P1 P1 W1Max Thread unofficial thread., The One and Only WiMax Broadband

etsuko
post Sep 18 2008, 01:13 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 18 2008, 12:06 PM)
wireless don't expect much. More so from a small company...
Urm, he said this a month ago. So what happened? hmm.gif

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Sep 18 2008, 12:26 PM)
I am facing the same problem.. I keep getting dc at night and the speed seems to deteriorate over time. I called up customer service and they assure me that this problem is temporary because they are doing some upgrade with their towers. They will send a technician over to my place in the next few days.
Do let us know if the technician actually comes or like Steamyx will only come after you bug them till the come.
etsuko
post Sep 20 2008, 06:46 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 20 2008, 09:08 AM)
Their marketing people said that once the base station reach 80% of load, they will build another base station.

Their sales department advice me about don't upgrade to 2400 package yet. This is due to you cannot test or trail before you subscribe and you don't know wither can support or not.
Well, for us who've been living with Screamyx I believe it's important to do what you have said then to only say what you have said and need to be reminded what you've said and not do. LOL! tongue.gif

At least their sales department is open about advice. Rather than just eating your money to sell you the 2400 package they didn't sell you better speed and what not but told you something which made sense.

I remember any Screamyx promoter would ask if you have Streamyx and try to get you on a higher package so their commission may be higher. sweat.gif
QUOTE(moiham @ Sep 20 2008, 05:53 PM)
aihhhhhhh the p1wimax modem is sooooo big larrr... ask them faster come out with the usb one la...
I'm also waiting here. whistling.gif

But it'll be interesting to lug the Wimax modem around for a day and see how's the speed everywhere else. Though I don't think can bring it out of the borders since there'll be that nationwide access fee thing.
etsuko
post Sep 21 2008, 04:52 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(windmax @ Sep 21 2008, 03:30 PM)
P1 W1MAX Viral
Damn Chun

ROFL! I enjoyed the second video. We had one too many flashers at one-time in Malaysia. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Sep 22 2008, 07:13 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 22 2008, 09:45 AM)
Last week, when I try to type IP 10.1.1.254, it comes to theP1 modem admin pages. After that, I call to the W1MAX care lines and ask for the ID and password. They refuse to give me and ask why I need it so much. I told them that I want to change the default internal IP to 192.168.0.xxx nor 10.1.1.xxx. They told me that they can’t give due to the password is confidential to their technical department to set the modem. I told them, I just need to set the Internal IP not external IP due to I don’t like their default internal IP. After the conversation, they mention that they will give me a call after a few hours. After 3 hours, a high rank technical call me that he cannot gave me the ID and password, he said that if give the id and password we can set the speed limit and other setting. After that, I hang-up the call.
After hang-up the call, I was just thinking of if I known their Modem ID and Password I will enjoy high speed and without Bandwidths Limit?
Lastly, I think that is nothing to do with our modem. Maybe they just don’t want to give or is true?
Anyway who have the ID and Password for the modem admin pages? tongue.gif
ROFL! Although you may be able to adjust the speed but I've a feeling they can still track your bandwidth via their system. LOL! Then again, best time to change is when got too many Wimax users. tongue.gif

Hmm...can you just change your IP if the host doesn't support that IP-string? hmm.gif

Anyway, I think if I dumped the Wimax modem into my bag I'm more worried it might become a crunched lunch box later.
etsuko
post Sep 23 2008, 08:44 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Sep 23 2008, 11:20 AM)
Currently it's WIFI la, later they will launch the WiMAX, so don't think that will be free at that time.
Someone online did comment on the business model they were planning to take. The whole view ad before you're able to use the service after you login. But this business model failed in many places I suppose to due its lack in impact.

Anyway, I heard P1 is going to supply the Wimax connections in Penang. But funnily enough, I recently saw in the papers REDTone is providing the wireless there or something. And wasn't REDTone the other Wimax licensee. hmm.gif
etsuko
post Sep 24 2008, 11:40 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Sep 24 2008, 02:48 AM)
wOoo... it looks small compared to the notebook. But I wonder how big is it compared to a mobile phone. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ttg109 @ Sep 24 2008, 09:40 AM)
can anyone tell me is't true that p1 launching at jb today ?
Well, if it's indeed launching today I think we'll know only tonight or 1-2 days later. nod.gif

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Sep 24 2008, 10:34 AM)
Ok Redtone is actually the Wimax licensee for Sabah & Sarawak. They will be the WIFI service provider in Penang under the Penang FREE WIFI project. However, for Wimax, P1 is still the main investor, the one that will set up the towers, base stations etc. They are starting it like how they started in KL, with the Wireless@penang project, and later on with the plans and packages. Altho there are another two licensees, YTL and Asiaspace, of which we heard no news of yet, the Penang gov is gonna give priority to P1 for applications, regulatory approval and placement of their equipment on state government buildings.
No wonder REDTone sounded so familiar - they covering East Malaysia. Hmm, I guess P1 was already aiming to obtain the Penang project much earlier on. But...but...I don't want them to expand to Penang yet. Still got much Wimax areas to cover - like my area. cry.gif

YTL from the newspapers have launched but are only offering business plans if I'm not wrong. I believe they'll rollout using Airzed for the personal plans later because if you've read Airzed's profile in their website, their core investor is YTP Corporation Bhd. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Sep 25 2008, 06:00 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(raffless @ Sep 24 2008, 02:46 PM)
May i know did anyone experience unstable/slow connection within setapak area (along jalan genting kelang)?
I'm not a Wimax user but from what I heard, some experienced disconnection at night because the P1 fellows are upgrading something. *shrug*

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Sep 25 2008, 04:40 PM)
The Motorola one is not a modem but just a dongle rite? I remember those days when we use WIFI dongles before it's integrated in laptops...I think it'll be a matter of a year before we find them in laptops and notebooks. I should not get a new laptop until then yawn.gif
Well, I give it 6 months before all laptops will come with support for Wimax. Until then, I'm praying the dongle will not be as heavy as a mobile phone. ROFL!
etsuko
post Sep 26 2008, 07:24 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(firef0x @ Sep 26 2008, 04:01 PM)
problem solved. blush.gif

i got call. no doubt that i am in the bcc forward list.

My name crash with one of the staff.

blush.gif

customer service not bad. fast reply. blush.gif
Fuah... that's really good to hear.

At least they've the courtesy to unsubscribe when they know you want to.

I know too many providers who continue to spam despite your requests and write-in to them.
etsuko
post Sep 27 2008, 07:46 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 26 2008, 10:41 PM)
hw come they didnt email me wan hmmm
Urm...what was your problem again? tongue.gif

QUOTE(tartputat @ Sep 27 2008, 09:27 AM)
yeah..built in wimax adapter like the built wi-fi in all laptop nowadays..
i heard intel also in the process of making the chipset..correct me if i m wrong..
forgot where i heard that doh.gif
i also think in the future when the chipset is available the price should be so xpensive..
the new thing should be expensive like the P1 Wimax modem that cost about 1K... sweat.gif
Any new added technology is always a costly equation. But it'll also be dependent on the coverage when they're finally producing them in mass quantities. So we'll have to see lor.

And, it's most definitely an awkward situation when your office is covered but the area behind you isn't. It's either the signal is very accurate or there might be a problem somewhere. hmm.gif
etsuko
post Sep 29 2008, 06:51 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 27 2008, 08:21 PM)
i wanted to sign up for the service wan so i regsitered at the website but..funny no news wan
Ahh...maybe your application lost duno where. LOL! tongue.gif

But I'm assuming they're still constantly getting emails either enquiring or people still signing for the trial run or something. So they're doing their best to manage everything...kua.

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Sep 28 2008, 01:39 AM)

Added on September 28, 2008, 1:48 am
Sprint-Clearwire Xohm is currently using WiMAX laptop with Intel Centrino 2 chipset however, the chipset only has WiMAX on 2.5Ghz. Malaysia WiMAX is on 2.3 Ghz but according to Intel, they will be releasing it soon with dual band WiMAX 2.5+2.3Ghz with Wifi. Soon (next year), we will be having laptop with WiMAX+Wifi in which we can bring it to all around the world to use WiMAX as what we are doing now with our wifi and mobile phone. But do expect the price to be costly in the beginning.
Sweet. Having dual support for the 2.5 and 2.3 standard would be a large benefit. I recall at one time they were debating on the wireless standard and didn't want to support both frequencies at one time. But that was WiFi. I hope many learned their lesson.

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 29 2008, 10:15 AM)
It really depended on which area you locate, at my company I will get very stable.
But my house, not so stable for the upload speed, sometime it goes Max 700kbps Upload and sometime 50kb Upload.
Moreover, the modem indicated Green Light
The Download speed is from 1400Kbps and some days up until 2m.
Besides, someday in certain hour you will get 3m ~4m  sweat.gif
Remark:  For 1200 Packages
Probably you could report this performance to them directly. Though if it's a case of 'borrowing' your office modem back to your house then better be careful. LOL!

Hmm, I wonder if your office line is better because they subscribed to the business package instead of personal. If you're not using the same account that is.

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 29 2008, 12:44 PM)
lolx 100 people come it 100 people ask the same question  sweat.gif
It's because no one uses the forum search. Plus, I can understand the problems of using the search sometimes since it must use a minimum character length of 4. Sigh.

Bu yes, more members should try searching next time. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Sep 30 2008, 06:10 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 30 2008, 01:00 PM)
So, be wise….
Registered under your company if you have company.
Anyway, same price.
Since you mentioned this...

Anyone knows what's the difference between personal and business packages?

I heard they're similar in reliability and speed except they're only different in price. shakehead.gif

So if anyone knows the difference, please do help me out here.

In times like this, where got 3 houses wan? LOL! Anyway, bringing the modem around is a good idea - for short distances.
etsuko
post Oct 2 2008, 09:50 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ichigo_6091 @ Oct 1 2008, 05:33 PM)
when is wimax coming to seremban?
QUOTE(narien @ Oct 1 2008, 07:20 PM)
i'm waiting for wimax to reach keramat area..last month checked still not yet, salesperson say maybe by november..i'm soooooo waiting for it..
Well, I really want them to support all of PJ now since Bandar Utama area is now a recognized MSC cybercentre. tongue.gif

As for the CPE, I think there's something confidential in there they don't want us to know. And since you mentioned port forwarding, I wonder if it'll increase download speeds further later. drool.gif
etsuko
post Oct 3 2008, 03:17 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(bmwlover @ Oct 2 2008, 05:09 PM)
ooh..Wimax available in whole KL?PJ area..Lembah Pantai?whts the monthly fee though?
Not whole KL and PJ yet. It's selected areas only still. sad.gif I'm still waiting. sigh.

QUOTE(ericpires @ Oct 3 2008, 08:57 AM)
What about the bandwidth? I thought is was limited to 20gb per month? or something?
That's what they say but from what I heard, they're not limiting just yet. Coz as you know, most subscribers haven't switched just yet. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Oct 5 2008, 04:58 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 4 2008, 04:32 PM)
Look like Klang and JB also added into the list now.

They jumped too far, how about those in klang valley ...  cry.gif
Well, during the launch they were video conferencing with an orphanage or something in JB.

But still, where in the world is Kelana Jaya...? cry.gif

QUOTE(Acrisius @ Oct 4 2008, 10:44 PM)
No it didn't affect by rain, it mostly cause by thunder strike to the one of transmission towers and the whole klang valley area blackout. Even it having a heavy raining, i still manage to get a good signal and speed. But once under thunderstorm, If suddenly you got disconnected for quite a moment. It may probably the transmission towers being strike by thunder. As we knew around Klang valley always had thunderstorm and it could be hard to prevent from that nature.

One thing, they response fast. It just took around few hours to get everything back to the track, and it didn't delay for another day.
Hmm, if that is the case then Streamyx has a big problem. During thunderstorms, my connection is often reset and have to wait awhile before it comes back again. Sigh. sweat.gif

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 5 2008, 09:44 AM)
At least they are one of the four that successfully "pushed" by the government.
Look what happens to AMAX, YMAX and REDTONE. Some companies are only there to leech the spectrum. Their so called "launch" is fake.
Too bad, our government is so passive, government should do what they promise to do when WiMAX operators are not performing as agreed in their business plan previously.
From what I'm seeing, those other players have like recognized big shots for the government not exactly pushing them. Whereas Green Packet's like a new player still and etc.

Nonetheless, I'm waiting to see if MCMC will indeed penalize those who hasn't done what they were required. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Oct 7 2008, 10:01 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Oct 6 2008, 03:03 PM)
Wah normally during thunderstorms, I turn off all my modems, pc, tv etc... scared it's struck by lightning mah..have seen it happen one too many times.
I'm not really worried anymore as I've full confidence in my CAL-LAB lighting isolator. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wee395 @ Oct 6 2008, 06:02 PM)
now coming to JB
Don't have to rub it in. cry.gif

QUOTE(Acrisius @ Oct 6 2008, 11:33 PM)
Yup, yet again. That was totally disappointed and frustrated. Even now it's up back. But the speed sucks.
That's very odd. I thought the rain shouldn't affect Wimax as much. Hmm...or maybe, the towers to lightning sensitive. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ttg109 @ Oct 7 2008, 09:13 AM)
anyone using infolient  broadband ?is it true that it not block bt ?
errr...brather, you in wrong thread. We talking about Wimax here. In particular, the service from P1.

anyway, I've never heard of Infolient and I don't think they're a Wimax offering. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Oct 9 2008, 12:08 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ Oct 7 2008, 07:06 PM)
it aint in my Jln yet sad.gif
Same here, Ele. Same here.

QUOTE(daimon @ Oct 8 2008, 05:21 PM)
if so..that's mean WIMAX is not suitable to play online game? since the speed keep jumping
QUOTE(Acrisius @ Oct 8 2008, 05:24 PM)
Play online game consider no problem, just onces awhile you got 3-4 second delay. If you were on more Dota, You really can't create a game because the CPE already blocked all the ports ^^ only 80 HTTP and 513 LOGIN are open
I believe online games is highly dependent on the location of the game server as well. I remember TMNut had so many problems even playing on a SG server not so long back. But if Wimax offers me a consistent 50ms I'd find it more than acceptable. Though ideally, I'd like a ping lower than 30 all the time. drool.gif LOL!

QUOTE(oiB @ Oct 9 2008, 11:01 AM)
I think the connection speed and stability is dependent on your signal strength. Im on Wimax, near ss14 subang. Connection is very stable, speed consistent at 100+ kbps whether im on youtube or http downloads. I rarely get disconnected, maybe like 2 or 3 times a week where the signal goes dead, and will come back up in like a minute or two. Latency in online games are pretty good. Comparing to streamyx, i get like 50ms higher, but since its wireless, i think its acceptable.
I wouldn't say signal strength but your distance between the base station. LOL! We should try camping outside the base station and test with rain. If can still get disconnected, it's either the waves or something else. brows.gif

QUOTE(Acrisius @ Oct 9 2008, 11:31 AM)
The signal is just showing how close to the base station, Anyway i'm getting green light all the time and yet this how was the result i got. Frequent disconnected and unstable speed. I think in this area had a problem and others area seemed fine. Or perhaps my area started to traffic congested? I hope not. That's too early to have that.

Too bad i was staying in that area. Full of unsatisfaction.  sad.gif
Hmm, frequent disconnection due to rain or it's the location? Where are you located, again? hmm.gif
etsuko
post Oct 10 2008, 05:39 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Zepx @ Oct 9 2008, 09:51 PM)
@others

Btw.. if you want compare modem sizes, Jaring one more bigger ok..
Are you serious?! shakehead.gif Show picture lar. LOL!

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 9 2008, 10:56 PM)
The ASTRO dish is shooting point to point to the sky, it's not even aiming at you. How do you know your plant won't die without the ASTRO dish.

You stand outside of your house at 1pm for 3 hours while holding a cellphone. You let me know whether you will feel like you are dying after 3 hours.
Urm...abit hard to believe but yet, possible. Oh well, ain't a scientist or researcher so I wouldn't know. I'm more worried about long electrical cables and their towers than the microwave signals. tongue.gif

QUOTE(spayre @ Oct 10 2008, 05:02 PM)
i am also using p1... wondering if i can pry the modem open... wanna see the 6 dbi included antenna... anyone managed to open theirs? smile.gif
Urm, brather. With the cost paid for the modem, I'd be too scared to poke a screwdriver inside it. LOL!
etsuko
post Oct 27 2008, 12:50 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(yama @ Oct 24 2008, 10:21 PM)
Then you don't even need wimax, you just need dialup. Why waste the money, right?
It's an obvious answer really.

Would you want 15 minutes (or more) for Facebook to load or 5 minutes (or less) for Facebook to load? Same question I'd posted when checking emails.

If you asked me, I'm paying for the convenient speed available so I don't have to waste time on dialup anymore. Unless of course, you've all the time in the world in front of your monitor. tongue.gif

QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 25 2008, 08:48 PM)
..When MELAKA?

Ali Gostan said last week  : "WTFxx Melaka broadband only 1-2MB , how do attract oversea company invest here." 凸
Every time I hear Melaka now it reminds me of Datukship to Shah Rukh Khan. LOL! tongue.gif

Anyway, I don't believe it's on the Internet affecting the investors in Melaka. If I recall Economics involves a lot of other matters. So either Ali doesn't really know, or every Malaysia state seems to be stressing how important is a good Internet now. LOL!

QUOTE(lemonboyz @ Oct 27 2008, 02:10 AM)
Wimax isit wireless broadband , no need fix line to connect ?
the modem tat they provide , isit juz  wifi or cable ? max how many comp or laptop can connect ?
anyone at Ampang area has subscribed ?
pls share experience isit stable , faster , no dc , no slowdown, better than Streamyx
Technically, you only need to connect 2 things. Network cable from the modem to your computer and power plug from modem to socket. And yes, it's wireless.

According to their website, you can share upto 3-5 computers I think. All you need to do is plug the network cable into the router.

Sigh, I'm still wondering when it's coming to Kelana Jaya. Especially when their office is so near now - Seksyen 222 area. cry.gif
etsuko
post Oct 28 2008, 07:58 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Oct 27 2008, 01:00 PM)
Yea...These new broadband always a bit slow covering the places people need it most
Actually, I believe their like trying to cover the whole KL first before returning to their home base in PJ. Maybe they feel it's much easier setting up in PJ than KL. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Oct 28 2008, 01:25 PM)
hm is wimax over 20GB got extra charges ?
That's what I'd like to know too.

QUOTE(kalambong @ Oct 28 2008, 01:59 PM)
A MSC status company (foreign owned) that I know has a leased line, and you know what? Even the leased line, which cost a lots of money, isn't performing up to par.

Just like what we have with streamyx.

Same TM shyyyyyt !
Urm, are they providing the line to Malaysia or international customers overseas? I won't be surprised if this was caused by their backbone. ROFL! tongue.gif
etsuko
post Oct 29 2008, 08:08 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(pengiranijam @ Oct 28 2008, 08:36 PM)
P1 is one of WIMAX company is going to loss WIMAX License in no time...
dot dot dot...where's your source? or, are you working for the company who's losing the license? tongue.gif

QUOTE(tartputat @ Oct 28 2008, 10:09 PM)
yes..i saw the news in buletin utama today..
one of the licence holder will lost the authority to provide wimax..
wondering which company will it be..
Well, I highly doubt it's P1 because the minister made it clear at the time the errant providers who can't deliver on time and the quality promised will be axed from their license holding.

QUOTE(jungjung123 @ Oct 29 2008, 10:21 AM)
Ya .. is it because they are the only provider that has so far made the most WiMAX deployment across the nation, having the most reliable connection, fastest speed and best customer support, therefore threatening the existence of TMnut and Maxucks?
ROFL! I was thinking about the same thing. rclxms.gif

Though it's still not good news because it's going to open an opportunity for TMNut to come in later if they acquire the license.

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 29 2008, 05:38 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif You are so determined to post a so unbelievable comment here... just curious, why you named P1 and why P1 is going to loss license since they are the 1st in Malaysia to have commercially registered customers ?
I didn't sense determination but I did sense a threat. AFAIK, there's only 1 company which I've heard no news of their launch - Asiaspace.

P1 - KL
Redtone - East Malaysia
YTL e-Solutions - East Malaysia

If I'm right, Asiaspace was suppose to deploy in West Malaysia as well. But there hasn't been news on them.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0503sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:44 AM