Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

aiz1j
post May 9 2008, 01:16 PM

156 posts

Just for info....

Year 2008 LINE UP (already launched for M'sian market))
=====================
LCD
===

Hitachi
37LD900DTA
L32H01AU
L37X01AU

LG
32LC7R-TS
32LG30RA-TA
32LG50D-GA
32LG50D-GD
32LG60UR-TA
37LG30RA-TA
37LG60UR-TA
42LG30RA-TA
42LG50FD-GD
42LG60FR-TA
47LG30RA-TA
47LG50FD-GD
47LG60FR-TA

panasonic
TX-37LX800M
TX-32LX800M
TX-32LX80M
TX-37LX80M
TX-37LZ800M

PHILIPS
32HF2010
32PFL3403/98
42PFL3403/98
42PFL5403/98
42PFL7603/98
42PFL7803/98
47PFL3403/98
47PFL5403/98

samsung
LA37A450
LA37A550
LA32A450
LA32A550
LA37A450
LA37A550
LA40A450
LA40A550
LA46A550

sharp
LC-37A33M
LC-32A33M

sony
S400A
V400A
W400A

toshiba
37AV500E
42AV500E

Plasma
=====
Hitachi
P42H01AU

LG
42PG60D-GE
42PG60UR-TA
50PG60UR-TA

panasonic
TH-37PR11MS
TH-42PR11MS
TH-42PV80H
TH-42PV8H
TH-42PY800H

pioneer
(nothing yet)

samsung
PS42A450
PS42A450
PS50A450

aiz1j
post May 10 2008, 10:46 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ May 10 2008, 01:18 AM)
LG 37LC7R - http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/home_av/tvs/0...0643422p,00.htm
toshiba 37AV500E/37A3500E (dunno whats the difference? only the 37A3500E is listed in toshibas website)
sharp LC37PX5M

just to point out that 37AV500E is not being phased out/old model. It's just been launched 2 months back to replace 37A3500E and similarly priced RM3100-RM3250. It has better contrast ratio compared to A3500E. I have compared with LG 37" LCD, I would say 37AV500E performs better. If you're eyeing for 42", personally I'll go for plasma unless you're gonna watch ur TV from a distance more than 10feet. Take your time, don't empty ur wallet too soon.. thumbup.gif

nb: I'm eagerly waiting for the award winning LG 42PG60UR-TA plasma TV, with invisible speaker tuned by Mark Levinson. LG said the shipment should be here anytime soon. Supposedly better specced than Panasonic 42PV80H but with lower price tag. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by aiz1j: May 10 2008, 10:55 AM
aiz1j
post May 12 2008, 08:56 AM

156 posts

Finally I had a chance to see the award winning latest plasma LG 42PG60UR-TA at Best Denki KLCC. The price is RM4,899. In my opinion the picture was better than Samsung and little better than Pana PV70, (they were not placed side-by-side but quite close to each other). However I couldn't directly compare with Pana PV80 as PV80 was displayed at the front of the store.

Anyway, I tried to compare the LG PG60 and Pana PV80 and found that the picture quality is of similar quality.
Comparing the two, in terms of design PG60 looks more modern and stylish with invisible speaker and fully glass surface. So LG wins.

In terms of connectivity, PG60 offers USB input which can play MP3, JPG and DivX while PV80 has an SD card socket for photo browsing.
PG60 invisible speaker was said to be tuned by Mark Levinson to increase sweet spot but as usual all the TVs on display didn't have their audio turn on. So I couldn't compare the sound.

In terms of menu to 'play' with, the PV80 doesnt have many submenus (this one I tried at Jusco, so I didn't ask for the remote at Bdenki). But PG60 offers more complicated submenus (that's what I think anyway cos there were Gamma adjusment etc which were not in the PV80).
Some extras on the LG inc. PiP (pic in pic) and black level adjustment.

As for goodies, LG seems to have nothing while Pana gives HDMI cable and 5years warranty. LG seems to offer a lot of features which beat Pana. However the best way to do the comparison is watching your own DVD on them side-by-side.

Price : LG PG60 RM4199-RM4899 while Panasonic PV80 RM4300-RM5199

This post has been edited by aiz1j: May 12 2008, 11:05 AM
aiz1j
post May 12 2008, 08:00 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(incognito @ May 11 2008, 10:01 AM)
is it really true the 37AV500E is a newer model? i checked the specs (response time) and its even lower than its predecessor, thats kinda weird.

well i will be using it for gaming as well and i heard that plasmas are not so suitable for that due to the possibility of burn-in.

hehe, right now my budget only permits me to survey the 37" range, also my good ole 29" crt tv kaput already so i guess im ready to splurge at the moment cool.gif
I am sure the 37AV500E is the latest based on info from Toshiba Malaysia itself.

I don't think the response time was provided by the manufacturer as I couldn't find any such figure in their latest website (unlike 37A3500E which was clearly stated as 6.5ms in Toshiba brochure). Most probably those figures were provided by the web author. Since manufacturers used to test the response time using their own method, the figures were not comparable. Same thing with dynamic contrast ratio. The best way to judge is with your own eyes. Bring your DVD and test it on the TV itself.

This post has been edited by aiz1j: May 12 2008, 08:03 PM
aiz1j
post May 15 2008, 05:32 PM

156 posts

For those who are looking for review of LG PG60 series vs Panasonic PV80, here is a Norwegian website for that (the overal score, Pana won as picture quality (black quality) had more weightage than other aspects), but Pioneer still leads.
---
http://forbruker.no/digital/tester/tv/article2400078.ece
----> You can read the translation by google

http://translate.google.com.my/translate?u...&hl=en&ie=UTF-8

aiz1j
post May 18 2008, 09:31 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(HoneyBadger @ May 16 2008, 11:59 AM)
hi, does anyone know whether LG 42PG60UR can do 1080/24p ? Panny PV80H can do so right?
Based on this review, LG PG60 does support..
"The most obvious user-friendly
feature of this plasma is its plethora
on ins and outs. Four HDMI inputs
is as many as I’ve seen on any
telly. As they are v1.3 it allows
DeepColor support and can accept
24 frames-per-second 1080p
video – although The latter is, of
course, wasted on this 1365 x 768
resolution panel."

The whole review is on

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-bin/di...p?reviewid=7560
aiz1j
post May 20 2008, 02:30 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(underworld @ May 12 2008, 03:12 PM)
anybody seen LG scarlet LCD tv's in the market?
I've seen it at SenQ, The Mines. Price RM6.5k. Can't remember the size, if not mistaken it was 42" Full HD
aiz1j
post May 29 2008, 12:52 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(seesawseen2k @ May 29 2008, 12:12 AM)
LG 42 PG60 UR
The Legend - ss2 RM4400
XX shop (next by the legend) - ss2 RM4100
MG shop - ss2 RM4050
Anyone can find lower than these?
Is that including delivery and 2yrs warranty? Any free gift?
aiz1j
post Jun 9 2008, 06:09 PM

156 posts

The LG 42" PG60 ie 42PG60UR can be as low as RM3800 if you shop around. But then, Panasonic PV80 is not a bad choice if you are sort of person who don't like to play around with extra settings.

QUOTE(imr4n @ May 4 2008, 12:23 AM)
LG PG60 is RM4899 with divx playable via usb
Panny PV80 is around RM45XX with jpg playable via sdhc

unless forumers here can offer cheaper price for that LG PG60
it's better to get panny and if wanna play divx get a dvd player with that capability costing a couple of hundred ringgit only, still total cheaper

Added on June 9, 2008, 6:14 pmLG PG60 comes in in42" and 50". The quality is almost similar to Pana PV80 with PV80 has slightly better black (you really gotta see it yourself. Quite difficult to compare).

QUOTE(calvin_t @ May 6 2008, 09:29 PM)
bro... what is the panel size for the LG PG60? Only RM4899? What's your opinion for LG? Don't know what's the quality
This post has been edited by aiz1j: Jun 9 2008, 06:14 PM
aiz1j
post Jun 18 2008, 09:53 PM

156 posts

I don't think its necessary to be secretive. Anyway check ur PM

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jun 18 2008, 04:38 PM)
Aiz1j,
Can share or not where is the shop selling the LG tv? If not convenient to disclose publicly, can PM me. Thanks.
Regards.
aiz1j
post Jun 20 2008, 04:42 PM

156 posts

Based on the picture, it is quite obvious the plasma was tweaked for poorer quality. Just look at overbright, and washed colours on the plasma. As usual, old trick to beat other competitors.

QUOTE(authuser @ Jun 20 2008, 09:31 AM)
aiz1j
post Jun 24 2008, 04:32 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(bashir3 @ Jun 24 2008, 08:46 AM)
From my point of view, it should be the Panasonic TH-42PY800H (SRP:RM7999). Pioneer does not have any HD Plasma here in Malaysia at the moment.
In Malaysia, smallest Pioneer full HD plasma is 50". PDP-LX508G. The other one is 60". The 42" is "HD ready" based on the spec published. In choosing full HD or not, you have to know your viewing distance. If you sit about 6-8 feet from a 42", not much difference can be seen. Unless you sit less than 5 feet. Anyway, go to the shop and try for yourself. If you can notice the difference, get the full HD. If you can't notice but still want a full HD, get the 50" full HD. thumbup.gif
aiz1j
post Jun 30 2008, 06:36 PM

156 posts

The phenomenon only happens in CRT TV. CRT has red, green, blue filter. This happens due to problem with the cathode ray filter/mask or misalignment or magnetic field disturbance etc. If U wanna test, use a small magnet. Don't use strong magnet as it can damage your CRT. just run the magnet across the part with the problem. you'll see what I mean. This can be corrected by degaussing.
LCD & plasma use different mechanism and shouldn't be affected by magnetism

QUOTE(razorzx66 @ Jun 30 2008, 04:31 PM)
Just curious....i'm playing my tv with ps2 and comp before with unrecognized brand MAL TV...

but after a year it affect the color of the tv which the colour turn reddish...when watch football the football field should be green turn red...

But now I'm afraid if i play ps3/ps2/comp/ to my LCD tv it will affect the lifespan, killing the color or anything..are they giving so much effect to the lcd tv?  shakehead.gif
aiz1j
post Jul 5 2008, 09:25 AM

156 posts

LG PG60 is not Full HD. Easiest way to know, just look at the vertical resolution, Full HD must be 1080. As for THX certified TV, don't bother too much. It's more a marketing strategy as 50" is more popular in UK and US as the price difference from 42" is not significant in their currency. Unless you're talking 'bout THX certified AV receiver/ sound system. The criteria for TV THX cert is also vague and not many TV manufacturer seek THX cert for their TV. The PG60 spec is almost similar to other parts of the world (except built-in digital tuner). In Europe 42PG6000

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 4 2008, 03:38 PM)
is PG60 full HD or not?
i check those US websites. people saying it's FullHD.
but Malaysia's LG page doesn't show it's FullHD. i have the malaysia's brochure, stating:
50" 1366x768
42" 1024x768
in THX website, only 50" and 60" is listed THX certified. no news about 42".

malaysia's getting a lower version of PG60?
aiz1j
post Jul 11 2008, 08:49 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ Jul 10 2008, 06:45 PM)
By the time panny LZ800 price drop, new model comin out haha
Yupp... Normally prices are driven down by new generation of products. I heard LG PG70 will be released in 2-3 months. So the competition will be tougher. Hopefully it will be good for us, more choices, better price rclxms.gif .
aiz1j
post Jul 29 2008, 04:58 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(guy73 @ Jul 29 2008, 03:39 PM)
I went to a shop and they show me a few models of LCD TV to compare. They switch to astro channel for the full screen. Guess what..the Sharp A33M only can manage the aspect ration but the rest of it the pic look so 'penyek' one...i think this model is good for me...but i prefer A53M dunno the A53M can also maintain the ratio or not...
Are you talking about 'Just Scan mode' and 4:3 aspect ratio. To avoid 'penyek', just try 4:3 for astro and normal TV broadcast. But then, you'll get empty spaces on the sides.
aiz1j
post Aug 5 2008, 06:15 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(scy @ Aug 5 2008, 09:50 AM)
hi guy,
I've just bought LG Plasma 42" PG10 Limited Edition and delivered yesterday evening. I've few question to ask :
1) PQ - How to improve the face PQ, as currently seem like too bright. I've tried with different PQ setting but still can't get PQ just like my previous Sony CRT. I am reffering to Analog TV channel signal. Since I am in JB, the Singapore TV Channel use to be very good on CRT but on this Plasma not very impress.
2) The Manual given is not complete, anyone know what is gamma setting for? Sorry, newbie in Plasma TV. Please advice.
1) Have you tried adjusting power saving level?

2) To get detailed explanation on gamma, you better google yourself. All I can say, the lower value of gamma will give you high contrast, but you'll lose small details. High value will give you whitish/washed picture, more details and less contrast. So just choose the medium value. That's what majority choose.

Added on August 5, 2008, 6:24 pmYou're asking for the PV80 right? If you live near Sri Rampai, there is a shop a few doors from Senheng (NOT HSL) selling at RM3850.

QUOTE(ryancfs @ Aug 5 2008, 04:41 PM)
thanks imr4n.

the price was 3999. any better price out there?? anyone??
This post has been edited by aiz1j: Aug 5 2008, 06:24 PM
aiz1j
post Aug 5 2008, 09:07 PM

156 posts

Sri Rampai is near Wangsa Maju. The shop name is BGC
aiz1j
post Aug 8 2008, 11:35 AM

156 posts

Why don't you try contact Panasonic HQ, Shah Alam. If they don't have it, nobody can get it for you.
aiz1j
post Aug 8 2008, 11:12 PM

156 posts

That looks like demo DVD. of course very high quality. Any astro pics?

0.0483sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:11 PM