Clean up Your PS3, clean up the dust

colt_508
post Aug 24 2008, 04:42 PM

Baru masuk darjah satu (^_^)Y
8,194 posts

QUOTE(rayza @ Jun 9 2008, 05:47 PM)
I've been reading more about this and there are so many opinions. Some say it is safe for 40GB some say it will break your fan if you do it frequently.

So I'm using vacuum cleaner.
can u show some pic how to clean PS3 using vacum cleaner plz?

sorry been a noob, cuz vacum cleaner also can become very heat during cleaning and might as well effect the PS3... icon_question.gif
GamersFamilia
post Aug 24 2008, 04:55 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

well if this method not included in the instruction manuals i guess , we should not do it...use other method to clean up the ps3...
AztecWolf
post Aug 24 2008, 05:18 PM

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Apr 15 2008, 11:39 AM)
Erm, apparently, Sony does not encourage users to it themselves. Read it in one of the n4g articles.. lazy to find again...

Added on April 15, 2008, 11:40 amThey didnt include in the manuals for a reason ya know... wink.gif

I wont be doing it anytime soon.. brows.gif
You're damn right. Here the link to the site on n4g article you mentioned.

http://www.n4g.com/ps3/News-134635.aspx

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 14 2008, 01:20 AM)
You're just running the fans at full speed. What sort of harm will come from that?
Running the fan at full speed makes it consume so much power, it is overworking other things within the system. This causes CPU/GPU to burn.

Try playing the PS3 in a hot room, no air-conditioner switched on. The fans start going up a notch, and the PS3 heats up. During the fan test, the fans in your PS3 reaches fifth gear, which only happens if you are playing games on the PS3 for 24 hours straight. This means the system is overworking due to the stress on the system.
callmevil
post Aug 24 2008, 06:01 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Aug 24 2008, 05:18 PM)

Running the fan at full speed makes it consume so much power, it is overworking other things within the system. This causes CPU/GPU to burn.

Try playing the PS3 in a hot room, no air-conditioner switched on. The fans start going up a notch, and the PS3 heats up. During the fan test, the fans in your PS3 reaches fifth gear, which only happens if you are playing games on the PS3 for 24 hours straight. This means the system is overworking due to the stress on the system.
u started wrong, then went back on track, then went all the way in reverse..

the chain is like this.. PS3 gets hot after long session or room temp is not cool > PS3 sensor wakes up (just like pc mobo sensor and signals the fan to go faster (again just like pc) > Fan moves faster to keep the temp from burning the system

it works in that order ONLY and not in reverse.. Fan moving fast does not overwork other things within the system, it does not cause CPU/GPU to burn.. thats the whole reason why the fan is moving fast in the first place.. to keep it those things cool.. now why on earth would u think fan moving faster would do the direct opposite of what its suppose to do? and it does not overwork ur ps3 to do so as the ps3 was meant to turn the fan speed up if its hot.. meaning it is still within its means.. unless ure juicing the ps3 with more power to crank the fan at even higher speed.. then thats a diff story...

only dmg this 'may' do is use up ur fan's lubricant.. other than that, its ok~~ as for it cleaning ure PS3.. haha guys.. Seriously?? just because the fan is moving fast dont mean its strong enough to 'clean' ur ps3.. do u know how dust works on motherboards??? they stick to it... silicon brush + vacuum is the only way...
AztecWolf
post Aug 24 2008, 06:45 PM

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 24 2008, 06:01 PM)
u started wrong, then went back on track, then went all the way in reverse..

the chain is like this.. PS3 gets hot after long session or room temp is not cool > PS3 sensor wakes up (just like pc mobo sensor and signals the fan to go faster (again just like pc) > Fan moves faster to keep the temp from burning the system

it works in that order ONLY and not in reverse.. Fan moving fast does not overwork other things within the system, it does not cause CPU/GPU to burn.. thats the whole reason why the fan is moving fast in the first place.. to keep it those things cool.. now why on earth would u think fan moving faster would do the direct opposite of what its suppose to do? and it does not overwork ur ps3 to do so as the ps3 was meant to turn the fan speed up if its hot.. meaning it is still within its means.. unless ure juicing the ps3 with more power to crank the fan at even higher speed.. then thats a diff story...

only dmg this 'may' do is use up ur fan's lubricant.. other than that, its ok~~ as for it cleaning ure PS3.. haha guys.. Seriously?? just because the fan is moving fast dont mean its strong enough to 'clean' ur ps3.. do u know how dust works on motherboards??? they stick to it... silicon brush + vacuum is the only way...
OK!!!!

I guess what you're saying is right and SONY is wrong.
callmevil
post Sep 2 2008, 08:08 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Aug 24 2008, 06:45 PM)
OK!!!!

oh my.. read b4 u comment plz doh.gif
penmarker
post Sep 2 2008, 08:44 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Aug 24 2008, 06:45 PM)
OK!!!!

and what did sony say,.
hezda
post Sep 2 2008, 08:48 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(AztecWolf @ Aug 24 2008, 05:18 PM)

LOL... I think you must be drinking too much your so called bombay up... whistling.gif whistling.gif

My PS3's fan always full blast when I play in the afternoon (without aircon) and it still works fine. Full blasting fans make CPU/GPU overworked? Now that one is a joke of the day material. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by hezda: Sep 2 2008, 08:49 PM
///M
post Sep 11 2008, 08:24 AM

Hi, guys. Sorry if this is off topic, but after playing the PS3 for a while, I noticed that there were some stains on the controller (very minor but kinda obvious at certain angles). They're stains on the surface where the base of our thumbs touch the controller and not dirt that collects in the gaps. I think it's because my hands sweat a little sometimes when playing games. icon_question.gif

So, I was wondering what you guys use to clean your controllers (mine is hagane). What chemicals do you use (alcohol, spirit etc) and is it even wise to use chemicals in the first place. I've tried wiping dry and with mild soap but it didn't work. Your responses would be greatly appreciated.

Guess I should wear gloves next time... HAHAHA!! sweat.gif
GamersFamilia
post Sep 11 2008, 09:31 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Sep 2 2008, 08:48 PM)
LOL... I think you must be drinking too much your so called bombay up...  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

My PS3's fan always full blast when I play in the afternoon (without aircon) and it still works fine. Full blasting fans make CPU/GPU overworked? Now that one is a joke of the day material.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
i dont think full blasting fan of the PS3 can harm the console...im so sure Sony already think bout it and PS3 well designed for that condition..what most important here , place the console at well ventilation area...i guess that`s enough.

so many "petua" here sometimes make me laugh...
SSJBen
post Sep 11 2008, 12:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I think I need to clarify something here about this "fan-test" issue killing PS3s.

First and foremost; NO! Doing this fan-test DOES NOT kill your PS3's CPU/GPU.

Theory-wise, the fan in the 40GB PS3 SKUs(CECHGxx models and up) has a fail-switch which will enable to run the fan in maximum speed-4200RPM@12v to clear up the bottlenecked heat under the HSF covering the Cell and RSX.

The latest revision of PS3 SKU which is CECHHxx(this isn't counting the MGS4 80GB Bundle) still has this fail-switch with a lower fan speed of 3600RPM. Running the fan at full-speed does not consume enough power to either warp, burn or damage the Cell and RSK. Because ironically, the fan is non-other than a modified 175mm PC-case fan from Yate-Loon, Nidec, Delta and a few others that I forgot.

I do not however suggest and advise that anyone should do this fan-test regularly. Because this is essentially "over-volting" the fan's motor to bring it up beyond its specified safe limit voltage(most 175mm fans are rated at 5v).

So basically whats the reason for this "fan-test" Sony included anyways? If its "so dangerous" as deemed by that French site or any other resource(Sony NEVER did say its dangerous, it was made up by that french site). Its basically to test a dead-fan that could be causing a problem with PS3s getting YLODs when sent back to the repair centres. And yes, a dead-fan is one of those YLOD reasons on the PS3 which is thankfully not wide spread.

Second and lastly: This "fan-test" DOES NOT clean your PS3's internals much, if at all.

Like I said this "fan-test" is a troubleshooting option. Not a cleaning mechanism that the Youtube video has shown.

If you truelly want to clean your PS3's internals, the only essential way is to open it up and clean it with a can of compressed-air or a low-powered non-static vacumm cleaner. One of the less hassling ways is to pop out your PS3's HDD and take a vacumm and suck out as much dust as you can from there, although this method is always not as good as opening up and cleaning everything. It doesn't however void your warranty.

I hope this clears up any confusion between the "fan-test" killing your PS3 and it cleaning your PS3 internals.
With that said, I once again suggest and strongly advise that anyone should not do this fan-test regularly or if at all in any means nessasary. You do not want a dead fan.
unrealweapon
post Sep 11 2008, 01:24 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

can a ps3 survive in a freezer? (switched on and playing ) ?
rayzy22
post Sep 11 2008, 04:12 PM

395 posts

From: Sri Kembangan, Putrajaya, K.Terengganu, Butterworth

hehehe...are u for real?rofl
budakhops
post Nov 25 2008, 04:05 AM

1,519 posts

i thought 'the fan test' is to blow away the hot air after playing the ps3,
so hot air in the console not accumulate when the ps3 been switch off,
mybe it is for long term to ensure ps3 last longer.. correct me if i wrong..
MYKidd
post Nov 25 2008, 04:08 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Sep 11 2008, 01:24 PM)
You mean play it in the freezer? If it's up and running before you put it in the freezer technically it should continue to work. But if it's not on and you left the PS3 in the freezer for some odd reason, it might not be able to turn on until it warms up. Worst case scenario the hardware freezes and it won't be able to turn on anymore, but that shouldn't happen.
snipersnake
post Nov 25 2008, 10:55 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

in the freezer, the lens will experience exessive moisture and will be unable to read discs until its cleared.
ajis
post Nov 25 2008, 11:05 AM

plastic love
3,554 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Sep 11 2008, 01:24 PM)
in a freezer? shocking.gif gosh..You work at fish depot business or something?
shaznizzle
post Jan 18 2009, 04:25 AM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

HHmm.... honestly... i dont think its advisable to do this test.

Running the fan at maximum speed will use up the lubricant, wear and tear of the fan connectors and motor = over used, dust might juz fly everywhere due to force, doesnt really clean your PS3... so I think its best not to.

Best way is to use 3rd party coolers like laptop CoolMaster pads to keep the machine cool and mini vacuums for laptops to clean it.

This post has been edited by shaznizzle: Jan 18 2009, 04:26 AM
GamersFamilia
post Jan 18 2009, 06:54 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Nov 25 2008, 04:05 AM)
i thought 'the fan test' is to blow away the hot air after playing the ps3,
so hot air in the console not accumulate when the ps3 been switch off,
mybe it is for long term to ensure ps3 last longer.. correct me if i wrong..
i dont think so , the fan test not for blowing hot air after playing PS3...basically it just to clean the dust at the back of the console area..
nakata101
post Jan 18 2009, 07:09 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jan 18 2009, 06:54 AM)
i dont think so , the fan test not for blowing hot air after playing PS3...basically it just to clean the dust at the back of the console area..
It is the fans power n speed is same like the vacuum one, if no, how can the fan clean the dust ?? So far i never see a fan in electric hardware which can helping clean up the dust(Collecting more dust got lah), so what i think the fan only for cooling.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0164sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:05 AM