx rclxms.gif rclxms.gif no one can fight tbm pioneer price de tongue.gif
htkaki
post May 11 2008, 01:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I agree with that. Adrian, 428XG only RM8,600 now? You know from who lah.
piscesguy
post May 11 2008, 02:14 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

Gee....when will the price drop below RM 10K ? It is still expensive for me. sweat.gif
piscesguy
post May 11 2008, 02:18 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ May 11 2008, 10:48 AM)
Are you upgrading soon my friend?  thumbup.gif
With that kinda price, I don't think so..sad.gif
adrian0229
post May 11 2008, 02:33 PM

3,913 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 11 2008, 01:44 PM)
I agree with that. Adrian, 428XG only RM8,600 now? You know from who lah.
nope...428xg below 8.2....
incognito
post May 11 2008, 02:42 PM

i've got a hunger, twisting my stomach into knots
2,402 posts

hey guys, just another quick question: i hear there is another Legend electrical shop along jalan kelang lama. is it the same as the ss2 branch? and also, do they open on sundays. thnx notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by incognito: May 11 2008, 02:43 PM
htkaki
post May 11 2008, 11:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Aiya, same taukeh. Buy from adrian lah if you are looking for Pioneer.
adrian0229
post May 11 2008, 11:33 PM

3,913 posts

htkaki...u din sell pioneer? biggrin.gif
aiz1j
post May 12 2008, 08:56 AM

156 posts

Finally I had a chance to see the award winning latest plasma LG 42PG60UR-TA at Best Denki KLCC. The price is RM4,899. In my opinion the picture was better than Samsung and little better than Pana PV70, (they were not placed side-by-side but quite close to each other). However I couldn't directly compare with Pana PV80 as PV80 was displayed at the front of the store.

Anyway, I tried to compare the LG PG60 and Pana PV80 and found that the picture quality is of similar quality.
Comparing the two, in terms of design PG60 looks more modern and stylish with invisible speaker and fully glass surface. So LG wins.

In terms of connectivity, PG60 offers USB input which can play MP3, JPG and DivX while PV80 has an SD card socket for photo browsing.
PG60 invisible speaker was said to be tuned by Mark Levinson to increase sweet spot but as usual all the TVs on display didn't have their audio turn on. So I couldn't compare the sound.

In terms of menu to 'play' with, the PV80 doesnt have many submenus (this one I tried at Jusco, so I didn't ask for the remote at Bdenki). But PG60 offers more complicated submenus (that's what I think anyway cos there were Gamma adjusment etc which were not in the PV80).
Some extras on the LG inc. PiP (pic in pic) and black level adjustment.

As for goodies, LG seems to have nothing while Pana gives HDMI cable and 5years warranty. LG seems to offer a lot of features which beat Pana. However the best way to do the comparison is watching your own DVD on them side-by-side.

Price : LG PG60 RM4199-RM4899 while Panasonic PV80 RM4300-RM5199

This post has been edited by aiz1j: May 12 2008, 11:05 AM
DigitalKL
post May 12 2008, 09:37 AM

1,360 posts

ya pv80 is quite bare bone. cannot freeze frame. have to cycle thru the inputs instead of direct access. does it have a timer? *sour grapes thats all* smile.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: May 12 2008, 09:38 AM
adrian0229
post May 12 2008, 09:50 AM

3,913 posts

i got last unit of 42pv70 to clear(new,not display set)...anyone who look for budgeted big tv...can let me kno...special price...
utellme
post May 12 2008, 10:34 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ May 12 2008, 09:50 AM)
i got last unit of 42pv70 to clear(new,not display set)...anyone who look for budgeted big tv...can let me kno...special price...
Can give some price indication.
ape
post May 12 2008, 02:35 PM

849 posts

yeap, say between 2500 ~ 3000 i will consider
piscesguy
post May 12 2008, 02:46 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(ape @ May 12 2008, 02:35 PM)
yeap, say between 2500 ~ 3000 i will consider
Ur price stated is more for 32"..

I think 42" will be more than 3500.
underworld
post May 12 2008, 03:12 PM

Th3 D3vIL
1,182 posts

anybody seen LG scarlet LCD tv's in the market?

adrian0229
post May 12 2008, 03:50 PM

3,913 posts

ya..price is around 3.8..totally new set..of coz in cash n carry coz we sell it below cost...

127 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0178sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:41 AM