OKLY
post Mar 3 2009, 12:43 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(yshear @ Mar 3 2009, 12:41 AM)
ehm...i heard that the U coverage is based on the celcom's coverage...it is true? correct me if i m wrong...

ps: i had tried the celcom broadband before and its suck in my area. Now sticking with digi edge and very satisfy with its stable connection. plan to upgrade to digi 3g but at this moment it is not affordable for me since i m still a student....
As far as I know, it will only roam with Celcom if that particular area is not covered by them (also subject to Celcom's coverage).
lelynx
post Mar 3 2009, 03:58 AM

838 posts

for 3G broadband, it will not roam to Celcom
it's only applicable for call service only, not data service (3G broadband)
9M-MAS
post Mar 3 2009, 07:31 AM

1,422 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Mar 3 2009, 03:58 AM)
True - U! owns its 3G network.
OKLY
post Mar 3 2009, 09:45 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Mar 3 2009, 03:58 AM)
QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Mar 3 2009, 07:31 AM)
True - U! owns its 3G network.
It doesn't roam with Celcom for data? I read somewhere before that it will but maybe that information was false then. hmm.gif
lelynx
post Mar 3 2009, 10:40 AM

838 posts

trust me... it will not roam to Celcom for data
only call service will roam to Celcom

yshear
post Mar 3 2009, 04:25 PM

67 posts

i heard those celcom broadband agent also said that U 3g will roam to Celcom for data too...

realcheraz
post Mar 3 2009, 05:02 PM

452 posts

nope. U roam in celcom only for CS in 2G,not PS for both 2G & 3G. tested in my hometown,kelantan. no U 3g there..why?coz u only got 3G licence,they dun hv 2g licence.
digilife
post Mar 3 2009, 05:05 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Mar 3 2009, 10:40 AM)
trust me... it will not roam to Celcom for data
only call service will roam to Celcom
i fully seconded tat
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

U-Mobile hav its 3G base station for Video calls and Data transmission. Now only Klang Valley, Sban and Ipoh hav ithis service, other places even Penang and Johore only roam on Celcom 2G for Voice only service

lelynx
post Mar 3 2009, 05:15 PM

838 posts

if someone is claiming that UM Data Service will roam to Celcom when there is no UM 3G coverage, can ask them to talk to me or digilife... biggrin.gif
we hantam them teruk-teruk here... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lelynx: Mar 3 2009, 05:17 PM
digilife
post Mar 3 2009, 05:29 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Mar 3 2009, 05:15 PM)
if someone is claiming that UM Data Service will roam to Celcom when there is no UM 3G coverage, can ask them to talk to me or digilife... biggrin.gif
we hantam them teruk-teruk here... tongue.gif
haha, we U users not as violent as those ppl in uniform tat beat a detaine till death de biggrin.gif

On U-Mobile, either u hav 3G/HSDPA or 2G roam on Celcom . the good thing abt U's 3G is tat video call is billed the same as a voice call to all operators........0.008 cent / sec / block...try maxis or celcom and u bleed $$$$

This post has been edited by digilife: Mar 3 2009, 05:31 PM
sordanny
post Mar 4 2009, 11:08 AM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Mar 3 2009, 05:29 PM)
haha, we U users not as violent as those ppl in uniform  tat beat a detaine till death de biggrin.gif

On U-Mobile, either u hav 3G/HSDPA or 2G roam on Celcom . the good thing abt U's 3G is tat video call is billed the same as a voice call to all operators........0.008 cent / sec / block...try maxis or celcom and u bleed $$$$
wow that's cheap video call drool.gif
btw, rate is for only U-U video calls or to any operators????
digilife
post Mar 4 2009, 11:19 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Mar 4 2009, 11:08 AM)
wow that's cheap video call  drool.gif
btw, rate is for only U-U video calls or to any operators????
its U to all
actally its rm0.48/mins but calculated at one sec per block and Maxis one block is 60 seconds mad.gif
Massa
post Mar 4 2009, 11:32 AM

Massaâ„¢
709 posts

Sorry.
My bad.
Wrong thread. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Massa: Mar 4 2009, 11:33 AM
sordanny
post Mar 4 2009, 01:49 PM

3,009 posts

want to ask a question, say if i buy a hsdpa modem for u mobile
then later on if i wanna change to digi i need to install new software??????
cuz i asked from a shop yesterday, according to seller he selling huawei e220 flashed
then he will need to know which operator i'll be using to install the software on my laptop
said he'll charge rm100 for each software upgrade.....

Digi:
QUOTE(shinjite @ Mar 4 2009, 01:03 PM)
My fastest I got was 6.1mbps while downloading torrent~~
avg around 5 mbps++
thumbup.gif
saw celcom speed yesterday.....
normal downloading only can get 30-40k.....
doh.gif
lelynx
post Mar 4 2009, 03:31 PM

838 posts

then u opt to post your question in Digi thread then...
as u like the Digi speed so much? biggrin.gif
sordanny
post Mar 4 2009, 03:53 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(lelynx @ Mar 4 2009, 03:31 PM)
then u opt to post your question in Digi thread then...
as u like the Digi speed so much? biggrin.gif
yes i do like the digi speed, who doesn't......
but their service is still not fully launched yet cry.gif
so i'm subscribing u mobile data package to use first laugh.gif
since it doesn't have any binding contract (and cancellation charges) & doesn't require to register a postpaid line thumbup.gif
but their sales person at sunway pyramid is REALLY DUMB!!!! Doesn't even know that a phone can be used as a modem doh.gif
lelynx
post Mar 4 2009, 04:16 PM

838 posts

just buy urself a flashed usb modem...
the setting with UM or DG is almost the same...
most likely it's just the APN and dialed no is different only...

one thing about DG is that it's still new
u will not know if they are giving the same speed after 1-2 months later when more ppl are using it later

This post has been edited by lelynx: Mar 4 2009, 04:16 PM
digilife
post Mar 4 2009, 08:21 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Mar 4 2009, 03:53 PM)
yes i do like the digi speed, who doesn't......
but their service is still not fully launched yet  cry.gif
so i'm subscribing u mobile data package to use first  laugh.gif
since it doesn't have any binding contract (and cancellation charges) & doesn't require to register a postpaid line  thumbup.gif
but their sales person at sunway pyramid is REALLY DUMB!!!! Doesn't even know that a phone can be used as a modem  doh.gif
pardon me first, tongue.gif

i think u are dummer cause if it is a data only Usim, once u slot it into a fon, it will shows " sim card registration failed "

mine is exactly like tat thumbup.gif
yshear
post Mar 5 2009, 05:55 PM

67 posts

hi guys, wanna ask...U 3g can torrent?
lelynx
post Mar 5 2009, 06:08 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(yshear @ Mar 5 2009, 05:55 PM)
hi guys, wanna ask...U 3g can torrent?