Xigmatek HDT-S1284 Achilles Review, New Product, More Heatpipe, Come Join~!!

tkh_1001
post Apr 17 2008, 11:02 PM

2,547 posts

OK..finally the benching for intel 45nm side is done icon_rolleyes.gif

just to add a lil bit more to vincent's review, here's some brief comparison pictars between s1283 red scorpion n s1284 achilles

btw...i got the modded screw kit from ckhoong too biggrin.gif

THE MODDED SCREW KIT brows.gif

THE COOLER: achilles on teh left and red scorpion on teh right (achilles is a bit fat laugh.gif )

THE SCREW KIT MOUNTING: again achilles on teh left and red scorpion on teh right
user posted image user posted image

CASING CLEARANCE

OTHERS
during the installation, i discover a minor bad news for DFI DK P35 user and those with big NB cooler... as all of us know the NB cooler is quite high and its quite impossible to install even vanilla s1283 on the mobo in vertical condition but no problem at all when we installed it horizontally... but with this s1284 rather fat n tough built and i would say its quite hard to bend the fins for vertical installation although i didnt try it (cos this cooler is not mine to try) tongue.gif

so the only way for me to install this cooler is via horizontal position only...but due to the fat build of this cooler, it occupies more space around it n the fan actually have to be installed a one or two fins higher to avoid the NB cooler sweat.gif

btw, just to highlight.. this s1284 doesnt comes with a spoiler like s1283..but thats not really important i would say tongue.gif

TEST BED

Motherboard: DFI DK P35-T2RS
Ram: 2x1GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400
Processor: Intel Penryn 45nm E8400
Graphic Card: G92 8800GTS 512MB
Psu: Silverstone Strider ST56F 560W
Casing: CM690

Cpu Cooler: Red Scorpion and Achilles only (both with SS kit) rclxms.gif
Thermal Compund: Artic Cooling MX-2
Ambient temperature: around 25c in an air-cond room

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Apr 22 2008, 01:15 AM
tkh_1001
post Apr 17 2008, 11:05 PM

2,547 posts

WOKEY... finally the performance chart is ready thanks to the kind help from YAB ham_revilo notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

IDLE

LOAD

the results i get whether on LOAD or IDLE from this Achilles seems to be almost the same like the one i get with Red Scorpion...i actually didnt really believe it myself but when i checked the s1284 once again, the contact is good n the TIM spreading is all done correctly...so i guess maybe we need more people to test n clarify the results tongue.gif

anyways...hopefully this cooler can get a real big boost from the AMD camp compared to Intel like what vincent said thumbup.gif

btw, just in case if u guys are wondering about my TIM spreading wink.gif

last but not the least, i would like to say thanks ckhoong for letting me to have the chance to test this sexy cooler! flex.gif rclxms.gif

feel free to tell me if u guys have anything to comment icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Apr 22 2008, 02:07 AM
tkh_1001
post Apr 17 2008, 11:38 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Apr 17 2008, 11:36 PM)
got pic already ma.... but slowly add la...
sorry ya if i occupied the space that u wanted to use blush.gif macam tak cukup place for ur review ajer? tongue.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 17 2008, 11:58 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Apr 17 2008, 11:41 PM)
then how?? belanja me minum lor....

sweat.gif doh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 19 2008, 01:02 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Apr 19 2008, 12:52 AM)
haha icic.. nice work there, but i think i wont take the hassle to do it anymore.. LOL... Lazy la.. and start from next week is my important week... so cant do it... perhaps tkh can do it... tongue.gif

i guess better not mod the thingy...nanti void warranty for him pulak tongue.gif

tkh_1001
post Apr 19 2008, 09:37 AM

2,547 posts

but according to ckhoong mostly the push pin will be damaged tongue.gif

later i go get the item n see how la laugh.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 19 2008, 07:22 PM

2,547 posts

just got the cooler from ckhoong... very sexy i just say rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

will try to post results asap tongue.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 22 2008, 02:11 AM

2,547 posts

ok guys...teh results for 45nm are all updated on teh 1st page already... feel free to tell me if theres anythg wrong ya icon_rolleyes.gif

need to go sleep very badly now yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 22 2008, 07:00 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Apr 22 2008, 02:33 AM)
i've some question, hope u dont mind.
1. did u wipe ur redscorpion b4 test is carried out for both heatsink? alot of dust i can see from the picture...
2. why on idle, archilles temp at 4ghz is 40'c vs 4.1ghz is 38'c only? same goes on LOAD for 3.2ghz vs 3.4ghz.
3. from the screw mounting kid comparison picture... do u think that RS will have more pressure on processor compared to achilles? due to the difference in mounting from above and below.

and lastly no related question
4. ur processor bracket on mobo seems to be kemek already at the top part.. izzit?
1.yes
2.the readings are fluctuating...i m just giving the temp reading that stays stagnant the longest....
3.i guess the pressure applied will be the same... if u see nicely actually Achilles SS kit can have more pressure, IMO as long as its tight already then the pressure will be sufficient...

4.nola... top part where? tongue.gif laugh.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 22 2008, 06:59 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(zubai @ Apr 22 2008, 02:35 AM)
What method did you use to apply the tim? Coz I'm about to receive mine rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
mine i just apply a very thin layer of TIM into the gaps between the HDT 1st... then i will apply a rice grain method of TIM on the proc IHS smile.gif

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Apr 22 2008, 02:37 AM)

no prob bro... glad i can help to contribute for this thread....
anyways maybe we need more user to test this s1284 for accuracy...
agreed...we really need more ppl to test this cooler...once again really thanks alot for the help man! thumbup.gif

tkh_1001
post Apr 22 2008, 07:30 PM

2,547 posts

well..actually can install wan... but u will have to bend a few fins lor... see u sampai hati onot lo laugh.gif

u can refer to this

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=15303657
tkh_1001
post Apr 26 2008, 01:29 PM

2,547 posts

faster man tongue.gif hopefully amd camp can give real sweet results thumbup.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 27 2008, 06:19 PM

2,547 posts

guys..the latest review of achilles vs thermalright family is HERE by darksythe thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 28 2008, 07:06 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(toothgnasher @ Apr 28 2008, 02:17 PM)
how do i know what's the air direction for that fan?
erm...how to say leh hmm.gif

ok look at these pics (gambar curi from vincentlaw tongue.gif)

the left one is the place sucking air while the right one is the place where the air is blown out thumbup.gif
tkh_1001
post Apr 28 2008, 08:14 PM

2,547 posts

wa..the mosfet abit quad gt punya kawan? laugh.gif

btw..i have always heard good comments from that mobo leh.... very good for OCing with V-Increase (dono wat to call that) tongue.gif

can posto some pictar to share how it looks like ka?
tkh_1001
post May 8 2008, 08:08 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(xen0 @ May 8 2008, 07:27 AM)
hmm...i found a new contender for this 'Troy'... Sunbeamtech Core-Contact Freezer

already no.1 in top 5 frostytech list..est. price is ~$USD36..

LINK
wow...excellent findings there bro thumbup.gif

this cooler actually has one more advantage over xigmatek apart from the temp, that is easily removable fan laugh.gif removing xigmatek fan from the cooler can be stressful if u are not patient

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: May 8 2008, 08:09 PM
tkh_1001
post May 14 2008, 09:16 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(maranello55 @ May 14 2008, 01:52 PM)
Cycom is selling it for rm220....very tempting.
karom selling at rm199 thumbup.gif

but maybe garage sales got more cheaper offer
tkh_1001
post May 15 2008, 12:14 AM

2,547 posts

they say its even better than s1283 thumbup.gif

kvmcom is having one unit for review now...

n then goldfries has just gotten himself teh sunbeam core contact freezer drool.gif

dont know if he is going to do review tho..
tkh_1001
post May 15 2008, 01:05 AM

2,547 posts

dono...just saw him posted in cooling and modding section tongue.gif

0.0267sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:03 PM