Maxis Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #2, 3G/3.5G Broadband
May 12 2010, 01:23 PM
312 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
hi all, i may subscribe to maxis broadband soon. but i got question in my mind. let say i choose rm98 monthly plan for 6gb quota, what happen after i finished up my quota? do i have to pay extra charge for additional usage or just my speed become slower? i've searched everwhere bout this matter, but getting confused, some says extra charge for additional usage, some say just lower the speed only. need opinion here. thx in advance
May 12 2010, 01:40 PM
3,140 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(acat @ May 12 2010, 01:23 PM) hi all, i may subscribe to maxis broadband soon. but i got question in my mind. let say i choose rm98 monthly plan for 6gb quota, what happen after i finished up my quota? do i have to pay extra charge for additional usage or just my speed become slower? i've searched everwhere bout this matter, but getting confused, some says extra charge for additional usage, some say just lower the speed only. need opinion here. thx in advance if u go thru the last few pages, u will find the answer... once you hit yr quota, your speed will be throttle by maxis... anyway, the speed after getting throttle is around 128kpbs. you won't be charge anything extra after you hit yr quota. hope this help |
May 12 2010, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 12 2010, 01:40 PM) if u go thru the last few pages, u will find the answer... thanks for d reply once you hit yr quota, your speed will be throttle by maxis... anyway, the speed after getting throttle is around 128kpbs. you won't be charge anything extra after you hit yr quota. hope this help i must be confused with maxis 3g broadband i want to subscribe digi broadband, but dont know my area (uniten kajang) got covered or not. but maxis broadband coverage in my place is superb only thing that matter to me now is 6gb quota provided by maxis. i'm not heavy downloader, but weekly i dload a few of my fav tv show. hope 6gb is enough |
May 12 2010, 02:02 PM
2,910 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: City A1 |
QUOTE(techie.opinion @ May 12 2010, 06:48 AM) cool ^^QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 12 2010, 10:58 AM) at least still can surf lowyat and those safe site... others than this, all illegal site such as youtube, prawn, chatting, etc all been blocked.. i thought IT department got the power to surf everything? ^^ They are the 1 who block other department from surfing certain web. totally no life working in MNC.. luckily got maxis bb to use whenever i need to access some blocked site.. QUOTE(acat @ May 12 2010, 01:50 PM) thanks for d reply Don't worry, even it's not enough you will just got throttled and still able to online ^^i must be confused with maxis 3g broadband i want to subscribe digi broadband, but dont know my area (uniten kajang) got covered or not. but maxis broadband coverage in my place is superb only thing that matter to me now is 6gb quota provided by maxis. i'm not heavy downloader, but weekly i dload a few of my fav tv show. hope 6gb is enough |
May 12 2010, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ May 12 2010, 02:02 PM) cool ^^ if small company, maybe IT ppl are the king as they control everything..i thought IT department got the power to surf everything? ^^ They are the 1 who block other department from surfing certain web. Don't worry, even it's not enough you will just got throttled and still able to online ^^ for big MNC company, we have proxy/firewall/etc to block those "illegal" sites. the speed is fast here as I'm able to download software/patches from HP site at ~300KBps but then cannot download mov/etc.. |
May 12 2010, 02:21 PM
661 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
WOW! You got damn fast connection at workplace... what package they subscribe wor...
QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 12 2010, 02:14 PM) |
May 12 2010, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ May 12 2010, 02:02 PM) cool ^^ i see. thx for explaining. is there a chance that i will not be throttled at all after finished up my quota? bcoz i read here some user didnt get throttled? i thought IT department got the power to surf everything? ^^ They are the 1 who block other department from surfing certain web. Don't worry, even it's not enough you will just got throttled and still able to online ^^ |
May 12 2010, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 12 2010, 02:14 PM) if small company, maybe IT ppl are the king as they control everything.. I see. But if someone pro enough to H**k it, maybe can pass the firewall .. for big MNC company, we have proxy/firewall/etc to block those "illegal" sites. the speed is fast here as I'm able to download software/patches from HP site at ~300KBps but then cannot download mov/etc.. QUOTE(acat @ May 12 2010, 02:21 PM) i see. thx for explaining. is there a chance that i will not be throttled at all after finished up my quota? bcoz i read here some user didnt get throttled? Well, they just got lucky, just pray that you get lucky as well ^^ |
May 12 2010, 02:28 PM
IT Department also divided to few sections.. so the section who take care the infra would have enjoy all the privilleges... heheheheh... even software development section would please this section to allow access for them... so here, professional ethics take place. There is always must be a reason when the company enforce limitation on accessibility... The problems arise when politics emerge at the workplace... so it was not professional anymore and create negative perspective among the colleague and it was not really good.
QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ May 12 2010, 02:02 PM) |
May 12 2010, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(techie.opinion @ May 12 2010, 02:28 PM) IT Department also divided to few sections.. so the section who take care the infra would have enjoy all the privilleges... heheheheh... even software development section would please this section to allow access for them... so here, professional ethics take place. There is always must be a reason when the company enforce limitation on accessibility... The problems arise when politics emerge at the workplace... so it was not professional anymore and create negative perspective among the colleague and it was not really good. I see. So does those IT section who take care the infra can download other stuff? |
May 12 2010, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(techie.opinion @ May 12 2010, 02:21 PM) our regional plant is in singapore and they subscribe the local ISP there.. we connect to the net using singapore proxy thru WAN.not sure what package they are using, but i think it shld be quite huge lor. Added on May 12, 2010, 2:58 pm QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ May 12 2010, 02:25 PM) I see. But if someone pro enough to H**k it, maybe can pass the firewall .. lol.. if u able to h**k it, i think they sure willing to hire you become the security consultant with super high pay..Well, they just got lucky, just pray that you get lucky as well ^^ we are talking about security of a corporate company, which is not that easy to get into. Added on May 12, 2010, 3:00 pm QUOTE(Eguy1314 @ May 12 2010, 02:44 PM) I see. So does those IT section who take care the infra can download other stuff? I'm from infra team as i'm taking care of unix servers.. but still, we are all blocked by the proxy.but then, we used to have a corporate 1mb steamyx line to use last time.. but now, they alrdy control the usage of it.. only can use during emergency time.. what a waste... 1mb line left unuse all the time.. This post has been edited by shadow111: May 12 2010, 03:00 PM |
May 12 2010, 03:27 PM
They company got tons of money... so it was peanut for them to pay the services....
QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 12 2010, 02:56 PM) our regional plant is in singapore and they subscribe the local ISP there.. we connect to the net using singapore proxy thru WAN. not sure what package they are using, but i think it shld be quite huge lor. Added on May 12, 2010, 2:58 pm lol.. if u able to h**k it, i think they sure willing to hire you become the security consultant with super high pay.. we are talking about security of a corporate company, which is not that easy to get into. Added on May 12, 2010, 3:00 pm I'm from infra team as i'm taking care of unix servers.. but still, we are all blocked by the proxy. but then, we used to have a corporate 1mb steamyx line to use last time.. but now, they alrdy control the usage of it.. only can use during emergency time.. what a waste... 1mb line left unuse all the time.. |
May 12 2010, 03:34 PM
May 12 2010, 03:59 PM
I had experiences working with MNCs between August 2008 till December 2009.. Such a great experience working with them, their mentality is great.. open minded.. humble and nothing to hide... I did fell dissapointed leaving the company.. but my policy not to look back... for now
QUOTE(shadow111 @ May 12 2010, 03:34 PM) |
May 12 2010, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(techie.opinion @ May 12 2010, 03:59 PM) I had experiences working with MNCs between August 2008 till December 2009.. Such a great experience working with them, their mentality is great.. open minded.. humble and nothing to hide... I did fell dissapointed leaving the company.. but my policy not to look back... for now guess u r lucky to work in such good MNC company b4 this..nowadays, most of the MNC sucks big time.. |
May 12 2010, 05:48 PM
2,954 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
May 12 2010, 06:14 PM
642 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kluang |
![]() This post has been edited by budingyun: May 12 2010, 06:15 PM |
May 12 2010, 06:34 PM
May 12 2010, 06:56 PM
1,232 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
May 12 2010, 07:00 PM
Oh ya, how come the whole lowyat theme changed im my google browser , it looked like the whole theme shrink, i can only see small profile picture other than the normal large user's profile picture >.<
| Change to: | 0.0349sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:33 AM |