QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 12 2015, 03:13 PM)
banks gonna stop asb loans & would focus on asb2 loans next year onwards.. So now your last chance to get asb loans!
what is the different between asb loan and asb2 loan??ASB loan, worth to get it???
Dec 15 2015, 08:43 PM
174 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Dec 15 2015, 09:41 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
48,433 posts Joined: Sep 2014 From: REality |
Dec 16 2015, 03:09 PM
428 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
I have a RM50k loan. Thinking of getting another RM50k. But I wonder if it's possible to 'upgrade' the loan? I mean, part of your monthly payment is for insurance or something right, so no sense to pay double. Thoughts?
Dec 19 2015, 01:20 AM
36 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Dec 16 2015, 03:09 PM) I have a RM50k loan. Thinking of getting another RM50k. But I wonder if it's possible to 'upgrade' the loan? I mean, part of your monthly payment is for insurance or something right, so no sense to pay double. Thoughts? I dont think that's possible. When you get the first 50k loan, your insurance is for that 50k. Getting another 50k will require another insurance for that 50k. By the way, there are banks that offer ASB loan with no insurance, or at least shorter insurance period (e.g. 5 years), try ask around. Unless they already stop the ASB loan and only sell ASB2 loan. |
Dec 19 2015, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(exitsortie @ Dec 19 2015, 01:20 AM) I dont think that's possible. When you get the first 50k loan, your insurance is for that 50k. Getting another 50k will require another insurance for that 50k. What you said made sense, thanks. By the way, there are banks that offer ASB loan with no insurance, or at least shorter insurance period (e.g. 5 years), try ask around. Unless they already stop the ASB loan and only sell ASB2 loan. Speaking of insurance, is it even a necessity to get insurance? I went under Maybank and was told it was mandatory. I didn't know other banks offer without insurance. |
Dec 19 2015, 06:40 PM
Which bank offer asb loans without insurance thingy?
Dec 20 2015, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Dec 19 2015, 06:10 PM) What you said made sense, thanks. Think about it, if you borrow 100k today for 30 years, and some time during the tenure you suffer from death/TPD and defaulted on your loan, the bank could easily resell the certificate for 100k to PNB, and even return you some of the excess money. Speaking of insurance, is it even a necessity to get insurance? I went under Maybank and was told it was mandatory. I didn't know other banks offer without insurance. The reasons why some banks require mandatory loan is because either: - they get commissions out of selling the insurance AND - assuming the borrower suffer from death/TPD some time during the tenure and defaulted, it's true the bank can resell the certificate and get back their money, but the loan will still be considered as a non-performing loan because the best case scenario for the banks is for you to continue paying for 30 years, thus they get to collect maximum amount of interest. I applied for CIMB LASB in june and was allowed to take a 5-year insurance, you might want to check with them. YMMV though. |
Dec 20 2015, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(exitsortie @ Dec 20 2015, 12:47 AM) Think about it, if you borrow 100k today for 30 years, and some time during the tenure you suffer from death/TPD and defaulted on your loan, the bank could easily resell the certificate for 100k to PNB, and even return you some of the excess money. Ahaha I had to google YMMV to find out what that meant The reasons why some banks require mandatory loan is because either: - they get commissions out of selling the insurance AND - assuming the borrower suffer from death/TPD some time during the tenure and defaulted, it's true the bank can resell the certificate and get back their money, but the loan will still be considered as a non-performing loan because the best case scenario for the banks is for you to continue paying for 30 years, thus they get to collect maximum amount of interest. I applied for CIMB LASB in june and was allowed to take a 5-year insurance, you might want to check with them. YMMV though. Re: was allowed to take 5-year insurance. Were there negotiations involved? To me this sentence implied that the bank begrudgingly allowed you to take 5 year instead of full term. |
Dec 21 2015, 01:46 AM
1,116 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
CIMB ASB interest 5.0 if got offer letter / family link 30yrs.. optional insurance..
affinbank pon macam okay.. 5.2 rate.. |
Dec 21 2015, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Dec 20 2015, 10:38 AM) Ahaha I had to google YMMV to find out what that meant Yeah at first the loan officer said a full-term insurance is required, then i mentioned about people who were able to get shorter insurance from CIMB. A few hours later the loan officer called back and said it's ok to take 5-year insurance. So i guess we can say they begrudgingly allowed me to take shorter insurance.Re: was allowed to take 5-year insurance. Were there negotiations involved? To me this sentence implied that the bank begrudgingly allowed you to take 5 year instead of full term. One thing to remember, insurance is not necessarily a bad thing. It's definitely a good thing if you suffer death/TPD during the tenure. But I applied for the ASB loan with the aim to maximize my capital, not protection. I do plan to terminate before the 30-year term is up which means i dont need a full insurance, but even if i ended up not terminating and suffer death/TPD during my unprotected years, i'm fine with it. If my family cant pay for it, i'll just terminate the loan and the bank can resell the cert. In short, i wanted short-medium term profit against long-term protection. |
Dec 21 2015, 09:27 AM
Dec 21 2015, 02:10 PM
274 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Dec 21 2015, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(exitsortie @ Dec 21 2015, 09:27 AM) I'm interested in that CIMB 5%/30years/optional insurance plan. What is the offer letter/family link referring to? if refinance to CIMB from another bank.. offer letter ASB from old loan..family link tak tau ask here.. https://www.facebook.com/asbloanterbaik or https://www.facebook.com/groups/261420023932547/ |
Dec 21 2015, 11:49 PM
so it's confirm there's no ASB loans next year?
or there's some last minutes "extension" given |
Dec 22 2015, 10:03 AM
1,275 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Dec 22 2015, 12:24 PM
Dec 22 2015, 02:56 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,275 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Dec 22 2015, 03:31 PM
bila nak announce dividen this year..
duit dah habis bayar loan ASB & ASB2.. next year rolling dividen jer.. |
Dec 22 2015, 04:02 PM
Dec 22 2015, 05:56 PM
| Change to: | 0.0234sec