Nokia Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE", Nokia's first touch S60 device

davidmak
post Dec 15 2008, 07:44 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 15 2008, 05:26 AM)
even if they "chopped" him, its more or less the value now. i mean, come on.. there is no original set yet and AP dealers definitely will put the "reasonable" price tag on it. AP company are opportunist. besides, there is limited stock.. so whoever pays .. gets the phone. smile.gif but when the original set is available, you will see the real AP set price.
Yeah, wonder why another selling is putting up RM1690 for AP Final Choice. Wonder he got stock also. hmm.gif

Anyway reviews will definitely help. Might want to get one. Hehehe!
davidmak
post Dec 15 2008, 10:34 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Dec 15 2008, 08:57 AM)
come on la bro, if u wanna be those early bird to buy b4 ori launch, ord paying for higher price. tis is nt called got "chopped"...coz is i willing to pay, no one force me oso...i been ready price will slash at least 200 when ori launch lol...

ok, damn tired. no time to play around with tis phone yet...quick review especially highlisht on those features:

1. easy sms...a few input method either by number keypad or keyboard, is really easy to sms...setting to vibrate mode, u can feel it when u r typing... (hehe, good for sms while driving, at least u can feel it, tried yesterday when drive back to kl, BUT REMINDER AGAIN, DUN SMS when driving).

2. good screen n resolution...60x340, really produce good screen colour, some screen big big ma...

3. although it is not multi touch like iphone, but single touch is quit responsive...but with 8gb card in, when u try to load video around 100mb, its like take bout 2-3s to respond...er, myself still feel accepatble...

4. quick button on top, is really easy n convinient....

5. SQ is pretty good with 2 speaker on left handside, no time yet to try out de 3.5 mm jack n headphone...

6. i think i no need to use stylus, all function can be done by using fingers...

overall jus a short review 1st la, working time d, many things waiting for me...tonight i try to upload some pic la...thx
I think ok lar for the time being. Those response times will improve when Nokia release software updates. So no worries. I'm more interested in checking out the demo sets. I've been to KLCC and Pavilion's Nokia and none had it. So looks like I went to the wrong places. I hope Pyramid still have it cause I was there last Friday and there was nothing.
davidmak
post Dec 15 2008, 11:19 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 15 2008, 10:48 AM)
Nice to hear that ppl already have 5800 in hand now.....enjoy while u can with it.....until Ori one appear next year...090109...nice number ah
Yeah very nice number. Anyway, 9 January 2009 isn't that far away from now. The question is, how accurate is the launch date. Will we see stocks available on that day. I would prefer a pre-sale. Hehehehe....
davidmak
post Dec 15 2008, 11:02 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Dec 15 2008, 10:14 PM)
15xx???wait no more lol...

from yesterday full charge, then until jus nw around 5 something battery flat...i do BT, wifi, call n sms, photo, vidoe, play around...hehe, gonna wait a few days jus knw average battery life lol...

jus nw went mines, pass by de nokia service centre...purposely walk in nokia shop ask for tis model...de SA said not coming yet...next wk, price around 23xx-24xx.....ai, tis SA really though i m small kid... ori launch by 9th jan, he can get stock by next wk????n i think price should be 2199 lol...
Wonder the sales person have any clue haha! RM23xx to 24xx. That would be a disaster as many expected it to be around RM18xx-2000 (max RM2199). But next week got stocks? Could be a pre-sale? Or the period where they fulfill pre-orders?
davidmak
post Dec 16 2008, 07:04 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Just got back from Lowyat Plaza and most of the sellers don't have Nokia 5800. The ones that have sell for RM1899 AP from BBS.
davidmak
post Dec 17 2008, 05:03 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Dec 17 2008, 03:22 PM)
wow shows the QC is very bad now. rushing to release the phone. Hopefully once Jan release the QC is better
Unlikely due to production ramping up and supply chain management processes. It takes approximately 3 months lead time for a product to be shipped from source to retail if you consider the parts ordering, production process, assembly process, shipment and stocking processes. The ones that will be put on sale in January will most likely originate from October/November production dates.

Considering that the report came into the forum recently, it'll take Nokia some time to realize and verify within its own labs. If there are in deed a hardware fault, it'll take some time before the hardware revisions trickle down to retail side. If it is a software problem, then its just a matter of time for releasing the next phone software update.
davidmak
post Dec 17 2008, 09:31 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 17 2008, 05:09 PM)
@davidmak

Are you going to participate in the Nokia 5800 events @ Pavillion on 9/1? biggrin.gif

Ohyah, in between blue & red, which color would you choose.
Kekekekeke.... I bite the bullet and ordered myself a unit from AP Final Choice. Couldn't wait and too much temptations here. tongue.gif Price is RM1650 but at the last moment, no stock. So waiting for tomorrow, hoping there is a unit left for me. I chose red color because it looks cooler in that. Anyway most XpressMusic phones are in hot red and it ain't that bad on the Nokia 5800.
davidmak
post Dec 17 2008, 09:46 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 17 2008, 09:37 PM)
omg another proud owner spotted!

what are you going to do with your Nokia E71? biggrin.gif
Well gonna keep it for the moment since I like the QWERTY keyboard so much. But if there are takers, I don't mind letting it go. biggrin.gif

Anyway no stock yet lar. So I am not an owner yet. blush.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: Dec 17 2008, 09:46 PM
davidmak
post Dec 18 2008, 10:54 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 18 2008, 10:51 AM)
your remarks are towards Nokia N85.

it seems that you've made your mind  rolleyes.gif
But seriously, the N85 is a revamp of the old N95 plus newer Symbian OS revision. Guess he did made up his mind already. Hahaha! The Zitron 5800, well take it as a grain of salt for the moment. I don't think the original ones will sell at RM16xx-17xx price range. Its probably AP.
davidmak
post Dec 18 2008, 05:23 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Guys, if all goes well I will be receiving my set tonight! Very excited.

Today during lunch time, I walked around IOI Mall and received 'insider' news that apparently Nokia concept stores are quietly selling the original sets. He didn't mention which store, but pointed to KL Nokia stores. This is consistent to the claims by a Lowyat Plaza store saying the LY Nokia Concept Store is the only one selling the Nokia 5800 before launch. However, upon asking LY Nokia sales person, they deny. hmm.gif very very strange.

Anyway APs will have a certain amount of risks. If it is software ones, I am not worried since I can always find solutions for it. Hardware ones will be a headache though. QC wise, doesn't matter from which country of origin. You should be enjoying the same quality from Nokia no matter which country of origin. However, for Nokia 5800 we want to know the country of origin due to the Comes with Music service that Nokia will launching separately next year.
davidmak
post Dec 18 2008, 11:27 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Oops, got the phone. biggrin.gif More pictures coming tomorrow rclxms.gif
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 08:50 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Dec 19 2008, 02:12 AM)
u 2 got use the phone strap?de guitar plug????hehe, i just take out phone, charger n pouch....all sit in box sitting at home
Nope, same case as you. Everything sit in the box. I don't like the feeling of having something dangling on my phone. The pouch is a little tight now, so I am afraid it might scratch the plastic frame.

-------------
INITIAL REVIEW

Guys here's my initial review. No pictures yet. Just my general impression of the phone.

Casing/Built
Apparently, I have no problems with the built quality that I am expecting. So far it is within my expectation. No squeaky plastic noise. The cosmetic and finishing is really nice. Its great because I thought it is only a solid black plastic with red stripe/ring. Truth is, it is a more attractive translucent black with red tint and the red striped embedded inside. The finishing doesn't look susceptible to scratches but I am not sure. Overall feel is good and the hand grip is just great cause its not too wide. And its very light too.

Screen Quality
It is one of the best things of the XpressMusic 5800. The resolution is high enough making everything look crispy and the contrast is acceptable. 3.2" is a nice size without being too wide. I think the 3.5" would look wider with an overall same vertical length. The touchscreen is amazing because its is very sensitive like the capacitive screens. The surface texture is slightly soft so it'll dent a bit when you use the stylus like any other resistive screens.

OS/UI/Homescreen
The OS is optimized enough for smooth operation. The rotation thingy is better than what others have said. On the regular menu, it takes less than a second to complete rotation. On the gallery/picture/video mode however, it'll take longer due to the fade-in/fade-out action. Swiping action on the photos are good enough without much lagging. The only problem is the slow showing of thumbnails. It'll take some seconds before it could refresh all the thumbnails unlike N-series phones like N95 for example. The homescreen is a little of a disappointment in the sense that you can only put up to 4 of your favorite contacts. I would like the option to put more.

Camera/Video Quality
The camera feature is decent enough for regular use. I have no problems working with a 3.2MP camera resolution. The features are good enough unless you're expecting smile/face detections. I am a little concern on the white balance detection part. Pictures are ok but would do better on the color accuracy under artificial lighting. The video quality is just GREAT! Great in the sense that full resolution at 30fps is magically smooth! However, the quality is fuzzy and very noisy under poor lighting. I think this can be solved via software updates. I'm very confident.

Speaker
The integrated stereo speakers are very good. Music player has all the features you need for playback.

Internet Browsing Experience
This is something you can expect on all Nokia S60 browsers. It'll work with flash and JAVA objects. WIFI is fast enough. The browsing part is a little different than normal S60 browsers because you now have to work a touchscreen like iPhone/iPod Touch/WinMo devices. The normal swiping up and down (for scrolling), double tap (for zooming in and out), etc all applies here. The scrolling part is pretty smooth and can be further improved. The 3.2" work its magic in this area too, displaying everything you can see on the website without too much left and right scrolling (assuming you work in horizontal orientation).

Thats all from me at the moment. I'll post some photos later. In summary, the phone meets my expectation except for the imaging and video part which is a little of a disappointment. I knew the E71's camera sucks, so I thought 5800 would easily trump it. I haven't check the actual photos on my PC yet, maybe they will be different.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Dec 19 2008, 08:52 AM
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 09:14 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(-Max- @ Dec 19 2008, 08:58 AM)
Cool, one last thing, battery power? brows.gif
Unknown yet. Just charged and its the beginning of the day now. I'll report again in a few days time.
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 10:16 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 19 2008, 09:52 AM)
congratz davidmak, you wrote a lengthy review, i gonna come back later and read again during my coffee break biggrin.gif
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Dec 19 2008, 10:08 AM)
pana, now coffee break time already.hehe
so, miss nokia tube, when u wanna get one?
Yeah lu, when are you getting? So nice the phone. It has so many cool features. The screen is just so crisp and nice! No need coffee break, just browse. If you buy the 5800, you can use the super cool wide screen to view this review liao. Got wifi mah. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on December 19, 2008, 10:20 am
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 19 2008, 10:15 AM)
davidmak, time for the critics parts tongue.gif

share with us what you dislike or dissatisfactory about.

squall_kay, me getting the ori set, so, another 3 weeks or so bah biggrin.gif
Complaints: Definitely the camera and video part which can be a lot better.

Camera
The color accuracy is not there yet and there's some slight tinting at the left and right side. Looks like vignetting to me but vignetting usually happens on the corners. AF is accurate and responsive.

Video
The refresh rate of 30fps is fine. But the quality is very fuzzy under poor lighting conditions. Also in video mode, the pictures is zoomed.

I would say these are preliminary problems with the software which can be updated when the time comes. So I am not worried. I am just pleased that this phone has better video recording capability, something like the Samsung INNOV8. I've seen the quality on INNOV8 which is superb and smooth. Makes every N-series phones out there wanting to be better. Probably the N85/96 would have 30fps but I can't confirm.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Dec 19 2008, 10:20 AM
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 10:22 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 19 2008, 10:21 AM)
dun...TEMPT...ME!!!!
Wait till you see the pictures tonight. rclxms.gif
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 10:27 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Dec 19 2008, 10:23 AM)
this is an XpressMusic after all, Nokia wouldn't want to put too superb
camera in whistling.gif

leaving all the best in N97 flex.gif
True. But we've seen better output from other non-Nseries phones. So I would expect at least on par lor. Come to think of it, if Nokia puts in a Carl-Zeiss marketing gimmick but skimp on the post processing part. It'll ruin the same marketing gimmick put on N-series phones. Users would have the wrong impression.
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 11:11 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 19 2008, 10:39 AM)
davidmak, you..grrrr...! tongue.gif
I tell you the Global Racer game is so chun! You have to steer the phone like a steering wheel manipulating the accelerometer to control the vehicle. And it feels just like driving. tongue.gif

Anyway too bad, there are no compatible Garmin Mobile XT and Windows Live. Would be great if Nokia 5800 was launched with a small library of compatible software. Perhaps, in the next few months I guess since N97 is coming. So it makes perfect sense. Launch the 5800 to trigger software community to support it. Use the 5800 as an experimental tool. When N97 is released probably in the mid of 2009, we should have a good number of compatible software. These applications drive the sale of phones too you know.
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 01:39 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(feimeng @ Dec 19 2008, 01:25 PM)
some 5800 owners figured out that taking off the back cover will greatly increase the quality of the photo
the main problem to cause overall low down is because of the protection mirror/lens on the back cover
what a shame on nokia to produce such low quality material to bring down the camera actual performance
too bad
Wow... very big difference like the Touch Diamond case. shocking.gif

Added on December 19, 2008, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(limyusiong @ Dec 19 2008, 12:49 PM)
david and aruja, u all want screen protector or nt? i buy a few n FREE for u la...just come PJ collect fr me la...
You got ah. Where you buy? Where is your place? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by davidmak: Dec 19 2008, 01:39 PM
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 01:45 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(nubnub75 @ Dec 19 2008, 01:41 PM)
Thread. Is. Just. Blazing. Fast!!! ohmy.gif
congrats for the new owners, hope u guys r happy with the awesome tuuuube~~ biggrin.gif
Yeah, product haven't release already reach 80 over pages. Now AP available liao, already more than 100+. Truely awesome. Show that people are interested with the product. Sales don't know lar.
davidmak
post Dec 19 2008, 02:13 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Dec 19 2008, 02:06 PM)
woot, so big diff between the photos.. tak kan la nokia want us to take off cover to take photo right? faint.
Probably the plastic overlay meant to protect the camera can catch finger print and oily stuff. So it'll reduce resolving power of the lens. In the end, you get less accurate colors and stuff like that.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0453sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:31 PM