23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

IAFM, CPS, CamPro, All Discussions here.

TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 01:19 PM

-
7,951 posts

Gen2 or waja? why no persona or waja? more comparison..
-gemini-
post Apr 8 2008, 01:24 PM

B& OF /B/LOCKAIDS
615 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Apr 8 2008, 12:09 PM)
CPS  = cannot perform smoothly  tongue.gif
quoted for pure win and gold status.
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 01:34 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 12:19 PM)

then whats the use of cps leh??... jz to cover the torque dip in the dyno chart??..  doh.gif

VIM cover the torque dip I thinks. Because CPS open earlier than VTEC, it cannot use a wild cam like VTEC. A high lift cam would only give optimum power a high RPM. The higher the RPM, the higher lift is better. VTEC open at 7k (if not mistaken), thus it can utilize higher cam than CPS. High cam (high lift) is useless in low RPM. This is what I understand about cam profile system. Pls correct me if I'm wrong. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
WisePrince
post Apr 8 2008, 01:41 PM

320 posts

CPS is for volumetric efficiency for the engine due to the inertia of the petrol + oxygen mixture entering the combustion chamber..
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 03:34 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 01:34 PM)
VIM cover the torque dip I thinks. Because CPS open earlier than VTEC, it cannot use a wild cam like VTEC. A high lift cam would only give optimum power a high RPM. The higher the RPM, the higher lift is better. VTEC open at 7k (if not mistaken), thus it can utilize higher cam than CPS. High cam (high lift) is useless in low RPM.  This is what I understand about cam profile system. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
vtec open at about 5k plus i guess.... 7k almost end of the power graph lor....

campro cps using what ecu??... siemens??... u think anyway in the future someone would take campro cps cams and regrind the higher profile camlobe for better performance??.... hmm.gif den we can have power jump/increase like vtec or mivec... drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 8 2008, 01:41 PM)
CPS is for volumetric efficiency for the engine due to the inertia of the petrol + oxygen mixture entering the combustion chamber..
u've mistaken VIM for CPS ler... doh.gif
WisePrince
post Apr 8 2008, 05:07 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 03:34 PM)
u've mistaken VIM for CPS ler...  doh.gif
owh.. really ar? hehe.. y ar? so, what is VIM and what is CPS?
Oly
post Apr 8 2008, 05:16 PM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

for b series...vtec open at 5800 rpm till rev cut and close down at 5500 rpm...
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 05:19 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 03:34 PM)
vtec open at about 5k plus i guess.... 7k almost end of the power graph lor....

campro cps using what ecu??... siemens??... u think anyway in the future someone would take campro cps cams and regrind the higher profile camlobe for better performance??....  hmm.gif  den we can have power jump/increase like vtec or mivec...  drool.gif  drool.gif
u've mistaken VIM for CPS ler...  doh.gif
Dont know much bout VTEC, but isn't 5k is too low, even MIVEC open at 5.5k.. hmm.gif

Donno what ecu CPS are using, how to know? shocking.gif

I also hope R3 would try to experiment regrind the lobe, which I think is possible icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif ... But how to change the activation point?

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 8 2008, 05:07 PM)
owh.. really ar? hehe.. y ar? so, what is VIM and what is CPS?
VIM are commonly mistaken because CPS and VIM both are usually referred as CPS only.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Lim Ling Yang
post Apr 8 2008, 05:44 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 05:19 PM)
But how to change the activation point?
Put new ecu or piggyback?
Find vafc....woops....find cafc .
Haha.
WisePrince
post Apr 8 2008, 06:03 PM

320 posts

from what i understand through readings from proton website & learnings..

what actually happend when we suddenly ram the accel pad is,
1st, more air come in,
2nd, due to bernoulli principle, the air 'drives' the fuel to come out from inside a venturi tube alike..
3rd, they mix together and enter inlet manifold...

this whole process takes time..
sometimes, in sudden accel, more air come..
the air flow cannot drive fuel to go out the venturi instantly...
thus, creating a weak mixture to be burned in combustion chamber...
oh yeah, it lags just milisecond, maybe microseconds..
but, the impact to the engine performance is tremendous...

so, they introduces the IAFM...
IAFM is all about adjustment made at inlet manifold..
it 'injects' fuel at the same proportion as the amount of air entering..
thus, creating a stable (same fuel-air mixture proportion) entering inlet manifold..

so, it helps reduce in 'power lagging' when we sudden ram the accelerator pedal..
and yes, it is due to inertia principle.

but, due to the same fuel-air proportion entering the combustion chamber, it does not help in increasing the horsepower.. it just able to give instant power..

however, at the inlet valve...
the mixture still have problem to enter the combustion chamber.. yeah, again it is due to inertia..
the mixture does not have sufficient time to enter combustion chamber bcoz the valve open and close at a very high speed... the time interval is so damn small..

so they introduce the CPS..

CPS is the adjustment of the cam, so that the inlet valve opens more, or longer, to let more air come in and more used air go out at high rev., to reduce error due to mixture inertia... how? by increasing the valve stroke length..

more mixture DOES enter the combustion chamber...
more used mixture DOES goes out from the combustion chamber to the exhaust..
in other words, the engine have more volumetric efficiency...

so, it does gives more horse power..

however, it does not disturbs the otto cycle opening (leading) and closing (lagging) degree..
nah~~ im not going into otto cycle anyway..

anyway...here some quotes from proton website..

SUSathlonxp
post Apr 8 2008, 06:20 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 01:34 PM)
VIM cover the torque dip I thinks. Because CPS open earlier than VTEC, it cannot use a wild cam like VTEC. A high lift cam would only give optimum power a high RPM. The higher the RPM, the higher lift is better. VTEC open at 7k (if not mistaken), thus it can utilize higher cam than CPS. High cam (high lift) is useless in low RPM.  This is what I understand about cam profile system. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
the problem is with proton do not have the ability to produce a high revving and reliable engine at a reasonable cost..proton can put in any degree cam lobe they want..but the engine will not be reliable because it is made by proton at constant 7-8k rpm.

cps is running on a rather high cam profile (but not high enough to produce astonishing power), this make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse.

if proton want to make it a high peformance engine, the low rpm power too will suffer badly like a B16A or 4AGE.

we can say that campro is something in between power and fuel economy. but both dont works

cps as a high performance engine = phailed
cps as a fuel economical engine = phailed

japanese manufacture rarely produce those high peformance engine in low price family saloon anymore.
allenultra
post Apr 8 2008, 06:57 PM

9,027 posts

athlonxp

in GEN CPS and Waja CPS

both engine equip with VIM at low end, CPS at high end.
I don't see "make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse" in it.

Is CPS high performance engine? Maybe but not as high as vtec. I don't see any recent Honda 1.6litre car with vtec. Maybe compared with City/Jazz 1.5 Vtec?
CPS never meant to be fuel economical engine but with the VIM, it does gives some improvement.

Thus it isn't fail. Its just not good enough compared to the mature vvt-i or dual vvt-i.
syyang85
post Apr 8 2008, 07:05 PM

982 posts

is satria neo still stucked with campro?
or it has already upgraded with cps or iafm?
SUSathlonxp
post Apr 8 2008, 07:08 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Apr 8 2008, 06:57 PM)
athlonxp

in GEN CPS and Waja CPS

both engine equip with VIM at low end, CPS at high end.
I don't see "make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse" in it.

Is CPS high performance engine? Maybe but not as high as vtec. I don't see any recent Honda 1.6litre car with vtec. Maybe compared with City/Jazz 1.5 Vtec?
CPS never meant to be fuel economical engine but with the VIM, it does gives some improvement.

Thus it isn't fail. Its just not good enough compared to the mature vvt-i or dual vvt-i.
vim at low end? cps at high end? proton website tell u this of course..but real life it is not like this

CPS is not high peformance engine and not fuel economical engine..then wat is this engine good at? boat anchor perhaps.. thumbup.gif

if cps isnt mean for fuel economy..why should proton make something that is not economical and put it in a low cost everyday family saloon?
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:27 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 8 2008, 07:08 PM)
vim at low end? cps at high end? proton website tell u this of course..but real life it is not like this

CPS is not high peformance engine and not fuel economical engine..then wat is this engine good at? boat anchor perhaps.. thumbup.gif

if cps isnt mean for fuel economy..why should proton make something that is not economical and put it in a low cost everyday family saloon?
I've managed to get average 18cent/km with highway cruising at 140km/h (CPS engage) and often rev till 7k rpm.. I've notice that by cruising at 120km/h and less revving above 4k rpm, I've managed to get 16cent/km. My previous ride, Saga LMST also give me 16cent/km for 120km/h cruising. whistling.gif

IMHO, Gen.2 and Waja is not a low cost family car. Saga is.

Gen.2=sporty
Waja=premium saloon

icon_rolleyes.gif

cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2008, 07:33 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 8 2008, 12:17 PM)
As mentioned earlier, in THEORY, it can outperform VVT-i and those. Anyone tested yet?
yeah like i mentioned up there. sometimes THEORY can't be use in REAL LIFE situation, hence need hands-on testings. brows.gif
aizad02
post Apr 8 2008, 07:38 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

ya,in theory we only see the power of the engine.but what in real life alot other things have to be considered xspecially power to weight ratio.and even how well the person drives each car.
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:39 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Apr 8 2008, 07:33 PM)
yeah like i mentioned up there. sometimes THEORY can't be use in REAL LIFE situation, hence need hands-on testings. brows.gif
I don't think at low rev CPS can perform as efficient as VVT system as the latter varies the timing across the RPM range. But the best I think is i-Vtec where the lift is varies across the RPM range and VVT-L system (variable valve timing + lift) . notworthy.gif
tcting
post Apr 8 2008, 07:51 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

Someone with CPS please give comments...
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:54 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(tcting @ Apr 8 2008, 07:51 PM)
Someone with CPS please give comments...
Already have.. have uploaded 0-175 sprint video in Waja CPS thread an LYN top speed thread. whistling.gif

23 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:04 AM