23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

IAFM, CPS, CamPro, All Discussions here.

aizad02
post Apr 7 2008, 11:50 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

errr...IAFM is external device at the air intake rite?so,is there any chance to put it to normal campro arr??
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 11:54 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM)
btw, rebore the campro block and fit bigger bore piston to increase the displacement lor....
I prefer changing the hi-cam to a higher one. Can save petrol if kept revving under 4k rpm. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:50 PM)
errr...IAFM is external device at the air intake rite?so,is there any chance to put it to normal campro arr??
I think its possible. hmm.gif
aizad02
post Apr 7 2008, 11:57 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

it tot original cam campro oledi use high cam.or i'm wrong???dat's why campro power only comes at high revs.
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:57 PM)
it tot original cam campro oledi use high cam.or i'm wrong???dat's why campro power only comes at high revs.
CPS has 2 set of cam, once hit 3.8rpm, it will change to high-cam.
cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2008, 04:06 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM)
campro = no variable cam, no variable valve, no nothing

iafm = TVIS found on 1st gen 4AGE from AE86 from year 1985  yawn.gif

cps = variable valve lift which dont work. a sophisticated and well designed engine with valve lift tech should make 165hp like B16A. this "new technology" could be found in 1988 EF9 CRX B16A

vim = variable inlet manifold

today is 7/4/2008. phailed
u can't compare with an old generation engine. new engine has stricter rules on emissions etc etc.

try compare the CPS 1.6 with Toyota Altis VVT-i 1.6 or Suzuki Swift Sport VVT 1.6. that's the closest that i can compare.

CPS is leading in that comparison theoretically.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Apr 8 2008, 12:07 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 04:43 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 11:54 PM)
I prefer changing the hi-cam to a higher one. Can save petrol if kept revving under 4k rpm.  icon_idea.gif
I think its possible.  hmm.gif
change to highcam can save petrol??.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM)
CPS has 2 set of cam, once hit 3.8rpm, it will change to high-cam.
2 sets of cam??... or u mean the cams has 2 profile lobes like vtec??... blink.gif blink.gif

somehow i dont see any difference in performance during switch over of the cam profile.... doh.gif doh.gif
paultantk
post Apr 8 2008, 06:45 AM

407 posts

Campro is the engine family. They're phasing out the normal Campro and are now offering it in two flavours.

1) Campro IAFM - think Honda i-DSI
2) Campro CPS - think Honda VTEC

Added on April 8, 2008, 6:46 am
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM)
btw, rebore the campro block and fit bigger bore piston to increase the displacement lor....
I think there's not much engine block to bore it already unfortunately sad.gif

This post has been edited by paultantk: Apr 8 2008, 06:46 AM
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:16 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 04:43 AM)
change to highcam can save petrol??..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
2 sets of cam??... or u mean the cams has 2 profile lobes like vtec??... blink.gif  blink.gif

somehow i dont see any difference in performance during switch over of the cam profile....  doh.gif  doh.gif
The 2nd cam in CPS is not as 'wild' as VTEC and it also engage early (3.8k) compared to VTEC.
farique
post Apr 8 2008, 07:47 AM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 04:43 AM)
change to highcam can save petrol??..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
seriously, this is the first time I heard such thing as installing high cam can save petrol. laugh.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 07:16 AM)
The 2nd cam in CPS is not as 'wild' as VTEC and it also engage early (3.8k) compared to VTEC.
so, they basically have the secondary cam eh? How's the activation of the higher cam? Is it similar of to the VTEC's?

I thought CPS is something like DVVT, VVTI, etc? hmm.gif
kulaan
post Apr 8 2008, 08:48 AM

164 posts

can install CPS or IAFM to older CamPro engine? How much the cost? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 09:22 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Apr 8 2008, 07:47 AM)
seriously, this is the first time I heard such thing as installing high cam can save petrol. laugh.gif
so, they basically have the secondary cam eh? How's the activation of the higher cam? Is it similar of to the VTEC's?

I thought CPS is something like DVVT, VVTI, etc?  hmm.gif
CPS got two profile cam (low lift and high lift)... As long as keep revving before the activation point, it still use low lift, thus normal FC. whistling.gif
SUSaltimi
post Apr 8 2008, 10:38 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM)

cps = variable valve lift which dont work. a sophisticated and well designed engine with valve lift tech should make 165hp like B16A. this "new technology" could be found in 1988 EF9 CRX B16A
B16A is useless below 5000rpm even with B20B block but after that thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif .....
For drivability and fuel economy I think CPS is better.

TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 10:50 AM

-
7,951 posts

And if so the CPS is better, how come the redline is still at 6500RPM (same as 2002 Waja). I thought it can rev higher?
SUSaltimi
post Apr 8 2008, 11:01 AM

2,173 posts

The actual red line is 7200 rpm (rev cut). Try for yourself la....
yngwie
post Apr 8 2008, 12:09 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

CPS = cannot perform smoothly tongue.gif
SUSaltimi
post Apr 8 2008, 12:16 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Apr 8 2008, 12:09 PM)
CPS  = cannot perform smoothly  tongue.gif
It's quite smooth actually... have u actually driven one before?

TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 12:17 PM

-
7,951 posts

As mentioned earlier, in THEORY, it can outperform VVT-i and those. Anyone tested yet?
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 12:19 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Apr 8 2008, 06:45 AM)
Campro is the engine family. They're phasing out the normal Campro and are now offering it in two flavours.

1) Campro IAFM - think Honda i-DSI
2) Campro CPS - think Honda VTEC
noler doh.gif doh.gif

IAFM is about variable length intake manifold... something like VIM, but controlled mechanically.... totally different with i-dsi.... i-dsi utilises 2 sparkplug at each cylinder.... they fires in sequence for good fuel saving or fires together for better power.... it is controlled by car onboard ecu....

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 07:16 AM)
then whats the use of cps leh??... jz to cover the torque dip in the dyno chart??.. doh.gif

QUOTE(farique @ Apr 8 2008, 07:47 AM)

I thought CPS is something like DVVT, VVTI, etc?  hmm.gif
nope... think CPS as something like vtec.... they have similar number of camshaft with any other engine.... but normal engines have 1 cam lobe per valve.... but cps/vtec has 2 different cam lobes on 1 valve... when cps/vtec activates, a solenoid activates and slides a rod to connect both cam profile rocker arm together and thus, the valves play according to the higher cam lobe/profile...

understand??.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kulaan @ Apr 8 2008, 08:48 AM)
can install CPS or IAFM to older CamPro engine? How much the cost? biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
can.... get complete set cylinder head and intake manifold with wiring and ecu all together and fit into ur existing campro...

ehh wait... does normal campro has the same cylinder block as the new campro cps??... hmm.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 12:24 PM

-
7,951 posts

should be as proton is fitting it in all cars in stages
yngwie
post Apr 8 2008, 01:11 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Apr 8 2008, 12:16 PM)
It's quite smooth actually... have u actually driven one before?
already tested the new saga / gen2 and waja cps. helping my friend to decide either on gen2 or waja.
compare with the campro without cps, the one with cps has better and smoother ride.
and most of all, better low end torque distribution.
no more auto revs / jerking thumbup.gif

23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:57 AM