Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

DarkNite
post Jul 25 2010, 07:20 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(warpig @ Jul 24 2010, 08:31 PM)
ya near berjaya hotel opposite it has 2 hawker center, one u can eat kuey chiap, another one got tasty apung using charcoal, somesay loh mee there is famous. u can walk to gurney, it is so near.
Not directly opposite la. You have to walk, towards Town, about 10 minutes to reach that coffeeshop at the corner of Lrg Kucing and Jln Burma. It operates morning till lunch only. Beside the famous stuff you mention it is famous for Roti Babi. This is the only place in whole of Penang to eat that roti babi. thumbup.gif
DarkNite
post Jul 28 2010, 09:11 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jul 28 2010, 06:41 AM)
hi guys,

need help to look for 3 stars to 4 stars hotel with bigger bed size for twin bed which may be queen bed.
many of the hotel website don't have the image and information. which hotel have bigger bedroom and with queen bed as twin bed room?

hmm.gif 2 queen-size bed?
FYI,
I have tried before to get room with 2 queen-size bed but dun think have in Penang or KL.
In the end I have no choice but to take a junior suite.

Added on July 28, 2010, 9:11 am
QUOTE(king99 @ Jul 27 2010, 09:06 PM)
Can anyone recommend me a place to stay for 4 day 3 nights ? Around 10 ppl..preferable a condo/apartment rental

Thx =)
Any location?

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Jul 28 2010, 09:11 AM
DarkNite
post Jul 30 2010, 01:26 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jul 30 2010, 11:40 AM)
What hotel is best in terms of location and price?
Hotel Budget: Not more than RM180 per night.

Do they have a car for them drive around?
Near beach or near town?
DarkNite
post Jul 30 2010, 02:32 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Jul 30 2010, 01:35 PM)
Don't have car. They travel by air to Penang.

Prefer near town where shopping, food and some sight-seeing not far.

Is Citidel Penang okay?
I guess CitiTEL is ok for them. Near to shopping and if they can walk, next to the Heritage Trail.
And other place is the one in New Lane is Sunway Hotel but i forgot how much already.
DarkNite
post Aug 6 2010, 08:45 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(NicJolin @ Aug 5 2010, 10:19 PM)
Planning for a 3 days trip to penang during Oct to Dec. Preferably weekdays. Any suggestion of hotel for around 5 pax? Average is enough.
Have own car transport or not. Wan beach or not?
Average Low budget backpackers hotel or wat?
Nov to Dec is peak season. Traffic jam!

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Aug 6 2010, 08:45 AM
DarkNite
post Aug 6 2010, 03:22 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(NicJolin @ Aug 6 2010, 03:06 PM)
Car - Yes

Beach - Yes or No

Intermediate budget, not too much not too little I guess. No need exclusive 5 star hotels, but at least not a hooker hotel

Oct to Dec~
Beach - Yes or No??? In that case you can try Tanjung Bungah Beach hotel which is the nearest Beach hotel to Town, since you have car transport already.

You can also try Cititel or Sunway Georgetown, if not beach hotel.

Try Google and see which one is the most suitable location.
DarkNite
post Aug 10 2010, 08:01 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Aug 10 2010, 03:13 PM)
Digi got beach party this saturday!
anyone going?
Really? Where and wat time? Wat is the highlight?
DarkNite
post Aug 11 2010, 02:34 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Nosense @ Aug 11 2010, 01:24 PM)
Thanks rayfoo. I did tried the sunway hotel but is fully booked on the 10th Sept.
I had stayed in Traders hotel before last year.  If I can recall, there is not much food near there at night, but I am afraid Evergreen will be worst.
I guess you have to take Traders then and walk to New Lane Night hawker stalls.
It is easier and lot shorter then walking from Evergreen to end of Gurney Drive at Gurney Plaza end.
DarkNite
post Aug 12 2010, 04:56 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Aug 10 2010, 03:13 PM)
Digi got beach party this saturday!
anyone going?
Are you inviting me to go? brows.gif Very long time I haven't been to QEII @ Pengkalan Weld.
DarkNite
post Sep 4 2010, 01:47 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(metsatsu @ Sep 4 2010, 12:23 PM)
dunno whether if you're still keeping track of this thread. Dinner time, this is a must place to go.
http://buzzingbee.blogsome.com/2010/01/05/...-paya-terubong/]Kuta Bali[/URL]

Guys... have u guys noticed...? throughout the past few years, I have noticed that all the good Ramen (jap/chinese) restaurants in Penang Island have all closed or moved. WHAT'S WITH THE TREND EH???
Err...which good Ramen (jap/chinese) restaurants in Penang Island have all closed or moved?
DarkNite
post Sep 7 2010, 08:45 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Sep 7 2010, 08:10 AM)
night market issit the one outside hard rock hotel?
do u have flea markets in penang?
What is your meaning/idea of flea market?

Anyway, look up Lorong Kulit but I dun support buying stolen goods.
DarkNite
post Sep 11 2010, 06:07 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Sep 7 2010, 11:28 AM)
....You may eat at the Long Beach hawker centre if around there, would recommend the Hainanese styled popiah there.

Please go before 6.30pm, if not, you may not get to eat the Hainanese styled popiah.
DarkNite
post Sep 14 2010, 09:54 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Sep 14 2010, 01:54 AM)
Guys, i'm thinking want to continue my cuti raya and bring my family to Penang. Any idea which hotel, place and food are the best? Maybe this trip will be around 3 days only.

In my list :-
Bro, I'm not sure what you have in mind but I'll try...
- Hard Rock Hotel situated along the famous beaches of Batu Ferringhi, has excellent facilities for you(internet) and your family - missus and kid. And from there it is a short distance to your 'Tempat-Tempat Menarik Untuk Dilawati'
2. Hutan Lipur Teluk Bahang/ Butterfly& Insect Farm
3. Tropical Fruits Farms
7. Taman Negara Pulau Pinang
At nite you can stroll along the numerous street stalls
Checkout their website.

'Tempat-Tempat Makan Yang Sedap' list looks good except Tari cafe. Not so good any more. For more additions to your list check out the places in green on this thread >> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1550843 especially the Nasi Kandar
If you like beef you can plan for a dinner at Hameediyah Restaurant, 164-A Campbell Street, Off Penang Road. Do go before 6pm and be warn finding parking is very difficult. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Sep 14 2010, 09:55 AM
DarkNite
post Sep 14 2010, 11:37 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ataris @ Sep 14 2010, 10:04 AM)
whats the average rate for a night in Hard Rock Hotel @ Penang ?
Here is their contact for the rates and availibilty of rooms.
+604 8811 711
DarkNite
post Sep 14 2010, 12:38 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Sep 14 2010, 12:25 PM)
Any hotel can recommend below RM200 per night?
Below RM200 dun think have good internet or family facilities or near the Batu Ferringhi beach.... sad.gif
There are 3 places, but at below RM200 per night Batu Ferringhi is out that leaves either Tanjung Bungah or Town. Roughly where would you like to stay?

DarkNite
post Sep 14 2010, 01:27 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Sep 14 2010, 01:06 PM)
Depend on situation....prefer easy to get food...halal...because i will drive my own car from KL..
In that case, you stay in Cititel, cos these food places are within walking distance
4. Sup Hameed (nearest Cititel hotel)

Nasi Kandar
(1 Star) Merlin Hotel, Penang Street/Union Street
Line Clear, Penang Road/Chulia Street junction
Next to Kapitan Kling Mosque (also Dato Lat's favourite)

ROTI CANAI/MURTABAK
Hameediah Restaurant, Campbell Street, off Penang Road

Behind on Transfer Road (which is one way) there is a old hotel - International Hotel (err..not for stay but makan). Below which is a kopitiam that sells very popular Nasi Padang. Go there before 12noon or else very long queue.

Use google map and plan your routes and stops.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Sep 14 2010, 01:29 PM
DarkNite
post Sep 15 2010, 05:59 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Bro, hope not too late. Compromised, try Tanjung Beach Hotel in between Batu Feringgi and Town.
DarkNite
post Sep 16 2010, 08:30 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Sep 15 2010, 09:51 PM)
Already too late...now i'm just check in at Cititel...not bad this hotel......i'm getting at 18th floor....easy to access food especially nasi kandar...

Now just comeback from Yasmeen Nasi Kandar and thinking to planning where to going tomorrow. hmm.gif

1st time arrived at Penang around 7pm and i'm lost to going hotel..... laugh.gif

Now want to sleep after dinner and maybe try visit interesting place at here tomorrow...

darknite...tq for assist me... thumbup.gif
Lost? NO GPS? blink.gif

Today is a public holiday. Take a drive to Teluk Bahang for picnic by the beach at Taman Negara or by the river at Taman Rimba. Taman Rimba is 1st exit and Taman Negara is 2nd exit at the Teluk Bahang round about.
On the way there you can stop for breakfast at Sri Ananda Bahwan which is directly opposite Paradise Sandy Beach Hotel. Further down you'll pass the famous masjid Terapung on your right. You can visit it on your way back to town.

Forgot Butterfly/Insect Farm is also there.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Sep 16 2010, 08:31 AM
DarkNite
post Sep 16 2010, 11:42 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Sep 16 2010, 10:24 AM)
- nasi kandar Line Clear
No problemo, bro. Harap you & family enjoy Penang aje.
Nasi Kandar Line clear - just make sure you buy from the side lane one and not the front shop. Front shop is not Line Clear.
DarkNite
post Oct 26 2010, 07:59 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 25 2010, 07:39 PM)
Booked my favorite hotel along Bt Feringghi for Deepavali weekend. Hoping the same as before it was renovated 1-2 years ago. Anyone have update on Penang Hill train service already open?

update on Penang Hill train service already open?
Last time I read about it, it says they only start on January 2011.
Here I found the news link >> http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?sec=n.../20101006185057

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:57 AM