QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 4 2010, 03:41 PM)
It could also mean the products are inferior despite the brand name.QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 03:45 PM)
Ohh... who didn't see that coming? This post has been edited by spanker: Jan 4 2010, 03:47 PM
chinese ed gf vs english ed gf, let the debates begin lulz
Jan 4 2010, 03:46 PM
7,606 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Subang |
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 4 2010, 03:41 PM) It could also mean the products are inferior despite the brand name.QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 03:45 PM) Ohh... who didn't see that coming? This post has been edited by spanker: Jan 4 2010, 03:47 PM |
Jan 4 2010, 09:18 PM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
oh look at the silly goose fall over herself trying to justify her materialistic-ness and insist that it's a compliment/"I'm not offended". I've seen enough of what debbie says (or attempts to say with her awful English) to know that most of what she says doesn't make sense.
Jan 4 2010, 09:49 PM
4,458 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 03:45 PM) Ahh... I know you are going to say this. So I will reply this way: I'm stupid, but not as stupid as you, at least I am working hard to improve my lifestyle. QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jan 4 2010, 09:18 PM) oh look at the silly goose fall over herself trying to justify her materialistic-ness and insist that it's a compliment/"I'm not offended". I've seen enough of what debbie says (or attempts to say with her awful English) to know that most of what she says doesn't make sense. Oh... my English is awful, eh? I see.... Ok, thanks for your comment again. I will work hard on it...So is it as awful as your cantonese/mandarin? Of course you don't get what I say, you are still a young girl living under parents' shelter. You know nuts about money management, and of course you do not know the reason why people pursue better quality stuffs. |
Jan 4 2010, 09:50 PM
Jan 4 2010, 10:00 PM
1,890 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 4 2010, 09:49 AM) Ahh... I know you are going to say this. So I will reply this way: I don't speak mandarin and my intonation for cantonese isn't good ... but I don't go around using it and saying that it's good when I know it isn't. I'm living on my own, attending university and doing things for myself - so what if it's my parents' money? I still have to manage it because it's not an endless supply. I know why people pursue branded items - STATUS. I would also know this because my mother and brother are brand-conscious people.I'm stupid, but not as stupid as you, at least I am working hard to improve my lifestyle. Oh... my English is awful, eh? I see.... Ok, thanks for your comment again. I will work hard on it... So is it as awful as your cantonese/mandarin? Of course you don't get what I say, you are still a young girl living under parents' shelter. You know nuts about money management, and of course you do not know the reason why people pursue better quality stuffs. Why don't you just ever quit while you still have a little bit of dignity? |
Jan 4 2010, 10:24 PM
489 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Malacca || Cyberjaya |
I don't see the problem with buying branded stuff. If you got money buy la, if no money then just buy the best quality ur budget can buy.
Jan 4 2010, 10:26 PM
429 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 4 2010, 09:49 PM) Ahh... I know you are going to say this. So I will reply this way: And i will reply this way : how do you know the very least that i am not working hard to improve my lifestyle? do you know me personally? you don't and so you do not have the right to call me stupid...and not working hard to improve lifestyle can't be considered as 'more stupid'. i thought a 'woman' like you should know much more than a girl like me? think of a better comeback.I'm stupid, but not as stupid as you, at least I am working hard to improve my lifestyle. but i guess the only consolation that you do know that you're stupid...and no, i don't go around calling others stupid unless when someone admits herself that she is stupid. therefore, i rest my case. anyways, this is going too OTT. it's eng ed and chinese ed not some materialistic/branded debate thread. Added on January 4, 2010, 10:33 pm QUOTE(crapoccur @ Jan 4 2010, 10:24 PM) I don't see the problem with buying branded stuff. If you got money buy la, if no money then just buy the best quality ur budget can buy. eh no la..buying is not a problem. but how you justified it by saying it 'smart purchases' and 'stupid purchases' is the problem. apparently people that couldn't improve or work hard enough to improve lifestyle is stupid This post has been edited by andrienne: Jan 4 2010, 10:51 PM |
Jan 4 2010, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 10:26 PM) And i will reply this way : how do you know the very least that i am not working hard to improve my lifestyle? do you know me personally? you don't and so you do not have the right to call me stupid...and not working hard to improve lifestyle can't be considered as 'more stupid'. i thought a 'woman' like you should know much more than a girl like me? think of a better comeback. Yeah, you are right, this is what I want to hear from a wise person.but i guess the only consolation that you do know that you're stupid...and no, i don't go around calling others stupid unless when someone admits herself that she is stupid. therefore, i rest my case. anyways, this is going too OTT. it's eng ed and chinese ed not some materialistic/branded debate thread. If you have noticed about that, if you have noticed the flames at other threads, I do not calling others stupid, too. And no matter how many times others calling me stupid, I will still keep myself calm and explain to the best I can. But the people at CC here don't share views and thoughts, once they have nothing to defend, they call others stupid. Since they like to play around with this stupid words, I might as well join in a play around, too. Well, I am just sharing my views on money management as I have been through a consumer who go for normal quality stuffs. I know how much money I have wasted on normal quality stuffs. I just want to say good quality has its value and it's worth investing in it. I know you are a humble gal as you say you are ugly (but I don't think so). So, will end this session with you. QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 10:33 PM) eh no la..buying is not a problem. but how you justified it by saying it 'smart purchases' and 'stupid purchases' is the problem. apparently people that couldn't improve or work hard enough to improve lifestyle is stupid RM20 a pair of short heels, last for 3 months, for example. RM20 X 4 = RM120/year With this RM120, you can buy a better quality high heels, which last longer than 1 year, more comfortable, more presentable. That's all I want to share. You don't have to take it if this doesn't apply to you. But because it lasts longer, eventually it saves more money and that's why I say it's smarter way to spend money. Added on January 4, 2010, 11:12 pm QUOTE(spunkberry @ Jan 4 2010, 10:00 PM) I don't speak mandarin and my intonation for cantonese isn't good ... but I don't go around using it and saying that it's good when I know it isn't. I'm living on my own, attending university and doing things for myself - so what if it's my parents' money? I still have to manage it because it's not an endless supply. I know why people pursue branded items - STATUS. I would also know this because my mother and brother are brand-conscious people. Dignity?Why don't you just ever quit while you still have a little bit of dignity? Has this got something to do with defending going for better quality products? This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jan 4 2010, 11:12 PM |
Jan 5 2010, 12:45 AM
36 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Jan 5 2010, 12:54 AM
6,447 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
dont generalize wat some of the chinese ed gf alwaz do , and say that all chinese aed gf are the same !
and fyi , my gf read both chinese and english magazine ! and come on , hav u ever seen MALAY compare like tat , same goes to US ppl ? like wat u all comparing now , english and chinese ed ? is that really that important ? all non-malay are laughing at u all now... This post has been edited by steventan85: Jan 5 2010, 12:55 AM |
Jan 5 2010, 09:36 AM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Pass the popcorn pls.
Jan 5 2010, 09:48 AM
66 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Arguing on the Internet is like participating in the special Olympics. Even if you win, you're still... handicapped.
That said, there is nothing wrong with buying branded goods. But buying branded goods doesn't mean you get the best quality, it simply means you're more likely to get better quality. Besides, as long as people spend within their ability, there is no harm and no foul. After all, if you've worked hard for your money, you deserve to spend it any how you feel is best for you. Just remember that at the end of the day, if you have overspent, you will need to deal with it. Also, please be nice to your boys. I mean if you wanna buy branded stuff, by all means go ahead, but don't make the poor boy spend his hard earned money buying stuff that you want. Especially expensive stuff. That's just being inconsiderate. Oh.. And if you're not even earning your own money, don't talk to me about buying branded stuff. That's just not being rationale. This post has been edited by ravager877: Jan 5 2010, 09:50 AM |
Jan 5 2010, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jan 4 2010, 09:49 PM) Of course you don't get what I say, you are still a young girl living under parents' shelter. You know nuts about money management, and of course you do not know the reason why people pursue better quality stuffs. Hmm... aren't you also living with your parents debbieyss? And if I am not mistaken, you don't help out with the house chores (I garnered this little bit of information when you told me you can't stand being at home, and you find things to do outside, and something about not liking to do house chores)QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 10:26 PM) And i will reply this way : how do you know the very least that i am not working hard to improve my lifestyle? do you know me personally? you don't and so you do not have the right to call me stupid...and not working hard to improve lifestyle can't be considered as 'more stupid'. i thought a 'woman' like you should know much more than a girl like me? think of a better comeback. Don't be bothered by it, debbie has a habit of simply "hentam"-ing people. She thinks her "hentam" skills veli guud, but it usually just consist of trash talk QUOTE(andrienne @ Jan 4 2010, 10:26 PM) eh no la..buying is not a problem. but how you justified it by saying it 'smart purchases' and 'stupid purchases' is the problem. apparently people that couldn't improve or work hard enough to improve lifestyle is stupid Ya lor, it's not like poor people want to make "stupid" purchases. Hey I'd buy that Audi too if I had that "lifestyle" because it's awesome quality, but sadly I only drive a Proton Saga (I don't drive a Proton btw |
Jan 5 2010, 09:56 AM
2,787 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(spanker @ Jan 5 2010, 09:54 AM) Ya lor, it's not like poor people want to make "stupid" purchases. Hey I'd buy that Audi too if I had that "lifestyle" because it's awesome quality, but sadly I only drive a Proton Saga (I don't drive a Proton btw |
Jan 5 2010, 10:32 AM
Dunno wor, you have to ask debbieyss that question, since she was the one who said one shouldn't buy cheap low quality product because it is stupid
oops, I made a mistake, she didn't say it was stupid, she said it's smarter to buy dearer branded products. This post has been edited by spanker: Jan 5 2010, 10:37 AM |
Jan 5 2010, 10:38 AM
66 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Don't be mean. Lol. She just feels that buying cheap stuff is not worth while. I don't think she intentionally meant to insult anyone. Proabably, she didn't take into consideration that not everyone can afford to buy branded goods.
Her argument is that branded products can last longer thus equaling the price of regular goods simply by virtue of longevity. However, a lot about product longevity has to do with how well you take care of a particular item as well. If your constantly dragging your feet, stepping in puddles and leaving your shoes damp, of course it will spoil quickly leading to you have to change more often. But if you take good care of it, your cheap goods will last long enough that you get your moneys worth. |
Jan 5 2010, 11:03 AM
that's true. people will tend to take more care of their purchase if they felt it was worth a lot to them, thus making it last longer. Still it doesn't translate to branded products are better quality though
This post has been edited by spanker: Jan 5 2010, 11:03 AM |
Jan 5 2010, 01:57 PM
350 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: tyrsflgiugiug |
Jan 5 2010, 04:14 PM
429 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(spanker @ Jan 5 2010, 09:54 AM) Don't be bothered by it, debbie has a habit of simply "hentam"-ing people. She thinks her "hentam" skills veli guud, but it usually just consist of trash talk saya pandu perodua only..but very happy coz it's small Ya lor, it's not like poor people want to make "stupid" purchases. Hey I'd buy that Audi too if I had that "lifestyle" because it's awesome quality, but sadly I only drive a Proton Saga (I don't drive a Proton btw eh..my bf drives perodua also and soon to be proton..but im still very happy and feel smart for him coz got car instead of motorbike(eh..not that i look down on motorbike owners ah)! haha. spanker sure drive some geng chau car *omg..we're so oot already..haha* This post has been edited by andrienne: Jan 5 2010, 04:14 PM |
Jan 5 2010, 04:34 PM
489 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Malacca || Cyberjaya |
time for V2 yo
| Change to: | 0.0192sec