Gandum V6, ガンダム (Gandamu)

StarGhazzer
post Apr 2 2008, 04:57 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Damn it, it's going overboard guys...

wolfx and quazacolt... I have no idea why both of you cannot accept redeye's and even my views about 00's weak points, even though both of you may enjoy that show. It's not as if we are critising it for the sake of bashing nor are we critising it because it was a totally horrible wreck; it's just that 00 is NOT a perfect anime as you guys might think. In fact, we did mention about 00's strong points too. Credit will be given when due, same as criticisms.

You guys have your perceptions about 00, we have ours. As long as we have made our stand clear that will be enough, no one is going to change the others' minds so why go on and on countering each and every sentence? If you think redeye's review is too negative so be it, he has his reasons for stating so and they are not meaningless reasons.

Not that I'm being overly personal or anything, and my regrets if they sound so as it was never intended as such; but maybe it's time to remove 00 from that holy pedestal. There will be pros and cons comments, there's no need to counter every part as long as it makes sense. After all, no one person thinks alike in everything.

Maybe you guys can come up with your own reviews and share your thoughts, not only on 00 but also other series. After all this is a generalised gundam thread, not limited to 00 anyway.

Peace be with us all.
Or suffer a colony drop. tongue.gif

Oh well, remember the fake Belthorchika Anime poster? Here's a Unicorn version of it, albeit not as well made.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 2 2008, 04:59 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 2 2008, 05:44 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 2 2008, 05:28 PM)
Then what's the point of debates/parliaments/protests/wars if everyone can accept everyone's views? laugh.gif

Anyway I accepted everyone's views on pros and cons but not agree with the way the series was critiqued.

To put it bluntly, try putting that "review" out on a credible review site like rottentomatoes.com. Nobody, not even the people who dislike gundam 00 will accept it. In other words, you don't review a John Woo movie the same way you would review a Stanley Kubrick movie. And over here was a reviewer that expected Stanley Kubrick but he was instead given a John Woo.

The only pedestal that i put 00 on was its the best AU series to date. I didn't say its the greatest anime evar yet.
Even rotten tomatoes have polarising comments too for every movie, so that's not a good example. I read both good and bad reviews on rottentomatoes regarding movies that I've watched, then I make my own judgment on it no matter people agree or not with me. I don't expect everyone to have the same wavelength as I do anyway; we're all different individuals with different perspectives.

You may enjoy your gundams as an action flick, we may want something more serious. Or the other way round, it doesn't matter. For you it may be the best AU, I disagree yet I can respect that.

Anyway, my point is that we all have our own reasons of liking/disliking 00 and seriously this issue is not going to end. So why bother keeping the debate on and on and on? Let's stop the endless pages of counter-posting shall we? There's so much more in Gundam to be discussed and shared about.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 2 2008, 07:04 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 2 2008, 06:00 PM)
Cuz its fun as long as ppl dun get emo and hurt in the process. biggrin.gif

Anyway what's the best AU in your opinion then for curiosity's sake? Turn A seems to be people's other favourite AU show. Then few pages back I read that Turn A is UC or something.... laugh.gif
Well, as long as people don't get emotional I'm ok with it. It's just that it's getting boring if there were endless pages of nonstop verbal melee which wouldn't come to a conclusion.

I haven't seen all AU series (yet to watch G and Turn A) to make a justified comment, all I can say is that they have their own pros and cons.
GW:
pros = dark twist of plot, good elaboration of story, serious atmosphere... no nonsensical comical relief
cons = free frags + plot armour

EW:
pros = good toy commercial tongue.gif
cons = free frags, toy commercial it surely is doh.gif

GX:
pros = great concept about a post-apocalyptic world, useful grunts
cons = baddie of the week in mid series, plot armour, weird baddies in the form of the Frost brothers

Seed, GSD, and 00 I've made my point clear, so no need to repeat them.

To be honest I don't have a favourite AU as I side more with UC, but if I had to choose I'd reluctantly choose GW because of the intense storyline.
My favourite series in all Gundams.. All of them are good and bad in their own way; nevertheless for me the one with the least flaws would be 0080. Yes, not everyone's favourite... but it has the best flow.

CCA is pretty high up on my list but too bad they made the Nu too strong and the Sazabi a wimp.
F91 COULD have been good, if only they hadn't cramped everything into a 1.5 hour movie and skipping all the character development. The detailed art and action makes up for it though tongue.gif

StarGhazzer
post Apr 2 2008, 08:32 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

I'm not exactly a great fanatic of GW to be honest, Wing fanboy I sure am not. It's just that I appreciate it more than other AUs, that's all. In fact I dread the cons of GWs very much as mentioned umpteen times in the past so I don't have to repeat it again.

wolfx, you don't need to comment on my preference of W over 00, you won't change my mind while I won't change yours either tongue.gif rclxm9.gif

Meh... UC is still relatively better since it has a much better expanded timeline and background history. Yeah yeah it does have its flaws, nobody's disagreeing with that.

Turn A's concept is quite good actually and their explanation for connecting all universes together is acceptable for me. The uprise and downfall of a civilisation, followed by the dawn of the following one which represents another "gundam universe". I must get my hands on Turn A one of these days...
StarGhazzer
post Apr 3 2008, 04:03 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 2 2008, 10:10 PM)
well, i dont have any idea (to be honest i probably do but ill keep it to myself) why both you (well not really you, just redeye at this point) cannot accept me and/or wolf, or even the other gundam 00 fans/viewer's views about gundam 00's strong points, or rather, "correction" of what has been pointed wrong of said weak points. see the similiarities here?

again, dont get me wrong, im not really into outright critisizing red's critics either. im more towards pointing out whats been "wrongly critisized", if you will. no one's really changing anyone's minds, well, perhaps there is but im not gonna go into that either.

honestly speaking though, arent you the one trying to change our minds with a claim like: "but maybe it's time to remove 00 from that holy pedestal", why not removing uc from that said holy pedestial? see where this is getting to?
You're just twisting my post around, be a little bit more creative will you? tongue.gif

What I meant by holy pedestal is that you seem to attempt to correct every line about 00's cons, and seldom we see you acknowledge them. I never put UC on that high ground anyway, you just assumed it. I merely said I prefer UC over AU but of course go ahead and criticise UC as long as you can back it with facts, they too have their own fair share of criticisms.

Bah, never mind. Like jhcj said, let's just watch the show and buy gunplas instead.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 3 2008, 07:40 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 3 2008, 06:40 PM)
I'm one of those modellers who cant paint for nuts either, so mine are all OOB (out-of-box) kits with panel lining only. XD
Your kits are nicely built even without painting, so yeah.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 3 2008, 06:46 PM)
[OT]
whats panel lining lol >_<
[/OT]
Head over to the modelling techniques thread. Come on, it's PINNED UP already... won't hurt to spend some time and read the tutorials over there.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/488910

The Gunpla thread is good tongue.gif
You'll only get ignored or flamed if you ask noobie questions which already has answers provided in the pinned threads. rclxm9.gif

Welcome to the world of gunpla where it sucks your money faster than anything else.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 5 2008, 02:23 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 4 2008, 11:52 PM)
Dont worry I keep the thread bumping..

Gundam Thread doesnt need hype or new anime to keep it going..!!!!
We can always bomb this thread with gundam related pictures, like how we used to do before the airing of 00.

And of course, the discussions about technology, story-line, politics, philosophies of various gundam series...

StarGhazzer
post Apr 5 2008, 02:50 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Apr 5 2008, 02:30 PM)
swtness...True also... biggrin.gif...Need to look for the first batch gundam series...Almost watched all already tongue.gif
First batch gundam? 0079? Oh yeah... welcome to the Bright side tongue.gif

And I LOL'ed at this picture. It's just so damn funny for no reason.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 6 2008, 03:29 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 6 2008, 10:01 AM)
i stil interested wif unicorn
'
StarGhazzer can share some?

coz i haven;t print out n read
I haven't read the novel either, only glimpsed through them in small parts. Whatever I know about the story and the mechanics have already been mentioned before, so check back the old posts tongue.gif

You can find the translated versions here. It's going to kill your eyes by reading it online, while killing your bandwidth by loading all the pages.
http://photo.163.com/photos/led2989/
StarGhazzer
post Apr 8 2008, 05:53 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Where the heck is everybody? dry.gif

Found something interesting from 4chan. The REAL size of the Sazabi tongue.gif

hehe... animation error I reckon.

And I seriously think the new artist for Unicorn is not as good as the original one. dry.gif
Nice colours though....

Purupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupurupuru !!!

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 8 2008, 05:56 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 8 2008, 08:15 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Apr 8 2008, 06:11 PM)
so tat gal u show is puru clones!

opss just found tat some one got sell Haro!
http://afhobby.com/afhobby/bbs/viewthread....&extra=page%3D1
this is a local shop!
Yeah... Marida = Ple 12.

Jumbo Grade Zeta = RM850... sweat.gif
With that amount of money I could get myself an ARMY of Zeta Gundams. doh.gif
StarGhazzer
post Apr 9 2008, 09:27 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

DUH... thread really dead... unlike the time when 00 was still on air, the posts snowball so fast that I can't even read them quick enough.

Found more interesting stuff:

Anaheim newspaper? tongue.gif
Anyone remember Franchesa? Cookie for anyone who knows where it is.

Found a sketch of the proposed lineart of Alex's bazooka. Looks like it didn't make it to the gunpla, let alone the anime.

Finally... HE IS A CHAR.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 10 2008, 03:43 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 9 2008, 09:29 PM)
this thread shall revive when celestial being comes again
Please don't quote the pictures... it blows up the page.

Remove [img] tags or at least spoiler them... spare a thought for people using slowmoe internet, ya?

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 10 2008, 12:22 PM)
Ahh yess... Franchesa Its a Holiday Resort Colony in side6. Bernie intended to go to escape from the "Zeon Nuke Blast" but fortunately He met someone who look like Chris.

She talked about Franchesa like a running away from problem which insipre Bernie to comeback to fight.
rclxms.gif

Here you go.

We should have more gundam quiz during this period where there's no anime running.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 10 2008, 03:44 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 10 2008, 05:35 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 10 2008, 03:54 PM)
Name all the G.U.N.D.A.M acronyms and you'll get two cookies.
Ok, I cheated with google. Hence you can save the cookies.

Who the heck memories all those nonsensical acronyms anyway? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Foxngn @ Apr 10 2008, 04:21 PM)
oic... still works the same.
Zeon flag, i think one of the forum member here got at his room, but forgot who he is oredi
I think vince has one in his "gundam museum"... biggrin.gif
StarGhazzer
post Apr 10 2008, 08:56 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(wolfx @ Apr 10 2008, 06:01 PM)
I thought you do since you are uber Gundam fan.  icon_idea.gif

Of all those, i think this made the least sense. GUNDAM Gigantic Unilateral Numerous Dominating Ammunition .....

Lol wtf? Gundam is a missile/ammunition?
rclxub.gif

Where's this from anyway. laugh.gif
Not that crazy to remember all those weird long names which doesn't make sense tongue.gif

Those "unilateral" stuff is really absurd. Unilateral... so you only pilot one side of the gundam? doh.gif

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 10 2008, 06:46 PM)
Alright here a good quiz..

What does "RGM" stands for??

win this and get a free internet
WTF more acronyms?

GM=Gundam Mass Production Type, but not sure what the "RGM" stands for... Do they actually have a name for that? doh.gif The MG manual didn't have it IIRC.

Refined Gundam Mass Production type? dry.gif

Even RX78's "X" I'm not exactly sure... I recall seeing it being interpreted as "eXperimental" but don't quote me on that as I have no sources to confirm.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 11 2008, 06:01 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Apr 11 2008, 02:09 AM)
Then what about gundam seed acronym? GAT, ZGMF?..
Google says: ZGMF = Zero-Gravity Maneuver Fighter, not sure about GAT-X.

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Apr 11 2008, 12:03 AM)
Transformable mecha compared:
Easy win for Zeta:
user posted imageuser posted image

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:39 AM)
Most of you gotten GM right but no one gotten "R"..

R stands for Renpou. As Renpou in japanese means Earth Federation.
So RGM stand for
Earth Federation Gundam Mass Produce.. If you observe every MS made by EF has R infront.

The X in Rx-78 represent prototype.

MSN010- MS is used by Zeon just like Zaku is MS-06. MSN is created as N represent Neo as in Neo Zeon.

MS-06- Mobile Suit label for Zaku
Hm... Renpou... never thought of that.
Unicorn = RX-0 but it's not made for EF, in fact it's maded by Anaheim for Vist Foundation.

The N in MSN not necessarily refers to Neo Zeon.
In ZZ most of the Neo Zeon suits have code names which start with A instead.

From what I know, the N stands for Newtype use MS from Zeon. Sazabi and Jagd Doga start with MSN, even the earlier Zeonic newtype use MAs has the N name in them, eg:
MSN-02 Zeong
MAN-03 Braw Bro
MAN-08 Elmeth

Then again, the only odd one out is MSN-00100 Hyaku Shiki... Oh well, it's CHAR so he can put any name he wants. doh.gif

New question, this should be damn easy:

Name 3 characters in any gundam series with an eyepatch.

StarGhazzer
post Apr 11 2008, 03:14 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 11 2008, 11:48 AM)
Mash From Black Tri Star
Andrew Bar From Gundam Seed
Sato From Gundam Seed Destiny..

I think there somemore but i cant remember..
Who's Sato? Can't remember from GSD... Ginn pilot?

Since you got 3 so you get to ask the next question...

But yeah, Hilda the DOM pilot was another fella with eyepatch.
And of course, Zabine from F91. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kyon22 @ Apr 11 2008, 11:58 AM)
lockon stratos....
2 more... tongue.gif

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Apr 11 2008, 03:09 PM)
ya... i think gundam should avoid transformation and gattai. most of them doesnt make much sense! (due to the blockiness of gundam, it is hard to transform into a decent looking plane)

most geass mecha are ugly doh.gif
Well Zeta and the Z Plus variants looked really streamlined and plane-like.

I agree that the Geass mechas are ugly, but that's the recent trend of mecha designs... doh.gif
StarGhazzer
post Apr 11 2008, 08:41 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 11 2008, 08:02 PM)
question

New gundam, Gundam Unicorn, XI gundam, which one stronger?

another one here

Gundam X, Wing gundam, G gundam, Strike gundam, Turn A gundam
which one is strongest n which one is the weakest? without thinking of noob pilots

Walaoeh... how to compare different universe gundams? If really want to compare, Turn A is the strongest of them all since the Moonlight butterfly wiped out modern civilisation.

First question also cannot answer since we don't know the full capabilities of the Unicorn yet. All we have are performance stats, but with the full pyschoframe it can possibly move the sun.

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 11 2008, 05:51 PM)
Here a easy question for you all..

Name me all the MS pilot by Char that isnt red
Zeong = blue/grey
MKII Titans = blue (this doesn't count tongue.gif)
Hyaku Shiki = bling bling

Speaking of which, remember Zero The R from CDA? It's red too laugh.gif

Since I'm doing my orthopaedic rotation now, here's something fun.

Name the broken limbs (left? right? arm? leg?) of the following characters:
Lt. Burning (0083)
Kelly-san (0083)
Shiro (08th MST)
Andrew Wartfield (GS, GSD)
Louise (00) Too easy tongue.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 11 2008, 08:41 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 11 2008, 09:20 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(redeye84 @ Apr 11 2008, 08:57 PM)
Lt Burning is right leg
Kelly is left hand
Shiro is right leg
Andrew.. right hand i think, Cos i saw it shooting bullet in 1 episode
Louise  is right hand

I cant see If they can make Litchy a half cyborg then why not just make a replica bionic hand for louise.. Just like Luke in Starwars.

Char did piloted the MkII Gundam.. Didnt u see Gundam Evolve episode 2

Answers for the orthopaedic questions:

Evolve is not supposed to be canon, that's why I said it doesn't count tongue.gif

More questions:
List 3 (or more) characters who died of decapitation.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Apr 11 2008, 09:21 PM
StarGhazzer
post Apr 11 2008, 09:45 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 11 2008, 09:43 PM)
SD gundam G Generation~

char got what story o?
eh, answer questions biggrin.gif tongue.gif

What does SD G generation gotta do with those? rclxub.gif

Char tested out the MKII in evolve IIRC, but it was mainly Kamille who was doing the test flight and data analysis.
And seriously any Char fan should read CDA if available... the artwork ROCKS while Char kicks ass in the story.

Of course, there's the cute 14-year old Haman wub.gif

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0466sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:54 PM