8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Xigmatek HDT-S1284 Achilles Review, New Product, More Heatpipe, Come Join~!!

ckhoong
post Apr 19 2008, 12:30 AM

whatever
627 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Apr 19 2008, 12:10 AM)
good idea to mod the ss kit....  notworthy.gif

anyways the 6th picture is both 1283's ss kit and 1284's ss kit or is the 1284 kit is modified??

sorry for that question... im a lil  rclxub.gif
left is modified ss kit for1284
right is original ss kit for 1283
TSvincentlaw
post Apr 19 2008, 12:52 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(ckhoong @ Apr 18 2008, 08:24 PM)
thank you so much vincent for the great job...

i would like add some ideas for the S&S kit...

yes, the S1283 S&S kit cannot installed into Achilles, however there is a hidden way to make it works...

now even intel stock cooler can have S&S kit too  shocking.gif  thumbup.gif  whistling.gif
haha icic.. nice work there, but i think i wont take the hassle to do it anymore.. LOL... Lazy la.. and start from next week is my important week... so cant do it... perhaps tkh can do it... tongue.gif

Added on April 19, 2008, 12:55 am
QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 18 2008, 06:32 PM)
Nice review vincent!  thumbup.gif

A few thoughts......

Can't you use a metal washer with the previous S&S kit?

One of the reason previous model of Xigmatek was popular was because of it's price..... with the new Achilles at RM229 (+RM25 for the S&S kit), I wonder whether it is better to go for TRUE..... (with a little bit more top-up, although no fan....)

Edit : Oh ya, also need to make sure the ambient temperature is the same.....

I guess a review comparing these two coolers would answer that question....
hmm ambient shud be around the same as testing done around 9-10pm without rain for both cooler.... same room, same computer, same spec, same fan arrangement, ~same time.

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Apr 19 2008, 12:57 AM
tkh_1001
post Apr 19 2008, 01:02 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Apr 19 2008, 12:52 AM)
haha icic.. nice work there, but i think i wont take the hassle to do it anymore.. LOL... Lazy la.. and start from next week is my important week... so cant do it... perhaps tkh can do it... tongue.gif

i guess better not mod the thingy...nanti void warranty for him pulak tongue.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 19 2008, 01:07 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(ckhoong @ Apr 19 2008, 12:30 AM)
left is modified ss kit for1284
right is original ss kit for 1283
so this mean there isnt any ss kit for 1284 yet.....

will there be any or we just have to mod it??
TSvincentlaw
post Apr 19 2008, 02:59 AM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Apr 19 2008, 01:02 AM)
i guess better not mod the thingy...nanti void warranty for him pulak  tongue.gif
it is an easy mod... i dont think u can void any warranty if u do it.. unless u go break it.. and i dont see the possibility to break a steel
kmarc
post Apr 19 2008, 06:52 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

I don't think it is even considered a mod..... Just replacing the push-pins with the screws only ma....
tkh_1001
post Apr 19 2008, 09:37 AM

2,547 posts

but according to ckhoong mostly the push pin will be damaged tongue.gif

later i go get the item n see how la laugh.gif
Downcast
post Apr 19 2008, 10:25 AM

358 posts

u need force to destroy(maybe) the push pin then install the SS kit lo... but hor... bro ckhoong, the way work liao arh?? require any extra work to the steel piece????
TSvincentlaw
post Apr 19 2008, 01:49 PM

1,507 posts

according to ckhoong.. u need to do a minor expansion on the PushPin hole on steel... bcoz it has a smaller hole were it wont let the spring screw to go thru... so a minor moding to expand the hole is needed.... there is still some new thgs that ckhoong haven't inform all yet... he will do it when the time comes.. tongue.gif.... Using SSKit is very recommended as the PPKit a.k.a PushPin Kit will seriously bend ur mobo this time..... i've got a shock from the bending during the installation process.... its very bad for longterm or frequent use of pushpin and might end up killing ur mobo if u are unlucky..

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Apr 19 2008, 05:31 PM
Downcast
post Apr 19 2008, 05:03 PM

358 posts

Its time to get ur hand dirty this time on modifying the achilles to fit the current SS kit XD
myee
post Apr 19 2008, 05:31 PM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

are they going to be new model coming out again....i almost buy the 2nd model of this xigmatek....but know the third model Xigmatek HDT-S1284 Achilles coming out d....
irenic
post Apr 19 2008, 06:48 PM

extr3me n3wbie
7,338 posts

vincentlaw,

whats the vcore used for the test?
TSvincentlaw
post Apr 19 2008, 07:21 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(myee @ Apr 19 2008, 05:31 PM)
are they going to be new model coming out again....i almost buy the 2nd model of this xigmatek....but know the third model Xigmatek HDT-S1284 Achilles coming out d....
the achilles isnt in retail yet... only have a few review sample... if the feedback to ckhoong is good then he will start selling it...
tkh_1001
post Apr 19 2008, 07:22 PM

2,547 posts

just got the cooler from ckhoong... very sexy i just say rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

will try to post results asap tongue.gif
TSvincentlaw
post Apr 19 2008, 07:35 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Apr 19 2008, 06:48 PM)
vincentlaw,

whats the vcore used for the test?
updated the vcore used graph in the "6. performance" section.. made the graph but 4got to put up.. thx for reminder....
ham_revilo
post Apr 22 2008, 01:44 AM

I
6,583 posts

yeah... finally tkh updated some pics too.... i wonder when will the performance chart be update?
general_odin
post Apr 22 2008, 01:49 AM

no work, no money
904 posts

wow... nice cooler... but how's the price ???
looks pricy
ham_revilo
post Apr 22 2008, 01:52 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(general_odin @ Apr 22 2008, 01:49 AM)
wow... nice cooler... but how's the price ???
looks pricy
actually its RM229 bro... look at ckhoong thread at garage sales...
general_odin
post Apr 22 2008, 01:54 AM

no work, no money
904 posts

229.... kinda over my budget....
rather get a water cooling for my self
wahahhaaa

Added on April 22, 2008, 1:56 amaquagate viva selling at RM210 only...
compatible with GPU and CPU....

ready assembled...
quite good, atlease better than air cooling la...

This post has been edited by general_odin: Apr 22 2008, 01:56 AM
tkh_1001
post Apr 22 2008, 02:11 AM

2,547 posts

ok guys...teh results for 45nm are all updated on teh 1st page already... feel free to tell me if theres anythg wrong ya icon_rolleyes.gif

need to go sleep very badly now yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:07 PM