4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

SuN_RaE198
post May 18 2008, 08:39 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(satz @ May 18 2008, 08:36 PM)
coz on saturday ni i sent the application form !!!!!!!!!!!!!
it will take 2 weeks to process ma....

class starts at 26th of may edi....
if you go direct they can process immediately ma tongue.gif

also, now so close to the commencement date, i think they wont take such a long time. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 18 2008, 08:46 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(satz @ May 18 2008, 08:42 PM)
no bro, i call them edi, they said u must post it not direct registration n direct entry, u must wait for the processing time

bro can u plz giv me comments bout chemical eng there ??
sweat.gif i am a girl la. tongue.gif

okay..perhaps it has changed then. coz when i applied, went direct to the office and they told me to collect the offer letter in an hour. smile.gif some even asked the amount for the fees, brought cheque together with the application form and pay on the spot.

cant help bout chemical engineering though..dont know anyone studying that, and UTAR thread doesnt have members from chemical engineering either. biggrin.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 23 2008, 09:24 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 23 2008, 08:38 PM)
maybe ur talking about those in degree, i find that degree lecturers are far better in their spoken english, than foundation lecturers. The foundation lecturers, none of them have well spoken english except mr pek and mr wesley
Maybe because foundation lecturers are less qualified than those who are teaching degree?

Those who are teaching me are quite fluent in english, except for only a few.
SuN_RaE198
post Jun 3 2008, 03:53 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(simonyw_87 @ Jun 3 2008, 02:16 AM)
any1 got terminated before?
i juz got terminated.
HELP!
how do you want us to help?

laugh.gif havent been terminated before, but got friends who were, so what help do you need?
SuN_RaE198
post Jun 4 2008, 01:37 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 3 2008, 11:21 PM)
talk to the dean direct, faster job done, after kau tim dean, then go and type a letter submit to go. Problem solved.

they wun terminate u unless  u have been failing under 2.0 for 6 semester. Then if u still fail below 2.0 for the 7th sem (mean u take the subject 7 times edi) i suggest u better stop studying lor ~~~

my fren under 2nd probation until he pass his exam XD
hmm.gif 6 semesters? where did you get that information? sweat.gif my total course consists of 6 semesters.

maybe it differs from course to course, but generally you will be terminated if 2 consecutive semesters you fail to score 2.0 and above.

appeal can be done by filling in the form at the office, DSA wont be able to help you IINM. the form will ask you to fill in the reason why you should be reinstated as a student.

even if the appeal is successful, you will still need to reach a CGPA of 2.0 for the following semester. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Jun 4 2008, 03:57 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 4 2008, 02:53 PM)
tats what my fren told me when he almost got terminated >_< mayb diff from course to course le XD

i also got a shocked. 6 sem? O_O

Added on June 4, 2008, 2:55 pm

nothing in perticular XDDD

*keep low low profile XD*
nope, i checked..even the utar website says two semesters. smile.gif so ur friend must be kidding. tongue.gif

SuN_RaE198
post Jun 25 2008, 05:45 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kyoko4eva @ Jun 24 2008, 09:20 PM)
can a candidate repeat (attend classes, etc) for the previous failed subject at the next sem +
while at the same time attending for new subject for that new sem?

like repeat 1 sub + 5 new subs (new sem) = 6 subjects in a sem?
Yes. Unless of course, the failed ( repeat ) subject is a prerequisite for the subject(s) in the new semester.

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jun 25 2008, 01:16 PM)
im now currently studying in utar setapak y2s1..zz
i quite regret studying in utar..
my life in utar is lik..come campus study..den..do assignment and mid term..zz
getting bored wif it..feel lik quiting utar..bt..spend too much money in it..can't afford to quit
Erm, everybody goes to campus to study, everybody does assignments and sits for midterms. rclxub.gif

But if you mean you dont have a life other than studying, there are many clubs & societies / organizing committees to join. If you just dont know where to start, i guess the UTAR thread in the Kopitiam can help you. tongue.gif sweat.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Jun 29 2008, 07:27 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Jun 29 2008, 06:39 PM)
Again+ always, get attacked again.  Haha... cry.gif

You can get the prove of new student going into UTAR KAMPAR, jzu go to UTAR kampar by coming monday.

I meant STPM students. IF they come in and juz for fail, why utar allow them? Did i say anything that i don't agree wif resit paper fees? I only worry for our STPM students.

I think you might be a good students as well. You will nvr understand the feeling of students who failed in their paper. Did you saw before those students who make 10 times harder than you and still getting fail?

As i mentioned, the last post, there is both good and bad. I juz bring it up for u all as a reference. I have no intention to shoot utar. But i get shoot again. Try to analyse from 9 different viewing angle. Not juz from one. This might broaden your knowledge.

Did i need to tells that where i graduate from and what is my qualification now? Haha.

No offence bro. Juz to share out here.

Added on June 29, 2008, 6:51 pm

Aiya, still get attacked.

I actually is under the group who are greatly oppose that CEO should have a greater benefit.
I personally agree that CEO should be the laz who takes benefits while the workers in the moz bottom line of company should get greater benefit.
This is under imbalance system in our country.

You is agree with those system that set-ed in our world.
But i'm the one who disagree with those unbalanced or unequal system.

Hehe. Seems like our profile crash.
Juz continue wif your point, it is valid as well. I always agree with all of the points given.
Yes, perhaps letting us know did u graduate from utar will help. wink.gif

On a side note, suggesting that the CEO should be the last to benefit is flawed. Our norm, no matter in our country or other country, is that the person on the top of the hierarchy will benefit more than those at the lower end. It also functions as a form of motivation for people to work to the top of a company, rather than stay at the bottom line. smile.gif

SuN_RaE198
post Jun 30 2008, 04:46 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jun 29 2008, 10:07 PM)
Mind to tell us the course you are joining ?

Added on June 30, 2008, 12:43 amI jz call my cousin bro and talk  with him. He was rejected by UTAR (they call him yesterday) and they only offer him a place in the Jan 2009 intake. He applied for Mechanical Engineering.
I happen to be in the FES faculty office today and saw a parent with a daughter trying to convince the officer to allow her to start this week but the officer explained to them that 5weeks have already passed. So they left with a dissapointed look and the daughter told her dad no choice, wait. Only thing is i didnt ask them what course is she applying for. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 5 2008, 11:02 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 5 2008, 10:27 PM)
since mphpopular keep bashing utar..and you all keep defending..
actually wat so good and great about utar?
im studying in utar..but i stil can't see anything that i can be proud of..
besides that, utar management is "not efficient"..
my experience..my orientation in utar for foundation at pj 2 years ago..
i lined up for more than 2 to 3 hours just to register..damn..
besides that, if i not mistake if u wanted organize event for your society
you need to pay for it..for a classroom, projector or lecturer hall
you need to pay for it....isn't kinda ridiculous??
sweat.gif have you ever organised anything for a society?

please do not use "if im not mistaken". as far as i know, utar does not charge rental on the facilities when it is used for society events, only need to reserve the room/equipment.

and about needing to line up for 2 or 3 hours, it is due to the inneficiency of your seniors who organised the orientation. tongue.gif so blame them.
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 6 2008, 07:17 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 5 2008, 11:48 PM)
i were in the commitee last bath..i kinda shock when i see the slip of it..
the charge made for those facilities..i duno if there were stil implementing this charges or not..
no document to support it..coz i just ajk that bath and i just glance through the slip and forget about it..

besides that, there are uncertainty in utar on kampar.
some lecturer said those study in utar kl going to shift to kampar for certain course..
but we duno whether we going or not...

why utar can't give us a officer annoucenment about whether the batch now studying in utar kl going to utar kampar or not?
i just giving comments..no offence....don't get me into trouble..tq
I dont think there is any difference among the faculties, unless things have changed very recently. I have been the chairperson and also other positions in the organizing committee, for orientation as well as other events, but i have never seen any charges for the facilities. smile.gif Hope this clears your doubt. The money spent for other stuff during this activities are usually claimable, within the limit given.

The courses will shift to Kampar after they have been accredited. You can actually ask the faculty office, they have a rough idea when the courses will be shifted.

QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 6 2008, 12:03 AM)
No worries. Healthy discussion bro.

Dont think there would be changes for Bioscience students, unless you are from the latest intake (May 08). As for Engineering course, there is a high chance that they will be shifted to Kampar in phases starting from 2010. But, seniors in FES (>Year 2) wont be shifted away most probably.

The campus we are in now (FES) actually belongs to KTAR. Haha.
According to a lecturer, Bioscience students who are currently in Y1S2 or Y2S1 will be shifted by next sem or the sem after.

SuN_RaE198
post Jul 6 2008, 12:17 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 6 2008, 12:06 PM)
bah..lecturer cannot be trusted..in my foundation i heard lecturer said my batch going to kampar..but ended in fes setapak..

yaya.hope they going to implement fast..coz really lifeless in utar...
the coco activities is so "dead"
currently which course/year are you in?

SuN_RaE198
post Jul 6 2008, 03:11 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 6 2008, 01:25 PM)
Universiti Tak Ada Rehat. Thats what you get. I wan co-co programme also. Wanna join swimming club  brows.gif
Weh. WTF. Y2S1 wor. My friend is in there wor ? You must be joking rite. Dont think so they will shift any of them yet la. Y1S1 maybe la. Those who stayed 2 sems or more in FES wont be shifted away I guess.

Anyway, if you have seen Kampar campus equipment, its awesome biggrin.gif
laugh.gif im not kidding. Dr Woo will be going to Kampar next sem, coz the juniors will be there. According to her, those in Y1S2 now and possibly Y2S1 will be shifted. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 6 2008, 03:34 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 6 2008, 03:24 PM)
lol..i listen 1st..

ohya..btw..utar department of finance.
why can't they accept resit bil by using cash?
because of their own convenient they wanted us to go to bank to get a bank draft or give the cheque..
why can't they do transaction using cash..just rm100..duh..
first they started with student bill that cannot be paid to the department of finance using cash. it can be forgiven because  is a huge amount.

but

resit bill..omg.. just rm100 they want to to travel here and there just to pay the bill/??

really hate it.. vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
laugh.gif u must have really bad luck. tongue.gif only resit they dont accept cash?

never paid for resit before, but other fees such as parking ( RM300 ), appeal (RM100), or exemption they allow us to pay using cash. biggrin.gif

the only thing that they dont accept cash is for the fees, which is understandable since its a few thousand bucks.
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 10 2008, 05:35 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 10 2008, 10:51 AM)
yea..the website did quite well..kinda impress because previously the website is so dull
wow! SRC...in setapak election they win easily to get their post. It is because nobody is voting in the lection.haha..
i think 1% out of all the setapak student voting.lol..
prehaps..its easy to get into src committee..??haha
by the way, SRC setapak plan to have some event soon..hope i can hear good news from them. They are organizing some sort of FES carnival..hm...
erm. if im not mistaken, there wasnt anyone who voted in setapak. smile.gif officially there were no challengers, so those who won, won uncontested.
getting into SRC isnt that hard, since they usually need people who are willing to sacrifice their time/energy, which not many people are willing to. they normally discourage those who join only for the name. whistling.gif

SuN_RaE198
post Jul 10 2008, 08:07 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(syjin @ Jul 10 2008, 06:20 PM)
anyone can tell me whether subjects we studied before in KTAR can be exempted in UTAR? because i checked the website already and all i got is LAN exemption results only... O_O
IINM, it should be possible. even from other uni, the lecturer will check through the sylabus to see whether an exemption is allowed. smile.gif coz sometimes the subject name is the same but the contents are not.
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 11 2008, 11:38 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 9 2008, 02:33 AM)
since parking fees alreadi taken rm300 and they accept cash..why not resit paper..pretty erhm.....

btw..i reconfirm..that the society need to pay for classroom and facilities if they wanted to use them...
i was in the comittee currently..and i its applying about playing for facilites for society..hm...
i snap a pic for the charges..but its not clear..>.<..can't post it..
I've actually checked out your claim that they have to pay for the facilities they used.
Sorry bout my earlier mistake, you were partially right, societies are supposed to pay for the use of rooms/lecture halls/other facilities. However, this money doesnt technically come out from their pocket, as UTAR credits a few hundred into their account for the use of this so called rental.

But from what i understand, this is only a plan, on paper, they budget for all those rental, but there isnt any official deduction or receipt or anything. Since ur in FES, mind sharing what society ur in, since you've seen the receipt before? If you dont want to reveal it here, can send me a PM. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 15 2008, 11:08 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(yukiz @ Jul 15 2008, 11:03 PM)
tell u d truth...its much easier to get d course u want in private uni... wink.gif
whistling.gif Biomedical Science isnt one of them. Its one of the toughest course to get into in FES. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 16 2008, 04:57 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(farmer @ Jul 16 2008, 10:09 AM)
Are you one of the BioMed students?

What are the numbers like normally? What are the requirements like?
No, not a biomed student, but biochem. The seniors are only a small number, like around 50 or 100, but the juniors are more, growing every semester. Requirements for STPM/A levels/Foundation? There's actually a biomed final year student around, see if he comes here. tongue.gif

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 16 2008, 12:56 PM)
wokay..took some time and ran through the thread. so far...i've read that FYP under dr. alan is not recommended while thumbs up for Dr. Woo...

anymore seniors are able to share more? hehee...am going to select the topics and have to submit them up in 2 weeks time. you know, the LA told us to select something which we are confident to score in..not something out of interest....so maybe i'll scrap cancer related titles by Dr. Ng and take some molecular related ones instead.

haha..why so is 'coz dr. ng's titles scare the heck out of me. due to my lack of knowledge, the titles don't make any sense to me...but whatever it is....i supposed i'll consult him before making any final decisions.

one thing for sure though is that i wouldn't take dr. wong's seaweeds related title...not my cuppa.

so seniors...time to share? LOL...thanks in advance.
and .. calling for akane! hehee...seems like you know a lot about utar eh? so i might as well ask ya...if there was any commemoration ball held before in FES utar?
no right? I have yet to hear of any (maybe i'm wrong)...because i would really love to plan one for the '09 graduates. (have you graduated already?)
any insights?
laugh.gif So this sem many are gona choose Dr Woo? She's very likely to "shoot" you if you dont know the basics or dont take the initiative to search before you ask. Mind me asking what course are you in? We'll be picking FYP titles as well. biggrin.gif
whistling.gif Molecular titles are also in high demand, so i guess really need to be in the lecturer's good books.
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 16 2008, 06:08 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(farmer @ Jul 16 2008, 06:05 PM)
Requirements for Diploma students. I have recently completed a Diploma in UPM.
sweat.gif sorry. i think they deal with this on a case by case basis. smile.gif they might let you in direct to year 2 if you meet their requirements though.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0433sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:31 AM