Our Home Theater. (Pictures and Screenshots), Showpiece Cinema (New pics page 22!)

TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 05:33 PM, updated 17y ago

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

Let me tell you guys a bit about our theater. We had our first theater in 2000 which consists of a Sony 60" 4:3 RPTV, And a 5.1 Snell Acoustics system which were powered by the Sunfire Theater Grand Processor and Sunfire Cinema Grand 5-channel amp which put out juicy 200 watts into each channel. Sources were a Sony DVD Player fed through Component, Pioneer CLD-95 Laserdisc player thru composite, a VHS Player thru composite and astro. The sound was IMO terrific in our medium sized room. But it just needed more, oomph, more kick. We enjoyed it alot, well, until the TV broke down, twice once in 2003, then in 2004, after that we didn't really bother to send it for repairs.

So, in 2006 I went around studying AV and checking for reviews to replace the Television, we first decided that a 720p RPTV at around 60" would be enough, so we looked at the JVC, then Toshiba came out with a nice looking gargantuan 72" RPTV, looked at it, and almost went for it. But then, 1080p RPTV's started coming out, the Sony 60" SXRD was absolutely gorgeous, but then we looked at Projectors, first the 720p ones, I thought the Panasonic AE900U and AX100 were excellent, AX100 being a bright little fella, but it kept me wanting more, Fast forward 2007, Sony Pearl Arrived, went to take a look at it, 'Mamma Mia!' I thought, the black levels were unbelievable, the picture filmlike, but a bit too soft, colours were excellent but didn't have that POP to it, I waited for the Mitsubishi HC5000, 'That's more like it, a picture that pops!' Wait a minute, i see the iris working, it's kinda annoying, and the Black Levels were 2 steps down from the Pearl. But, that colour that just pops, and the Reon Processor doing great work. Then I thought, what If I could get the Black Levels of the pearl, and the razor sharpness and colour as well as processing from the Mitsu in one package. Tadaaa! the JVC DLA-HD1 was next on my list, went for a look. 'B'JEEZUSSS'. Thats one heck of a picture. Bright too.

So I took that. What about screen? Oh Noes! Spent a lot of time looking at a DNP Supernova screen. Bright, but hotspotting, as well as half gain off the center, brightness isn't uniform, and some sparklies. Looked at Senemax as well, bright but, even worse than the DNP, while cheaper. Then took a look at carada, nope, da-lite, nope, Stewart, YES. YES? Looked at the Firehawk G3, nice and sharp, excellent colour, excellent uniformity. Asked questions in AVS, good reviews, but, WHAT'S THIS? 2.35:1? Cinemascope? NICE! This is gonna be expensive I thought, It's ok, DIY Screen is good enough, went an ordered a Prismasonic FE-1500R lens, neeaattt. Whaddya mean the JVC doesn't do vertical stretch? Problem occured, I've ordered the JVC, the Lens, now i need a Video processor? Dayyuummm.

DVDO, Crystallio, Dragonfly, etc. V-Processors, I BE NEEDIN' THEM. Looked at Crystallio and Algorith's Dragonfly when I was at UK, Great but, they don't sell'em here, DVDO, whaddya know, they do. The Video Processing were amazing. It's amazing what it can do to 1080i material, or even HDMI 480i from a dvd player connected to it, will allow godlike results. But, bu-but wait, I don't have HDMI Sound Processing from the Sunfire! I need a new Processor, well looked at receivers at first, almost bought the Yamaha RX-V2600, then Almost bought the Denon 3806, then almost bought a Marantz SR-9600. KRELL, yum, ARCAM, yum, I wan't more.

ANTHEM?! Whuttahell is that? New brand? Nu' uh They're AVM-20 has been on the Market for 5 years and remins a reference to many Processors. AVM-50, nice! GENNUM VIDEO PROCESSING? THX ULTRA 2? FOUR HDMI INPUTS? I'm Sold! Read...Read...STATEMENT D2? Anthem Statement D2, It's sooo sexay, it has rave reviews, it's sound a notch higher than the AVM-50 and what seems to actually join the ultimate realms of a Theta Processor, really? Nah, well close. Now I don't need 2 separate equipments, It's an AV Processor, with ultimate capabilities.

I didn't really need to Upgrade the Speakers, I just added 2 more surround, Energy CR-3s. So the 2 main front L/R speakers are now powered by, a... Bryston 4BSST. Warm, excellent sounding on 2-channel, well the Anthem Upconverts music to 7.1 so uh... still. Movies sound great too, lots of details I've never heard thanks to the Anthem. Bought a PS3 for Blu-ray, and getting an Oppo 980-HD for 480i thru HDMI and let the anthem do the processing to 1080p.

Oh the screen, well, I did a DIY Blackout screen, But guys here at LYN say that I've spent so much on the equipment might as well get a branded one. So I did. Ever Heard of SmX? SmX Makes Acoustically Transparent screens, in fact they're so good, Hollywood is using it, and AVS is raving about it, it's Gain is pretty low at 1.16, but it's actually pretty bright when used for real. I went with a Curved 2.35:1 130" wide SmX Acoustically Transparent screen. That gives me a 112" diagonal 16:9 which is more than enough. 2.35 though, is huge.

Time went by fast and in late 2007, we decided to upgrade the theater, give it a little makeover, a Big Little that is. The whole room has changed, we added rockwool and fabric to the whole, It's a bit classy, a bit modern, abit contemporary, it's us. I wish I could show you guys the difference before and after, but my mac screwed up and lost everything, silly me, didn't back-up.

Well, Were happy with what it is now.

Pictures in the next post.

Farhan.

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Dec 2 2008, 04:58 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 05:37 PM

1,978 posts

And Now for the Screen...

htkaki
post Apr 4 2008, 05:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I saw 'anarmorphic lens'. Elite!
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 05:56 PM

1,978 posts

The Whole View

SmX
Speakers behind Screen.

How An Anamorphic Lens Work
Picture as usual. Letterbox, doesn't fill screen
Remote enables pass and stretch
Custom Setting thru Anthem Allows image to be stretched slightly top and bottom
Anamorphic setting allows it to stretch fully
See?
And With a press of the stretch button. PRESTO!

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 4 2008, 06:39 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 06:36 PM

1,978 posts

Screenshots, Iron Man trailer, Dark Knight Trailer, The Prestige Blu-ray.
Black levels are good. No?
You can really See the curvature of the screen in this shot.

Will take more pictures when I have time. Hope You like this Theater as much as I do.

Farhan.

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 4 2008, 06:38 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 06:39 PM

1,978 posts

Posed for this shot. tongue.gif
Maniac
post Apr 4 2008, 06:52 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

holy shit!
suns8630
post Apr 4 2008, 06:53 PM

1,122 posts

stop all this "craps ' story and picture ....

It is very very 'unreal" for you to post and claim its your setup

all pictures posted are AV magazine quality based .. NO one will be able to shoot this kind of Shot ...
unless its done only the "PRO"

will be "believeable" if you are sitting in this AV room ....

Added on April 4, 2008, 6:59 pmno one will be so "stupid" to put a ceiling Fan in such an expensive AV room ....

This post has been edited by suns8630: Apr 4 2008, 06:59 PM
aawcy
post Apr 4 2008, 07:11 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Apr 4 2008, 06:53 PM)

all pictures posted are  AV magazine quality based .. NO one will be able to shoot this kind of Shot ...
unless its done  only the "PRO"

Added on April 4, 2008, 6:59 pmno one will be so "stupid" to put a  ceiling Fan in such an expensive  AV room ....
Come on... i believe it's real of coz.. it's a nice setup...trully asian home theater designed..
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 07:12 PM

1,978 posts

all pictures posted are  AV magazine quality based .. NO one will be able to shoot this kind of Shot ...

Added on April 4, 2008, 6:59 pmno one will be so "stupid" to put a  ceiling Fan in such an expensive  AV room ....
Fine, Don't believe me then.
blur_mak
post Apr 4 2008, 07:17 PM

197 posts

Millionaire in da house! ROCKS man!
nargoe
post Apr 4 2008, 07:21 PM

87 posts

great setup tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM

1,978 posts

Bro suns8630, the ceiling fan was there previously, we just felt it didn't need to be taken out, it's on when it's in the morning so that the air circulates and doesn't get dusty. The pictures are good because I took it tongue.gif, well no, it's because I'm using a D-SLR, a Nikon D80. Get one. It's nicceee.

Oh, and...

Now do you believe me?
PetroToxin
post Apr 4 2008, 07:27 PM

1,179 posts

Wow.

Amazing Setup + Macbook Pro + D80

Owned. What do you do?
ferricide
post Apr 4 2008, 07:30 PM

Mercenary
638 posts

Whats does his dad do?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 07:31 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 4 2008, 07:27 PM)
Wow.

Amazing Setup + Macbook Pro + D80
Owned. What do you do?
I'm a cuban drug dealer.

Nah, It's a family theater funded by the father. Father does hard work, son goes out to look for equipment.

Family=Happy.
songbo
post Apr 4 2008, 08:03 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ çˆ½å— Ò³Ì¸Ò²Ì¸Ò³ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

nice setup!

btw Speakers the behind Screen wont affect the sound huh?
clngu
post Apr 4 2008, 08:05 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Bro, your family home theatre system damn cool ... notworthy.gif

roughly how much the total cost? 200K enough or not? I am going to do one in my new house.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 08:09 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(songbo @ Apr 4 2008, 08:03 PM)
nice setup!

btw Speakers the behind Screen wont affect the sound huh?
It's an Acoustically Transparent screen which has little holes in it, which allows sound to pass thru. Stewart, Screen Research, as well as SmX are pioners but only SmX's weaved screen goes to 1.16 gain, which is plentiful.

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 4 2008, 08:05 PM)
Bro, your family home theatre system damn cool ...  notworthy.gif

roughly how much the total cost? 200K enough or not? I am going to do one in my new house.
Much less, Around 70% of that. ;P

Good Luck.
clngu
post Apr 4 2008, 08:13 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 4 2008, 08:09 PM)
Much less, Around 70% of that. ;P

Good Luck.
Bro, just equipment itself??? not include renovation ie. wall and ceiling, furnishing, acoustic paneling ???
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 08:15 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 4 2008, 08:13 PM)
Bro, just equipment itself??? not include renovation ie. wall and ceiling, furnishing, acoustic paneling ???
With Furniture as well. Doesn't include the Room cost, But it's the cost of Equipment plus Furniture.
clngu
post Apr 4 2008, 08:17 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 4 2008, 08:15 PM)
With Furniture as well. Doesn't include the Room cost, But it's the cost of Equipment plus Furniture.
thanks so much bro, you are very helpful smile.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 08:19 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 4 2008, 08:17 PM)
thanks so much bro, you are very helpful  smile.gif
With 200k, you could do a much more kickass theater than this one my friend....

MUCH MORE KICKASS

I'll post more photos tomorrow, havin 10 guests over tomorrow to see the theater.
aawcy
post Apr 4 2008, 08:25 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM)
Bro suns8630, the ceiling fan was there previously, we just felt it didn't need to be taken out, it's on when it's in the morning so that the air circulates and doesn't get dusty. The pictures are good because I took it tongue.gif, well no, it's because I'm using a D-SLR, a Nikon D80. Get one. It's nicceee.

Oh, and...

Now do you believe me?
YAYA...show him MAN! rclxm9.gif

Added on April 4, 2008, 8:29 pmbro, what is the room dimension? Maybe u can list down the equipment you used...can't see oh... tongue.gif i always dream of something like that...

This post has been edited by aawcy: Apr 4 2008, 08:29 PM
neohardcore
post Apr 4 2008, 08:30 PM

402 posts

so,how suns8630?adobe photoshop maybe? hmm.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 4 2008, 08:45 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(aawcy @ Apr 4 2008, 08:25 PM)
YAYA...show him MAN! rclxm9.gif

Added on April 4, 2008, 8:29 pmbro, what is the room dimension? Maybe u can list down the equipment you used...can't see oh... tongue.gif i always dream of something like that...
Projector: JVC DLA-HD1
Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic FE-1500R
Surround Sound Processor: Anthem Statement D2 AV Processor
Amplifier(s): Bryston 4BSST 2-channel, Sunfire Cinema Grand 5-channel amp
Speakers: Snell Acoustics K.5i L/R, Snell Acoustics CR.5 Center, Snell Acoustics SR.5 rear surround, Energy CR-3 Surround
Subwoofer: Sunfire True Subwoofer Mark II
Blu-ray: PS3
DVD: Oppo 980HD (Coming Soon)
Laserdisc: Pioneer CLD-95
Astro: Astrolaaa
Cables: QED Silver Anniversary XT Speaker cables, QED Silver Anniversary Interconnects, PS-W Subwoofer cable, HDMI-P HD Cable.

Room Dimensions: Original 19.5' long, 16' wide. With materials and fabric/After renovation 18.5' long 15' wide, a curvature of 3-2.5-3' behind screen for equipment and speakers.

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 4 2008, 08:51 PM
suns8630
post Apr 4 2008, 08:58 PM

1,122 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 4 2008, 07:31 PM)
I'm a cuban drug dealer.
Nah, It's a family theater funded by the father. Father does hard work, son goes out to look for equipment.

Family=Happy.
bravo... !! psp boy.... lucky you to be "born" in this family...

looking at the setup of the whole room ...

i would estimate it cost somewhere near 300K .....

and believe me .. in my line of work ... i had seen many many "house" with AV but noting come close to this... !!!

if this is your "father" av room .. then i really really .. pitty you of having this setup but "ONLY" able to show off ONLINE ......

ohhhh .. D80 and mac book ...and what else ... ferrari ... 30 foot yacth .... gold plated toilet seats ....

gold plated milk bottle... !!!

I really admire your life but at the same time have sympathy ... what your father "has or had" ... is Noting to be shout about...

Is what you have ...that is matter ....!!!

arj
post Apr 4 2008, 09:01 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

When I read some of the posts here, the words "sour" and "grapes" comes to mind huh.gif
fevercrash
post Apr 4 2008, 09:02 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(suns8630 @ Apr 4 2008, 08:58 PM)

i would estimate  it cost somewhere near 300K .....

and believe me .. in my line of work ... i had seen many many "house" with AV but noting come close to this... !!!

if this is your "father" av room .. then i really really .. pitty you of having this setup  but "ONLY"  able to show off ONLINE ......
ohhhh ..  D80 and mac book ...and  what else ... ferrari ... 30 foot yacth ....  gold plated toilet seats ....

I really admire your life but at the same time have sympathy ... what your father  "has or had" ... is Noting to be shout about...

dude dont be jelous la..he is not showing off..he just share his home theatre set up..noting is wrong with tat la..
BTW PSP BOY ur soo damn lucky lar..i dunno my entire lifetime got chance to set up this kinda HT..Salute!! thumbup.gif
hackwire
post Apr 4 2008, 09:06 PM

4,256 posts

is the curve of the screen custom made by special contractors. does it cost alot ?
corad
post Apr 4 2008, 09:40 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

awesome rclxms.gif

did u get most of the equipment from 1 shop? or was it all done directly with the suppliers ? smile.gif
htkaki
post Apr 4 2008, 10:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

No hard feeling, psp boy. Why PS3 as the BDP for a grand setup like this? Wouldn't be a bit like suddenly 'underdog' as compared to the other expensive kits? sweat.gif

btw, where did you got the Snell speakers?
aawcy
post Apr 4 2008, 10:47 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Apr 4 2008, 09:02 PM)
dude dont be jelous la..he is not showing off..he just share his home theatre set up..noting is wrong with tat la..
BTW PSP BOY ur soo damn lucky lar..i dunno my entire lifetime got chance to set up this kinda HT..Salute!! thumbup.gif
Agreed with you bro...he is not showing off.....he is just sharing his home theatre set up...i am glad he actually share with us...at least it gave us some idea....i don't see anything wrong with that..

Furthermore, i am sure he spends a lot of time to research Audio Visual equipment....it's a hard decision to finalise all audio equipments to use even if you are "well loaded". smile.gif

shumaky
post Apr 4 2008, 10:52 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Psp_boy.. killer setup man...
Ur dad also naik profile.. looks like this is a good year yar..
Cheers
gaemon
post Apr 4 2008, 11:00 PM

23 posts

no need to watch cinema if i got this setup.like those MTV CRIP celeb houses.Two thumbs up thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by gaemon: Apr 4 2008, 11:01 PM
runemastertan
post Apr 5 2008, 12:05 AM

1,221 posts

Hmm, very nice indeed. not a lot of people could afford that, even with the support from "daddy". Overall, very nice. But then, you are missing something in there, it's the massage chair............
eyerule
post Apr 5 2008, 01:33 AM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,037 posts

if this is your "father" av room .. then i really really .. pitty you of having this setup  but "ONLY"  able to show off ONLINE ......
ohhhh ..  D80 and mac book ...and  what else ... ferrari ... 30 foot yacth ....  gold plated toilet seats ....

I really admire your life but at the same time have sympathy ... what your father  "has or had" ... is Noting to be shout about...

if u got nothing nice to say then maybe u should keep ur comments to urself. psp boy doesn't show off just for the sake of showing off, if u follow some of the threads u can see that he's slowly sourcing for stuff, doing it as a hobby/interest.
raining again
post Apr 5 2008, 07:18 AM

It's raining again, again ... and again
895 posts

omg cry.gif so damn rich !!! an nice room . can i know what your dad does ???! lol thumbup.gif
DigitalKL
post Apr 5 2008, 08:15 AM

1,360 posts

wow! nice setup there you got. only thing spoiled is the throw cushions. have to get better ones la to match the expensive leather seats. sweat.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
pierreye
post Apr 5 2008, 08:21 AM

1,308 posts

so far, this is the best setup I see in Lowyat. I'm currently rebuilt my HT room and see I can steal some idea. But not at your scale!!!
JayYeong39
post Apr 5 2008, 08:30 AM

84 posts

Wow,son of dato spotted tongue.gif , very nice setup!
piscesguy
post Apr 5 2008, 08:43 AM

ç§ã®åå‰ã¯ã‚Šã‚…ã†ã§ã™
3,965 posts

I guess u never need to go cinema for a long time. smile.gif Very professionally done! It is my dream to own something like this....
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 09:19 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Apr 4 2008, 09:06 PM)
is the curve of the screen custom made by special contractors. does it cost alot ?
SmX makes Curved screens as part of their line. You might be able to make a DIY curve screen as well.

QUOTE(corad @ Apr 4 2008, 09:40 PM)
awesome  rclxms.gif

did u get most of the equipment from 1 shop? or was it all done directly with the suppliers ?  smile.gif
The Screen, The Anthem D2, the Projector, as well as the lens were specially ordered.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 4 2008, 10:23 PM)
No hard feeling, psp boy. Why PS3 as the BDP for a grand setup like this? Wouldn't be a bit like suddenly 'underdog' as compared to the other expensive kits?  sweat.gif

PS3 very capablelaa. One day la, but, not anytime soon.

Snell Speakers were bought 8 years ago from FOX Home Video, BSC.

Cheers guys!

Farhan.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 09:32 AM

1,978 posts

Price is nowhere near that close.

My Toilet seats are plastic like everyone else. It's Not my Father's AV Room, why is everyone having the same perception. It's our Family AV Room. Very much enjoyed by my Brother and sisters, and in-laws, and mom, and dad, and my 3 nieces, my friends, my cousins, my relatives. Strangers?

I don't why it is wrong for me to post my theater when everyone else can and does. It's not fair, no?

shumaky
post Apr 5 2008, 09:38 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Some ppl just jeles.. dont care them hahaha..
caya la ur setup..
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 09:40 AM

11,811 posts

FUIYOHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wub.gif

tabik pspboy

* ur sisters of legal age and single?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 09:47 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 09:40 AM)
FUIYOHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wub.gif

tabik pspboy

* ur sisters of legal age and single?
One Pregnant with twins, The Other is very legal, very very un-single. tongue.gif

Bro Shumaky, I wonder what will happen if they go AVS, sure they tell all to not post, since they're all showing off they're magnificent theaters anyways laugh.gif
idoblu
post Apr 5 2008, 09:49 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

psp_boy, no not wrong to post your setup. its always good to share.
unfortunately some seeing sharing as showing off. no rights and no wrongs on any party here. and there will always be doubts with some parties....its just human nature. so keep sharing dude!

rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 09:54 AM

11,811 posts

arghhhhhhhh, SHIT!!!!!!!

sad.gif guess i cant be ur BIL liao
clngu
post Apr 5 2008, 09:57 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 09:32 AM)
I don't why it is wrong for me to post my theater when everyone else can and does. It's not fair, no?
Bro, nothing wrong with you ... you are sharing idea and experience with us ... I am honor ... last time I was same as you ... when I posted my small living room home theatre setup ... some losers just keep shooting me ... those losers always a loser ... so just ignore them smile.gif

you mentioned some equipment specifically ordered ... from Singapore or elsewhere ... thanks
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:02 AM

1,978 posts

The Curved screen was specially ordered from the owner of the brand himself. I got to know him a bit, and I asked for invoices, He managed to get it shipped here to Malaysia. The Anthem Statement D2 was specially ordered thru Asia Sound. The Lens from Prismasonic website. The Projector from AV Designs here in KL.
DigitalKL
post Apr 5 2008, 10:04 AM

1,360 posts

psp _BOY,

i really like the wall panelling. they are padded right with just foam? i wish i have the width of your room size. mine is only 10 ft, too darn narrow.

btw the front seat to the screen - what is the distance?

cheers dude!

TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:08 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 5 2008, 10:04 AM)
psp _BOY,

i really like the wall panelling. they are padded right with just foam? i wish i have the width of your room size. mine is only 10 ft, too darn narrow.

btw the front seat to the screen - what is the distance?

cheers dude!
They are padded with Rockwool and Foam, around 3"+,

The Seats to the screen is only around 10', I got to go closer thanks to the use of 1080p, no complains from people yet. Though wouldn't want to watch Cloverfield down there.
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:10 AM

11,811 posts

ok... heres the thing, if wacthing 16:9 ratio movies, u gonna have left and right black bars? especially wen playing PS3
not doing those auto masking thing? or curve screen kenot do?s
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:13 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:10 AM)
ok... heres the thing, if wacthing 16:9 ratio movies, u gonna have left and right black bars? especially wen playing PS3
not doing those auto masking thing? or curve screen kenot do?s
So very very expensive. I don't think we will upgrade to a masking system. The quality now is astounding, and the empty space when watching 1.78 and 1.85 movies are dark enough to not be bothered.

Sometimes I stretch the movie to 2.35:1, It's not bad, if it looks okay, we'll watch it like that.
DEz012
post Apr 5 2008, 10:13 AM

574 posts

thumbup.gif Nice setup looks great, but lacks of special HT. room design.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:14 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(DEz012 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:13 AM)
thumbup.gif Nice setup looks great, but lacks of special HT. room design.
Thanks! If i were to do a special style room with star ceiling and popcorn machine and marquee, I would still be under construction kot. sweat.gif

This to me, is already more than I expected.
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:15 AM

11,811 posts

er....after u spend so much... can it still be expensip? tongue.gif

do you mind taking some pics for me?

those 1.78 before and after stretch, preferably movies and ps3
TIA
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:16 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:15 AM)
er....after u spend so much... can it still be expensip? tongue.gif

do you mind taking some pics for me?

those 1.78 before and after stretch, preferably movies and ps3
TIA
That wouldn't be a problem. I'd like to be of assistance to all of those here, and probably we could have a meet here at my home someday.

I'll do it ASAP but, I'm leaving for Muar in an hours time, how bout tonight?

rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:18 AM

11,811 posts

anytimewen u free lar, me also no money to buy projector yet, just wishin nia

i dun think i wanna go ur home, later i kenot tahan, i whip out a parang and rob kaw u of ur possesion tongue.gif

u coming to johor today? buat apa?
MyDevil
post Apr 5 2008, 10:18 AM

7,480 posts

Wow, millionaire in the house.
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:20 AM

11,811 posts

multi milionare or billionaire shud be more appropriate
pedro
post Apr 5 2008, 10:22 AM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Kudos to you bro,thats an awesome setup!
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:25 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:18 AM)
anytimewen u free lar, me also no money to buy projector yet, just wishin nia

i dun think i wanna go ur home, later i kenot tahan, i whip out a parang and rob kaw u of ur possesion tongue.gif

u coming to johor today? buat apa?
My dad buat a little appreciation luncheon for all his men.

Lepak until 6 i think, balik hari. then tonight might post some more pics.
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:27 AM

11,811 posts

ok thanks
fly safe, assumebly pspboy has his own private jet as well biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:29 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:27 AM)
ok thanks
fly safe, assumebly pspboy has his own private jet as well biggrin.gif
Aiyoo why like that haa. Hehe, Go by car, I think brother driving.

I will post more screenshots and room pics, equipments and posts of me dancing naked in the room
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:31 AM

11,811 posts

sisters dancing naked YES
psp boy dancing NO
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:32 AM

1,978 posts

bro RX, What blu-ray u selling?
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:36 AM

11,811 posts

u go ps3 selling thread and see lar, cant remember liao
not fair if i copy paste here tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:39 AM

1,978 posts

Off to Muar now, will see again tongiht. Thanks.

corez
post Apr 5 2008, 11:08 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Wow, best setup so far thumbup.gif

Can't imagine playing PS3 Condemmed 2 on this setup, sure cannot sleep later tongue.gif
PrinceOfPersia
post Apr 5 2008, 11:39 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif thumbup.gif

i know your father brows.gif thumbup.gif
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 11:55 AM

11,811 posts

corez... watching JAV on this setup lagi POWER
songbo
post Apr 5 2008, 11:57 AM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ çˆ½å— Ò³Ì¸Ò²Ì¸Ò³ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 11:55 AM)
LOL... cant imagine nia.. laugh.gif
PrinceOfPersia
post Apr 5 2008, 12:02 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

sure kenot sleep 44 days tongue.gif
corez
post Apr 5 2008, 12:08 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Make sure you bring it if Pspboy buat gathering rclxms.gif tongue.gif
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 12:18 PM

11,811 posts

sold liao lar... blush.gif

the 1st thing i waan do if i get a projector is to watch some HARDCORE HD on it!!!!!!!!!!!!

like watchin live !!!!!!!!!!

HIDUP HD
ycs
post Apr 5 2008, 01:36 PM

4,238 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 10:25 AM)
My dad buat a little appreciation luncheon for all his men.

Lepak until 6 i think, balik hari. then tonight might post some more pics.
impressive setup.

"appreciation luncheon for all his men" = won in last month's elections??

That would explain a lot.
htkaki
post Apr 5 2008, 01:40 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Ok, let's form an orderly queue to go to pspboy's pad for a movie while waiting for the nice screenshots.

AV Designs is very reputable in the AV market. To go this far and have such nice setup would be a dream for me (i guess almost everyone here).

Now, I have seriously convince HM to look for a new pad with enough space for me to build a proper HT room. Then again, peasant like me have financial difficulty.

rx330, boleh pinjam $$$?
corez
post Apr 5 2008, 01:49 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 5 2008, 01:40 PM)
Ok, let's form an orderly queue to go to pspboy's pad for a movie while waiting for the nice screenshots.

AV Designs is very reputable in the AV market. To go this far and have such nice setup would be a dream for me (i guess almost everyone here).

Now, I have seriously convince HM to look for a new pad with enough space for me to build a proper HT room. Then again, peasant like me have financial difficulty.

rx330, boleh pinjam $$$?
Wah, RX now dah jadi ah long ahh? tongue.gif

htkaki
post Apr 5 2008, 02:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

shhhhh...... nanti he kena tahan under Emergency Ordinance lah. LOL
yawhong
post Apr 5 2008, 02:51 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

this setup is really good! i wish my new house have a home threater like you.. erm.. should suggest my dad about this since he is a hardcock movie fans.. haha
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 03:12 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Apr 5 2008, 02:51 PM)
this setup is really good! i wish my new house have a home threater like you.. erm.. should suggest my dad about this since he is a hardcock movie fans.. haha
Hardcore or Hardcock? shocking.gif

I sudah cuba pasang Blu on the setup.

not blu-ray ha, blu...

yawhong
post Apr 5 2008, 03:39 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 03:12 PM)
Hardcore or Hardcock? shocking.gif

I sudah cuba pasang Blu on the setup.

not blu-ray ha, blu...
haha hardcore.. sorry too much porn...

rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 04:03 PM

11,811 posts

ah long can, no problem, how much u wan?
rm 5? rm 10? the max i can go is rm 15 nia, any takers?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 04:05 PM

1,978 posts

aiyoo so hungry, tunggu speech tak habis habis, the food haven't arrived, luckily got wi-fi here, and luckily i brought my laptop, tonight screenshots will be:

More HD Trailers, 1.78 stretched, 1.85 stretched.

I actually watched meet the spartans which is 1.85, but i stretched but it doesn't look stretched, so i made it stay.

Heheh
rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 04:06 PM

11,811 posts

i also takut stretch not nice
gaemon
post Apr 5 2008, 04:12 PM

23 posts

kena tambah popcorn machine baru shiok

This post has been edited by gaemon: Apr 5 2008, 04:13 PM
deng8895
post Apr 5 2008, 04:55 PM

788 posts

very nice setup.. however from your setup, seem like u are not so particular on the sound iszit...your amplifier and surround processor too high end for your speakers..hehehe..

btw the equipment brand u choose are not very common in Malaysia.. who decides on which equipment to buy? or u have a special av consultant to advise which setup that has the most synergy..
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 04:57 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(deng8895 @ Apr 5 2008, 04:55 PM)
very nice setup.. however from your setup, seem like u are not so particular on the sound iszit...your amplifier and surround processor too high end for your speakers..hehehe..

btw the equipment brand u choose are not very common in Malaysia.. who decides on which equipment to buy? or u have a special av consultant to advise which setup that has the most synergy..
I choose the equipmen myself, then I rely on the AV branch I'm getting all my items from to order it for me. That way, I know it's my decision and choice and not others. I've researched all this for more than 2 years, just to make it close to perfect.

Cheers,

Farhan.

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 5 2008, 05:37 PM
apisgogo
post Apr 5 2008, 10:16 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

ini baru kick ass!

hehe nice setup man...

u got a heck of a projector man... u import it directly?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:30 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 5 2008, 10:16 PM)
ini baru kick ass!

hehe nice setup man...

u got a heck of a projector man... u import it directly?
It is sold here mate! laugh.gif
Very nice black levels, It's amazing how bright it is, the screen is 130" wide and yet I'm only using normal lamp on the lower brightness setting (Cinema). I can watch movie with ambient light no problemo.
jlce10
post Apr 5 2008, 10:36 PM

1,061 posts

wow, nice home theater you have there...
asciii
post Apr 5 2008, 10:39 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

nice one dude!
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:40 PM

1,978 posts

Thanks!

Guys here are a bit more pics. 2 new more recliners arrive, now on the top deck.

PS3 Devil May Cry, 1.78 stretched to 2.35

Awake (DVD Ciplak)

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 5 2008, 10:49 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:51 PM

1,978 posts

Hancock Trailer 1.85 stretched 2.35

Dolby Digital 1.85 stretched 2.35

Equipment
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 10:52 PM

1,978 posts

Our new recliners on upper deck

Just for scale, asked my grandaunt to hug Tony Stark
htkaki
post Apr 5 2008, 11:21 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Impressive. Taikor sekalian, shall we organise a TT to psp_boy's pad?

Ooppps... are we welcome?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 5 2008, 11:26 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 5 2008, 11:21 PM)
Impressive. Taikor sekalian, shall we organise a TT to psp_boy's pad?

Ooppps... are we welcome?
Yes yes!

Bring you favourite Blu-ray discs when I organise one. So we can wach different movies.

This monday night I've got guests.

Try to make a date when were all free.

Next month got Holiday for me sei..
htkaki
post Apr 5 2008, 11:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Tks a lot. I need to group all other elite first. (flipping through the ELITE LIST; ar188, megatron, digitalkl, arj, rx330, mpyw, jasonlky,timothyy, etc)
tjwong
post Apr 5 2008, 11:51 PM

394 posts

hehe...~ saved in my "wanted list" ~
d2z
post Apr 6 2008, 12:10 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 5 2008, 11:46 PM)
Tks a lot. I need to group all other elite first. (flipping through the ELITE LIST; ar188, megatron, digitalkl, arj, rx330, mpyw, jasonlky,timothyy,d2z  etc)
1stly, omg..!!! rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif wanna die already..hahaha

ps: i know u would count me in.. brows.gif
rx330
post Apr 6 2008, 01:19 AM

11,811 posts

i think u ter-added me in ur list, but i really do wanna go see his theatre

mi wife says his screen is farking big tongue.gif
pierreye
post Apr 6 2008, 08:16 AM

1,308 posts

psp_boy, can you take some photo with lights on? Want to see your HT design. Looking to steal some idea from you.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 6 2008, 09:15 AM

1,978 posts

No Problem, Will do it in the afternoon, and shoot all aspects of the room.

Farhan.
asciii
post Apr 6 2008, 10:54 AM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 10:51 PM)

Ehh..got astro also connected to PJ?

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 11:26 PM)
Yes yes!

Bring you favourite Blu-ray discs when I organise one. So we can wach different movies.

This monday night I've got guests.

Try to make a date when were all free.

Next month got Holiday for me sei..
I wana join also laugh.gif

KVReninem
post Apr 6 2008, 11:31 AM

IX
5,369 posts

pspboy can you list all ur AV equipment? those players and total set up cost tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 6 2008, 01:22 PM

1,978 posts

Projector: JVC DLA-HD1
Screen: SmX ProCurv 130" wide Curved 2.35:1
Anamorphic lens: Prismasonic FE-1500R
Surround Sound Processor: Anthem Statement D2 AV Processor
Amplifier(s): Bryston 4BSST 2-channel, Sunfire Cinema Grand 5-channel amp
Speakers: Snell Acoustics K.5i L/R, Snell Acoustics CR.5 Center, Snell Acoustics SR.5 rear surround, Energy CR-3 Surround
Subwoofer: Sunfire True Subwoofer Mark II
Blu-ray: PS3
DVD: Oppo 980HD (Coming Soon)
Laserdisc: Pioneer CLD-95
Astro: Astro
Cables: QED Silver Anniversary XT Speaker cables 100M, QED Silver Anniversary Interconnects, PS-W Subwoofer cable, HDMI-P HD Cable.

Room Dimensions: Original 19.5' long, 16' wide. With materials and fabric/After renovation 18.5' long 15' wide, a curvature of 3-2.5-3' behind screen for equipment and speakers.
tkh89
post Apr 6 2008, 01:28 PM

34 posts

Hi pspboy.
Whats the advantage of using the curve screen??
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 6 2008, 01:37 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(tkh89 @ Apr 6 2008, 01:28 PM)
Hi pspboy.
Whats the advantage of using the curve screen??
A Curve screen smoothens the light to all corners thus having a wide viewing angle. Other than that it reduces pincushion effect. It also has that wow factor.
htkaki
post Apr 6 2008, 02:09 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 6 2008, 01:19 AM)
i think u ter-added me in ur list, but i really do wanna go see his theatre

mi wife says his screen is farking big tongue.gif

So, when you coming up to KL?

aawcy
post Apr 6 2008, 03:14 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 6 2008, 01:37 PM)
A Curve screen smoothens the light to all corners thus having a wide viewing angle. Other than that it reduces pincushion effect. It also has that wow factor.
Wow....i've learned something.. tongue.gif
rx330
post Apr 6 2008, 03:25 PM

11,811 posts

not anytime soon ht blush.gif
fevercrash
post Apr 6 2008, 03:30 PM

671 posts

haiz Pspboy..i really wanted to go to ur house and see ur HT if hav a chance but scare later no mood to watch own HT after see ur one.. doh.gif
hackwire
post Apr 6 2008, 08:02 PM

4,256 posts

pspboy, can u name out the company name that involve in this project.
Screen, Setup, Wall panels, Interior etc..thanks.u can pm me . thanks
g5sim
post Apr 6 2008, 09:22 PM

5,756 posts

do you have a single sister? sweat.gif

ops answered

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 09:54 AM)
arghhhhhhhh, SHIT!!!!!!!

sad.gif guess i cant be ur BIL liao
hmmm you can try the alternative tongue.gif they are still brothers in the house laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Apr 6 2008, 09:26 PM
asciii
post Apr 6 2008, 09:27 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

oit..want to mengurat just for home cinema ? hmm.gif cool2.gif blink.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by asciii: Apr 6 2008, 09:28 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 6 2008, 10:18 PM

1,978 posts

Adus korang ni kan.

Just for Home Theater tongue.gif

Damn need to order the Oppo DVD player siut..
g5sim
post Apr 6 2008, 10:18 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Apr 6 2008, 09:27 PM)
oit..want to mengurat just for home cinema ?  hmm.gif  cool2.gif  blink.gif  sweat.gif
mata home cinema katakan tongue.gif
rx330
post Apr 6 2008, 10:44 PM

11,811 posts

g5sim wanna be pspboy sister in law?
silbii
post Apr 6 2008, 11:11 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 6 2008, 10:18 PM)
Adus korang ni kan.

Just for Home Theater tongue.gif

Damn need to order the Oppo DVD player siut..
bro

where to order the oppo player? heard all good things about in AVS since years back...and the price in RM...

if all good...cud order one too.. tongue.gif

btw..cool theatre mate...used to only see this in AVS gallery...didnt know msians could have something better...bravo!

drgadgets
post Apr 7 2008, 01:09 AM

178 posts

HOly shit...I can't believe someone in Malaysia has a setup like this. pspboy...the whole thing really cost u about RM130K? I can only dream of getting something like this.
ruffstuff
post Apr 7 2008, 01:27 AM

3,345 posts

Missing full frame 35mm projector for purist lover with sdds, 24fps in a glorified manner!! Add few pop corns and beverage counter outside the hall but minus the ticket lady, say bye-bye to gsc and tgv. bruce.gif
wotiyo
post Apr 7 2008, 01:27 AM

327 posts

waloa.....vry nice setup there...
htkaki
post Apr 7 2008, 09:38 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Anymore screenshots? (waiting anxiously)
g5sim
post Apr 7 2008, 10:23 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 6 2008, 10:44 PM)
g5sim wanna be pspboy sister in law?
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
bsl555
post Apr 7 2008, 10:28 AM

8,046 posts

I can tell you there ARE Malaysians who have AV/Hifi equipment worth megabucks. They're just who keep low profile and don't flaunt their equipment on the internet for the whole world to see.
Anyway, congrats to the topic starter on his very fine and dream come true setup. Its wonderful to see the passion put into it. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bsl555: Apr 7 2008, 10:29 AM
ar188
post Apr 7 2008, 01:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 4 2008, 10:23 PM)
No hard feeling, psp boy. Why PS3 as the BDP for a grand setup like this? Wouldn't be a bit like suddenly 'underdog' as compared to the other expensive kits?  sweat.gif

bro, PS3 is the BD player of choice for high end custom installers in US (i.e. over 100k US)..it's that good.. rclxms.gif

Added on April 7, 2008, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(bsl555 @ Apr 7 2008, 10:28 AM)
I can tell you there ARE Malaysians who have AV/Hifi equipment worth megabucks. They're just who keep low profile and don't flaunt their equipment on the internet for the whole world to see.
Anyway, congrats to the topic starter on his very fine and dream come true setup. Its wonderful to see the passion put into it.  rclxms.gif
eh.. nothing wrong with sharing elite equipment photos or setup la.. megabucks equipment 2years ago (say like USD10k 720p projectors) can also mean only mid range performance now in 08.. sharing it in the internet, nothing wrong with that, after all we are discussing how to improve our AV setup etc... and besides, all it's still reasonably priced hobby with low tax (compared to cars here..)

this elite fella is using the latest setup in projector choice and image processing/anamorphic lens/curved 2.35 screen etc similar to those found in upper range equipments used by AVS forumers.... kudos to thread starter for sharing your setup.

Added on April 7, 2008, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 6 2008, 01:37 PM)
or simply, so that all the light will reach the screen same distance from the point source (i.e. projector lens) ... reduce the reliance on digital processing to adjust the pin cushion deformities... which may reduce image quality.

Added on April 7, 2008, 1:33 pm
QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 5 2008, 08:15 AM)
wow! nice setup there you got. only thing spoiled is the throw cushions. have to get better ones la to match the expensive leather seats.  sweat.gif  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
DIDiKL, your own HT room already groomed for this kind of setup, just need to fill up with around 80k AV equipment can liao.. support! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Apr 7 2008, 01:33 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 02:58 PM

1,978 posts

Haha, Thanks for more comments guys, I'll atke more pictures . Got some elite people coming to see, word is they have ultra hi-end home tehaters, but none with anamorphic system.

Cheers guys.
htkaki
post Apr 7 2008, 02:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro ar188, when are you free?
dirtrun
post Apr 7 2008, 03:16 PM

3,136 posts

Nice, very nice..

Enjoy..
Dirtrun
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 04:17 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 10:51 PM)
Hancock Trailer 1.85 stretched 2.35
Even though the stretching gives a nice cinematic look, I'm not sure if I can accept everybody suddenly becoming gemuk dan pendek. Just compare Will Smith's face in these 2 pics and you'll see what I mean.

TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 04:27 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ Apr 7 2008, 04:17 PM)
Even though the stretching gives a nice cinematic look, I'm not sure if I can accept everybody suddenly becoming gemuk dan pendek. Just compare Will Smith's face in these 2 pics and you'll see what I mean.
Haha, yeah, That's why I only stretch 2.35 movies. Although some 1.85 movies look perfectly fine stretched.
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 04:34 PM

243 posts

It's the same effect you get when watching Astro on flat screen TVs.... short and fat (not to mention the horrid low res picture quality). But I noticed in certain countries like Hong Kong where probably everybody owns a flat screen TV already, their high def cable TV signal must already be in a 16:9 format because the people aren't short and fat.

Now when is this damn Astro going to get off their complacent ass? vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Audio Nirvana: Apr 7 2008, 04:35 PM
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 04:38 PM

11,811 posts

i tot astro got a function to set as widescreen one?

TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 04:40 PM

1,978 posts

The Day we get 1080i HD cable, is the day my children get their grandchildren.

:sob:
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 04:42 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 7 2008, 04:38 PM)
Really? Would be interesting to find out if that's true.

But the quality still sux... nothing worse than watching a low res signal on a high res TV.
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 04:43 PM

11,811 posts

get a good avr with good upscaling capabilities
mine not tat good, but my astro is displayin in 576p now biggrin.gif
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 04:44 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 7 2008, 04:40 PM)
The Day we get 1080i HD cable, is the day my children get their grandchildren.
:sob:
Maybe we need to organise demonstrasi in front of Astro HQ. rolleyes.gif
corez
post Apr 7 2008, 04:52 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 7 2008, 04:38 PM)
That function is for show only. No difference if on or off.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 04:57 PM

1,978 posts

Jom we go do demo at astro HQ. Muahahaha. I envy when I go overseas, get to see HD programs. Giler best.

I haven't tried astro on my set yet. Let's see how my Anthem upscale it to 1080p.
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 04:59 PM

243 posts

Before you do, make sure that your expectations are set real low.
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 05:04 PM

11,811 posts

heres the thing, last tim i plug into my plasma, its still showing 4:3 instead of 16:9 regardless wat setting i set, but now, i plug it into my avr, automatically it becomes 16:9 biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 05:12 PM

1,978 posts

Later la I try, 1080p astro, I know It won't really do much. But, what the hell.

Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 05:17 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 7 2008, 05:04 PM)
heres the thing, last tim i plug into my plasma, its still showing 4:3 instead of 16:9 regardless wat setting i set, but now, i plug it into my avr, automatically it becomes 16:9 biggrin.gif
The thing is....if the original aspect ratio of the TV program is 4:3, people will still become short and fat when stretched to 16:9, whether it's your TV or your AVR doing the stretching. It's just physics, ain't it?
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 05:25 PM

11,811 posts

Of course biggrin.gif
just to wat extend nia
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 05:29 PM

243 posts

Of course if you chopped off the top and bottom of a 4:3 picture and then stretch it to fill the screen, the proportions would be maintained. But then you'll have people walking around without head and feet. doh.gif In that case, I think even short and fat is preferable.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 05:31 PM

1,978 posts

But, If astretch pan and Scan can la. Since it already has all the info, squished, I can just stretch it back.
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 05:34 PM

243 posts

To me, the only reasonable solution is for film producers to shoot all programs only in wide screen format. It doesn't make sense for them to shoot in 4:3 anymore, since that aspect ratio only exists in CRT TVs which is fast becoming obsolete.
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 05:59 PM

11,811 posts

yes, but its gonna take years to replace, which aint possible as tv wil still air oldies

but US shows and current hongkie and other documentaires are aredi film in 16:9 ratio now

but at the of the day, its ur broadcaster probelm

i hate to watch 2.35 OAR on 4:3 tv..... cant even see who is actin gin it on a 20 inch CRT sad.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 06:00 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 7 2008, 05:59 PM)
yes, but its gonna take years to replace, which aint possible as tv wil still air oldies

but US shows and current hongkie and other documentaires are aredi film in 16:9 ratio now

but at the of the day, its ur broadcaster probelm

i hate to watch 2.35 OAR on 4:3 tv..... cant even see who is actin gin it on a 20 inch CRT sad.gif
20 inch wide or diagonal?

Audio Nirvana
post Apr 7 2008, 06:33 PM

243 posts

That's a good point.

Added on April 7, 2008, 6:34 pm
No wonder the hongkie program broadcast I saw in HK had nicely proportioned people.

This post has been edited by Audio Nirvana: Apr 7 2008, 06:35 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 06:37 PM

1,978 posts

I think the shows in Star World and all is in 16:9 no?
ar188
post Apr 7 2008, 06:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ Apr 7 2008, 04:17 PM)
LOL, gemuk Will smith.... biggrin.gif maybe he put on a few kilos..

anyway, have to match screen ratio with movie ratio lor..

that's what the motorized masking 1.85-2.35 screen curtain is for.. (PSP boy's next "must have" acquisition... hehe!)

also, few things to take it to the next CEDIA approved level,
1. stealth speakers installation.
2. Hush box for projector (keep the proj totally silent and out of sight)
3. Lutron custom Zoned lighting
4. Themed theater, complete with scrolling LED marque (those scrolling words) and popcorn
5. custom hand held touch screen remote control
6. Zoned Audio and Video distribution
7. Kaleidescope Video server.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 06:48 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 7 2008, 06:41 PM)
LOL, gemuk Will smith....  biggrin.gif  maybe he put on a few kilos..

anyway, have to match screen ratio with movie ratio lor..

that's what the motorized masking 1.85-2.35 screen curtain is for.. (PSP boy's next "must have" acquisition... hehe!)

also, few things to take it to the next CEDIA approved level,
1. stealth speakers installation.
2. Hush box for projector (keep the proj totally silent and out of sight)
3. Lutron custom Zoned lighting
4. Themed theater, complete with scrolling LED marque (those scrolling words) and popcorn
5. custom hand held touch screen remote control
6. Zoned Audio and Video distribution
7. Kaleidescope Video server..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
Next upgrade could be speakers, maybe in 2 years?
The Klipsch THX Ultra 2 speakers very powderful.

Custom hand held remote control, maybe a Pronto?

Don't need Kaleidascape, too expensive, need Oppo 980HD...

Zoned Audio Video? The D2 can do that already..

Don't ned themed tehater, too much, I like this one just as it is. Would probably like to add more acoustical panels and diffusers as well as bass trap to improve the sound, before getting those speakers.

And I want the projector to be in sight, it's sexy!
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 7 2008, 07:17 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

oit.. buy porsche from me la. laugh.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 07:20 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Apr 7 2008, 07:17 PM)
oit.. buy porsche from me la.  laugh.gif
what model, what year? laugh.gif

from you or for you?????
SUSdgrebel
post Apr 7 2008, 07:33 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 7 2008, 07:20 PM)
what model, what year? laugh.gif

from you or for you?????
for me oso can... blush.gif

haha.. bebenang jom.. ape ym ko?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 07:45 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Apr 7 2008, 07:33 PM)
for me oso can...  blush.gif

haha.. bebenang jom.. ape ym ko?
i guna msn tapi selamber add jer dow.

off topik pula... Mods, Stadff, and admin, I apologize for going off topic, But if it means something, I can let you guys come over and watch a movie laugh.gif

yourlilbro93@hotmail.com

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 7 2008, 07:47 PM
state of abyssmal
post Apr 7 2008, 07:51 PM

addicted to you
4,706 posts

nice setup laugh.gif
so when can hijack your place? cool2.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 07:58 PM

1,978 posts

I'm thinking of doign a meet up

U talk to each other and find an appropriate day.

tongue.gif
Raiko
post Apr 7 2008, 09:22 PM

582 posts

Are you the son of Khir Toyo ? hmm.gif hmm.gif laugh.gif
jchong
post Apr 7 2008, 09:25 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 7 2008, 07:45 PM)
off topik pula... Mods, Stadff, and admin, I apologize for going off topic, But if it means something, I can let you guys come over and watch a movie laugh.gif

Yay, LYN movie night. I'm in! Assuming I get invited of course.

Seriously, a very nice setup you have Farhan. The anamorphic lens and curved screen are very nice touches. Would like to see those in action since I've not considered those 2 items before.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 10:01 PM

1,978 posts

Khir Toyo?
mehehe, nep.

You guys think of when you guys are free, then we can set a date, talk between each other la.

I think a group of 25 is the max. 10 people can sit, while 15 others stand or i'll get some beanbags from ikea.
shumaky
post Apr 7 2008, 10:26 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

^ Popcorns included..??? tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 10:28 PM

1,978 posts

Yes yes, yang microwaveable. I like how they pop when they are being microwaved, sorta how chickens pop when I step on them smile.gif

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 7 2008, 10:29 PM
shumaky
post Apr 7 2008, 10:31 PM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

^ get em caramel ones.. yummy.. but not as tasty as cinema ones.
silbii
post Apr 7 2008, 10:35 PM

963 posts

count me in bro for this get together! hehe...menyebok pulak

i make films...can rent ur theater for a film shoot eh? kinda like mtv cribs...hehe
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 10:41 PM

1,978 posts

Tengok, ah bro, hehe. Caramel Popcorn, not bad actually.
htkaki
post Apr 7 2008, 11:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

psp_boy, I am arranging with fellow elites and taikors sekalian to go to ur pad
rx330
post Apr 8 2008, 01:23 AM

11,811 posts

peasant not notified sad.gif
corez
post Apr 8 2008, 08:06 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Im not an elite nor a taikor, can I come too? smile.gif
idoblu
post Apr 8 2008, 10:28 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

got give PS3 as door gifts or not? smile.gif
d2z
post Apr 8 2008, 10:50 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 8 2008, 10:28 AM)
got give PS3 as door gifts or not? smile.gif
if u can go to watch movie at his house is really good enough..hehe doh.gif

This post has been edited by d2z: Apr 8 2008, 10:52 AM
clngu
post Apr 8 2008, 11:08 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Bro psp _BOY, are you familiar with Lexicon product? Is this product good?
jasonlky
post Apr 8 2008, 12:39 PM

451 posts

Bro psp, a couple of weeks ago I was wondering what happened to you. I rememeber u tokking about DIY screen looong time ago... sometime last year.

Come in today and see this thread and wowsa notworthy.gif what a setup. Looks great. So I showed it to my AV room and it told me that it wants to be just like your AV room when it grows up tongue.gif . The JVC looks yummy too, think u need to calibrate it a bit, from some of your pics, there seems to be more blue/green and not enuf reds

@ HTKaki.... I am touched that you consider me a fellow "elite". By Elite u mean a group posessing superior intellectual, social and economic status? I am trying to getaway from all these tags that we confine ourselves into, the less we use of it the better....

Let me know the plans for the upcoming visit. I would definitely like to see psp's AV setup.... plus the rest of the house and the garage as well.

Jason biggrin.gif
asciii
post Apr 8 2008, 12:55 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

count me in as well
crazyconsumer
post Apr 8 2008, 01:54 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

psp_boy, great theater setup. Your house must be huge for such a room to spare.

Quick .... update your pics in this thread.... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/439516/+40.
megatron007
post Apr 8 2008, 02:42 PM

4,000 posts

tis kind of setup i guess i work 10x my living also cannot get

sad.gif
htkaki
post Apr 8 2008, 02:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Apr 8 2008, 02:42 PM)
tis kind of setup i guess i work 10x my living also cannot get

sad.gif

NS, just sell off your ride, sure you can use the $$$ to make one tongue.gif

megatron007
post Apr 8 2008, 02:54 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 8 2008, 02:44 PM)
NS, just sell off your ride, sure you can use the $$$ to make one  tongue.gif
then i need to take LRT for life sweat.gif sweat.gif cry.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 8 2008, 05:29 PM

1,978 posts

wehehey people, thanks for the comments.

If u see bluish tint on my pics, It's my Camera, white balance tak set properly.

Added on April 8, 2008, 5:35 pmHey guys,

I've talked to the family at home, we are allowing a max of 20 members to the pad for the first HT meet.

First ones who add their names at htkaki's thread will get to come.

Please bring many BD movies that you want to test.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 8 2008, 05:35 PM
htkaki
post Apr 8 2008, 05:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Pls form an orderly queue
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 8 2008, 05:38 PM

1,978 posts

You want me to do it?

It's your thread tongue.gif
htkaki
post Apr 8 2008, 05:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

oopppsss.... I will do that in my thread
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 8 2008, 09:54 PM

1,978 posts

I got 300, Casino Royale and Kung Fu hustle on BD.

you know what this means right?

Screenshots and naked pictures of me soon!
kiam
post Apr 8 2008, 10:08 PM

183 posts

hi psp_BOY,

interested to know how you source all those elite equipment? locally or?

thanks.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 8 2008, 10:09 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(kiam @ Apr 8 2008, 10:08 PM)
hi psp_BOY,

interested to know how you source all those elite equipment? locally or?

thanks.
Most are not available. I speak to the company thru e-mail, then ask the retailer I bought most stuff from to negoiate and order for me.
htkaki
post Apr 8 2008, 10:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 8 2008, 09:54 PM)
I got 300, Casino Royale and Kung Fu hustle on BD.

you know what this means right?

Screenshots and naked pictures of me soon!

No worry, fellow members have sufficient BDs, if not mountain of it whistling.gif

We appreciate more screenshots thumbup.gif erm, no thank you of your nudity tongue.gif if your sis, then I guess rx330 would be eager to take a look at it tongue.gif

asciii
post Apr 8 2008, 10:41 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

haha..rx kena lagi! laugh.gif
rx330
post Apr 8 2008, 10:44 PM

11,811 posts

blardy helll..... dun make me come to kl to sondol u
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 8 2008, 10:46 PM

1,978 posts

Haha, I just watched 5 minutes of 300 on Blu-ray.

The Audio is very good. The picture quality, is excellent if i put aside the grain (Which is intended?)

I wanna watch more, but my sister ask to wait for bro-in-law to come back.
htkaki
post Apr 8 2008, 10:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 8 2008, 10:44 PM)
blardy helll..... dun make me come to kl to sondol u

Come lah. We all here are eager to meet you lah since you say that you look like Ng Man Tat

asciii
post Apr 8 2008, 10:48 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

hahahahaha
rx330
post Apr 8 2008, 10:48 PM

11,811 posts

niamah... like tat also kena.... sad.gif
g5sim
post Apr 9 2008, 09:23 AM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 8 2008, 10:48 PM)
niamah... like tat also kena.... sad.gif
poor nissan rclxs0.gif
htkaki
post Apr 9 2008, 09:36 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Nissan?! LOL
Jack28HT
post Apr 9 2008, 11:51 AM

150 posts

psp_BOY. Congrats on your great setup. It's sure rewarding after putting it so much effort doing the research. Thanks so much for sharing this with us as well. I would sure like to join the gathering but unfortunately it max out at 20 already. Is your PS3 setup for video streaming? I have a hard time with PS3 playing external video files as it only recognized FAT32 external HD.

Jack.
g5sim
post Apr 9 2008, 02:54 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 9 2008, 09:36 AM)
Nissan?! LOL
din see his avatar where he screws a Honda meh ? tongue.gif
rx330
post Apr 9 2008, 03:32 PM

11,811 posts

ya lah, nissan
htkaki blurliao
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 9 2008, 04:00 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 5 2008, 10:52 PM)
Just for scale, asked my grandaunt to hug Tony Stark
In case RX not successful with your sis, your grandaunt still available ah? brows.gif

rx330
post Apr 9 2008, 04:03 PM

11,811 posts

u on ur own nirvana......
Audio Nirvana
post Apr 9 2008, 04:05 PM

243 posts

hehe... so I got less competition on this victim. nod.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 9 2008, 05:29 PM

1,978 posts

Wahaha,

I'm watching 300 in 5 minutes time, semalam tak dapat tgk
rx330
post Apr 9 2008, 08:52 PM

11,811 posts

AGAIN?

lucky i send my representative over laugh.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 9 2008, 11:01 PM

1,978 posts

Gonna watch 300 now!

For real, tadi tak dapat tgk
htkaki
post Apr 9 2008, 11:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am going to watch 'Datuk Chow' soon
megatron007
post Apr 10 2008, 11:30 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 8 2008, 10:46 PM)
Come lah. We all here are eager to meet you lah since you say that you look like Ng Man Tat
u come hartamas last month also quiet quiet

drool.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
htkaki
post Apr 10 2008, 12:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Takut kena 'kidnap' kot
megatron007
post Apr 10 2008, 12:57 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 10 2008, 12:23 PM)
Takut kena 'kidnap' kot
no la ... peasant like me he look no up cry.gif cry.gif also no respect cry.gif

I m just a BENG-kia
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 01:53 PM

11,811 posts

actually, i kena olang kidnap, tats why no time for others biggrin.gif

elite ahbeng, respect need to be earn
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 10 2008, 05:23 PM

1,978 posts

Wah, 300 syiok.

I just bought Black Hawk Down half-an hour ago tongue.gif
htkaki
post Apr 10 2008, 05:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

aduh! poison again.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 10 2008, 05:59 PM

1,978 posts

Gonna try Black Hawk Down now for the audio, some say the audio is the best.
asciii
post Apr 10 2008, 09:10 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 10 2008, 05:59 PM)
Gonna try Black Hawk Down now for the audio, some say the audio is the best.
Black hawk down definitely has good audio..the chopper sound..the sound of bullets..you got it in Bluray?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 10 2008, 09:58 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Apr 10 2008, 09:10 PM)
Black hawk down definitely has good audio..the chopper sound..the sound of bullets..you got it in Bluray?
Yes, yes I do laugh.gif

I wanna get another disc, anything you guys wanna recommend? in 2.35:1 smile.gif

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 10 2008, 09:59 PM
htkaki
post Apr 10 2008, 09:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

megatron007 got 'Hitam Helang Turun' in BD too
asciii
post Apr 10 2008, 10:01 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

huhuhu..i also wana get it once i purchase my ps3
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 10:02 PM

11,811 posts

the 1st bluray i purchase biggrin.gif black hawk down

as well as bikini destination and crank blush.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 10 2008, 10:06 PM

1,978 posts

Hahaha, ooo bikini destination huh. Nah, I wanna get some reference movies first. Probably the Pirates Trilogy next.
asciii
post Apr 10 2008, 10:07 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

trilogy and collectors edition stuff are good
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 10:09 PM

11,811 posts

POTC sucks big time biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 10 2008, 10:15 PM

1,978 posts

You Think?

I think it's pretty neat though hehe.
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 10:18 PM

11,811 posts

gd lark biggrin.gif too much hype
but i admit the 1st on is good
letters from iwo jima is good
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 10 2008, 10:20 PM

1,978 posts

Hmm
What else r?
asciii
post Apr 10 2008, 10:26 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 10:18 PM)
gd lark biggrin.gif too much hype
but i admit the 1st on is good
letters from iwo jima is good
I like Johnny Depp in all 3
DigitalKL
post Apr 11 2008, 10:43 AM

1,360 posts

psp_boy and other sifus.....like to ask this question.

in the pictures i see that your seating is place against one wall (meaning to one side) but the screen, projector and speakers are place center. does the off center seating arrangements bother you?

i ask because i am facing the same "problems". my room size is Legth 19ft 8in x Width 10ft. I wish I have 16 ft width like you. Anyway because of the doorway and some bookshelves, my seating is next to a wall and therefore not centered. At the moment my pj and HT system are also not centered. I wonder if I should follow your way or stick to mine?

Any ideas guys?
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 11 2008, 02:03 PM

1,978 posts

It's definitely better to seat towards the center, but, If the screen has a good viewing angle and you're fine with the sound, Then it shouldn't be a problem.

Even at the cinema you might get a seat near the wall, but, It doesn't stop you from enjoying yourself, does it?
rx330
post Apr 11 2008, 02:06 PM

11,811 posts

another reason why i dun go theatres biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 11 2008, 02:22 PM

1,978 posts

Erk.. Haha

Kay, tonight is family movie night, Casino Royale BD.
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 11 2008, 08:16 PM

1,978 posts

Eating dinner first, Casino Royale starting at 9.25 tongue.gif

7 seats are taken.

Hope the video and audio is good, I know the movie is.
rx330
post Apr 12 2008, 01:33 AM

11,811 posts

too bad, the aston is shortlived sad.gif
iman_210
post Apr 12 2008, 02:23 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

bro...very2 impressive setup, wish i have the mullah...and my dad's support...
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 12 2008, 07:10 AM

1,978 posts

Thanks!

Casino Royale was good, much much better than when I saw it in the cinema, the room is very cold even with air con set at 20ºc. Because of it's enclosed space, you can turn off the air-con, and come back to the room again half hour later and it'll still be quite chilly.

Anyways, sound and video was demo material in Casino Royale, although Black Hawk Down will probably be better overall. But, as a Movie, I have no doubt saying Casino Royale can beat it.
megatron007
post Apr 12 2008, 08:57 AM

4,000 posts

CR007 BD got a nice PQ & AQ

why dont u try some concert BD biggrin.gif

like celine/destiny child/justin T

or the coming release MIMI tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 12 2008, 10:52 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Apr 12 2008, 08:57 AM)
CR007 BD got a nice PQ & AQ

why dont u try some concert BD biggrin.gif

like celine/destiny child/justin T

or the coming release MIMI tongue.gif
I Don't have Concert BD laugh.gif

Guys, Casino Royale Screenshots after this.

I haven't taken them yet, but, today lar.
rx330
post Apr 12 2008, 10:59 AM

11,811 posts

can u pls dun take the pic of bond surfacing from the sea?

take the eva green evening dress as well as the aston wub.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 12 2008, 12:37 PM

1,978 posts

Sorry, I'll post the screenshots of Eva in evening dress later, with DBS.

Now,

A sense of scale, I'm 5'8+

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Apr 12 2008, 12:45 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 12 2008, 12:45 PM

1,978 posts

More,

Eva....

ar188
post Apr 12 2008, 02:12 PM

9,206 posts

that's HUGE!
moviebuff
post Apr 12 2008, 08:20 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 10 2008, 10:20 PM)
Hmm
What else r?
Awesome setup,Psp boy. drool.gif

LOTR EE(Trilogy) - the std dvd are very good. No need bluray.

Bluray titles:

Spiderman trilogy.

Terminator 2:Judgement Day.- wasted not the extended edition.

Shooter.

Predator

These are some titles come into my mind that I would like recommend to you. wink.gif

This post has been edited by moviebuff: Apr 12 2008, 08:22 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 12 2008, 08:47 PM

1,978 posts

Thanks bro, I'll look into those titles.

htkaki
post Apr 12 2008, 10:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Shooter BD aint easy to get according to a fellow forummer here.

Aiks..... only those screenshots from CR007? No screenshots of Brokeback Mt? tongue.gif
iman_210
post Apr 13 2008, 12:01 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 12 2008, 10:45 PM)
Shooter BD aint easy to get according to a fellow forummer here.

Aiks..... only those screenshots from CR007? No screenshots of Brokeback Mt?  tongue.gif
shooter BD...wow...even on jsack sparrow ones are good cant imagine on a BD...want to c the snow scene...
megatron007
post Apr 13 2008, 09:41 AM

4,000 posts

HTKAKI

can resist the poison or not?

fast fast get CR007 BD ler

superb PQ n AQ

kekeke tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 13 2008, 10:10 AM

1,978 posts

If you have good gear, Casino Royale can really POP out of the screen at some parts. I reduced the noise, and increased detail and noise treshhold, played with the Exponent a bit,all thru the D2 and the picture looks great.
rx330
post Apr 13 2008, 05:00 PM

11,811 posts

i still prefer crank over casino
asciii
post Apr 13 2008, 05:19 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

aiya..all this poison..making me want to get PS3 before my speakers and a/v receivers
iman_210
post Apr 13 2008, 11:14 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Apr 13 2008, 05:19 PM)
aiya..all this poison..making me want to get PS3 before my speakers and a/v receivers
uhm...yeah BD seem to amused..but gotta get a turue 1080p right guys? or a 720p enough for a 32 incher?

or nuff said find a a 720p projector.
Nievk8701
post Apr 14 2008, 02:54 AM

70 posts

look so tasty.... argghhh
count me in for the visit, i mus taste it !! haha

apisgogo
post Apr 15 2008, 01:01 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

farhan,

can tell me more abt your solution on your wall (acoustics)?

I read u using some rockwool and foam..

u wrap the foam in fabrics rite? where u buy this foam?

Thanks smile.gif
htkaki
post Apr 15 2008, 03:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Apr 13 2008, 05:19 PM)

Get PS3 first to enjoy the HD thumbup.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Apr 15 2008, 04:55 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 15 2008, 01:01 PM)
farhan,

can tell me more abt your solution on your wall (acoustics)?

I read u using some rockwool and foam..

u wrap the foam in fabrics rite? where u buy this foam?

Thanks smile.gif
Hmm, have to ask the contractor. All I did was design the room as well as placement. The contractor got the items for the room.
htkaki
post May 1 2008, 10:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

another 3 more days......
crazyconsumer
post May 2 2008, 10:10 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Dun forget pics.
htkaki
post May 2 2008, 04:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

okie..... but need to seek approval from psp_boy 1st.
TSpsp _BOY
post May 2 2008, 05:10 PM

1,978 posts

Take take pics, but put pics in here hehe.

Later we take pics in front of screen ramai-ramai.
htkaki
post May 2 2008, 05:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

WOKIE........ Cantik! Must charge my cheapo Ixus batt first
Audio Nirvana
post May 2 2008, 05:34 PM

243 posts

Make sure your camera got wide angle.
TSpsp _BOY
post May 2 2008, 05:39 PM

1,978 posts

Apa-apa, i'll be snapping anyways.

Last night watched PoTC: Dead Man's chest, really gave speakers a workout, hehe.

The subtle sounds in the surrounds as well as the heart throbbing bass, dayyummmm
htkaki
post May 2 2008, 06:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

lagi best to use ur camera. cant wait lah.... scratching itchy hands
hackwire
post May 2 2008, 09:33 PM

4,256 posts

psp, i find the screen quite low. is this the camera shot angle standing up from the second row or the screen was installed too low ?

i think the front seat was alright except the second row.

This post has been edited by hackwire: May 2 2008, 09:33 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post May 2 2008, 10:14 PM

1,978 posts

The screen is actually 3 feet of the ground, when on Second row, can see screen clearly, perfectly
hackwire
post May 2 2008, 10:17 PM

4,256 posts

ok, its the distortion of photo i guess.

TSpsp _BOY
post May 4 2008, 03:02 PM

1,978 posts

Thanks for coming just now guys!

Will post group pic.

Feel free to put pictures an video here.
megatron007
post May 4 2008, 04:01 PM

4,000 posts

thanks for the invitation....
TSpsp _BOY
post May 4 2008, 06:25 PM

1,978 posts

Thanks to you for bringing all the blu...ray!

Now I have to go and buy blu-ray, Geeshhhhh

Lots of them...
htkaki
post May 4 2008, 06:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Kena poison liao. LOL
jchong
post May 4 2008, 06:54 PM

5,989 posts

Yup lots of nice poison! I can feel my wallet lighten already smile.gif
htkaki
post May 4 2008, 06:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

What's your next toy in mind, eh? brows.gif
SUSdgrebel
post May 4 2008, 10:29 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

may i continue here?

This post has been edited by dgrebel: May 6 2008, 02:21 AM
megatron007
post May 4 2008, 11:51 PM

4,000 posts

aerrahh... i saw BEOWULF again

haha
SUSdgrebel
post May 5 2008, 01:02 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

more pix:

Added on May 5, 2008, 1:11 amarrival:

This post has been edited by dgrebel: May 5 2008, 01:11 AM
gtoforce
post May 5 2008, 01:50 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

psp boy
can i come to ur house?
haha
or can we forumers come to ur house
fentanyl
post May 5 2008, 08:39 AM

478 posts

More pics and clips please!
htkaki
post May 5 2008, 08:42 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 5 2008, 01:50 AM)
psp boy
can i come to ur house?
haha
or can we forumers come to ur house

I guess you gotta wait for the next invitation from him.

Semalam, gua mimpi tu power amp lah tongue.gif

megatron007
post May 5 2008, 09:00 AM

4,000 posts

haha...mimpi is good

i also always mimpi biggrin.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 5 2008, 10:33 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

No reviews or feedback?
megatron007
post May 5 2008, 10:36 AM

4,000 posts

NICE screen

rclxms.gif
rx330
post May 5 2008, 11:41 AM

11,811 posts

fuiyoh... but is it ok to post vid of psp boys house online?
megatron007
post May 5 2008, 11:45 AM

4,000 posts

*no comment*

azbro
post May 5 2008, 12:24 PM

4,403 posts

The front side speakers should benefit if a bit more further to the sides....but then again, with this kinda setup...who am I to comment?...

Awesome...what you father working as huh?
jchong
post May 5 2008, 03:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 5 2008, 11:41 AM)
fuiyoh... but is it ok to post vid of psp boys house online?
Better ask him first.
megatron007
post May 5 2008, 03:45 PM

4,000 posts

haha
again no comment

*zipppp*
crazyconsumer
post May 5 2008, 04:13 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Looks like suddenly all the critics senyap liao.
TSpsp _BOY
post May 5 2008, 04:14 PM

1,978 posts

So senyap this thread, like segan-segan only.

Anyways, those who came already knows that I've purchased stands for the front left and right speakers to place them further apart.
megatron007
post May 5 2008, 04:29 PM

4,000 posts

tak ala segan la

sometime it is not good to post everything on public smile.gif

about wat u do ..who's ur dad...his job..bla bla ...
TSpsp _BOY
post May 5 2008, 04:52 PM

1,978 posts

That memang I don't speak of, but, sspeak about the theater canla, ehhehe
SUSdgrebel
post May 5 2008, 05:13 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

1 more video up *sheesh streamyx*

Added on May 5, 2008, 6:26 pmget ahold of yourselves, people!

This post has been edited by dgrebel: May 5 2008, 06:26 PM
megatron007
post May 5 2008, 06:42 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 5 2008, 04:52 PM)
That memang I don't speak of, but, sspeak about the theater canla, ehhehe
ur subbie very nice rclxms.gif

btw... when the "consultant" coming over to re-tune ? need to ask them to audition some BD ler

so they can further improve n enchanched ur setup tongue.gif
hackwire
post May 5 2008, 06:47 PM

4,256 posts

nice good malaysian family i see in psp boy , caring irregardless of race. thumbs up to your dad.
TSpsp _BOY
post May 5 2008, 07:34 PM

1,978 posts

I have all races in My blood, My mom's mother is nyonya, father is indian, my dad's part is malay.

So I'm multirace, but dalam IC melayu.
SUSdgrebel
post May 5 2008, 07:59 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

farhan, my mum asked about your acoustic panels. what material is used? ecophone?

btw, here is another video, revealing the subwoofer from behind the smx screen

TSpsp _BOY
post May 5 2008, 08:07 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ May 5 2008, 07:59 PM)
farhan, my mum asked about your acoustic panels. what material is used? ecophone?

btw, here is another video, revealing the subwoofer from behind the smx screen

The panels is rockwool and foam covered in fabric, around 2.5-3" depending on where it was being used it covers the whole room, except the floor. I'm looking to add some bass traps and diffusers around the room as well sometime later, and maybe a small carpet on the wooden floor just to absorb a bit more sound.

Also nak tukar the door to a thicker door one day, with no air gaps.
SUSdgrebel
post May 5 2008, 08:24 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 5 2008, 08:07 PM)
The panels is rockwool and foam covered in fabric, around 2.5-3" depending on where it was being used it covers the whole room, except the floor. I'm looking to add some bass traps and diffusers around the room as well sometime later, and maybe a small carpet on the wooden floor just to absorb a bit more sound.

oh it's insulated right to flatten the echo?
jchong
post May 5 2008, 09:01 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 5 2008, 08:07 PM)

Where did you get the specs for the panels?

Eh, I thought your door was already quite airtight.
TSpsp _BOY
post May 5 2008, 09:16 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 5 2008, 09:01 PM)
Where did you get the specs for the panels?

Eh, I thought your door was already quite airtight.
Still got gaps leh.. sad.gif

Wanna cover those up a bit more.
htkaki
post May 5 2008, 09:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

But, dont do until airtight lah. Nanti lemas kat dalam ni.

Btw, I am going to the uncle's pad this weekend. He might be willing to sell off his Klipsch speakers (7.1), which he bought for over RM30K. All in very good condition drool.gif . Got to persuade him to sell me. psp_boy, ada minat? brows.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post May 5 2008, 10:10 PM

1,978 posts

Shiat...

But, if floortstanders no thanks.

Looking into LCR hehe, he 650-THX actually not that bad in price, where snell sells for 1800+US the klipsch is 1.2k
SUSdgrebel
post May 5 2008, 10:57 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

here's where the witty technical chitty chatter takes place and prolonged laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dgrebel: May 5 2008, 10:57 PM
megatron007
post May 5 2008, 11:26 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 5 2008, 09:24 PM)
But, dont do until airtight lah. Nanti lemas kat dalam ni.

Btw, I am going to the uncle's pad this weekend. He might be willing to sell off his Klipsch speakers (7.1), which he bought for over RM30K. All in very good condition  drool.gif . Got to persuade him to sell me. psp_boy, ada minat?  brows.gif
sell liao upgrade to apa ?

fuyooo rclxms.gif
moviebuff
post May 6 2008, 02:19 AM

166 posts

Psp_boy, after looking at the picture and video taken by the gang at your place, how I wish I was there with gang. You know peasant like me work whole life can't afford a setup like yours. If I were there, can experience how an elite setup should sound and feel like. The movie Beowulf that use to test at your place, is it bluray or sd dvd? The only bluray version is japan version.

Since the demise of Hd-dvd, Shooter and Faceoff should be releasing in bluray soon. Be look out for them,Psp_boy. They should be in your collection. smile.gif

This post has been edited by moviebuff: May 6 2008, 02:20 AM
Jediknight8820
post May 6 2008, 04:35 AM

197 posts

Hi Psp Boy, too late miss the boat. Anyway will there be another HT session? Need to always get 'poison' to motivate us kaki in upgrading our system and also get togehter with other HT kaki. This time hopefully the Tranformer Blu ray is out. Cheers. rclxms.gif
htkaki
post May 6 2008, 09:04 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 5 2008, 10:10 PM)
Shiat...

But, if floortstanders no thanks.

Looking into LCR hehe, he 650-THX actually not that bad in price, where snell sells for 1800+US the klipsch is 1.2k

The front is huge floorstanders. If not mistaken, it is 'Epic Series'. That time, it was selling at abt RM12K (If I remembered correctly). Will snap some photos of the center and surr speakers.

Moviebuff, the Beowulf is BD smile.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 6 2008, 09:27 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Wah.... looks like someone brought baby/kid along too ... starting hobby early, tats good
rx330
post May 6 2008, 09:57 AM

11,811 posts

moviebuff info not chun one biggrin.gif
htkaki
post May 6 2008, 10:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 6 2008, 09:27 AM)
Wah.... looks like someone brought baby/kid along too ... starting hobby early, tats good

Very handsome kid smile.gif

SUSdgrebel
post May 6 2008, 10:18 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

here's a longer video, around 365mb to upload. took me the whole night to upload. sweat.gif . enjoy!

crazyconsumer
post May 6 2008, 10:53 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Looking at the vid, when someone stood in front, the screen looks small somehow.

Is it the angle?
SUSdgrebel
post May 6 2008, 11:10 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 6 2008, 10:53 AM)
Looking at the vid, when someone stood in front, the screen looks small somehow.

Is it the angle?
that was not the whole screen, at that time the screen format was reduced to a smaller aspect ratio. thats why it looks smaller.

and maybe it's the perspective effect caused by the distance between my camcorder with the head. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by dgrebel: May 6 2008, 11:12 AM
megatron007
post May 6 2008, 11:29 AM

4,000 posts

where to dload the vid

i wan a copy

my i-robot BD

haha
htkaki
post May 6 2008, 11:42 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Suddenly, I felt my 92" a tad small tongue.gif
megatron007
post May 6 2008, 11:45 AM

4,000 posts

mine 80+ lagi small sad.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 6 2008, 11:55 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

I see. So it wasnt on anamorphic mode

QUOTE(dgrebel @ May 6 2008, 11:10 AM)
that was not the whole screen, at that time the screen format was reduced to a smaller aspect ratio. thats why it looks smaller.

and maybe it's the perspective effect caused by the distance between my camcorder with the head.  laugh.gif
SUSdgrebel
post May 6 2008, 02:00 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

IT'S MIMI TIME! rclxm9.gif

htkaki
post May 6 2008, 02:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I think I will get this BD. The AQ is superb. Erm, must get new AVR also. rclxub.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 6 2008, 02:36 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Thanks, dgrebel

Watching your vids brings back memories of pirated VCR tape/vcd/dvds
TSpsp _BOY
post May 6 2008, 02:39 PM

1,978 posts

Maxx, You just need that extra 20 watts brows.gif

The ay youe xplain "Haha, 20 watts more!"
SUSdgrebel
post May 6 2008, 02:42 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 6 2008, 02:36 PM)
Thanks, dgrebel
Watching your vids brings back memories of pirated VCR tape/vcd/dvds
haha.. ph34r.gif in real life, i'm a pirated movie dvd peddler.

megatron007
post May 6 2008, 02:59 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 6 2008, 02:06 PM)
I think I will get this BD. The AQ is superb. Erm, must get new AVR also.  rclxub.gif
but how come the rest member quiet aje?

no more ppl kena BD poison

where is JASAN ?? tongue.gif tongue.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 6 2008, 03:09 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

I have feeling everyone who went, scared to voice out liao. Cos name tied to face .... no more anonymous ... hahaha.

At least, post the positive or neutral feedbacks lah .... if scared to voice negative.

What were the overview of the demos? BD, HDDVD, PS3 games, etc.? List? Any shoot out comparison? etc.

moviebuff
post May 6 2008, 07:03 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 6 2008, 09:57 AM)
moviebuff info not chun one biggrin.gif
Bro, which part?
SUSdgrebel
post May 6 2008, 07:17 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

short clip on the interior, mostly settees.

This post has been edited by dgrebel: May 6 2008, 07:17 PM
kkthen
post May 6 2008, 08:32 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 6 2008, 09:04 AM)
The front is huge floorstanders. If not mistaken, it is 'Epic Series'. That time, it was selling at abt RM12K (If I remembered correctly). Will snap some photos of the center and surr speakers.

HTkaki. Is it Epic C-4?? drool.gif Big horn speaker but got sensitivity 102dB @ 1watt/1meter. Is this speaker is easy be drive?

waeguk
post May 6 2008, 09:06 PM

633 posts

dgrebel, you using digicam? So much memory space?
jchong
post May 6 2008, 09:17 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 6 2008, 03:09 PM)
I have feeling everyone who went, scared to voice out liao. Cos name tied to face .... no more anonymous ... hahaha.

At least, post the positive or neutral feedbacks lah .... if scared to voice negative.

What were the overview of the demos? BD, HDDVD, PS3 games, etc.? List? Any shoot out comparison? etc.
Not really qualified to critique since have very little HT experience. But to me the demo was very impressive.

With respect to PQ, definitely 1080 is superior and what I'd like to aim for. Seen 720 and while it is very nice also, once seen 1080 cannot go back to 720 smile.gif

The AQ was also very impressive, especially the bass. Very good sub that Sunfire (can't believe it is so small).
SUSdgrebel
post May 6 2008, 10:02 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ May 6 2008, 09:06 PM)
dgrebel, you using digicam? So much memory space?
30gb hdd camcorder. there's still alot more video i havent upload. too busy right now with assignments. but i think it's sufficient for now.
kkthen
post May 6 2008, 11:14 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 6 2008, 09:17 PM)
Not really qualified to critique since have very little HT experience. But to me the demo was very impressive.

With respect to PQ, definitely 1080 is superior and what I'd like to aim for. Seen 720 and while it is very nice also, once seen 1080 cannot go back to 720 smile.gif

The AQ was also very impressive, especially the bass. Very good sub that Sunfire (can't believe it is so small).
I also very surprise the performance of this small sub, very impressive. drool.gif
For me, the Picture Quality is excellent enough. drool.gif

The Sound Quality is good & very dynamic, But sound a bit dull, not bright & transparent enough. May be cause by QED analogue cable. I own this cable before, very boring sound in my HiFI System.

This post has been edited by kkthen: May 6 2008, 11:15 PM
jasonlky
post May 6 2008, 11:52 PM

451 posts

Confirm... my next upgrade will be a LCoS projector and BluRay source!!!

psp_BOY's setup was very nice, what's more he is a gracious host.

The video system was an eye opener, nice, colours and the pictures was soooo crisp and clear. Poppyness is really good!! And the blacks....oh so good and without any fancy iris. But how much is attributed to the Anthem and how much to the projector cannot be ascertained. The video setup is definitely worth every penny spent on it.

The curved screen seemed like a good idea but should only be tensioned on the top and bottom. If tensioned on all 4 sides, the screen then curves inward again thus negating the initial purpose of the curve. When viewed directly the picture seems fine, but from the side viewing angle this funny curvature adds some distortion to the picture. Not noticeable unless you are nit picking.

My feeling about the sound system is mixed, dialogue is clear and having the speakers directly behind the screen keeps the soundstage stable and pin pointed. Bass is a tad boomy and slow. Overall the sound should have been a bit clearer too match the video quality.

Again thanks to psp_Boy and htkaki for organising this. I would love to attend again and maybe this time, watch an entire movie rclxms.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
waeguk
post May 7 2008, 07:54 AM

633 posts

OT for a while .... 30gb hdd camcorder? Which brand? Which resolution? How come not so clear or nice colors?

Thot jack sparrow can get better quality these days tongue.gif

QUOTE(dgrebel @ May 6 2008, 10:02 PM)
30gb hdd camcorder. there's still alot more video i havent upload. too busy right now with assignments. but i think it's sufficient for now.
megatron007
post May 7 2008, 08:34 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 6 2008, 11:52 PM)
Confirm... my next upgrade will be a LCoS projector and BluRay source!!!

psp_BOY's setup was very nice, what's more he is a gracious host.

The video system was an eye opener, nice, colours and the pictures was soooo crisp and clear. Poppyness is really good!! And the blacks....oh so good and without any fancy iris. But how much is attributed to the Anthem and how much to the projector cannot be ascertained. The video setup is definitely worth every penny spent on it.

The curved screen seemed like a good idea but should only be tensioned on the top and bottom. If tensioned on all 4 sides, the screen then curves inward again thus negating the initial purpose of the curve. When viewed directly the picture seems fine, but from the side viewing angle this funny curvature adds some distortion to the picture. Not noticeable unless you are nit picking.

My feeling about the sound system is mixed, dialogue is clear and having the speakers directly behind the screen keeps the soundstage stable and pin pointed. Bass is a tad boomy and slow. Overall the sound should have been a bit clearer too match the video quality.

Again thanks to psp_Boy and htkaki for organising this. I would love to attend again and maybe this time, watch an entire movie  rclxms.gif

Jason  biggrin.gif
ya ...we all waiting for u to join bulu-ray WAGON rclxms.gif
htkaki
post May 7 2008, 09:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ May 6 2008, 08:32 PM)
HTkaki. Is it Epic C-4?? drool.gif  Big horn speaker but got sensitivity 102dB @ 1watt/1meter. Is this speaker is easy be drive?

I am not sure whether it is CF-4. But, the speakers is relatively (not puny AVR tongue.gif ) easy to drive considering tis high sensitivity and it's an 8ohm load.

crazyconsumer
post May 7 2008, 09:24 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Everyone wans to jump in, just a matter of waiting for the right push eg. favorite movie or price.

HughieRmX
post May 7 2008, 09:50 AM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

I'm really impress with the system you got there TS .. thumbup.gif
I was wondering how much will it be for the entire system and installation .. ?
jasonlky
post May 7 2008, 09:57 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 7 2008, 08:34 AM)
ya ...we all waiting for u to join bulu-ray WAGON  rclxms.gif
No need to wait for melah. I will do it at my own pace. If I got craving for BR, then I just make appointment with psp_BOY to watch movie at his house.

I am still in awe with the picture... utterly and completely satisfying video setup. The best I have seen by far.

Jason biggrin.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 7 2008, 10:55 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Wow ... best you've seen? Not even AV show can beat?
SUSdgrebel
post May 7 2008, 11:43 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ May 7 2008, 07:54 AM)
OT for a while .... 30gb hdd camcorder? Which brand? Which resolution? How come not so clear or nice colors?

Thot jack sparrow can get better quality these days  tongue.gif
it's a 2005 model, jvc gz-mg50ag. 1 megapixel only.

jack sparrow is my boss, i'm just one of his underlings, underlings cannot challenge boss mah. laugh.gif
jasonlky
post May 7 2008, 03:41 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 7 2008, 10:55 AM)
Wow ... best you've seen? Not even AV show can beat?
Nope, not even AV show can beat... actually I have missed all the KLAV shows for the past 3 years. I went to the Bangkok AV shows instead. Did not have a large selection of projectors on demo and those that were on demo most were "run of the mill" LCD and DLP projectors, no LCoS were shown. My other run in with a LCoS was with the Sony in KLCC, but somehow that failed to impress me. I made a note of this projector in the Home Theatre Projector Discussion thread...

Jason biggrin.gif
megatron007
post May 7 2008, 03:46 PM

4,000 posts

serious... withoud bulu-ray...u wont achieve those HD A/V PoP effect smile.gif
crazyconsumer
post May 7 2008, 04:12 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

This demo from last year blew me away... made me stop and watch the demo. They were using anamorphic lens too

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 7 2008, 03:41 PM)
Nope, not even AV show can beat... actually I have missed all the KLAV shows for the past 3 years.  I went to the Bangkok AV shows instead.  Did not have a large selection of projectors on demo and those that were on demo most were "run of the mill" LCD and DLP projectors, no LCoS were shown.  My other run in with a LCoS was with the Sony in KLCC, but somehow that failed to impress me.  I made a note of this projector in the Home Theatre Projector Discussion thread...

Jason biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post May 7 2008, 05:32 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ May 7 2008, 04:12 PM)
This demo from last year blew me away... made me stop and watch the demo. They were using anamorphic lens too

That's AV designs demo, the ahd a curved stewart setup with that marantz and the oh so lovely ISCO III lens.

Damn. For overall picture the marantz is better, but I can't justify the 2x price for it against my JVC.
megatron007
post May 7 2008, 07:44 PM

4,000 posts

how much wor ???
jasonlky
post May 7 2008, 09:12 PM

451 posts

Wah until need to take out the marantz... just got to beat the jones is it...

I had a run in with the VP 11S1 last year... but did not spend enough time with to really form any opinion. So I have left it in the back of my mind. But if memory serves me right, the marantz gave an equally clear and crisp picture... maybe even more so than the JVC. But I must say that the JVC's colours are much more pleasing, deep and rich colours, which frankly are more satisfying. However the marantz did not display any rainbow effect.... but the price.... wow.
jchong
post May 7 2008, 09:55 PM

5,989 posts

Hey jason, what subs have you listened to that impressed you?
megatron007
post May 7 2008, 10:34 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 7 2008, 09:12 PM)
Wah until need to take out the marantz... just got to beat the jones is it...

I had a run in with the VP 11S1 last year... but did not spend enough time with to really form any opinion.  So I have left it in the back of my mind.  But if memory serves me right, the marantz gave an equally clear and crisp picture... maybe even more so than the JVC.  But I must say that the JVC's colours are much more pleasing, deep and rich colours, which frankly are more satisfying.  However the marantz did not display any rainbow effect.... but the price.... wow.
tat time u test with marantz it is on bulu-ray? hmm.gif

cos bulu-ray colour very "Deep n kao" u know the spec la

no need me to panjang lebar cerita laugh.gif
moviebuff
post May 7 2008, 11:30 PM

166 posts

Psp_boy, for your consideration. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moviebuff: May 7 2008, 11:56 PM
megatron007
post May 8 2008, 12:04 AM

4,000 posts

i oledi in my "to purchase" list la for Face OFF

just click n purchase "SHOOTER" rclxms.gif

MIA3 oledi in my collection BD tongue.gif

haha
moviebuff
post May 8 2008, 01:12 AM

166 posts

Bulu ray titles for May:

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on May 8, 2008, 1:32 amMore bulu ray titles for these month:

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moviebuff: May 8 2008, 01:32 AM
DigitalKL
post May 8 2008, 08:52 AM

1,360 posts

where you all get all these nice pictures?
megatron007
post May 8 2008, 08:59 AM

4,000 posts

FUYOOO

keng
htkaki
post May 8 2008, 09:25 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Psp_boy, apa macam? Got a lot BDs on the way (poison)
TSpsp _BOY
post May 8 2008, 02:46 PM

1,978 posts

Damn, argh gonna pinjam some BD from Mplex today, hehehe

Dunno what they gonna lend me
crazyconsumer
post May 8 2008, 03:24 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Pinjam? Wah mplex so friend wif u ... must be no.1 customer.

megatron007
post May 8 2008, 04:33 PM

4,000 posts

hehehe sure la biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post May 8 2008, 05:31 PM

1,978 posts

Haha nolah. Gonna wait tomorrow, they're getting new blu-ray, then I see mana yang best.
htkaki
post May 8 2008, 05:35 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 8 2008, 05:31 PM)
Haha nolah. Gonna wait tomorrow, they're getting new blu-ray, then I see mana yang best.

we are going to do a bulk soon. Want to hitch a ride?

TSpsp _BOY
post May 8 2008, 07:10 PM

1,978 posts

How soon is soon. hehe, boleh jugak
jasonlky
post May 8 2008, 07:22 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 7 2008, 09:55 PM)
Hey jason, what subs have you listened to that impressed you?
I have to warn you that I don't have a run of the mill taste in bass, I am not a more is better kinda audio guy. So far I have only come to like sealed subs that plays low and keeps in time with the rest of the music/audio....

Jason biggrin.gif
moviebuff
post May 8 2008, 07:34 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ May 8 2008, 08:52 AM)
where you all get all these nice pictures?
Some from Dvd Empire and some from Dvd active.

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:42 pmlagi bulu ray for these month(Poison):

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Added on May 8, 2008, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 8 2008, 05:31 PM)
How much Mplex sell you those bluray disc?

This post has been edited by moviebuff: May 8 2008, 07:45 PM
Raven-X
post May 8 2008, 07:59 PM

35 posts

the 1 we should envy is psp_BOY's dad. i wonder what he works as? i have the feeling must be 1 of the cabinets. just reveal it please
megatron007
post May 8 2008, 09:23 PM

4,000 posts

no need to envy or wat

u can work "hard & smart" also

1 day u will be there wink.gif
jchong
post May 8 2008, 09:54 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 8 2008, 07:22 PM)
I have to warn you that I don't have a run of the mill taste in bass, I am not a more is better kinda audio guy.  So far I have only come to like sealed subs that plays low and keeps in time with the rest of the music/audio....

Jason biggrin.gif
From reading it seems that got different subs for HT or music purposes. Some are better for HT, some for music. Sigh... isn't there a good one for both? sad.gif
jasonlky
post May 9 2008, 12:02 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 8 2008, 09:54 PM)
From reading it seems that got different subs for HT or music purposes. Some are better for HT, some for music. Sigh... isn't there a good one for both?  sad.gif
I only use one for both applications, for HT purposes, if the sound of the explosion comes after the visuals.... potong stimlah.

Jason biggrin.gif

ps- wah why so many bulu ray disc on display.... why need to poison psp_BOY, he is already a subscriber to BR.... confused huh.gif
megatron007
post May 9 2008, 08:53 AM

4,000 posts

to poison ppl like u ma tongue.gif

hehehe
crazyconsumer
post May 9 2008, 09:22 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

There are ... but you have to pay above 20k. tongue.gif

QUOTE(jchong @ May 8 2008, 09:54 PM)
From reading it seems that got different subs for HT or music purposes. Some are better for HT, some for music. Sigh... isn't there a good one for both?  sad.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post May 9 2008, 10:28 AM

1,978 posts

JL Fathom got for both application but pricey.

For movies, nothing better than Genelec HTS-6 or a Danley DTS-20

DAMMMMNNN
azbro
post May 9 2008, 11:01 AM

4,403 posts

I dun think 10,000BC BD is available yet
jchong
post May 9 2008, 11:30 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ May 9 2008, 10:28 AM)
JL Fathom got for both application but pricey.

For movies, nothing better than Genelec HTS-6 or a Danley DTS-20

DAMMMMNNN
Dammmnnnn.... indeed. They are seriously good stuff, seriously expensive too.

What do you guys think of SVS? Or REL?
htkaki
post May 9 2008, 11:35 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I would go for REL. If give the choice and got moolah, I personally would go for Velodyne DD or SPL series
TSpsp _BOY
post May 9 2008, 11:57 AM

1,978 posts

Velodyne are really good subs.
So are sunfire's, tongue.gif
rx330
post May 9 2008, 12:06 PM

11,811 posts

all this elitebrand, never heard or see b4 blush.gif
jasonlky
post May 9 2008, 12:09 PM

451 posts

velodyne, sunfire, hsu, svs and genelec are just more of the same slow bloated bass that give uphold SPL and "slow" woolly bass rather than good quality bass. Danley sounds promising but I have not heard them in action before, but looking at their design using horn priciples, they would be my choice out of all listed.

Though it must be noted some of velodyne's sealed servo subs and sunfire's sealed subs sound quite immediate, but lacking in musicality.

Jason biggrin.gif

ps Its not my intention to step on anyones toes here with regards to sub choices, as in everything audio, bass is a personal preference.
rx330
post May 9 2008, 12:37 PM

11,811 posts

lucky my toes still intact biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post May 9 2008, 12:42 PM

1,978 posts

Hahaha, it's all up to the person who buys it. If it's your home theater, choose what you think is best.

The Danley DTS-20 goes real real low.

Ruben, SmX's owner traded in two Klipsch THX Ultra 2 subs for one DTS-20 and he's never been happier.
jchong
post May 9 2008, 02:09 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ May 9 2008, 12:09 PM)
velodyne, sunfire, hsu, svs and genelec are just more of the same slow bloated bass that give uphold SPL and "slow" woolly bass rather than good quality bass.  Danley sounds promising but I have not heard them in action before, but looking at their design using horn priciples, they would be my choice out of all listed. 

Though it must be noted some of velodyne's sealed servo subs and sunfire's sealed subs sound quite immediate, but lacking in musicality.
So what are the commercially available brands that suit your preferences? You pref is for fast, tight, articulate bass right?
htkaki
post May 9 2008, 10:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If everything goes well (praying hard), I will have 2 Klipsch 15" subs in my home by next week.
jchong
post May 9 2008, 10:17 PM

5,989 posts

Cross fingers for you! Remember to invite us when you get them.
htkaki
post May 9 2008, 10:41 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Erm, maybe along with 2 pairs of Klipsch bipole spkrs, its Epic floorstanders and gigantic center speakers. Now, where shall I put my 'smaller' Klipsch floorstanders and the rest of the speakers? HM sure bising.
moviebuff
post May 9 2008, 11:36 PM

166 posts

Amazon is having promotion buy two free one on selected bluray titles now. rclxms.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post May 10 2008, 12:11 AM

1,978 posts

Maxx, you gonna have a better setup than mine, save for the pre-pro and amp

kkthen
post May 10 2008, 12:19 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 9 2008, 10:41 PM)
Erm, maybe along with 2 pairs of Klipsch bipole spkrs, its Epic floorstanders and gigantic center speakers. Now, where shall I put my 'smaller' Klipsch floorstanders and the rest of the speakers? HM sure bising.
Hope u can get it soon rclxms.gif
After you get it, please post some nice photos for your new setting. biggrin.gif
jchong
post May 10 2008, 09:31 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 9 2008, 10:41 PM)
Got place to fit all this equipment ah?
megatron007
post May 10 2008, 10:47 AM

4,000 posts

waaa.....rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
htkaki
post May 10 2008, 02:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 10 2008, 09:31 AM)
Got place to fit all this equipment ah?

Got blush.gif If I wanted to. tongue.gif

Just shift the current setup to my living hall. Move in the new one into my HT room. brows.gif But, I think I will sell off some. Will go over to the Uncle home this evening.

karhoe
post Sep 29 2008, 03:56 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(Audio Nirvana @ Apr 7 2008, 04:42 PM)
Really? Would be interesting to find out if that's true.

But the quality still sux... nothing worse than watching a low res signal on a high res TV.
That feature is a rubbish

Anyway PSP boy, nice setup, can beat this one

I came across your thread from here

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=798706&hl=

Your 'competitor' lol

Added on September 29, 2008, 4:01 pmAnyway where is the HTPC?

I'm expecting HD4xxx with 790gx, and of course some superb HTPC keyboard

Show us Crysis on 1080p biggrin.gif

What's your projector max resolution?

Added on September 29, 2008, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(Raven-X @ May 8 2008, 07:59 PM)
the 1 we should envy is psp_BOY's dad. i wonder what he works as? i have the feeling must be 1 of the cabinets. just reveal it please
He stay at Bukit damansara, go see which Menteri stay there

Btw, IINM that's where Anwar stay also right? Your neighbour ka tongue.gif

This post has been edited by karhoe: Sep 29 2008, 04:15 PM
htkaki
post Sep 29 2008, 05:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Anwar still stays there? I thought he has moved out. His old house was under reno few months back. I guess it was sold to someone else.

I wonder whether psp_boy has got any new toys lately

zeist
post Sep 29 2008, 05:25 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I think even if you are rich also no use, to do this kind of setup need knowledge. I went to my friend's banglo at Damansara Heights, also got a mini cinema, but not as nice as this. Don't have the "feel".
karhoe
post Sep 29 2008, 06:43 PM

6,238 posts

Yeap, and many more rich but no knowledge

All they know

1) Big LCD/Plasma

2) 5.1

Yay ~
htkaki
post Sep 29 2008, 10:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 29 2008, 05:25 PM)
I think even if you are rich also no use, to do this kind of setup need knowledge. I went to my friend's banglo at Damansara Heights, also got a mini cinema, but not as nice as this. Don't have the "feel".

No hard feeling on your friend's setup. If he employs pro to do the whole project, the end result will be magnificent. Normally, when someone is spending this kind of money, they would get pro to do it for them.

Your friend could be doing it all by himself to save cost. So, end result would not be ideal.

myqd
post Nov 9 2008, 12:44 PM

2,247 posts

latest update biggrin.gif

Home Theater

-Speaker change to Axis LS-88.
-Center change to Klipsch which originally used as front spk.
-Draper screen add some "black border".
-Biamp LS-88 ( "high" drive by Onkyo 876, "low" drive by Denon POA-T10,signal from 876 front pre-out )

Astro Viewing

-Speaker change to MS-902 drive by Zone 2 from 876.( not satisfy,mid and high ok but low no "ummph" tongue.gif )

Cloud9Nos3
post Nov 9 2008, 02:05 PM

Stay Happy ~
1,189 posts

OMG i wish i have one of this home theater.. It was so awesome !
piscesguy
post Nov 9 2008, 02:46 PM

ç§ã®åå‰ã¯ã‚Šã‚…ã†ã§ã™
3,965 posts

Looks very good..but how come the wall is green? reminds me during my school days..(like a blackboard to me) tongue.gif
myqd
post Nov 9 2008, 02:58 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 9 2008, 02:46 PM)
Looks very good..but how come the wall is green? reminds me during my school days..(like a blackboard to me) tongue.gif
hehe,cos i miss my school day and i sometimes draw carton on it as well tongue.gif

callmevil
post Nov 9 2008, 07:30 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

hah nice rig u got there myqd~ how much did those speakers set u back??
megatron007
post Nov 10 2008, 08:57 AM

4,000 posts

nice setup... look so classy rclxms.gif good work !
myqd
post Nov 10 2008, 11:30 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Nov 9 2008, 07:30 PM)
hah nice rig u got there myqd~ how much did those speakers set u back??
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Nov 10 2008, 08:57 AM)
nice setup... look so classy rclxms.gif good work !
thanks callmevil and megatron007 thumbup.gif

it's not tat "classy" actually and that's my living room cos i dun have enuf room for HT blush.gif Also,the distance between screen and my seat a bit close,about 14',i really hope it can extend to about 18'-20',which is possible,now thinking of where to get $$$ to do it tongue.gif

callmevil,the speaker i get it from my friend showroom display set.It's an Australian spk and not so popular actually,cant even find more details online blush.gif The spk when new retail at RM13 k last few years but drop to RM8k + recently.I got it at quite special "wholesale" price lor biggrin.gif The best part is my fren told me i can test the spk kaw kaw b4 i decide to buy.If not match with my Onkyo/Denon,i can return to him anytime.But honestly,i quite like it and i dun think i'm going to send it back doh.gif The only complain about the spk is,for floorstander,basically i need to crank the volume a bit high ( about 60 db,absolute vol setting on onkyo ) only then i can feel the ummph,otherwise it will feel like less "aji-ni-moto",not syiok enuf.The max vol i tried yesterday was 73 db but most comfortable at 60+ db. biggrin.gif

Btw,are u coming down to Miri? I heard jwyj want to exchange some BDs from u? maybe we can arrange for some "audition" at jwyj and my place when u are here brows.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Nov 10 2008, 11:32 AM
gac
post Nov 10 2008, 11:35 AM

Music Soul
1,205 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 10 2008, 11:30 AM)

how much 1 ticket for viewing? any popcorn? laugh.gif
myqd
post Nov 10 2008, 11:39 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(gac @ Nov 10 2008, 11:35 AM)
how much 1 ticket for viewing? any popcorn?  laugh.gif
emm...makan "self-kawtin",for ticket can bring a BD for exhcange tongue.gif

gac
post Nov 10 2008, 11:42 AM

Music Soul
1,205 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 10 2008, 11:39 AM)
emm...makan "self-kawtin",for ticket can bring a BD for exhcange  tongue.gif
anyway smile.gif good set up u have. why not get another room for listening room? brows.gif this one remain for AV. wink.gif

poisoning....... laugh.gif
myqd
post Nov 10 2008, 11:53 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(gac @ Nov 10 2008, 11:42 AM)
anyway  smile.gif  good set up u have. why not get another room for listening room?  brows.gif  this one remain for AV.  wink.gif

poisoning.......  laugh.gif
yes,u are very racun as that's what a AV/Audio enthusiast's dream,hehehe tongue.gif

For pure audio,i actually prefer book shelf speaker,now i have ProAc tablette 50 or AE 1 in my mind,planing to get an integrated valve amp to drive them,maybe a Rogue Audio Cronus or Audi Reserach VS55i,try to find a way to get them below 10k..... hmm.gif
gac
post Nov 10 2008, 01:48 PM

Music Soul
1,205 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 10 2008, 11:53 AM)
yes,u are very racun as that's what a AV/Audio enthusiast's dream,hehehe  tongue.gif

For pure audio,i actually prefer book shelf speaker,now i have ProAc tablette 50 or AE 1 in my mind,planing to get an integrated valve amp to drive them,maybe a Rogue Audio Cronus or Audi Reserach VS55i,try to find a way to get them below 10k..... hmm.gif
i kena poisoned koa koa first sweat.gif ... so i try to poison others. wink.gif

i have to do some major renovation for my so-called "listening room" just for my new hifi set. sweat.gif

myqd, go for it go for it go for it go for it go for it ..... i introduced u a good contractor laugh.gif
htkaki
post Nov 10 2008, 05:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If ProAc, then better go for valve amp rather than solid state. Audio Note OTO SE is quite good. Wonder it is still around.
myqd
post Nov 10 2008, 05:57 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 10 2008, 05:36 PM)
If ProAc, then better go for valve amp rather than solid state. Audio Note OTO SE is quite good. Wonder it is still around.
i think Audio Note OTO not easy to find in M'sia now, only available in used market maybe...but i'm sure if u're interested with Audio Note Ongaku,the manufacturer will ask someone to fly over to ur house and send a unit to u biggrin.gif

from my expereince,ProAc match very well with valve amp and i once owned a Audion Sterling 8watts valve amp and ProAc Tablette 3,till now till cant forget the "sound" they produce thumbup.gif Anyway,i also found ProAc match very good with some solid state amp especially Audiolab amp like 8000s/8000a/8000p/8000m.Recently i found Naim Nait 5i also match very well with ProAc,if u had a chance to lisen to that matching,pls do a audition and share with us here biggrin.gif

SUSInF.anime
post Nov 10 2008, 06:16 PM

2,695 posts

How bout Arcam? good?
myqd
post Nov 10 2008, 06:56 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(InF.anime @ Nov 10 2008, 06:16 PM)
How bout Arcam? good?
Arcam not bar too,i like the combination of it previous model Arcam 9 and 9P to bi-amp smile.gif

gac
post Nov 10 2008, 08:29 PM

Music Soul
1,205 posts

go for sugden smile.gif
myqd
post Nov 11 2008, 01:22 PM

2,247 posts

i must be far out date oledi,not even know what is sugden sad.gif
g5sim
post Nov 11 2008, 01:59 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 9 2008, 12:44 PM)
latest update  biggrin.gif

Home Theater

-Speaker change to Axis LS-88.
-Center change to Klipsch which originally used as front spk.
-Draper screen add some "black border".
-Biamp LS-88 ( "high" drive by Onkyo 876, "low" drive by Denon POA-T10,signal from 876 front pre-out )

Astro Viewing

-Speaker change to MS-902 drive by Zone 2 from 876.( not satisfy,mid and high ok but low no "ummph"  tongue.gif )

what the f shocking.gif ? you use that for Astro viewing? cant imagine your setup for Blu-ray viewing sweat.gif sweat.gif
myqd
post Nov 11 2008, 05:13 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Nov 11 2008, 01:59 PM)
what the f  shocking.gif  ? you use that for Astro viewing? cant imagine your setup for Blu-ray viewing  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
No la,the PJ mostly for BDs or durian DVD9,the 43" RPTV and MS902 spk are for astro/satelite viewing,which is 4:3 aspect ratio. tongue.gif

dlyz
post Nov 11 2008, 06:57 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Nice setup.

902i not nuff umphh, but how about compared to mission m31i and whaferdale diamond 9.1?
timothyy
post Nov 11 2008, 09:33 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Nov 11 2008, 05:13 PM)
No la,the PJ mostly for BDs or durian DVD9,the 43" RPTV and MS902 spk are for astro/satelite viewing,which is 4:3 aspect ratio. tongue.gif
Hmmm.... satellite? U are staying in Sarawak or u are anak embassidor
'?
dlyz
post Nov 11 2008, 11:40 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

smile.gif Here in sarawak, plenty of dishes left and right. He is mirian btw.

This post has been edited by dlyz: Nov 11 2008, 11:41 PM
myqd
post Nov 12 2008, 12:13 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 11 2008, 06:57 PM)
Nice setup.

902i not nuff umphh, but how about compared to mission m31i and whaferdale diamond 9.1?
thanks dlyz,mission i'm not sure but i think diamond 9.1 is easier to drive compare to MS902i.I'm using Diamond Center b4 this(now relax sitting in my store room tongue.gif ) and i found it's quite easy to drive.

QUOTE(timothyy @ Nov 11 2008, 09:33 PM)
Hmmm.... satellite? U are staying in Sarawak or u are anak embassidor
'?
ya,dlyz and me both staying in Miri but we never met b4 tongue.gif i use the satelite mostly watch live taiwan entertainment show during weekend,love especially the æ˜Ÿå…‰å¤§é“ on Friday night tongue.gif
dlyz
post Nov 12 2008, 06:05 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

How would you compare the speakers sound characteristic? As in, which is warmer, brighter, etc?
aiman04
post Nov 12 2008, 06:21 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(dlyz @ Nov 12 2008, 06:05 PM)
How would you compare the speakers sound characteristic? As in, which is warmer, brighter, etc?
Bright - strong on the high frequencies. More clarity and detailed.
Warm - focused more on the mid-range. Very good on vocal.

Which is better? Your ear will be the judge. biggrin.gif
myqd
post Nov 12 2008, 06:48 PM

2,247 posts

agreed with aiman04 thumbup.gif

for me,i prefer more on warm sound,more focus on mid/vocal,in mandarin,i call it with more 感染力,which is a must for audio hifi biggrin.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 1 2008, 03:30 PM

1,978 posts

I thought this thread would be dead 4 months ago sweat.gif

Might as well post some new pics of the room later on.

Later!
htkaki
post Dec 1 2008, 04:04 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I have done some tidying in my room as well as relocating the furnitures and racks as there are acoustic details lost. I can hear it when I stand in the middle of the room. But, when I sit on the sofa, the depth of the bass is lost along with some details. Boy, it sounds better now.
myqd
post Dec 1 2008, 04:50 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 1 2008, 03:30 PM)
I thought this thread would be dead 4 months ago sweat.gif

Might as well post some new pics of the room later on.

Later!
In very near future PLEASE !!!! tongue.gif (if possible,snap the pics with ur D3 & 12-24mm from low and side angle,i was using the Canon 10-22 for my pics the other day )

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 1 2008, 04:04 PM)
I have done some tidying in my room as well as relocating the furnitures and racks as there are acoustic details lost. I can hear it when I stand in the middle of the room. But, when I sit on the sofa, the depth of the bass is lost along with some details. Boy, it sounds better now.
Congratulations Boss thumbup.gif Dun tell us after some atur here atur there,ur room now more classy then Mr.PSP-Boy one..... drool.gif Picture Please !!! ( Pls use tripod this time,hehe) drool.gif

htkaki
post Dec 1 2008, 05:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh myqd, can't beat psp_boy's pad lah. Even if I buy my dream house and build my own detached HT room, still light years away from his.

mpyw
post Dec 1 2008, 05:42 PM

3,603 posts

I can only envy looking at you guys' pad....mine a messy 50" nia with RM3k sound system sweat.gif

cannot take the poison unless i go print money tongue.gif
htkaki
post Dec 1 2008, 05:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

RM3K sound system?! I offer you RM4K for all of it. Anjua?
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Dec 1 2008, 06:02 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 1 2008, 05:42 PM)
I can only envy looking at you guys' pad....mine a messy 50" nia with RM3k sound system sweat.gif

Now if u want to sell off ur '3k' sound system..........do PM me Ok!!! tongue.gif Even if not money I will 'die die' cough up the 3K!!! biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Dec 1 2008, 06:35 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

laugh.gif Everyone knows the subwoofer alone costs around RM2.6k. So everything else costs just around RM400? tongue.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 1 2008, 07:44 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 1 2008, 04:50 PM)
In very near future PLEASE !!!!  tongue.gif (if possible,snap the pics with ur D3 & 12-24mm from low and side angle,i was using the Canon 10-22 for my pics the other day )
Congratulations Boss  thumbup.gif  Dun tell us after some atur here atur there,ur room now more classy then Mr.PSP-Boy one..... drool.gif  Picture Please !!! ( Pls use tripod this time,hehe) drool.gif
Alright pics later tongue.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 1 2008, 05:36 PM)
Taukeh myqd, can't beat psp_boy's pad lah. Even if I buy my dream house and build my own detached HT room, still light years away from his.
Hey, anything is possible. I like my room because I have cushion walls tongue.gif
myqd
post Dec 1 2008, 08:49 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 1 2008, 05:36 PM)
htkaki boss,dun be so humble,ur HT's set up also many ppl's dream ler thumbup.gif like psp_boy mentioned,anything is POSSIBLE,let go print money,hehehe tongue.gif

Added on December 1, 2008, 8:51 pm
typo error ? 30 k maybe ? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 1 2008, 08:51 PM
htkaki
post Dec 1 2008, 11:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

myqd, mine is really mediocre setup compared to someone's 50" Full HD Kuro panel tongue.gif

Will try to take a snapshot of my room from the sofa.

psp_boy, just let me know when is convenient for you and the number of ppl allowed. I will start a pin-up thread on it. Tks smile.gif
zdan
post Dec 1 2008, 11:33 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Apr 4 2008, 06:39 PM)
Posed for this shot. tongue.gif
everything you have but one thing that you left.... consider it. icon_idea.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 1 2008, 11:36 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 1 2008, 11:05 PM)
myqd, mine is really mediocre setup compared to someone's 50" Full HD Kuro panel  tongue.gif

Will try to take a snapshot of my room from the sofa.

psp_boy, just let me know when is convenient for you and the number of ppl allowed. I will start a pin-up thread on it. Tks  smile.gif
Last time what was the limit ah?
htkaki
post Dec 2 2008, 09:15 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

20 ppl, bro. I think this time make it 10-15 better in order not to make it so crowded. Ok?
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 10:35 AM

1,978 posts

I think I'll go with 13, don't ask me why, because including me 14, is a nice number tongue.gif

I'll PM you soon.
htkaki
post Dec 2 2008, 04:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 2 2008, 10:35 AM)
I think I'll go with 13, don't ask me why, because including me 14, is a nice number tongue.gif

I'll PM you soon.

Wokie.... I shall assemble my 'Ocean Thirteen' gang upon your PM wink.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 04:57 PM

1,978 posts

New Images, Home Theater revisited.

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Dec 2 2008, 07:21 PM
htkaki
post Dec 2 2008, 05:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, the Snell sld sound better with it being mounted on proper stands, right?
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 05:35 PM

1,978 posts

They are proper stands. But not branded la
htkaki
post Dec 2 2008, 06:49 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Updated shot after tidying up the room blush.gif :

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 07:19 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 2 2008, 06:49 PM)
Updated shot after tidying up the room  blush.gif  :

It feels homy like mine laugh.gif

that's a lot of Blu there.

If there's one thing I would do, Is paint the wall a darker shade, then change the carpet with the train tongue.gif

And then one day change acoustic screen and scope brows.gif

Other than that, I can live with that!
ar188
post Dec 2 2008, 07:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 2 2008, 06:49 PM)
Updated shot after tidying up the room  blush.gif  :

wah, I see alot of BDs on the left side? biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Dec 2 2008, 09:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 2 2008, 07:19 PM)
It feels homy like mine laugh.gif

that's a lot of Blu there.

If there's one thing I would do, Is paint the wall a darker shade, then change the carpet with the train tongue.gif

And then one day change acoustic screen and scope brows.gif

Other than that, I can live with that!

blush.gif Very little if to compare with megatron007, mpyw, callmevil, and so forth.

Can't paint the wall. No permission from HM. The carpet.. erm.. actually my son like to play there. Anyway, will change it soon. wink.gif

wah, I see alot of BDs on the left side? biggrin.gif
Boss, very little BDs in my collection. Next time, must borrow from megatron007 or mpyw before I take photos. I bet it is definitely more than 200 in his collection. Maybe already over 300 BDs sweat.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 09:38 PM

1,978 posts

Next week I got Blu arriving

Tropic Thunder, Kung Fu Panda, Pirates 3, Dark Knight, Transformers, Iron Man, huhuhu
callmevil
post Dec 2 2008, 09:57 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

psp boy.. all i can say about ur ht room = 'eF me!!!'

hahaha awesome awesome awesome.. my HD A/V is at a slow down now cuz im going for portable audio.. my wallet is at a critical state now.. lol spent just over 3k USD on my portable audio craze oredi in the span of 2months.. LoL! damn and i thought speaker cables were expensive... a good 4" headphone cable can easily cost 190usd... haha

This post has been edited by callmevil: Dec 2 2008, 09:58 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 10:11 PM

1,978 posts

huhu, yeah, I'm not too savvy about headphones, I've got my sennheiser with me and it's good enough, for now. But yea, just need to get more blu-ray. Cheers bro!

Enjoying the yammy?
callmevil
post Dec 2 2008, 10:44 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 2 2008, 10:11 PM)
huhu, yeah, I'm not too savvy about headphones, I've got my sennheiser with me and it's good enough, for now. But yea, just need to get more blu-ray. Cheers bro!

Enjoying the yammy?
i keep a discipline of min 20bds per month. should be no prob for u with THAT MONSTER of an HT room.. lol i can imagine an inner wall compartment with a push n slide door to be installed or 'fixate' in ur HT room to tuck away all ur blurays.. increase the aesthetics even further north.. lol

and the yammy im using is doing its job hehehe will upgrade as soon as i end this headphone phaze.. once i get all im after (hopefully this month) then i should be back on track with my HDs! haha
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 2 2008, 10:49 PM

1,978 posts

Get an anthem preamp tongue.gif

Argh, I need to get more BDs, Matrix and Godfather compilation next
myqd
post Dec 3 2008, 10:46 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 2 2008, 10:49 PM)
Get an anthem preamp tongue.gif
U remind me i once got a valve pre amp,brand "Anthem Pre 1L " by Sonic Frontier,match with Classe power amp,driven a pair of Sonus Faber spk,wow,very nice sound,but for pure audio with small room like mine,i still prefer bookshelf spk these days biggrin.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 11:03 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 3 2008, 10:46 AM)
U remind me i once got a valve pre amp,brand "Anthem Pre 1L " by Sonic Frontier,match with Classe power amp,driven a pair of Sonus Faber spk,wow,very nice sound,but for pure audio with small room like mine,i still prefer bookshelf spk these days  biggrin.gif
Sonic still owns Anthem and Paradigm

I tell you they've come a long way since the Pre 1L, They're entry level AVM-20 sounds unbelievable, but the D2 is something else. My only shrug is that I don't have the Speakers to show it's true capabilities. Maybe in 2 years, would like to upgrade to Klipsch THX Ultra 2 speakers. Then, No more upgrades man. brows.gif Can spend on BD
htkaki
post Dec 3 2008, 11:57 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I would be the first one to queue up for the audition right after the Klipsch settled down in your room.
timothyy
post Dec 3 2008, 12:02 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

HT... nice setup u got there..... will the small pigeon holes be a nuisance when u watch in the morning?
htkaki
post Dec 3 2008, 12:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Not really since the pj is bright enough for dayview. HM does not allow it to be sealed. Ventilation purpose.
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 02:04 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 3 2008, 11:57 AM)
I would be the first one to queue up for the audition right after the Klipsch settled down in your room.
huhu, I do agree with anyone who says lots of other people have better sound than mine, It's the speakers I tell you tongue.gif, don't discriminate amps and preamp laugh.gif
callmevil
post Dec 3 2008, 02:14 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

my my pspboy/myqd.. i wont enter that world yet.. classe.. anthem.. haha.. honestly i have a slight bias towards martin logan's electrostatics.. those babies will be mine... will get it for my wedding! haha

currently speakers = movies.. headphones for music.. currently my headaudio = creamy sound... hahaha
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 02:26 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Dec 3 2008, 02:14 PM)
my my pspboy/myqd.. i wont enter that world yet.. classe.. anthem.. haha.. honestly i have a slight bias towards martin logan's electrostatics.. those babies will be mine... will get it for my wedding! haha

currently speakers = movies.. headphones for music.. currently my headaudio = creamy sound... hahaha
Gotta love the martin logans, the only downside is the price though sad.gif

For a pair, can get Klipsch speakers already sweat.gif

But yea, It sounds good. I know someone in AVSforum who has 7 of them for his HT
callmevil
post Dec 3 2008, 02:35 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 3 2008, 02:26 PM)
Gotta love the martin logans, the only downside is the price though sad.gif

For a pair, can get Klipsch speakers already sweat.gif

But yea, It sounds good. I know someone in AVSforum who has 7 of them for his HT
that deserves another "eF ME!!! @_@"
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 02:38 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Dec 3 2008, 02:35 PM)
that deserves another "eF ME!!! @_@"
I think he has 2 of the Depth subs as well tongue.gif

Added on December 3, 2008, 3:04 pmChristmas came early

My Blu ray arrived already rclxm9.gif

except for dark knight, not yet released

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Dec 3 2008, 03:04 PM
myqd
post Dec 3 2008, 03:16 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 3 2008, 11:03 AM)
Sonic still owns Anthem and Paradigm

I tell you they've come a long way since the Pre 1L, They're entry level AVM-20 sounds unbelievable, but the D2 is something else. My only shrug is that I don't have the Speakers to show it's true capabilities. Maybe in 2 years, would like to upgrade to Klipsch THX Ultra 2 speakers. Then, No more upgrades man. brows.gif Can spend on BD
but my fren told me now only left Anthem series,the Sonic Frontier already tutup ? hmm.gif Klipsch THX Ultra 2 spk package is my dream package,like the style of the LRC,what will be the price in RM? anyone selling here in M'sia ? Where to audit huh ?

If not mistaken,M&K got similar THX series spk package,right?

QUOTE(callmevil @ Dec 3 2008, 02:14 PM)
my fren got a pair of martin logan but cant remember which series.However,one side of the ribon tweeter was rosak and cant repair,dun know still at his store room or not.Maybe can get cheap cheap from him? drool.gif

currently saw a pair of Apogee Centaur Minor USED selling for RM3.3 k in KL,quite old spk made at 1991,scored very good review at Stereophile that time,the price is tempting.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 3 2008, 03:17 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 03:20 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 3 2008, 03:16 PM)
but my fren told me now only left Anthem series,the Sonic Frontier already tutup ?  hmm.gif Klipsch THX Ultra 2 spk package is my dream package,like the style of the LRC,what will be the price in RM? anyone selling here in M'sia ? Where to audit huh ?

If not mistaken,M&K got similar THX series spk package,right?
my fren got a pair of martin logan but cant remember which series.However,one side of the ribon tweeter was rosak and cant repair,dun know still at his store room or not.Maybe can get cheap cheap from him?  drool.gif

currently saw a pair of Apogee Centaur Minor USED selling for RM3.3 k in KL,quite old spk made at 1991,scored very good review at Stereophile that time,the price is tempting.... thumbup.gif
M&K as well as Snell. Would love to audit the klipsch, I got to hear it at Thailand, Awesome, dynamics and clraity, a bit warm, but just nice, Music and Movie also nice. dayyum
myqd
post Dec 3 2008, 03:35 PM

2,247 posts

thailand huh ? no one selling in M'sia yet? Last time Tat Chuan is the dealer,right? price in Thailand expensive huh?

psp-boy,ur recent HT's pics are nice,especially with the effect of 12mm thumbup.gif ( ur flickr got nice pics taken with 70-200 2.8? Is it the VR version? )

htkaki,ur set up now looks much more tidy.It's time to upgrade to Klipsch THX series liao ( dun tell me no $$$,look at ur sales figure,almost 1/2 million oledi rclxms.gif ). Another thing,ur HM not allow u to paint the back/side walls into Black huh? The yellow color reflect light a lot wor.... laugh.gif

*** Sorry OT a bit,anyone here ever audit Tannoy Darking SL35,saw a USED pair selling 2k+,wow... drool.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 3 2008, 03:39 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 03:38 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 3 2008, 03:35 PM)
thailand huh ? no one selling in M'sia yet? Last time Tat Chuan is the dealer,right? price in Thailand expensive huh?

psp-boy,ur recent HT's pics are nice,especially with the effect of 12mm  thumbup.gif ( ur flickr got nice pics taken with 70-200 2.8? Is it the VR version? )

htkaki,ur set up now looks much more tidy.It's time to upgrade to Klipsch THX series liao ( dun tell me no $$$,look at ur sales figure,almost 1/2 million oledi  rclxms.gif ). Another thing,ur HM not allow u to paint the back/side walls into Black huh? The yellow color reflect light a lot wor....  laugh.gif
Even using the 12-24 I had to zoom to 18mm if not vignette on the d3, since it is a dx lens, and yes the 70-200 is VR smile.gif
htkaki
post Dec 3 2008, 03:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh myqd,

That's the restriction that I have sad.gif Unless, I buy another pad, which I have been eyeing. But with current economy turmoil, I dare not to take the risk.

myqd
post Dec 3 2008, 04:33 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 3 2008, 03:38 PM)
Even using the 12-24 I had to zoom to 18mm if not vignette on the d3, since it is a dx lens, and yes the 70-200 is VR smile.gif
ok,i see,but at 18mm it's WIDE,more or less like my 10mm in 1.6 crop body.Another thing,i like the pics u took with 50mm 1.4 at flickr,love the bokeh,looks cool. thumbup.gif BTW,i strongly suggest u should use ur own pic "boxing champ" as ur avator here which is much better then ur current one tongue.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 3 2008, 03:58 PM)
Taukeh myqd,

That's the restriction that I have  sad.gif  Unless, I buy another pad, which I have been eyeing. But with current economy turmoil, I dare not to take the risk.
i understand cos i'm in the same boat like u sad.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 3 2008, 04:34 PM
mpyw
post Dec 3 2008, 05:13 PM

3,603 posts

where to get M&K in m'sia?
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 06:06 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 3 2008, 03:35 PM)

psp-boy,ur recent HT's pics are nice,especially with the effect of 12mm  thumbup.gif ( ur flickr got nice pics taken with 70-200 2.8? Is it the VR version? )

htkaki,ur set up now looks much more tidy.It's time to upgrade to Klipsch THX series liao ( dun tell me no $$$,look at ur sales figure,almost 1/2 million oledi  rclxms.gif ). Another thing,ur HM not allow u to paint the back/side walls into Black huh? The yellow color reflect light a lot wor....  laugh.gif

*** Sorry OT a bit,anyone here ever audit Tannoy Darking SL35,saw a USED pair selling 2k+,wow...  drool.gif
TANNOY AH??? drool.gif

Added on December 3, 2008, 6:06 pmWatched kung fu panda

raised sub volume to +5.0 just for the heck of it

baju bergegar laugh.gif

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Dec 3 2008, 06:06 PM
myqd
post Dec 3 2008, 07:41 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 3 2008, 05:13 PM)
where to get M&K in m'sia?
I'm interested to know as well smile.gif

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 3 2008, 06:06 PM)
TANNOY AH??? drool.gif

Added on December 3, 2008, 6:06 pmWatched kung fu panda

raised sub volume to +5.0 just for the heck of it

baju bergegar laugh.gif
Ya,Tannoy,i love their Vintage series,looks "lain dari yang lain" tongue.gif

btw,Kungfu Panda bass so geng kah? Mine still waiting from Amazon thumbup.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 07:48 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 3 2008, 07:41 PM)
I'm interested to know as well  smile.gif
Ya,Tannoy,i love their Vintage series,looks "lain dari yang lain" tongue.gif

btw,Kungfu Panda bass so geng kah? Mine still waiting from Amazon  thumbup.gif
Gend if you turn up the bass la, haha

I played again for awhile after bath just now and put at bassy scene at sub +2.0 also not bad, but +5.0 drool.gif Can hear my walls rattle sweat.gif

Can't wait to play Iron Man and transformers, heard the bass is ohsummm
htkaki
post Dec 3 2008, 10:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

M&K went bust not too long ago. Then, it was revived by another company.
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 4 2008, 11:58 AM

1,978 posts

Sorry that was wrong info. I accidentally typed in M&K. But i remembered that it was actually B&K sweat.gif

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Dec 4 2008, 12:00 PM
mpyw
post Dec 4 2008, 12:21 PM

3,603 posts

the new M&K by the new company received many rave reviews for the HT system also.....
htkaki
post Dec 12 2008, 01:29 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

With the price of Full HD LCD TV and plasma tv tumbling to affordable level, I guess we shall be seeing a lot more HT setup. Hopefully, the nice display panels aren't being partnered with HTiB .

Goneraz
post Dec 13 2008, 01:18 AM

432 posts

hehehee... well any poor unknowing fool who happen to stumble this forum will surely be poisoned kau kau. I know i did. If everyone in Mlaysia ever visit this forum, I am sure there wont be anymore HTIB in Malaysia.
htkaki
post Dec 13 2008, 06:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

IMHO, HTiB is the first amateur step into HT world smile.gif . Then, they start to know about the separate HT system, which produces better AQ. With enough reading and exposure towards dedicated HT system (not forgetting thick wallet sweat.gif ), they will surely take the plunge wink.gif .
shaznizzle
post Dec 19 2008, 03:00 AM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

OOOOooo.... awsome setup bro!!! Invite us la.. Hook it up to a PS3 lets play Resident Evil!!!!

Family is thinking of doing the same thing... dealing with MediaPlex for them to install their stuff.

for now this is my only room theater

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 28 2008, 03:48 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(shaznizzle @ Dec 19 2008, 03:00 AM)
OOOOooo.... awsome setup bro!!! Invite us la.. Hook it up to a PS3 lets play Resident Evil!!!!

Family is thinking of doing the same thing... dealing with MediaPlex for them to install their stuff.

for now this is my only room theater

I got all my stuff thru them, many of them special ordered, except for the Energy surrounds.
htkaki
post Dec 28 2008, 09:55 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Farhan, Tat Chuan is distributing Klipsch again. Yay! I am waiting for the quote.
ar188
post Dec 28 2008, 11:32 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 12 2008, 01:29 PM)
With the price of Full HD LCD TV and plasma tv tumbling to affordable level, I guess we shall be seeing a lot more HT setup. Hopefully, the nice display panels aren't being partnered with HTiB .
maybe they will be partnered with "soundbars" biggrin.gif
myqd
post Dec 28 2008, 11:34 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 28 2008, 09:55 AM)
Farhan, Tat Chuan is distributing Klipsch again. Yay! I am waiting for the quote.
GOoooooooooooood tongue.gif pls tumpang ask the center spk price if possible ya biggrin.gif

htkaki
post Dec 28 2008, 12:33 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

No problem. Will try to get the complete list.
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 29 2008, 12:50 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 28 2008, 09:55 AM)
NO WAY!
drool.gif drool.gif

THX Ultra 2 price list brows.gif

kthnxbai

pierreye
post Dec 29 2008, 08:33 AM

1,308 posts

Time to upgrade to RS20. Looking at the measured performance posted by various end user, it is an interesting upgrade. I almost get a rs1 last month but hold back due to 2 issues, brightness and sharpness (DLP guy so this 2 criteria is important). I'm targetting rs10 now and hope with a few more pro review to address my concern. One last thing, do you notice that rs1 color is over saturated? Lot of complain on this issue as rs1 doesn't come with CMS and by default red, green and blue overshoot the standard color. Some mention the face look like sun burn, green glass look unnatural etc. Have to use external video scaler to tuned down the color.
ar188
post Dec 29 2008, 10:15 AM

9,206 posts

how much is the
RS20 here?
pierreye
post Dec 29 2008, 01:17 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 29 2008, 10:15 AM)
how much is the
RS20 here?
Didn't ask here as everything on 1080p is overprice. I'm looking to import RS10 which should be around RM 15k including shipping from US. Last I ask they still asking RS1 for RM 14k. As RS10 performance is close to RS2 with higher brightness, I think it's a good bargain for it's performance. Let me see, AE3000 is selling around 11k in Malaysia. RS10 come with a manual iris that can close down to reduce brightness but gain higher native contrast close to 30k:1. Most LCD native contrast is only around 2000:1 to 3000:1.

This post has been edited by pierreye: Dec 29 2008, 01:18 PM
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 30 2008, 06:05 AM

1,978 posts

I use the Anthem to tone the colours, but I agree it is oversaturated.

Probably will upgrade in 3-4 years time, If all goes well a light cannon like Sim2 but servicing is a problem, So until JVC comes out with a projector that can do at least 25 fl on my screen, I'll wait til Sim2 is officially here. A bit expensive though, but the Sim2 C3X 1080 in a bout 4 years time would be quite reasonable
Turnip
post Dec 30 2008, 06:13 AM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

can can i borrow ur cinema room to watch with my gf? brows.gif
TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 30 2008, 06:16 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(Turnip @ Dec 30 2008, 06:13 AM)
can can i borrow ur cinema room to watch with my gf? brows.gif
Trust me, your not the first one to go in with 'GF only' brows.gif
myqd
post Dec 30 2008, 10:35 AM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 30 2008, 06:16 AM)
Trust me, your not the first one to go in with 'GF only' brows.gif
rx330 and htkaki the 1st and 2nd ? laugh.gif

TSpsp _BOY
post Dec 30 2008, 11:51 AM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 30 2008, 10:35 AM)
rx330 and htkaki the 1st and 2nd ?  laugh.gif
pfft.. My buddies have officiated the HT if you know what I mean brows.gif
myqd
post Dec 30 2008, 01:49 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 30 2008, 11:51 AM)
pfft.. My buddies have officiated the HT if you know what I mean brows.gif
hehe,they also syiok like ur avator after came out from the HT's room? rclxm9.gif

htkaki
post Dec 30 2008, 02:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 30 2008, 10:35 AM)
rx330 and htkaki the 1st and 2nd ?  laugh.gif
Definitely not us sweat.gif . Could be someone else whistling.gif
myqd
post Dec 30 2008, 02:41 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 30 2008, 02:37 PM)
Definitely not us  sweat.gif . Could be someone else  whistling.gif
some words suddently came out from my otak .... " Tun Mega,Tun aiman,Tun ar188,Tun mpyw......." tongue.gif

htkaki
post Dec 30 2008, 04:10 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taukeh, better refrain from kaing such statement oh. Else, kena defamation lawsuit amounting to multi-million RM as it involves so many Tuns here.

back to topic, maybe I sld seek my HT friend permission to tk some snap shots of his comfy room and show you guys.
myqd
post Dec 30 2008, 06:25 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 30 2008, 04:10 PM)
Taukeh, better refrain from kaing such statement oh. Else, kena defamation lawsuit amounting to multi-million RM as it involves so many Tuns here.

back to topic, maybe I sld seek my HT friend permission to tk some snap shots of his comfy room and show you guys.
alamak,pls dun put me in jail,i still got many BDs not yet watch la cry.gif

yes,pls share some shots ofhte room,can use as our guide to build a decent dedicated HT room. thumbup.gif

ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 06:54 PM

9,206 posts

tun mega mana? always in BD thread only..
myqd
post Dec 30 2008, 08:54 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 30 2008, 06:54 PM)
tun mega mana? always in BD thread only..
tun mega itu "transformer" lor,hehe tongue.gif

ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 09:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 30 2008, 08:54 PM)
tun mega itu "transformer" lor,hehe  tongue.gif
yeah I know, I meant where's he? not often in audiophile section...
htkaki
post Dec 30 2008, 10:16 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 30 2008, 09:15 PM)
yeah I know, I meant where's he? not often in audiophile section...

I guess he is bz with his 'big day' in early next year. Or probably with property hunting nowadays. You miss him? tongue.gif

back to topic, our project so far so good? smile.gif

megatron007
post Dec 30 2008, 10:45 PM

4,000 posts

ya abit bz ... not time also no budget & approval to do HT now

but the new house will get my self a room to start V2 of my HT rclxms.gif

ar188
post Dec 30 2008, 10:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 30 2008, 10:16 PM)
I guess he is bz with his 'big day' in early next year.  Or probably with property hunting nowadays. You miss him?  tongue.gif

back to topic, our project so far so good?  smile.gif
all the Hi-tech latest dual disc BD movies can watch,.. only the old one like flight of the phoenix.. can't playback..weird..
htkaki
post Dec 30 2008, 11:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

eh.... codecs issue? hmm.gif But, probably not since it's the same tech. Strange.

but the new house will get my self a room to start V2 of my HT rclxms.gif

I will ask permission from my friend to take a shot of his comfy room and show you. At least, got a rough idea of a nice room with the B&W 6 series speakers, with your dream SPL-1200R and the 2 massive power amps.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Dec 30 2008, 11:03 PM
megatron007
post Jan 2 2009, 01:04 AM

4,000 posts

tat picture very "Fatal" better not to see tongue.gif
ron4
post Jan 5 2009, 10:44 AM

1,123 posts

My low budget HT Setup