ASB loan, worth to get it???

voncrane
post Jul 1 2018, 09:51 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jul 1 2018, 09:35 PM)
Yes can be done. At cimb this is possible. You have an option to pay for the principal only. By doing this you will reduce your interest. There are 3 mode of payment u can make at cimbclick

- principal payment
- monthly payment
- advance payment

Let say your loan installment is 1300 and u want to pay an extra 200. 1st choose monthly payment to pay your installment 1300. For the 200 choose principal payment.

Advance payment is use when you want to pay lumpsump.
Thanks for the clarification. Lastly, with CIMB..can this advance payments be later withdrawn for any reason? or is it like MBB that once it's in, it can't be withdrawn unless the loan is terminated?
voncrane
post Jul 2 2018, 12:43 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jul 2 2018, 10:16 AM)
I think the same. Because once you make the advance payment the money already in the system. But maybe can go to the bank and ask them to cancel the balance of the advance payment. But for this one i need to clarify first.
Okay, please update when verified. Sorry for the hassle, wasn't even aware that one could pay extra to reduce loan principal.
voncrane
post Jul 13 2018, 11:13 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(penanghomes @ Jul 13 2018, 06:46 PM)
Correct me im wrong, this asb financing is like paying monthly installment but infact its a saving plus bank interest...rite?
You can call it forced savings. But always remember.. It's a LOAN nonetheless and banks will make money off it (as you do too) by you paying interest. Win-win situation.. But do not enter into it lightly. Good thing with ASB type loan is that it's unlike say a car or house loan. Where circumstances can find the value of the item is lower than the remaining principal. Here, it's pretty much 1 - 1 matching value except, say you terminate too early, which means you'll owe the bank in addition to forfeiting past payments. IMO, do not take if unsure of paying diligently for at least the next 5 years. Others may say 3 years and or its harmless.. Nope, as with all things money...enter with eyes wide open. nod.gif
voncrane
post Jul 15 2018, 10:01 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(zeronuker @ Jul 14 2018, 07:40 AM)
Just curious.

Why would someone take the ASB Financing without Takaful?
Perhaps someone who plans to not pay diligently till the end and or plans to just keep doing the rinse and repeat method every couple years. Taking Takaful for such would reduce the clear profits at the end.
voncrane
post Jul 15 2018, 04:23 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(zeronuker @ Jul 15 2018, 11:39 AM)
I see. Thanks.

Incidentally, how much a difference does takaful make on the monthly payments?
Depends on the amount and years to be insured. My SO pays RM50 extra per month. This is for full 200k loan for 28 years. Like this, total would be 50 x 360 = RM18,000 or 50 x 336 = RM16,800.. I can't remember which. But basically.. You would be kissing about a year's worth of dividends good bye in exchange for peace of mind.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 15 2018, 04:24 PM
voncrane
post Jul 17 2018, 11:51 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jul 16 2018, 11:19 PM)
How much added into installment when apply with takaful is different for every person. The premium will be charge base on age, health condition and so on. Let say the premium charges for your takaful is 6000 for 100k loan. Therefore your total loan is 106k. The monthly is around 572.27 while without takaful your monthly is 539.88. (base on interest rate 5.05% for 30 years loan)

Why consultant advise not to apply takaful because most player asb only want to make asbf for short term less than 10 years. If they want to increase the return of investment, apply asbf without takaful will give u more.

Remember when u apply with takaful, for few year the principal only will deduct the premium charges. Therefore if u terminate too early you might end with no principal values and also pay some charges.

My advice make asbf according to your plan. If short term no takaful is better. Long term apply with takaful.
Hi, could you please further clarify this part. Take MBB for instance. Must have Takaful. If the person has already been charged extra 6K, making total 106k.. How come the person still has to pay about RM33 per month multiply by 360 months...this ends up being much more than the original 6k.. Why not just payments totalling the 6k alone? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 17 2018, 11:52 PM
voncrane
post Jul 19 2018, 12:24 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jul 18 2018, 11:47 PM)
Thats because the premium was charged into the loan. Therefore u will pay that 33 ringgit extra until your loan end or terminate. Thats why i more advise my client to apply 3rd party takaful. They dun need to pay any premium charges + interest except the monthly contribution. Most bank give u a choice to pay the premium by cash. However most banker doesnt told client about this. Thats why they end up pay the premium with the loan. And also not many customer have that much of money to pay lumpsump. If 6k consider ok how bout 10k or more? How many of malaysian who have saving more than 10k. Thats why the bank put the premium charges into the loan. Its for convenient.
Oh I see.. Yeah, bankers should tell client about such as not every one wants to be paying premium all over the place.. Thanks for the clarification.
voncrane
post Jul 20 2018, 10:56 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Jul 20 2018, 10:31 PM)
sorry out of topic abit

how do we pay asbf from ambank using maybank2u?
Not via bank transfer from M2U to Ambank asbf loan account?
voncrane
post Jul 21 2018, 03:10 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Jul 21 2018, 02:03 PM)
Problem is i dont know which to select since ambank not appear on the list
I assume during the transfer process you selected loan transfer type? Since Ambank doesn't show up in the list of compatible options. Then I suspect it should be a regular Ambank account number..means transfer as if sending funds to an Ambank savings account. However, do call up Ambank first and confirm this to be true and the accompanying account number for your loan.
voncrane
post Jul 25 2018, 09:17 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jul 25 2018, 08:07 AM)
Hi, for those who rolling their dividen to repay their asbf, are you doing this over the counter every month? I guess no different when you withdraw (throughout the month) it as the dividen calculation for that month will use the min balance on the account,right?

If you have asbf & asb2f, are you withdraws from one account to repay the loans or withdraw from both accounts to repay their own?

I think it's better to withdraw once per year after dividends credited to the account.. Not every month. Cuz yes, as you say.. Dividends are calculated based off the minimum amount in each month. Of course, all this depends on one's financial standing. If can't wait till end of the period to pay, better to withdraw a bit to handle a couple months payments, than to default on your loan repayments. I prefer to compound.. No withdrawals unless absolutely necessary like in an emergency.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jul 25 2018, 09:18 AM
voncrane
post Aug 9 2018, 12:13 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

I'd like to know if it's possible for one to readjust Takaful tenure and ultimately lower pricing after loan amount is disbursed?
voncrane
post Aug 9 2018, 12:20 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 9 2018, 12:15 AM)
Nope. For ASB Reducing Term Takaful (ARTT) and Mortgage RTT (MRTT), once bought while financed by the bank, will be ABSOLUTE-ASSIGNED to the bank. this means the bank OWNS the policy, and the only changes that can be made are to sell the policy back to the insurance/takaful company. This can only happen when you make a full redemption of the loan.
Thanks for the response.. It's as I figured.. Thought can help an aunty readjust.. Oh well..
voncrane
post Aug 9 2018, 01:33 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 9 2018, 12:21 AM)
Well, it might just be time to refinance. Best rate in town is 4.85% (with 5 year insurance), 4.90% without insurance
Yeah., saw your initial post offering and wanted to bring em on it. Sadly she's only a year in and so unwise to terminate and reapply just yet.. sweat.gif
voncrane
post Aug 10 2018, 06:05 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 9 2018, 11:32 PM)
yes you can.  As a broker I offer the services for all banks at NO EXTRA CHARGE for both ASB and ASB2

Currently at 4.85%, it is the best rate in town. 30 years tenure, insurance NOT COMPULSORY (but rate jumps a little to 4.9% which is still better than any other banks)
Yeah.. Don't think refinancing will work as she took full Takaful coverage, included in the loan..Like 10k or so.. sweat.gif Unless you mean, terminate and reapply also means that prior debt on top of 200k is wiped off...?
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 03:32 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 23 2018, 02:11 AM)
Hi..

I'm need pro opinion here..
Didn't have house yet..

I and waifu both already finish 2nd year of asb1
Waifu using her bonus to pay for 2nd year..

I still have last year bonus untouch.. Around 15k

My Balance payslip only can get 1k plus commitment only

She at max commitment .. But got 85k on TH..

Advice me what to do next? Get asb 2 ( if still can or anyway possible?) or buy house?

Tq
My advice is to get a house first only if you both need one as a family unit. Else, if your current abode is fine for your family needs and is in an excellent location for going to work and back? Then more investment definitely won't hurt. Just be sure to take without extra insurance. Cuz if you are considering a house now, probably means in a few years, you both will need one for real and can easily terminate the ASB2 account. Proceeds will help towards the downpayment and or reno costs.. Plus you'd channel the loan repayments towards paying for the home instead.

Depending on the locations and houses..overall, better don't be thinking house prices will come down.. Nope, it's fairly low at the moment.. Been hearing that for awhile, even before we decided to get ours couple years back. So if you both find one for the right price and location? Pull the trigger and don't look back. Cuz it's going to be a home where you leave and make memories.. Home as an investment comes second.. If at all. Just my 2 cents.
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 03:07 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 23 2018, 01:55 PM)
5 post quotation limit
2 things that I will mention:

1. ASB/ASB2/TH dividends can be used as part of your income for you mortgage application. However, the banks will want to look at the dividend statement, which means if you take ASB2 now you will only get about 4/12 of the total dividend declared for ASB2

but wait, ASB2 fiscal year ends in March 31, and if I am not mistaken, the dividend is decalred on the 1st of April, so if you invest using financing for ASB2, the dividends will be good for September 2018 till March 2019, which is 7/12 worth, which is not bad

2. The commitments for the ASB-financing will start right away, it will be calculated as part of your banking commitments

I help people get financing for both properties (mortgages) as well as ASB (ASB-financing) so this is right up my alley
This is not the place to discuss it but a little tangent is ok i guess. I noticed the house prices has been going down for years now, people who bought their properties 5 years ago are not seeing the upswing. Just thought that I mention properties are not the recession-proof investments that many property guru purport them to be all this while.
Not in the sense that most people are familiar with but I am technically correct and that is the best kinds of correct. here is the entry for "refinance" in investopedia

A refinance occurs when a business or person revises the interest rate, payment schedule and terms of a previous credit agreement. Debtors will often choose to refinance a loan agreement when the rate environment has substantially changed causing potential savings on debt payments from a new agreement.

so we are fulfilling "revises interest rate", "payment schedule" (increasing tenure), and "causing potential savings on debt payments from a new agreement"

So we should agree that it is in fact, refinancing. I do mortgages as a living, so I understand that most people view refinancing in mortgages perspectives, when you may get the cash-out as well as having the process done in one swoop (the new bank will settle the outstanding from the previous bank). But that is, in fact, misleading. Refinancing is just that - to re-finance

Thank you
It's still at the core dropping one loan for another from the new bank or financial institution.. Let's call a spade a spade and not attempt obfuscation with legalese and technicalities.. Unless you are saying that refinancing with you means free money and no repayments. smile.gif

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 23 2018, 02:12 PM)
I agree, I would too.

ASB/ASB2 dividends are net. You dont have to think about anything else, unlike houses.

At time it is cheaper to rent than to "buy" a house. Quotation marks because when you buy you don't own the houses, you give it to the bank as collateral. I do both mortgages and ASB financing and I would be the first to claim that the house is not a fool-proof investment.
Sure houses are not fool-proof investments.. Doesn't mean that some haven't appreciated or that all realty agencies are making a loss.. To generalize in such a manner is wrong. Which was why I hinted in my earlier post about buying a home to live as a family vs buying strictly for investment sakes. That's another story for another thread. I've put this out there before and do again. It's great that you are helping and all. But with finance and investments, can't simply be telling people not to think about anything else and that loans to finance asb is a sure thing. Is it now? Yes.. Next year? You and I have absolutely no idea. Past records have shown its returns essentially free falling.. From double digits to single digits and now lower single digits plus sen and some creative accounting to appear "stable". Bank's are reacting by lowering interest rates.. Cuz some money is better than none at all.. Simple! They aren't in it for charity sakes.

What am I saying? Offer facts and let folks decide which is more in line with their risk appetites. If they don't have to think about anything, then there would be no point to the terminate and reapply methods or when best to implement it. Just saying.
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 03:59 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 23 2018, 03:27 PM)
1. You are completely wrong though, I have already given the definition of refinancing, and it is your own fault that you mistook the meaning of refinance as "getting free money". There is no such thing as "free money", the cash-out that you receive from refinancing is still a loan (backed by the property), and I always make that clear to my clients. It is not surprising that you are also finding it difficult to understand the meaning of "refinancing" which to you is more akin to refinancing of a mortgage account, with the so-called "free money" to boot. As you can't even grasp the technical meaning of refinancing i do not think it is a good idea to spread the misconception of what it really is.

As such, settling the current ASB loan and taking up a new one to enjoy better rates can be considered "refinancing", even if there is no involvement of "free money".

2. As for the comment about properties, I just have these few things to say:

a. real estate is just an investment vehicle, like many other including ASB/ASB2, it has no guarantees of return (capital-appreciation, dividend, rental). These talks about how a property is better or worse than other investment vehicles are coming from snake-oil salesmen. yes, the property is there, it is real and tangible (unlike ASB/share units), but there is no guarantee in its value, which is the crux of the issue that I have with people that are pushing properties as hard as they can. It is not wrong to talk about it, but we must recognize the fact there are properties bought in the past few years that are only retaining, if not losing their values over time. If this continues for the next 30 years or so, would you still be saying that a property is a good investment? What is wrong with renting?

b. as it is now, buying a house as a sub-sale (as it is for own stay now, undercon is not suitable) is a LOT MORE expensive than renting. Costs (including hidden costs) will eat you up, in the form of down payment, MOT, SPA, LA, fire-insurance, management fees, sinking fund, taxes, maintenance. This is just anecdotal, but based on my clients house prices that they are buying today, the rental income can never reach the installment alone, not including the other costs that I have mentioned. So you would have spent a lot of money on the upfront costs, and then you would have to spend more to pay off the banks through your mortgages.

Please consider these things before recommending one asset class to another. 

There, facts right in your face. In fact, I have been dropping facts upon facts with numbers to back them up. That is my style, unlike you who seem to enjoy obfuscating facts as proven in your misleading definition of "refinancing" above.
Dude.. One simple question..

Scenario A..
Mike currently has a loan of 209k for 200k ASB units. This is with full Takaful and loan rate of say 5%. When Mike comes to "refinance" with you. He obviously still wants 200k ASB units. What does your "refinancing" do?

Scenario B
Mike currently has a loan of 190K for 200k ASB units. This is without Takaful and loan rate of say 5%. When Mike comes to "refinance" with you. He obviously still wants 200k ASB units. What does your "refinancing" do?

Also, don't think I didn't notice how you only pushed a certain agenda for house purchases, in favor of your completely risk free loans/refinancing.. Also noticed you glossed over the declining returns and banks reducing interest rates in accordance.. I guess my pals and family who bought a particular landed property for around 400k all in.. Brand new from devs.. Free MOT, SPA, furnishings..bla bla.. That was 4 years ago. Today, same property is worth 700k as is.. Oh yeah, paid cash and no loans.. I'd call that a good deal for 4 years.. Especially if one also lived in the property.. So if sold today.. Means the past years has been basically rent free. But as I said.. I don't blindly accept stuffs from so called pros.. I'm unregistered and uncertified.. Yet, I do understand far more legalese and financial industry terms than most.. This without having to call in my educational qualifications and background.. Just using common sense here. mind you, from my previous posts, I'm all for not purchasing a crib unless absolutely needed and all factors taking into consideration. You'd get this, if you weren't sitting so high up on that horse, looking down..

Edit: Modified above for better clarity. Awaiting response on how refinancing doesn't mean taking up another loan.. Only this time, either from the same or a different institution.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 23 2018, 04:21 PM
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 04:25 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ Aug 23 2018, 04:12 PM)
So I take it from ur advises

Max out all 400+400k asb loan
And don't buy house yet..

I reluctant to buy house yet coz didn't know where I will settle down.. Especially waifu. Coz her department usually will rotate staff to other place after 5 years

BTW got one land lot just less than 200 meter from school.. Maybe will stay there after all. Easier for my child later.. 4y old now
Correct. For most, we don't buy and change houses like we do smartphones or other cheaper stuff. It's usually a longterm commitment. So has to be decided properly. For some, it's easier.. As they can see themselves being in the same place for a decade or more. For others, prefer to move around to max career progression and or wealth. There's no one answer to all.. It's as I described earlier.. So if you've figured out that it's something not worth getting at this time. Then, sure best to invest now and gain some extra cash.. Pending when a clearer decision can be made on when and where to buy your home. I further advise, not getting the additional loan insurance UNLESS you've decided to pay the loan until the end. The insurance will then serve as added protection.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Aug 23 2018, 04:27 PM
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 06:29 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 23 2018, 04:57 PM)
1. ASB-f

A. Incomplete question. What is the current outstanding of the loan, and what is the cash-value of the ARTA? This is why I always recommend clients not to take ARTA, people who do are getting bad advises, because when they need to refinance or settle the account, they would have to incur some losses (through the premium of the insurance agent which happens to be the bank itself). Currently the best rate is 4.9%, and some clients who took up ASB financing is currently being charged 5.45%, it would be a mismanagement of one's own finances if you do not look into the market rate and refinance the loan into something that is of better rates

Incomplete question, which suggests inexperience of the person asking the question. Please try again

B. As above, incomplete question (what is the original loan amount), but this is more doable. I assume John has paid for the financing for a few years, thus making the current outstanding reduced by a bit. He would have to ask the current bank to close the ASB-financing account, all the units (non-dividend, non-cash) would be sold off. Refinancing that loan would allow him to get 190k or 200k from the new bank, at the rate of 4.9%, he can take a reduced tenure or l. I dont understand what you are trying to do here.

By the way, may I suggest that you use the correct terms when posting your questions/assertions. Using the right terms, there are differences between the loan limit (original loan amount) and current principal outstanding. However you chose to write these instead: "currently has a loan of 209k" . Which is confusing and allows room for miscommunication. Usually I would visit INVESTOPEDIA when i am not sure about some terms because I avoid using the wrong terms, since as you can see in here and in the mortgage threads, I see myself as an educator of sorts. 

2. On to the property side, I noticed that you love using anecdotal examples to back your points, of which I am not going to address mainly due to 3 reasons:

1. they are anecdotal and personal which do not represent the whole real-estate industry as a whole.
2. It could be coming out of your behind for all i know, a.k.a bullshit
3. There is no way that I can argue against personal experiences, we can hear about it, talk about it, but please don't use anecdotal experiences to prove you points.

What I claim is true though, a lot of publications are saying the same thing, here is one of them:Downtrend in property prices

On top of this, paper gains are not gains unless you sell it off. You need to understand the differences between liquid assets like cash/ut/asb vs real estate that takes between 3 to 6 months for the transaction to complete, if that.

You are right, with ASB-financing you can close the account in as soon as 10 days, as per my experience. So it is a good liquid investment. In the event when you need to buy a house, you can just call up the bank, fill up some forms, and the loan will be closed in a very short time.

Dividend income from the ASB can also be used as part of your total income, useful when the banks are calculating your debt-service-ratio. It will not be able to cancel out your commitments as a whole, but it is better than having the commitment but without the income (i.e hire purchase)
Really... So it's okay to use your anecdotes to prove your point but I can't to prove mine? Even though mine is definitely plausible and easily verifiable from public records. There are reputable websites one can visit to find out real transaction values done today and compare it against price of the same property when it was launched.. As a "Pro", this should be common knowledge to you.. What's all these bla blas above? An essay? Haha.. Dude, take a chill pill.. I asked simple questions and they required simple answers. I also crafted the questions in a manner in which you a pro should have no issues understanding it. Perhaps I need to dumb it down even further.. Here goes..

During your refinancing, does it involve settling previous loan and balance with previous bank AND taking up another loan from your recommended bank? It's a simple yes or no question.. You pull out another graph for this...? doh.gif
voncrane
post Aug 23 2018, 10:01 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(vondutch @ Aug 23 2018, 09:06 PM)
Aiyooo. Why this thread so hot today.
Why so difficult one. This is what i do:
1. Take max loan for both ASB1/2. Dont touch at all.
2. Dump all saving in Tabung Haji.
3. Once have enough emergency fund, use extra money to buy properties and stocks. I bought 1 subsale and 1 undercon using loan. Subsale prop give me rental income which covers installment/maintenance fees.
4. Be alert with current interest rate. Refinance asbf if worth it.
I am not that savvy with financial management but so far i dont have much issue with this approach. Asbf is the best investment tools due to its simplicity. Property can be a bit headache sometimes.
Beats me.. Wild fella die die like to talk himself up.. Like what he does is beyond mere mortals like the rest of us... Refusing to answer simple questions.. but instead launch into story mode.. Nothing I haven't seen before. laugh.gif

Your methods is perfectly fine as it offers variability and increased risk diversification.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(baldi91 @ Aug 23 2018, 09:13 PM)
I've helped my good friend to refinance her ASB financing. She loaned rm100k with rm811 monthly commitment for 15 years @ 5.25% interest plus a term insurance to it.
She serviced the loan for 3 + years before finally refinance it. In that 3 years, she paid about rm20k+ principal from rm100k loan.
So what happened is: she got that rm20k back and get a new asb loan rm150k for 30 years at 5.05% interest, with rm810 monthly commitment.
So when we refinance (or terminate) asbf, we get back the principal we had paid.
I agree.. It's a no brainer.. What you've written.. No magic involved.. Refinancing is as I said, replacing unfavorable loan A with a current more favorable loan B.. Pending if it ever becomes unfavorable. Obviously as with all ASB termination, if money owed to the bank is less than money present in the investment fund, then the balance is refunded to the payee...If more, then payee owes the bank.. Simple.. no need graphs or charts or lingo mumbo jumbo. Plain as day.

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Aug 23 2018, 09:22 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Okay Einstein.. You win lor.. Answer simple questions also difficult.. You must be good at Tai Chi.. The fact that you are unable to offer simple answers to simple questions, speaks volumes about your character.. Sometimes, simplicity is best.. K.I.S.S.... You may want to take note of that... Enjoy your evening.. I'm done..

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.7681sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:09 PM